Customer Reviews for

Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days

Average Rating 4.5
( 254 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(172)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

You will get hooked

Ive already read the series and couldnt put it down. I read like the first six in a few weeks,and could hardly wait for the others. I will say if youre not a Rapture beliving christian then you might not like the series. Keep in mind it is fictional,but Jenkins and Le H...
Ive already read the series and couldnt put it down. I read like the first six in a few weeks,and could hardly wait for the others. I will say if youre not a Rapture beliving christian then you might not like the series. Keep in mind it is fictional,but Jenkins and Le Haye did such a great job of potraying Buck,Rayford,Chloe...ect that for a minute you might belive they exsist. My favoriet is Buck and Dr, Rosensweig. I love how they give a little background on each character a little into reading the story. Which they do even more in the book the Rising. It is a little slow at first,and they really push the how to get saved bit alot! It comes up almost with each developing character,but after you get passed all that you get into the heart of the story,and kinda get a feel for what the group is up against. All in all a great series,but i would not reccomend readingnit before bed,unless your already an insomniac like me. Because once you start its like potato chips,you cant read just one or two chapters. Youll habe read the whole thing before you even relize it:)
P.s. if you were as dissapointed in the movies as I was check out the Dramatic Audio versions. Very close to the books almost spot on. It has great acting,sound effects,and they will make the book come to life in your imagination. Its fun because you get this idea of what the characters actually feel and even your own image of what they might look like.

posted by 10873039 on February 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

OH YEAH

I will rate this one MILLION STARS anybody know how? I love this book I find it very educational and earth will be worse off than it is in this book. -p.s im on #7

posted by 9780730 on June 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 255 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Posted September 1, 2014

    Good Book. This book is the start of the series talking about t

    Good Book.

    This book is the start of the series talking about the earth's last days.  Captain Rayford Steele is piloting an airplane across the Atlantic when dozens of passengers are discovered missing.  It is found that the same thing has been happened all over the world and Rayford remembers something that his wife has told him.  When he finds his wife and son missing and his daughter still on earth he discovers that they have been left behind.  He strives to learn all he can about God and what will happen now that the rapture has occurred and tell all the people around him too. I enjoyed reading about Rayford, Chloe and Buck Williams. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2014

    This novel is about the end times, the Rapture and return of Chr

    This novel is about the end times, the Rapture and return of Christ to earth. I realized I had read this book when it was first published, as well as more in the series. I also saw the movie which is well done. This is well written and hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Intriguing book! Book begins on a plane traveling from Chicago

    Intriguing book! Book begins on a plane traveling from Chicago to London. Halfway there over 100 passengers disappear, leaving only their clothes. Pilot Rayford Steele discovers through radio contact that this has occurred not only on other planes, but all over the world. All Christians and young children, even unborn babies, have simply disappeared. The world is in chaos. This story follows the pilot – Rayford Steele, his 20 year old daughter Chloe, Hattie Durham (a flight attendant on the plane) and Buck Williams (a famous report who was also on the plane) as they deal with the end times.
    I enjoyed reading this and it certainly is relevant today but I found it interesting how technology has changed since it was first published almost 20 years ago. Buck Williams’ modem computer is a dinosaur now and never does he complain about the wifi and texting abilities – since they weren’t available then! But the story is still fascinating and quick paced!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    I really like this series.

    I like this series,but I can never find them in paperback.I found a couple at a library sale,but thrift stores are th only place I can find them.This is a total life saver.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    Left Behind Review Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkin's innovative s

    Left Behind Review
    Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkin's innovative series Left Behind sparked interest in Revelation, the Apocalypse and the End Times. A fan of the last book of the Bible, Left Behind is a beautiful book even though sometimes people wonder just how many pilots couldn't believe in God before and why they suddenly were all changing their minds.




    Left Behind is a challenging and fascinating perspective on the least-talked about book in the Bible, Revelation, although Revelation is by far one of the most important books in the Bible. These two authors create a universe in which God is judging the Earth and has taken away His Church; all that are left are those who refused Christ. Now they all must band together to survive the Tribulation and all the other events foretold thousands of years ago. It also has great imagery and talks about one of the four possibilities of Revelation. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    There are plenty of reviews already on what this story is about,

    There are plenty of reviews already on what this story is about, so I'll skip ahead to my thoughts.

    I started reading this book and got sucked in. I loved being able to get a more concrete picture of what the final days could look like. Obviously this is a fictional story by Christians, for Christians of what could happen, but anyone can enjoy it. The story was well written and hopefully will get you thinking about what you believe will happen in the future. I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the books in this series as soon as possible!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2014

    To be honest, I do not think Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth¿s

    To be honest, I do not think Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth’s Last Days was a book for me. The first 100 pages were really interesting and grasped my attention where I did not want to put the book down. Then the next 200 plus pages, I was rather confused and bored and did a lot of skimming. I was beginning to have hopes that I would find the ending soon. When I finally got to the last 100 plus pages, the book got my attention again. I was starting to have a better understanding of where the book was headed. Everything was making sense to me and all was coming together. 
    The concept of Left Behind does sound scary and makes me wonder if all that happens within its pages could actually happen one day. I do believe that the book does have an interesting plot and does make the reader to do a lot of thinking about their own lives and how they should be living it. There is a great moral to the story that all need to read and learn about. I give this book 3 ½ stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    I could not put it down! Sometimes I forgot that it was fiction

    I could not put it down! Sometimes I forgot that it was fiction - I was in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2014

    Entertaining read I enjoyed this novel more than I thought I wo

    Entertaining read

    I enjoyed this novel more than I thought I would. I tried it years ago, wasn’t hooked by the characters or the writing and assumed I would never read it. This time, I made it farther than I had before and started to get swept up in the story. I don’t know what side I stand on for end-times-ology and the various debates that spring up – unfortunately, I haven’t delved into those studies yet. However, I can tell you that it makes for good fiction!

    I’m not sure if I’ll be reading more of the series very soon, but I do know they’re easy to find at the library, so I will likely get to them for some interesting series reading. Maybe I’ll also be studying Revelation in-depth by then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    I found this book to be very captivating, and now working my way

    I found this book to be very captivating, and now working my way on the rest of the series. Although I don't come from a religious background, these books were still able to capture my attention, and still not confuse me either with biblical jargon. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    I still remember reading Left Behind when it first came out. I h

    I still remember reading Left Behind when it first came out. I hate to admit that was like in middle school or my freshman year of high school. :) I loved them and couldn't wait for the next one to come out. Back then my eschatology lined up perfectly with the books. Some 15 years later (or more...I don't really want to think about that) my eschatology has changed but this book was still quite enjoyable. The end times is a section of theology that in my humble opinion is a non essential and not 100% clear from Scripture. It's fun to think of different possibilities and these books still provide great entertainment and action.




    Tyndale is reprinting them in anticipation of the new movie coming out with Nicholas Cage. If you haven't heard of the story it is the story of Rayford Steele and Cameron Williams. Rayford is a pilot who is flying during the rapture and once it happens realizes what has happened because his wife, who is a Christian, had been telling him what would happen for quite awhile. Carmeron is a young award winning journalist who ends up covering the stories of the disappearances. Both outlooks give us a very unique view into what it might be like if this were to happen. If you haven't read this series I recommend it. They are quick and fun reads and will have you hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I was not a fan of the way this topic was handled.  The topic it

    I was not a fan of the way this topic was handled.  The topic itself is too Biblically based to have the book be so far off base Biblically.  If we are going to write about this topic we need to keep close to the Scriptural basis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2014

    This is the first book an an amazing series that you won't be ab

    This is the first book an an amazing series that you won't be able to put down. The writing is an excellent & the characters are very believable. Since the story line & is based on prophecy from the Bible it is so very easy to picture things happening in a similar manner. It really makes you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2014

    Well told, awful theology This book (and really the series) is

    Well told, awful theology

    This book (and really the series) is relatively well engaging - if it wasn't I wouldn't have read ALL of them. However, I have beef with it's theology. If you believe in pre-tribulation you will probably love this book. As that's not what I believe about the end times, I wish this book didn't espouse that view. If the book leads people to Jesus, though, I say it's a job well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2014

    Very Imaginative Page Turner. I have to agree with the reviewer

    Very Imaginative Page Turner. I have to agree with the reviewer who said that the plot, writing, and message were all excellent. I was impressed with the suspense, with the unexpected events and the political machinations. The different people with different perspectives were very well done. I find myself wanting to know more about the characters and what happens. It was well researched, and thought provoking. It shows an eye opening, even chilling, image of the last days. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    This is a series that gets me so excited for Jesus' return, maki

    This is a series that gets me so excited for Jesus' return, making me want to dig deeper into my bible. It's also an awesome evangelical tool. I have 2 friends who actually gave their lives to God by reading this book and are still serving God years later.

    The storyline moves quickly and keeps your interest, the good characters are likeable, the evil characters hate-able (Nicolae is so much more creepy in this book than in any of the movies!), and it stays as true to God's word as possible... if you're a pre-millenial rapture kinda believer. Even if you don't know where you stand on that issue, this book is still a must read. It's not only good entertainment but is also very thought-provoking whether you believe this it the way it will all happen in the end or not.

    The reading level is pretty low. However, the low reading level can definitely be a good thing considering that people who don't often read can be drawn into this story and become hooked. My mom read this book and she never reads! In that case, I was glad for the writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    While this book is not totally Biblical, it was certainly entert

    While this book is not totally Biblical, it was certainly entertaining and well worth the read. I enjoyed how action packed and full of Christian principals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    A compelling and intriguing read that holds up surprisingly well

    A compelling and intriguing read that holds up surprisingly well almost 20 years after it was first written. Tim LaHaye and Jerry Jenkins
    present a plausible look at how people will think, feel, and react after the biblical Rapture occurs, especially when their loved ones are
    among the missing. 

    The book opens with the disappearance of several passengers from a 747. When the pilot, Rayford Steele, radios to let ground control
    know about the situation, he discovers the phenomenon is happening worldwide. When they are finally able to land, Rafe, his
    passengers, and crew discover a world vastly different than the one they left a few short hours ago. The remaining chapters detail the
    rise of a charismatic, yet sinister, leader who steps in to rally those "left behind" around his agenda.

    This book will resonate most strongly for folks with a conservative, evangelical Christian background, but should be an interesting read
    for those who want to learn more about the biblical End-Times and how they might play out in present day reality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Amazing

    I have watched the movie and it was astounding. Everyone should read the book and watch the movie. This is one of my all time favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Grest series

    Great series and adventure...no idea why it is only becoming more expensive?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 255 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13