Customer Reviews for

Leaving Fishers

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great

This is the kind of book you cant get at the library because you want to read it over and over again!

posted by spongy36 on August 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Leaving Fishers

This book is about a young girl named Dorry.She moved to a new town do to her fathers job transfer.She soon becomes lonely a week later a group of kids invite her to their table.Something enteresting happens later in the book. This book is a great once you pi...
This book is about a young girl named Dorry.She moved to a new town do to her fathers job transfer.She soon becomes lonely a week later a group of kids invite her to their table.Something enteresting happens later in the book. This book is a great once you pick it up you won't be able to put it down.This book shows what could happend in every day life.You will really enjoy this book.I greatly recommend it to anyone.Don't take my word for it read it.

posted by Anonymous on March 17, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Great

    This is the kind of book you cant get at the library because you want to read it over and over again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Taylor Rector for TeensReadToo.com

    This book was truly phenomenal! This is one of those books that you can't put down and can't wait to see what happens next! No matter what religion you are, I think that you can really enjoy this and can fully appreciate the meaning of it. <BR/><BR/>Dorry is a character that you want to be happy, because in the beginning of the book she isn't! She is a new student at her school because her dad's factory closed down and they had to move so he could get a new job. For the first few weeks of school she is forced to eat by herself and has no one to talk to. But then Angela comes along. <BR/><BR/>She tells Dorry to come eat lunch with her and her friends. Dorry is then happy. Until she finds out who they really are. Angela and all of her friends are part of a religious group called The Fishers Of Men. Dorry goes to one of their "parties" and really loves it, until she really gets into it. The Fishers Of Men are a cult. Dorry gets so caught up in what she is doing for "church" that her grades drop, she gets only two or three hours of sleep each night, and her parents really begin to worry about her. <BR/><BR/>How far will she go to please this very demanding cult? Where will it end?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    GOOD

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Read leaving fishers

    I think its amazing and if you dont read it than you are awfully stupid.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    This book was truly phenomenal! This is one of those books that you can¿t put down and can¿t wait to see what happens next! No matter what religion you are, I think that you can really enjoy this and can fully appreciate the meaning of it. Dorry is a character that you want to be happy, because in the beginning of the book she isn¿t! She is a new student at her school because her dad¿s factory closed down and they had to move so he could get a new job. For the first few weeks of school she is forced to eat by herself and has no one to talk to. But then Angela comes along. She tells Dorry to come eat lunch with her and her friends. Dorry is then happy. Until she finds out who they really are. Angela and all of her friends are part of a religious group called The Fishers Of Men. Dorry goes to one of their ¿parties¿ and really loves it, until she really gets into it. The Fishers Of Men are a cult. Dorry gets so caught up in what she is doing for ¿church¿ that her grades drop, she gets only two or three hours of sleep each night, and her parents really begin to worry about her. How far will she go to please this very demanding cult? Where will it end? **Reviewed by: Taylor Rector

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    Edge of your seat

    I thought this book was outstanding. It keept you on the edge of your seat waiting to see what was going to happen next. I highly recommend this book, to anyone who likes suspense, thrill, and drama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2005

    Haunting would be a good word

    We all have said or thought about cults in a negative way. I personally have wondered how someone could not realize what was happening. How they could allow themselves to be brainwashed to such a degree. When I went to the beach, I brought this book because I am a big fan of Haddix. It is a book about a girl, Dory, who is new to a school. When people finally act like her friends, she decides to join a group called the 'fishers'. Who wants to be in a school without anyone to talk to? Plus they all seem so happy. But maybe joining is a bad idea she soon realizes. I would highly recomend this book. It goes in depth to about the so called fishers of men, and it is amazing to see how Dory handles the situation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2004

    One of the best

    Although I am not Christian and parts of this book were a little hard for me to understand I would have to say this is one of the best books I have ever read. It is so insightful, and you wonder how Peterson can write so eloquently, as if this actually happened to her. I would definatley recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2004

    This Book rox my sox:)

    This book had a lot of detail and suspense if that's what you'd call it. It made you want to read further until you finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2003

    A Reviewer

    This was one of the best books I've read in a really long time!! I read it in 2 days. It was so captivating. It made me really feel as though I was sitting there watching it all happen before my very eyes. Margaret Peterson Haddix brought Dorry and the rest of the characters to life. 2 thumbs up!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2003

    Excellent and thought-provoking

    This book exceeded my expectations. It is extremely well-written; I wouldn't change a thing. It is educational, purposeful, and just a very good read. Dorry, the main character, is completely sympathetic which not only made me unable to put the book down but made me realize that I am not immune to the kind of manipulation the Fishers used to recruit Dorry. This is the kind of book that you should read for your own good, and it's enjoyable as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2002

    Great Book!

    Leaving Fishers is a fabulous book! This book shows you how people can be drawn into a cult, therefore showing you how not to be drawn into one. The characters are very real. This is a super book for a high school remedial reading class or for any reluctant reader. It is not difficult to read or understand. Read together!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2001

    think

    The book Leaving Fishers is a great book. It made me think about my place with god and how chould I change. It also made me think do i have friend like that how whould tell me lies to do someth

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2001

    One of those books you just don't wanna put down:)

    This book is one that taught me a lot about life. Dorry's struggles affected not only her friends and family, but also her job, her schoolwork, and herself. I learned a lot about balancing things in your everyday life. Dorry eventually found that her worshipping days needed to end. I believe this book showed how far some people can go to keep friends and a steady relationship with God. In the end, I think Margaret Peterson Haddix truly expressed her beliefs well by writing this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2000

    A Great Book That Gives A Lot of Useful Information

    I thought this book was VERY good. It really showed how cults lure you into their groups. I thought it was very well written and should be read by anyone who has questions about different religious groups.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2000

    Leaving Fishers

    *****Leaving Fishers Leaving Fishers is a great book for people ages 7 and up. And if you hate bullies or are a bully read this book. This book is by Margret Peterson Haddix the other of two other books called 'Running Out of Time' and ' Don't You Dare Read This,' Mrs. Dumphrey. I have read those books and this one is better. Like this book so much because it is a bout bullying. This book is about a girl Dorry and her 'friend' Angela. Dorry just moved to Fishers from Ohio. And she has been sitting at the table all by her self. Then Angela and all of the gang see her and so Angela goes and asks her if she wants to sit with her. And what Dorry doesn't know is that Angela is part of a religious group called 'Fishers Of Men.' And when she finds out it doesn¿t really bother her. Until they get her to do stuff. And later on in the book Dorry gets fired because she told the kids she was babysitting about the devil. And to find out what happens later on you will have to read this book. This book will make you want to read the whole story by making you ask your self-questions like these. Will Mrs. Garinger ever ask Dorry to come back and baby-sit again? Should Dorry of told the kids about God and the devil a different way? Should Dorry tell the kids sorry? To find out the answers read this book. Many kids in my 7th grade class read this and thought it was pretty good and so will you just read it. It will keep your mind off of schoolwork and may even make you smarter. You can find this book at your local library, bookstore, and on this address.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1