Customer Reviews for

Leaving Everything Most Loved (Maisie Dobbs Series #10)

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I picked up the first book in the Maisie Dobbs series by chance

I picked up the first book in the Maisie Dobbs series by chance back in 2003 - and I was promptly hooked. Jacqueline Winspear has just released the tenth book in this wonderful series - Leaving Everything Most Loved.

Maisie is a psychologist and private investigator i...
I picked up the first book in the Maisie Dobbs series by chance back in 2003 - and I was promptly hooked. Jacqueline Winspear has just released the tenth book in this wonderful series - Leaving Everything Most Loved.

Maisie is a psychologist and private investigator in 1930's England. Quite unusual for her time, but even more unusual is the path that has taken her to her current place in life. She started out as a maid in the great house where her father worked as a groom. But her curiosity for learning caught the eye of her employer and others and they have helped pursue and achieve her many goals. She also served as a nurse in the Great War. Her natural curiosity and quiet intelligence have served her greatly - her investigative agency is quite successful.

Her latest case is disturbing. An East Indian woman has been shot down in the streets of London. Her brother is looking for answers that Scotland Yard seems unable to find and hires Maisie.

"That morning, as Usha Pramal had painted a vermilion bindi to signify the wisdom nestled behind the sacred third eye, she could not have know that she had given her killer a perfect target." Maisie takes on the case, with the blessing of Inspector Caldwell of the Yard.

"Because you're a terrier, Miss Dobbs. You might not be quick and you might not go about it like I would, but you never let go. Now then, you go and get your teeth into his story. See where that leads you."

What a treat it is to follow Maisie as she slowly and patiently investigates, piecing together the whodunit using interviews, intuition, deduction and legwork until the pieces fall into place.

The mysteries in Winspear's books are intriguing, involving the social fabric and mores of the time period she has chosen. Her books are a wonderful social commentary as well.

I have enjoyed the character of Maisie from the very first book. She is patient and kind, but intuitive and not easily taken advantage of. But while, I enjoy Maisie's sleuthing, I am just as interested in her personal life. Leaving Everything Most Loved as a title applies to many of the characters in the book. Maisie herself, despite having a man she loves in her life, family and friends and personal success, still finds there is something missing in her life. And so, she has decided to make a radical change. I won't spoil it for you - but wherever Winspear chooses to take Maisie from here - I'll be following.

An excellent historical mystery series and definitely recommended. (Best read with a pot of tea and a cosy chair)

posted by Twink on March 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Lets get real $16 for a e-book  that you don't actually own. But

Lets get real $16 for a e-book  that you don't actually own. But a licence to read it. I don't care if you are JRR Tolken.  This i just greed who's i don't know bt greed.....

posted by winddncr on March 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Interesting exploration of British racism

    Very good work adding people of other cultures to this series. Much enjoyed that aspect. The decision to need the main character want leave the country alone seemed somewhat cliched, though nice feminist touch. However, readers don't like to see her alone and want her proposed marriage to be interesting and complex by keeping her in her field and making it work, though perhaps that would add depth the genre does not allow. This is a wonderful series, but as it leaves the WWI experiences, it seems less powerful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Just finished the latest in the Massie Dobbs series and loved it

    Just finished the latest in the Massie Dobbs series and loved it. I really think this is Ms. Winspear's best to date. I began reading the Massie Dobbs series by chance awhile back and was hooked. The book really captured all the characters and their interactions with Massie Dobbs. She had great closure at the end of the book with the characters. I hope Ms. Winspear continues with more of Massie Dobbs. Please Ms. Winspear, let Massie and James get married. Don't let them separate or find other loves. Massie needs romance and love and James is the one for her.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    This story was just as engaging as its predecessors and was worth the wait for it to come out in paperback. The storyline makes me believe Jacqueline Winspear will continue to write more for this series. Highly recommended if you enjoyed #1-#9!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly recommended

    As usual, Winspear weaves a clever plot with several twists and turns. Her characters and their lives are compelling as the story unfolds. The familiar regulars (Billy, Pris, Maurice) and the locations in and out of London provide the reader with a comfortable background against which the story line develops. Maisie Dobbs continues to be interesting as more of her own background comes into the reader's view. This series continues to intrigue me, and I highly recommend the books to a general reading audience.

    Karin43

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2014

    Maisie Dobbs series

    Very good series...looking forward the the 11th book! No trash, just good engaging stories with continuity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Great detective series

    This book is true to its predecessors. Winspear has developed a classic detective in Maisie Dobbs, along with a host of other characters who are interesting in their own right. I hope this is not the final in the Maisie Dobbs series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Ghost

    "Y is i here?"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Kyle

    Em ur seein s.h.i.t. i been drinkin babe sry babe im kyle u know dat

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Emilee

    You put tanner as ur name ill brb stay on i gtg eat

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Spashtail

    She shook her fur, making water fly everywhere. "Be more careful next time!"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    &forest

    &hearts

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    HUNTING GROUNDS

    Lots of prey.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Another great Maisie novel

    I was so excited when I found her book was out. It lived up to her previous novels. At the end of the book, she starts a new direction in her life. I can barely wait until the next novel comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Highly recommende

    I loved it and so did several friends and my sister who turned me onto this series. We are all hoping this isn't the end of the Maisie Dobbs story and are speculating what might be next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Hidy

    K

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Great as usual.

    Great as usual. Can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    wonderful

    Jacqueline Winspear is a thoughtful and wonderful author who transports you to a different world and time. The series is fun, thought provoking and very entertaining.I love her character development, which is rare in modern writing. This particular book will not disappoint you. If you have not read any of the Maisie Dobbs books, start with #1 and just keep going...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Another great book by Jacqueline Winspear!! Can't wait for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Another winner from Jacqueline Winspear

    I started reading Maisie Dobbs mysteries in my Tuesday night book group, and I was so intrigued by Maisie that I read every subsequent book in the series, culminating in this one "Leaving Everything Most Loved" which brings in the Imperialist British perspective.
    Maisie, who is now well set into her detective agency, is on the case to help find the killer of a young and charismatic woman from India. Apparently a number of British people hired Indians as nannies or governesses and then, once they had no need of them anymore, just turned them out on the streets of London without a penny to their names and no way to return to their native country. Winspear explores the plight of these women, but not in a heavy-handed manner, while also exploring Maisie's inner turmoil about marrying James. While the mystery is solved, we are left wondering if Maisie will tour the world endlessly or return to England and marry, or restart her detective business. We're also left in the dark as to what happens to Billie Beale. So though I loved this book and it was a wonderfully satisfying read, I was unsettled by the ending, not knowing the fate of our heroine or her second in command. Hopefully, we'll know next year how everyone gets along, if Ms Winspear gets cracking on another Maisie mystery ASAP!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    The best

    Grabbed me on page two and I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2