Customer Reviews for

Led Zeppelin IV

Average Rating 5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Led Zeppelin IV

    Eight tracks, all perfect. Wicked blues riffs and lilting acoustic strums are dealt out in equal proportions, and the band's songwriting was never better. The production too is excellent, probably the best on a Led Zeppelin record. For anybody who likes intelligent hard rock, this is the ultimate.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Stairway to Heaven, Definitely!

    Led Zeppelin's IV is the best album I've ever heard. I guess everyone has heard "Stairway to Heaven", maybe the best song ever made. "The Battle of Evermore" and "Going to California" are same kind of tracks, good ballads. "Black Dog", "Rock And Roll" and "Four Sticks" are real rock and roll. The riffs are so intelligent that I wonder where Page and Plant has found them. "Rock and Roll" makes me happy every time I listen to it. "Misty Mountain Hop" is very strange song but it's funny. At first when I listened it, I thought: "Is this a drunk song?". Well, maybe it is. "When the Levee Breaks" is the best blues song I've ever heard. The words are that kind of that it could be called "Stairway to Hell" and one critic I know has done it too. Most questions for the album are dealing with "Stairway to Heaven": Does it tell about Jesus or lady making shoppings? What it is? Maybe we will never know what was in Plant's mind when he wrote this song. Well, album is perfect: it has different kinds of songs which are all good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the many great albums by ledzeppelin

    Ledzeppelin4 is probably my favorite album. Not just out out of the albums by ledzeppelin but the greatest album ive ever heard in my life. for a lot of people its pretty hard to choose the best music theyve ever heard.But its not a very hard decision for me. this album is so unbelivibly ralaxing and entertaining its hard to explain.In my opinoin ledzeppelin is the greatest band that ever lived for example their lyrics are brilliant thier ability to sing,play guitar,play the drums and bass guitar is all just amazing in every way.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A hard rock masterpiece

    This is the definitive Led Zeppelin album. No weak tracks are present, and the entire album has a great, mysterious, strange atmosphere. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Top of the world!

    Like I said before on their previouse records, this album was a natural progresion by the band. The special chemistry between the musicians just made it all happen. I think although Jimmy Page was not playing that neatly, I can say maybe he forgot about himself for a while and made a big contribution to make Zeppelin a great force, because although all the members were strong, I think he was the mastermind of it all and was a great composer along side Robert Plant.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Led Zeppelin IV

    Zeppelin's fourth album is not head-and-shoulders above their others, but it is probably their most consistent effort and a joy to listen to, track for track. In a sense it is like the heavy blues-rock of the second album blended with the acoustic stylings of the third - in between wailing hard rockers like 'Black Dog' and 'Misty Mountain Hop', gentler fare such as 'The Battle of Evermore' and 'Going to California' provides an interesting and engaging counterpoint. The best stuff on the album is essential rock material - the hyperactive thrash of 'Rock and Roll', the complex, propulsive blues of 'When the Levee Breaks' and of course, the dazzling epic 'Stairway to Heaven'. The production is clean, lush and excellent, and all four band members are at the top of their game. No serious rock fan should overlook this monolithic masterpiece.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LZ IV

    This quite possibly is the best Led Zeppelin CD i've ever heard. I've been listening to it almost non stop. By far one of my best purchases in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A real classic!

    This is one of the all time best Rock albums.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The first Zeppelin album I have heard

    All of the songs are amazing! It features some of my personal favorites. Everyone should own this album!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A++ Greatest Album of all time

    Number one on my top ten must have rock Albums of all time list. This Album really showes The Best of Rock And Roll. It has 6 Of Rocks Greatest songs, One being The Greatest song of all time, You will fuigure that one out When you listion to it. Jimmy and Robert really Show off the Greatest rock And roll Combo of all time in This one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    that stairway really leads to heaven

    5 stars..i think the record deserve them even if there are some songs which doesn,t....but, not just for the monumental "Stairway to Heaven" but also for pieces like "Battle of Evermore" "Going To California" "Black Dog" "Rock and Roll"...and after all it's not just the value of the single songs but it's the meaning of this album in the history of rock....i personally enjoied more the Led Zeppelin III but is indubitable that IV is a 5 stars album, eventhough it isn't for me the greatest album ever....but if anyone who knows about music would list the best 20-30 album of all time IV would be absolutely in....and this is enough for me to give it 5 stars....maybe just the first 5-6 of the list would deserve 6 stars!so, for them we need a new category:-) jokes a part....if 5 stars are too much, well...defenitely 4 would be too less...so, better 5 than 4 (4 and a half would be maybe the very right rating...can we have another new category? :))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    stairway to perfect

    the best rock album ever. every note, every letter and every "ooh babe" are perfect. i love this album. hell, i'm in love with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Band!!!

    Led Zeppelin in a great band that has a great sound. They have a sound all their own and that is what makes them soo great. Thsi cd is truly one of a kind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the best

    the best led zeppelin cd i have ever heard

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A mind boggling piece of art

    This album is one of the best albums that I have ever listened to. Everyone who likes metal should own this album. It's a head banging frenzy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best albums ever, even to a foolish 13 year old like me.....

    Led Zeppelin IV in my opinion is one of the best, if not the best, albums ever. It combines so many different styles of music and really shows Led Zeppelin at their best. And how can any female NOT love Robert Plant's sexy voice??? This album is full of soo many classic songs, including Black Dog, Going to California, Rock and Roll, and Stairway to Heaven, the greatest song in rock and roll history. If you don't already have this album, GET IT! No CD collection is complete without it! (And if your friend is borrowing it, get it back from them as soon as you can! **Hint hint Marielle**)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ONE OF THE ALBUMS CHOSEN TO REPRESENT THE MUSIC ON EARTH TO THE UNIVERSE

    THE ALBUM ZEPPLIN IV TAKES ROCK AND ROLL AND THE BLUES AND REINTERPRETS IT AS THOSE FOUR MEN AT THAT TIME FELT IT. ZEP.IV MOVES AND GROOVES IT CAUSES A YOUNG MAN TO FEEL ALIVE THEN AND NOW. IT MAKES THE GIRLS KNOW THERES ONLY ONE LIFE TO LIVE. LETS FACE IT THE PURPOSE OF MUSIC IS TO MOVE THE SOUL i.e. MAKE ONE FEEL ALIVE. FROM A TECHNICAL STAND POINT ITS SUPERB;THE TIMING THE TONES THE BAND PLAYING AS ONE UNIT. BUT IM WRITING ABOUT WHAT IT DOES TO ONES BEING I GUESS IN A NUTSHELL ( IM ALIVE IN THE HERE IN NOW) ITS BEEN A LONG TIME SINCE I ROCK AND ROLLED. OH YEH ITS A GREAT ALBUM FROM START TO FINISH.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Surprise surprise, The best album ever

    I had the pleasure of hearing, Going to Calofornia, live in 1998 in Glasgow. The best song ever, from the best album ever, from the best band ever, at the best concert, I have ever been to and ever will be at!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST EVER

    This is the best album by any artist ever, i dont care what anyone has to say, the way this album is put together makes it a masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Definitive Led Zeppelin !

    Written at the peak of their creativity, Page and Plant did not need to grace this album with a title. It simply was the defining point of their careers and of the music scene for generations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2