Customer Reviews for

Leaving Everything Most Loved (Maisie Dobbs Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I picked up the first book in the Maisie Dobbs series by chance

I picked up the first book in the Maisie Dobbs series by chance back in 2003 - and I was promptly hooked. Jacqueline Winspear has just released the tenth book in this wonderful series - Leaving Everything Most Loved.

Maisie is a psychologist and private investigator i...
I picked up the first book in the Maisie Dobbs series by chance back in 2003 - and I was promptly hooked. Jacqueline Winspear has just released the tenth book in this wonderful series - Leaving Everything Most Loved.

Maisie is a psychologist and private investigator in 1930's England. Quite unusual for her time, but even more unusual is the path that has taken her to her current place in life. She started out as a maid in the great house where her father worked as a groom. But her curiosity for learning caught the eye of her employer and others and they have helped pursue and achieve her many goals. She also served as a nurse in the Great War. Her natural curiosity and quiet intelligence have served her greatly - her investigative agency is quite successful.

Her latest case is disturbing. An East Indian woman has been shot down in the streets of London. Her brother is looking for answers that Scotland Yard seems unable to find and hires Maisie.

"That morning, as Usha Pramal had painted a vermilion bindi to signify the wisdom nestled behind the sacred third eye, she could not have know that she had given her killer a perfect target." Maisie takes on the case, with the blessing of Inspector Caldwell of the Yard.

"Because you're a terrier, Miss Dobbs. You might not be quick and you might not go about it like I would, but you never let go. Now then, you go and get your teeth into his story. See where that leads you."

What a treat it is to follow Maisie as she slowly and patiently investigates, piecing together the whodunit using interviews, intuition, deduction and legwork until the pieces fall into place.

The mysteries in Winspear's books are intriguing, involving the social fabric and mores of the time period she has chosen. Her books are a wonderful social commentary as well.

I have enjoyed the character of Maisie from the very first book. She is patient and kind, but intuitive and not easily taken advantage of. But while, I enjoy Maisie's sleuthing, I am just as interested in her personal life. Leaving Everything Most Loved as a title applies to many of the characters in the book. Maisie herself, despite having a man she loves in her life, family and friends and personal success, still finds there is something missing in her life. And so, she has decided to make a radical change. I won't spoil it for you - but wherever Winspear chooses to take Maisie from here - I'll be following.

An excellent historical mystery series and definitely recommended. (Best read with a pot of tea and a cosy chair)

posted by Twink on March 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Lets get real $16 for a e-book  that you don't actually own. But

Lets get real $16 for a e-book  that you don't actually own. But a licence to read it. I don't care if you are JRR Tolken.  This i just greed who's i don't know bt greed.....

posted by winddncr on March 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I picked up the first book in the Maisie Dobbs series by chance

    I picked up the first book in the Maisie Dobbs series by chance back in 2003 - and I was promptly hooked. Jacqueline Winspear has just released the tenth book in this wonderful series - Leaving Everything Most Loved.

    Maisie is a psychologist and private investigator in 1930's England. Quite unusual for her time, but even more unusual is the path that has taken her to her current place in life. She started out as a maid in the great house where her father worked as a groom. But her curiosity for learning caught the eye of her employer and others and they have helped pursue and achieve her many goals. She also served as a nurse in the Great War. Her natural curiosity and quiet intelligence have served her greatly - her investigative agency is quite successful.

    Her latest case is disturbing. An East Indian woman has been shot down in the streets of London. Her brother is looking for answers that Scotland Yard seems unable to find and hires Maisie.

    "That morning, as Usha Pramal had painted a vermilion bindi to signify the wisdom nestled behind the sacred third eye, she could not have know that she had given her killer a perfect target." Maisie takes on the case, with the blessing of Inspector Caldwell of the Yard.

    "Because you're a terrier, Miss Dobbs. You might not be quick and you might not go about it like I would, but you never let go. Now then, you go and get your teeth into his story. See where that leads you."

    What a treat it is to follow Maisie as she slowly and patiently investigates, piecing together the whodunit using interviews, intuition, deduction and legwork until the pieces fall into place.

    The mysteries in Winspear's books are intriguing, involving the social fabric and mores of the time period she has chosen. Her books are a wonderful social commentary as well.

    I have enjoyed the character of Maisie from the very first book. She is patient and kind, but intuitive and not easily taken advantage of. But while, I enjoy Maisie's sleuthing, I am just as interested in her personal life. Leaving Everything Most Loved as a title applies to many of the characters in the book. Maisie herself, despite having a man she loves in her life, family and friends and personal success, still finds there is something missing in her life. And so, she has decided to make a radical change. I won't spoil it for you - but wherever Winspear chooses to take Maisie from here - I'll be following.

    An excellent historical mystery series and definitely recommended. (Best read with a pot of tea and a cosy chair)

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    One would think that Maisie Dobbs, at this point, had it made:

    One would think that Maisie Dobbs, at this point, had it made: She has inherited a substantial estate and fortune from her mentor, Dr. Maurice Blanche; she has a loving father; wonderful friends; a successful business; loyal employees, and a handsome, wealthy suitor who very much wants to marry her. And yet, she feels at loose ends, reflecting she is unfulfilled and wanting to follow in Blanche’s footsteps, traveling, perhaps to India and learn more about the world.

    But before she can decide, she has to solve the murder of an Indian woman who has traveled to England and worked as a governess for a family, before leaving its employ and living in a home for similar immigrants who had lost their jobs, resorting to menial work as cleaning women and the like. Since this is a Maisie Dobbs mystery, there are overlapping plots and themes which must be tied together before we move on to the next chapter in Maisie’s life.

    In each of the ten novels in the series, we have witnessed the development of Maisie’s experiences and character growth, as well as world developments as the 1930’s unfold toward what is likely to be World War II. But this entry takes place in 1933, so there is plenty of time for several more Maisie Dobbs stories. And that is something worth waiting for.

    Recommended.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Slow, slow, slowest....

    Somebody pass me some toothpicks to prop my eylids open with, would you, please?
    This tenth book in the series is even more convoluted, heavy-handed, and slow-going than all of its predecessors put together. Maisie is in search of the murderers of two Indian women and, just when they seem to have the perpetrator all sewn up, poof! It's not him, but we miss crucial information that led to this conclusion. And, of course, there is a lot more interminable hemming and hawing about the state of James and Maisie's relationship. And Maisie's existential angst to "find herself" which, frankly, is becoming more than a little annoying. Suck it up, cupcake!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Interesting exploration of British racism

    Very good work adding people of other cultures to this series. Much enjoyed that aspect. The decision to need the main character want leave the country alone seemed somewhat cliched, though nice feminist touch. However, readers don't like to see her alone and want her proposed marriage to be interesting and complex by keeping her in her field and making it work, though perhaps that would add depth the genre does not allow. This is a wonderful series, but as it leaves the WWI experiences, it seems less powerful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Just finished the latest in the Massie Dobbs series and loved it

    Just finished the latest in the Massie Dobbs series and loved it. I really think this is Ms. Winspear's best to date. I began reading the Massie Dobbs series by chance awhile back and was hooked. The book really captured all the characters and their interactions with Massie Dobbs. She had great closure at the end of the book with the characters. I hope Ms. Winspear continues with more of Massie Dobbs. Please Ms. Winspear, let Massie and James get married. Don't let them separate or find other loves. Massie needs romance and love and James is the one for her.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Lets get real $16 for a e-book  that you don't actually own. But

    Lets get real $16 for a e-book  that you don't actually own.
    But a licence to read it. I don't care if you are JRR Tolken. 
    This i just greed who's i don't know bt greed.....

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I've been a Maisie Dobbs fan from the beginning and shared with

    I've been a Maisie Dobbs fan from the beginning and shared with many friends. I've been a little disappointed with the past 2 books, though. The stories are stuck in a phase of Maisie trying to decide the direction of her life and not much focus on the mystery solving part. I wish she would devote one book to the life change and not weave it into the other stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    The title of this latest book pretty much says it all...and I a

    The title of this latest book pretty much says it all...and I
    am not sure what to think. Like multiple other series I have read regularly, this one started out terrifically with the first four books--but after that just lost steam with stories which seemed to go nowhere, major plotlines left dangling, characters that seemed to stagnate. I have found every book past number four has run into the next, almost interchangeable. I think the plot for this latest offering is more of the same BUT the title pretty much 'tells it like it is.' Maisie is at a turning point and her decisions concerning her life almost make the rest of the plot take a back seat. While the murder mystery surrounding two Indian women has its moments of interest, the point of the text seems to be MUCH more of Maisie's endless soul-searching (as with later books WAY too much of it that leads to skimming). More pointedly, however, is where this novel leaves Maisie, the other characters and us, as readers. The promotional blurbs and the jacket keep talking about the 'pivotal' nature of the book...which I find the most intriguing and the most frustrating. I, like many readers will be, am totally puzzled as to what this ending means for the series--is it going to end? If so, this novel ends in such a way, one could read it as a 'wrap up.' Not a totally satisfying one, but possible. On the other hand, this could be the start of a long break for Winspear; if so, what will 'Maisie Dobbs' be when/if she comes back? It is hard to tell. I don't know how to feel about it. What I would have enjoyed more here is more time with Frankie--her dad seems to have gotten short shrift in later books--and Lord the less I see of James Compton the better. A boring character almost to the point of stereotype: the 'stiff upper lip,' dullard who spouts 'cheerio' and 'hallo darling' in a passionless affair. IF this is the last book for a while or IF it is the start of a new kind of Maisie Dobbs story, I hope Winspear takes her to new locales and some real passion--without forgetting Frankie and Priscilla, characters I love. If not, oh well...the series has dwindled for me so that I am rather ambivalent, which makes me sad.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    This story was just as engaging as its predecessors and was worth the wait for it to come out in paperback. The storyline makes me believe Jacqueline Winspear will continue to write more for this series. Highly recommended if you enjoyed #1-#9!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly recommended

    As usual, Winspear weaves a clever plot with several twists and turns. Her characters and their lives are compelling as the story unfolds. The familiar regulars (Billy, Pris, Maurice) and the locations in and out of London provide the reader with a comfortable background against which the story line develops. Maisie Dobbs continues to be interesting as more of her own background comes into the reader's view. This series continues to intrigue me, and I highly recommend the books to a general reading audience.

    Karin43

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Maisie Dobbs series

    Very good series...looking forward the the 11th book! No trash, just good engaging stories with continuity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    To start, I've never read a Maisie Dobb's novel before and it is

    To start, I've never read a Maisie Dobb's novel before and it is my understanding that this is the tenth book in the series. Though previous events weren't difficult to catch up to, at least those that were pertinent to the current storyline remained.

    What drew me to the book was the historical factor. It's a female private detective in England during the 1930's. She is clever and independent, especially for that era. Despite this great list attributes she fell just a wee flat as a complex character for most of the book. My thoughts on this is that there was ten books before this so the author had plenty of time for character development for Maisie. That being said, all the surrounding characters were very well done and lifelike.

    Loaded with intrigue, "Leaving Everything Most Loved" is a great mystery and if you follow the series, I think it's a major transition novel for Maisie Dobbs. I'm thinking her adventures are only going to get bigger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    PRICE?

    I take it that this 10.99 must be an error.I'll just wait and see if this changes.Careful nook people!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Great detective series

    This book is true to its predecessors. Winspear has developed a classic detective in Maisie Dobbs, along with a host of other characters who are interesting in their own right. I hope this is not the final in the Maisie Dobbs series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Ghost

    "Y is i here?"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Kyle

    Em ur seein s.h.i.t. i been drinkin babe sry babe im kyle u know dat

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Emilee

    You put tanner as ur name ill brb stay on i gtg eat

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Still hooked on Maisie - definitely recommend!

    This is the 10th volume in the Maisie Dobbs series and I am still completely hooked!
    All the usual high quality items are present: clear and thoughtful writing, solid characters, and fascinating notes of aspects of life in London in the 1930's. In this novel we glimpse into the difficult lives of young women from India and the challenges they encounter in London when their first jobs come to an end.
    This novel also sets us up for a transition to come in Maisie's life - travel wise - and leaves us awaiting Winspear's next novel with great expectation!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Spashtail

    She shook her fur, making water fly everywhere. "Be more careful next time!"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    &forest

    &hearts

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3