Customer Reviews for

Leaving Lancaster

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

loved the story line, so naturally had to get the this book. It

loved the story line, so naturally had to get the this book. It did not disappoint!

posted by simple344 on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I was very happy with this book until the ending, I feel like we

I was very happy with this book until the ending, I feel like we got no closure. Maybe another book is coming. There were also some things that didn't set well with me.



Holly, down on her luck, is living at home with her mom. Her mom runs an Amish Shoppe complete wit...
I was very happy with this book until the ending, I feel like we got no closure. Maybe another book is coming. There were also some things that didn't set well with me.



Holly, down on her luck, is living at home with her mom. Her mom runs an Amish Shoppe complete with a buggy outside.

Holly arrives home (after losing her job) to find out that her grandmother, that her mother told her was dead all her life, is alive and ill.

Holly is devestrated and happy all at the same time to realize that she has an extended family. Her and her mom travel to Lancaster - this is their story and what happens while they are there.

posted by jnut1 on April 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    loved the story line, so naturally had to get the this book. It

    loved the story line, so naturally had to get the this book. It did not disappoint!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    I was very happy with this book until the ending, I feel like we

    I was very happy with this book until the ending, I feel like we got no closure. Maybe another book is coming. There were also some things that didn't set well with me.



    Holly, down on her luck, is living at home with her mom. Her mom runs an Amish Shoppe complete with a buggy outside.

    Holly arrives home (after losing her job) to find out that her grandmother, that her mother told her was dead all her life, is alive and ill.

    Holly is devestrated and happy all at the same time to realize that she has an extended family. Her and her mom travel to Lancaster - this is their story and what happens while they are there.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very well done!! A super new author of Amish Fiction!

    "Leaving Lancaster" By Kate Lloyd I am always curious when new authors appear, writing my favorite genre, Amish fiction. Kate Lloyd became a Facebook friend before I even knew that she was a writer!! We discussed the Lancaster , PA area , places to go, things to see, etc. Then, low and behold, I discover that she is preparing to publish a book, entitled, "Leaving Lancaster" !! Surprise!! This is Kate's second book to hit the market, the first being, "A Portrait of Marguerite". Kate has done her research well. Her facts and information about the Amish are accurate and sensitive to their feelings. Synopsis of book: The main character, Holly Fisher, is in her thirties and longs for a family. She has grown up in Seattle without a dad, or extended family and her greatest longing is to belong- have a sense of a heritage. Suddenly, her mother, Esther, reveals what has been kept secret for many years. Holly does have a grandmother and uncles who are alive and have a great desire to meet her. They are begging Esther to return to her home- BUT here comes the great shock- it is in Lancaster PA on a farm in an AMISH community. Holly had had no idea of her Amish background that her mother chose to abandon before she was born. Esther is terrified to see her mother and siblings, although guilt ridden. She begs Holly to accompany her to see her before she dies. BUT, can this trip heal old wounds and fullfill secret longings?? Will Esther be forgiven for deserting her faith? Will the family become whole again?? Will Holly find that for which she has been longing? You MUST read this book to find out!! I loved the well described characters. I felt Holly's pain and desires. Her desires , confusion, happiness became part of me. The plot was well developed. There were many surprises along the way, which kept me reading way beyond bedtime!! I read this book in two days- I HAD to know how all of the challenges were met!! A great book , with great characters and a great plot!! What more can you ask for?? Well done, Kate! Looking forward to your next Amish book!! Book was provided by David C. Cook and the author in exchange for a review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    I gave this book two stars because I thought the story line was

    I gave this book two stars because I thought the story line was marginally plausible. The characters, on the other hand, were completely unlikeable from beginning to end. They spent the entire book squabbling with each other like teenagers, and both were so petty I actually wished I could give them a slap across the cheek to get them to snap out of it. The mother (nearly 50) was weak, cringing, fearful, suspicious, and the daughter (mid-30s) was snotty, vindictive, bitter, angry and childish. They had their reasons for being so, but there were no redeeming qualities about them that made me sympathetic toward either one. The "romances" in the story had no development, they just happened out of the blue, and the ending left too many questions unanswered, and it didn't really seem like the mother and daughter had grown much emotionally. I stuck with the story to see what would happen, but was disappointed all the way through. I hate to leave negative reviews, but I don't recommend this book at all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Anonymous

    Great read for about 1/3 of the way through the book but then my mind started to wander off. 269 pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Review:Leaving Lancaster by Kate Lloyd 3 STARS It was a good st

    Review:Leaving Lancaster by Kate Lloyd
    3 STARS It was a good story but for some reason I just did not feel connected to the characters. This was clean read not swearing or sex scenes. Deals with real problems. Esther Fisher gets a letter from her mother whom she has not seen since she was 16, when her and Samuel ran away from home. Her mother is in her 80's and wants to see her. Esther needs to tell her daughter the truth she has hidden for all these years. Holly Samantha Fisher at 37 has just lost her job. Holly has never married. Esther tells Holly that her grandmother is still alive with her uncles and family. Esther wants Holly to travel with her from Seattle Washington back to her Amish relatives in Lancaster. Holly can not believe her that her mother has been hiding that her relatives were alive. She wonders at what other lies her mother has told her. Did her dad really die during Viatnam. Esther runs an Amish goods store in Seattle, but she buys her products mostly from Ohio not the area she grew up on. Esther has raised Holly all by herself. She was born after Samuel went MIA. She feels guilty for the death of her husband because if they would have stayed and been baptised than he would not have been drafted. Holly finally agrees to fly with her mom to Lancaster and meet all the relatives she did not know she had. She always wanted a grandmother. When they are in a rental car Holly finds out her grandmother has no idea that they are coming. Her grandmother does not have a phone but her menonite neighbor does so they call her and she invites them to stay the night with her. Holly feels really close to Beth and meets her single son who is a vet. Zach. Esther has been jealous of Beth and Beth has had bitter feelings toward Esther . Grandma Anna is so glad that they have come especially when in a little while the whole family is going to move to Montana to buy land. They have sold this farm if they accept the offer. It shows you a slim glimmer of what life is with Amish. Deals more with issues of family and thier secrets, forgiveness, love Christ. Just dealing with regular family problems that come up in life. I was given this ebook to read in exchange of honest review from Netgalley. 03/01/2012 PUB David C Cook

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Holly Fisher never knew her father. He died before she was born

    Holly Fisher never knew her father. He died before she was born, in Vietnam As far as she knows, her mother Esther is her only living relative.
    She is about to lose her job, a victim of the bad economy. Here relationship with her mother has always been strained. Now that she's living at home, even more than usual.
    She has no idea how much worse things are about to get.
    Her mother springs on her, with no warning, that her grandmother, who Holly thought was dead, is alive, sick, and wants them to come home to Lancaster County, Pennsylvania.
    What will Holly and Ester find when they visit "Mamm Anna's" House. What will Esther do when she is forced to confront her past? Will Holly find the large extended family she has always coveted? Will Holly be able to forgive all the lies her mother told her, and all the things she never told her?
    This book is a bit different from many "Amish Fiction" stories. It lets us inside the heads of some who have not lived Amish for years and some who never even know what it is to live Amish. A very enjoyable read, with a dash of twists, turns and romance thrown in for good measure. I was a bit frustrated to not find out all the answers, I hope they will come in more books from Katy Lloyd

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Highly recommended

    A fresh and warm-hearted story of women, set in Amish country. In this lovely portrait of family and friends, lives grow and change. And the reader has the pleasure of joining in and learning about the Amish at the same time. I really enjoyed it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Great story

    Nice easy read that will maintain your interest. Believabe characters. Just a fine book in every way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Great story

    This was a great story. My only question is that the last chapter and the epilogue feel like a chaoter got edited out.

    I love this genre, and this one doesn't dissapoint. Thanx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Leaving Lancaster by Kate Lloyd

    Very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Good

    I would recommend it for those who love the Amish stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    If you enjoy Amish/Mennonite books I recommend this one.

    I really enjoyed this book. Hope this author does more of this type book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    enderfur

    Ds to camp

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Wispap

    Leafclan at leaf first result.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. Born and raised near Lancaster Coun

    I really enjoyed this book. Born and raised near Lancaster County and having a great respect for the Amish, it was refreshing to see into their lives from the inside, rather than a "tourist" perspective. I no longer live in the area, so it was a sweet taste of home for me. It was rather predictable, but also had a few unexpected turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Skywind

    He struggled a little, but persevered. "Almost... there..."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    #&forest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Thundertail

    Pads in and lays down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    I had the privilege of reading Leaving Lancaster, introducing a

    I had the privilege of reading Leaving Lancaster, introducing a new author to me, Kate Lloyd. Her book combined all I love about the Amish lifestyle and traditions and showed me Biblical truths about deception (and its consequences) and why we need to show forgiveness toward not just others but also ourselves.

    Anyone who is a female realizes that mother-daughter relationships can be challenging at times. Ms. Lloyd does a great job taking those complications and adding additional pressure such as stubbornness, deception, lies, and guilt. She broadens the scope of those feelings by including multi-generations, showing how our actions not only affect ourselves but also our children, parents, and other relatives. I love how God will take Biblical truths and reveal them to me in various ways. While I was reading this book, my church was in the middle of a sermon series which discussed that very theme. When we sin, it affects multi-generations, not just us. When we choose to make the right choice, multi-generations are blessed. And, let’s not forget the most important truth: When we confess and turn away from our sin to obedience, God rewards those choices with blessings.

    I love how Ms. Lloyd answered the central questions in this book, but left it open-ended. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series, Pennsylvania Patchwork. I’m looking forward to seeing what happens with Holly, her mother Esther, and her grandmother “Mommy Anna.” I was challenged as a parent and a person to live a life of obedience so that future generations in my genealogical line will receive blessings rather than consequences of any sin I would commit. As a parent, you want the best for your children and it’s encouraging to know that through my actions and attitudes and choices, I’m leaving a legacy for them…and I can choose if it’s positive or negative.

    Thank you, Ms. Lloyd, for reminding me of the above truth as well as that forgiveness is a gift to be extended to all, not just for the one who committed the sin but also for yourself if you have sinned. It’s definitely harder to forgive ourselves when we fail than to extend that forgiveness to another. But God doesn’t want us to live in condemnation, especially self condemnation. He wants to set us free when we choose obedience. We will still have to live with the consequences of our actions at times, but God has so much more in store for us than living a life wrapped in self guilt.

    I’m looking forward to reading the next book in the series to see what Biblical truths Ms. Lloyd is going to share next, all while surrounded in a great story with lots of twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3