Customer Reviews for

Leaving Church

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2006

    Sharing the greatest of struggles.

    What is greater than losing your faith and then finding it in a completely different light? Barbara Taylor's beautifully written memoir leaves nothing out as she leaves the church to find her faith again. She begins her story sitting in a field in Kansas and falling in love with God. From there you are part of her journey as she empties herself into the work of a parish priest only to discover that her faith is waning. She is so honest and open with herself so brave. Her writing is so easy to read it is as if she is writing this book only for you. Whether you are a believer or not, this book asks some tough questions, and helps to separate religious dogma from true faith. You will want your own copy to underline, write in the margin, and reread over and over again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    A "____-changing" book

    Especially because I found this book just when I was looking for it, or something like it, it was certainly thought-changing, perspective-changing, and even life-changing. I have felt uncomfortale about picking up "religious" books in the past due to some biased or specific doctrine-driven motives, but An Altar in the World was able to be beautifully helpful and hopeful all while glorifying all of our current religious practices and outlooks. I have already bought copies for my friends ESPECIALLY because we belong to different religions. It is just a thoughtful and very well-written book that calls us to find God/Love/the Holy Spirit/the Power of the Universe in our everyday thoughts and actions.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    A Precious Memoir

    Over the course of my life I have learned certain things about salad. It has good, nourishing things in it, like spinach, almonds, feta cheese, and olive oil. Sometimes you can add strawberries. With a splash of balsamic vinegar, it sings. Other times it is dressed with slightly less healthy things like mayonnaise or sour cream, but generally its ingredients have a clear line of succession back to something alive-- apples, raisins, eggs, potatoes. Then I moved to South Dakota, where I was introduced to ¿salad¿. Unlike what I have just described, this concoction is made of things like Cool Whip and crushed up Oreos. It tastes good in the moment, but by the end of it I am always left slightly nauseous and wondering where it came from. There¿s a lot of spiritual ¿salad¿ out there. Thankfully, this offering is not in that group. From the moment you crack open the cover, it sings. Her story of earthy, fragrant devotion to God is refreshing and very alive. It breathes the living life of Christ and speaks from the still beating but wounded heart of the church. Thankfully, Taylor veers only briefly into the sordid realm of political hot button issues, and for good reason. With fifteen years in the pastoral crucible under her belt, and an evident love for all of us, Taylor comes across as someone you can trust. Her words in this precious memoir are nourishing, full of flavor and, like the vegetables in her Georgia garden, entirely organic.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Vital, thoughtful, and corageous

    Corageously honest faith exploration and expression

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    Leaving Church

    Leaving church is an enjoyable read on faith and finding God's plan for us. The author doesn't avoid her warts and failures and is realistic about how faith is a journey for all of us and the road is not straight and narrow but full of twists and turns.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    HELLO WORLD THIS BOOK IS AWESOME

    I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK IT IS IN MANY WAYS SIMILAR TO THE BOOK
    A MEMOIR WHO AM I , BY BENJAMIN BLAKE. MR. BLAKE'S BOOK SPEAKS AS THIS BOOK DOES ABOUT FAITH BUT IT ALSO SPEAKS OF FEAR OF OTHER'S AND THEIR
    UNWELCOMED OPINIONS...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2014

    Taylor is a magnificent word artist. This book describes her fa

    Taylor is a magnificent word artist. This book describes her faith journey from a girl in a meadow through commitment to the Episcopal Church and priesthood to circling back to the simple things of faith.  Her failure to set boundaries caused her to flame out at church.

    Leaving Church challenged me to consider who God is in my life and helped me as I reconsider the definition of church.  Ultimately, Taylor chose the life of a freelance believer while I continue to commit to the place that sinners gather.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    I came across this author and book when on retreat a couple year

    I came across this author and book when on retreat a couple years ago and was intrigued by it, however, did not actually read the book until a couple months ago.  I could relate so much to Barbara's experiences growing up and finding God in nature and her search for a deeper relationship with God.  I loved the book and would highly recommend it to those who are burned out doing church ministry and looking for depth and a contemplative way of being.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Reveals the struggle to recognize a call to ministry and what that means in the truthful awareness; thought provoking - a book every Christian should read with openness to one's own response to the call of the Holy Spirit and discernment at every stage of spiritual growth. A hopeful, encouraging narrative of trusting all to God as experienced at the deepest and most venerable levels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2