Customer Reviews for

Leeway Cottage

Average Rating 3.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    Reveals the Best and Worst in People

    This is a book I recommend without hesitation to fellow book lovers. It explores the complexities of human relationships and brings in history in an interesting way. It's a good story, but not one for readers looking to find only lovable, one-dimensional characters. The author's characters will evoke many emotions in the reader, some negative. It's not challenging to read, but provokes thoughtful review of one's own relationships and how better to deal with them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2006

    I Almost Didn't Finish Reading It.

    The best thing about this book is that I picked it up at a library sale for only two bucks. Other than that, it was a disappointment. Sometimes unlikeable characters are actually quite interesting, but that wasn't the case with these characters. If they weren't unsympathetic, then they were just plain dull. I didn't care about poor little rich girl Sydney, especially after she married Laurus just to annoy her mother. Once Sydney begins to emulate her mother, the novel becomes even more unbearable. I felt very removed from them and from their story. I just wanted it to end. In fact, I started skimming quite a bit. It seemed like the author took on a very large task--portraying the marriage of an pianist and his rich American wife as well as the Danish Resistance during WWII. These parts didn't mesh well. The shifts between Maine and Denmark were too huge, and the sudden inclusion of Nina's story before the last chapter just seemed out of place. I think the author would have done better if she'd written two separate novels. It was too much portrayed much too quickly for one book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    It's a Duo

    Reading Gutcheon's book is a two for the money: the saga of an American family and the Nazi occupation of the Danes. It is a bit more involved than your typical beach read, and I liked the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2005

    Don't want it to end...

    I love this book. Years ago I loved another of Beth Gutcheon's books, 'Still Missing', but never completed her other books since then. This book has everything I love in a good novel, believable characters, intelligent writing, a compelling plot... I really don't want to finish the book. It's one I'll recommend to all my reading friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2005

    A POIGNANT STORY SUPERBLY READ

    Few subjects are as dramatic as love and war. Beth Gutcheon, author of More than You Know, weaves them both in this enthralling story of a marriage set in the plush haven of Dundee, Maine, and against the horrific backdrop of World War II. Broadway and television actress Elizabeth Marvel gives a superb reading, especially when she inhabits the voice of Sydney Brant, a wealthy young woman who spent her days sailing the coast and her evenings at deb parties until she met the man to whom she would make a lifelong commitment. Upon the death of her father Sydney is left to grieve with a mother who is much more interested in social status and control. So, the young woman, who harbors hopes of becoming a singer, moves to New York City where she meets and marries Laurus Moss, a Danish pianist. With the outbreak of the War, Laurus feels compelled to go to London and become a part of a Danish Resistance group while Sydney remains behind. It is then, in 1941, that the first of their three children is born. Laurus's activities are a blueprint of what many endured in order to save more than 7,000 Jews, yet this danger is far removed from Sydney whose task is now mothering. One might imagine that the pair would not have much in common or would be disinterested once they're reunited. That's not the case at all as is revealed in this evocative story of marriage amidst war and separation. - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2011

    Not what I was hoping for...

    I really loved the first...half of this book because it really went into depth with Sydney as the main character and Laurus and Candace as secondary main characters. The second half of the book veered away from that somewhat to the point that it only brushed over their lives instead of going into depth. Once the war was over it was almost pointless because it didn't focus enough on any one character to feel "connected" with them. I wouldn't say I was completely disappointed in the ending but I wasn't happy about it either because it was too predictable. I doubt I'll pass this one on to my "book sharing" friends or seek out any other by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    One of my favorites!

    This is one of my top ten favorite reads. Read it one summer and hated when it was over. Re-read Leeway Cottage after the sequel came out, and realized a few nuances I missed the first read. Love it, love it, love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    Leeway Cottage

    Good reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    disappointing book

    The synposis of the book makes it sound so interesting. The book has no center--it is all over the place and I am still not sure what the point is. The author had too many different characters in her novel and I found it difficult to keep track of them all because they didn't really stand out. The Resistance parts don't flow with the book, I am not sure what the author was hoping to accomplish by having this in the book. The title of the book is called Leeway Cottege, yet I am not sure why. Parts of this book were boring and I was happy to finish it. The author did put some great historical facts in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1