Customer Reviews for

Leaving the Saints: How I Lost the Mormons and Found My Faith

Average Rating 3.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

One who studies other faiths besides his own

I found Martha Beck¿s account of her religious experience to be fascinating. Her wit and writing style make for an outstanding read. The outrage concerning this book comes from one segment of American society... people associated with the LDS church. Although I am no...
I found Martha Beck¿s account of her religious experience to be fascinating. Her wit and writing style make for an outstanding read. The outrage concerning this book comes from one segment of American society... people associated with the LDS church. Although I am not Mormon, I have conversed with Elders of the Mormon Church and studied the Mormon religion. Ms. Beck has not revealed anything that has not already been disclosed. A person with an open mind will see how painful it was for the author to separate from family and friends due to the tenants for the LDS Church. Ms. Beck does express rather well her issues with the LDS Church and its leadership as well as her admiration and love for her Mormon friends and family. Some say that what she has written is derogatory and an attempt to defame a religion. Lamentably, the most incensed are the ones who need to consider what Martha Beck has written and explore for themselves the possibility that her points may have merit.

posted by Anonymous on January 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

A church still persecuted

It is okay to write your story and I am not saying Martha Beck isn't telling the truth about what happened to her. There is molestation going on in every religion. The LDS church that I know is a family oriented, loving, christain church. It is definitely not a cult....
It is okay to write your story and I am not saying Martha Beck isn't telling the truth about what happened to her. There is molestation going on in every religion. The LDS church that I know is a family oriented, loving, christain church. It is definitely not a cult. That is absurd. It is 12 million members strong and growing rapidly all over the world. This church is perfect in its beliefs but the members are not perfect and there are wrongs done every day in any religion. I was not born into the LDS church but into a Pentecostal home. I suffered physical and sexual abuse for 17 years. This doesn't mean that the Pentecostal religion is a cult or the members all monsters. As an LDS member, I believe in Jesus Christ and the Bible. Also the Book of Mormon as a second witness to the Bible. There is nothing sinister or cultish about this church. It is a great, magnificent following of people dedicated to serving and following Jesus Christ and living our lives to one day return to our Heavenly Father. What happened to Martha was not the LDS churches fault, it was the fault of her Fatehr who was wrong and what he did was horrific, but he doesn't stand for this great church.

posted by Anonymous on December 29, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    One who studies other faiths besides his own

    I found Martha Beck¿s account of her religious experience to be fascinating. Her wit and writing style make for an outstanding read. The outrage concerning this book comes from one segment of American society... people associated with the LDS church. Although I am not Mormon, I have conversed with Elders of the Mormon Church and studied the Mormon religion. Ms. Beck has not revealed anything that has not already been disclosed. A person with an open mind will see how painful it was for the author to separate from family and friends due to the tenants for the LDS Church. Ms. Beck does express rather well her issues with the LDS Church and its leadership as well as her admiration and love for her Mormon friends and family. Some say that what she has written is derogatory and an attempt to defame a religion. Lamentably, the most incensed are the ones who need to consider what Martha Beck has written and explore for themselves the possibility that her points may have merit.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2007

    A voice for those who don't dare speak

    I laughed, I cried but most of all I found comfort in learning that I was not the only one to go through all of this. To see that my life and experiences in Mormon-land were so identical to someone else is very healing. Like Martha, I also had to leave. This book has helped me to cope knowing that I was not alone.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2007

    'Your soul will know the truth'

    When I read these words towards the end of the book, something opened up inside me. As an ardent reader of memoirs, autobiographies and bios, this book will remain on my shelf as a favorite. I received the book as a gift and I hope the giver knows just how many gifts are found within the pages for me. I'm drawn to the authors sense of curiosity, her need to know more and not to stop with the facts (her assertion) of the abuse to herself. Personally I have no doubt about her assertions as to her own experiences. Additionally I relish her own search for her understanding of the 'whys' behind the abuse. This is something that has been helpful and healing for myself. We may never truly know why abuse occurs specific to an abuser, but I find it helpful to look beyond the act or events to see the world that created a place for such abuse to occur. This is a book I recommend to many in various aspects of my life. An excellent read, engrossing, life savingly humorous and fascinating.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Brave, Honest, Well-Written

    I am amazingly impressed with Martha Beck's honesty about such difficult subjects as religion and sexual abuse. I couldn't put the book down. Her writing is clear and honest about her family, Mormonism, and her struggle to cope with her father's sins. She still manages to be entertaining and write with a style that keeps you laughing out loud at her descriptions and clutching your chest at the heart-wrenching way she was treated both by her family and her community. It would have much easier not to write this book but the fact that she did and that so many people have been helped as a result makes her a hero in my book. After reading it there is little wonder that the Mormon community would rally around the Church. You see them with the single star ratings.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2006

    A glimpse into the 'creepy' mormon religion.

    Well written and very informative. This book provides a factual insight into the creepy, ultrasecretive non-christian religion exposing factual truths that this church's leaders would rather keep hidden. I highly recommend this book.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    Couldn't put it down

    Thank you, Martha Beck, for a very honest, personal, heart-wrenching story of your life with the Mormons. My experience doesn't come close to yours, I was raised in a very "normal" Catholic environment. When I went off to college I left it behind--like so many of my cohorts in the 70's-- religion seemed unnecessary and anachronistic. At age 28 I met and married a non-practicing mormon. But over the next 15 years I came to discover the "cultish" nature of his family and upbringing, a culture which turned out to be nightmarish for me and my children. Slowly the beliefs and indoctrination began to unwind and I learned the bizarre reasons for my growing discomfort around my husband and his family. I won't go into detail, suffice it to say that everything you revealed rang true and I have passed the book along to my grown children. I hope it will help them deal with the confused feelings of abandonment they have experienced since "we" walked out on their father.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2005

    The TRUTH about the 'one true church'

    This is another excellent book written about the deception that riddles the Mormon faith. Most books have been written by former Mormon's who finally saw through the lies. Martha Beck wonderfully expresses the truth behind the facade of the Mormon Cult. Her ability to find humor, despite the violations of her father and the Mormon hierarchy, are a true testament to her resilience. Most Mormon's would rather believe that things like this do not go on within their community, however, the TRUTH is that sexual abuse among children is rampant within Mormonism. Kudos to Martha for bringing the truth to the public. Hopefully this will enlighten the people that the Mormon Missionaries are trained to prey upon.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2005

    Leaving the Saints: How I Lost the Mormons and Found My Faith

    This Author is on the forefront and is a pioneer of telling the TRUTH. Every chapter offered AN AWAKENING. It¿s as though the black cloud has been lifted from my nightmares and I could see the light beaming threw the bedroom blinds. As I turned the pages I was there once again. Because I really was. Not with Martha Beck in Utah. I lived the nightmare in California where the cultic followers are abundant. Unfortunately, My mother was born into the cult of Mormonism and so there we were, like prey for the SAVAGES(that dressed extremely nice with big houses) garnishing their white teeth as they attempted to take our souls for their own desires; NOT GODLY OR ANYTHING THAT IS EVEN REMOTELY RELATED TO CHRISTIANITY. I read this book with enthusiasm and perseverance while I desperately held back my repressed anger that had turned to RAGE over the years. In this book as we see the light shinning on evil they become very argumentative or repressed but they refuse time and time again to be wrong and see the TRUTH! Amazing, they are supposedly stoutly educated? Please I beg, if you are a Mormon or Exmormon and are having emotional difficulties seek counseling outside of the cultic Mormon Forced Stronghold. My Family is still active in the cult and I have been threatened and I fear for my family¿s safety. Not an hour in the day goes by that I don¿t pray for their salvation. Although, many fear the truth behind the history of the Mormon Church and for good reason but don¿t give-up! Pray and ask your Lord and Savior with all sincerity for the courage to continue to seek the truth and ye shall find. I now live the life The One and Only True God had intended me to live with faith in Him; not false Prophets.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2005

    Diana Kline, author of 'Woman Redeemed'

    This is an amazing memoir about the life of a woman who grew up betrayed by those who should have protected her. I can easily relate to her pain because my book talks about the same subjects and having grown up Mormon in an abusive environment. Very sad but very true, sexual abuse is an all-too common occurance in the Mormon church, while its leaders go to great lengths to cover up the scandals and crimes. I applaud Martha for her bravery in dealing with an issue that most people would rather stick their heads in the sand about. Her honest, witty, and moving account is nothing short of a masterpiece in literature.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    Heartfelt

    Ms. Beck's courage is most striking in her story. Though recovered memories are highly controversial, many of her other experiences with the church are quite truthfully told. This is her story, not a bash-fest. She never expresses hatred towards the Mormon church; she does create a clear picture of how the church operates and why it didn't work for her. Please give her a chance to tell her story- approach it without bias, and you may be surprised by the truth in it.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2005

    Compelling!

    Bravo! I could hardly put the book down! Beck describes Mormon culture with humor, sensitivity, and accuracy. I was a devout Mormon for 26 years before leaving the LDS Church after finding many contradictions in doctrines, Church history being revised, and learning that Joseph Smith married other men's wives. It takes courage to stand for the truth, especially when it means losing every thing you thought you knew, including your loved ones and 'friends' when they shun you for 'apostatizing.' 'Leaving the Saints' is a compelling account. I, too, 'lost the Mormons' and found Jesus of the Bible! Hallelujah!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2005

    Leaving the Saints: How I Lost the Mormons and Found My Faith

    This book fully was meant to enrich the lives of many. The book was written as a journey that was meant to be shared. This Author has gone through (Eyes-Wide-opened) and shared unthinkable childhood memories that can never fully be understood by a true loving human. This dark secret doesn't have to live in shame and self-destruction any longer. This author has open many positive doors to many mormon-women that are living in denial and shame. The Author explains how we can over-come the unthinkable and help others, as well. And those who are still trying to cover-up for a 'church' that practices False-Biblical Teachings and ideals an monstrous (Not a True Godly man) icon by the name of Joseph Smith are more lost than the gentiles. The author discusses the known programming-classes (Primary) that given to and demanded to be taken by small, innocent, naive, easily misguided children(Should be a loving parents first RED-LIGHT). I exscaped from mormonism more than a decade ago and everything that was written is exactly true. They made sure I lost everything including my family. But God was right, They could never take away what 'The One-True God' had given me, FAITH in the truth.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    This is a

    Wonderful book about family, religion and secrets needing healed along with wounds from these areas. Is about Ms. Beck's search for truth, healing, and the power of love and forgiveness in her quest.

    Uplifting and gut wrentching as she battles her own inner struggles and the willingness to see it through.
    Her sense of humor is hilirious and adds levity.
    I recommend reading her book Expecting Adam first. It ties into this as a flow. A mixture of Spirit and being grounded. Fear into Love.
    If in a period of crises now or to be of help if one comes, Expecting Adam can be a human/spiritual REALness. Was also a catapult for this book, Leaving the Saints.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    A page turner, reads like a novel

    I couldn't put this book down. People say the Da Vinci code was an exciting story of conspiracy, but this book tops that, considering Martha Beck's is a true story. This is also a great book to read for someone who wants to learn how to overcome being a victim of sexual abuse.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2005

    Amazingly Poignant

    I purchased this book because I have a friend who left the Mormons after her ex-husband molested her children and the church basically told her to forgive and forget. She was supposed to go home and act as if nothing had ever happened. I was a little skeptical of her story because I find it hard to believe that organized religious leaders would act in such a ridiculous manner. I got chills while reading the book because my friend's sentiments and concerns were conveyed as if she had written the book herself. She had been telling me things about the Mormons for at least a year before this book was published. Thank you Martha Beck for having the courage to tell your story. It is obviously the truth and it is ironic that you were raised in a religion that prides itself on TRUTH, yet when you tell the real truth, they hypocritically tried to destroy you and your family. Mormons and Jehovah's Witnesses have a lot of secrets and rituals in common. I am giving my friend this book for her birthday because I know it will be extraordinarily healing for her.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2005

    Wonderfully Written

    Beck's book is a wonderful read that explores the paradigm that is her life. She details her history of abuse at the hands of her father and the impact it had on her life. At the same time she goes into lesser known truths about Mormon (LDS)Doctrine, and her perceptions of the reality of living within the domain of the Church. She is funny and honest, and her writing style & focus on the scientific method is very typical of a social scientist. An excellent book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2005

    Great writting

    The only reason I give this author 5 stars is because she had to courage to tell her story, realizing that she would be scrutinized by the narrow minded church of which she speeks of.I admire her strength and courage.And admire the fact that she can stir the pot in the two faced church that helped her and damned her in the end! I to, left the church that seems to be such a contradiction in faith.Leaving the Saints is a compelling book that will only get bad reviews because nobody in that church can see the truth!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    A MUST READ!!

    Martha Beck is a wonderful, witty writer. I not only loved this book but I also completely believed her account. I know enough about both the LDS and FLDS to assert that this so-called religion is simply a cult led by pedophiles who dominate through mind control, sexual abuse, persecution, violence and forced allegience.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    Glad she wrote this

    It took a lot of personal courage for Martha to write this book, and I'm glad she did. I learned quite a bit about the Morman church, family dynamics, and the importance of personal growth, however painful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    A reviewer

    This book is amazing. You will love the honest, kind heart that wrote it. Do not let the negative reviews keep you from reading it. Due to their venomous nature, the reviews obviously written by active Mormons back up the very things Martha Beck wrote about. It's her story. Write your own book on how good the Mormons have been to you if you have that big of problem with it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2