Customer Reviews for

Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days (Left Behind Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 942 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(657)

4 Star

(136)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

These Are the Endtimes

Absolutely surprised me with how good it was! I balked at reading it at first and put it off for a good year or so before I finally picked it up and I was blown away. It is haunting, creepy, funny, spot-on scripture, romantic, and thrilling. The authors have expertly wr...
Absolutely surprised me with how good it was! I balked at reading it at first and put it off for a good year or so before I finally picked it up and I was blown away. It is haunting, creepy, funny, spot-on scripture, romantic, and thrilling. The authors have expertly wrapped fiction around scripture, without losing any of the credibility and viability of Biblical doctrine, rather enforcing it. For those with a spiritual interest in the Rapture and Endtimes prophesies, this book is a must!

posted by Strides on June 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

48 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

Too 2-Dimensional and Too Fundamental

I've seen all my friends reading this series, so I figure, hey, why not? Having no clue what it was about, I was in for a shock. Yeah, Revelations coming true is an interesting tale, but geez, the characters are unrealistic and I think the most difficult word was Rapt...
I've seen all my friends reading this series, so I figure, hey, why not? Having no clue what it was about, I was in for a shock. Yeah, Revelations coming true is an interesting tale, but geez, the characters are unrealistic and I think the most difficult word was Rapture. What annoyed me most about these books was that good people were 'left behind.' The ones that were taken were all the type that spent all day in church screaming and shouting about how they were saved. I live in the Bible Belt so I get enough of this preaching everyday. Now I'm a Christian but my church is very non-fundamental. By the definition of the ones who were taken that was given in this book, not a one of us would have gone. Meanwhile, good people in this book who tried their best to help people and genuinely cared for others, but just weren't hooked up with the 'right' chuch, weren't seen as believers. If I were not a Christian, I would be horribly turned off from this religion as an elitist and snobby group. Well, this book is propaganda and it didn't work. If you want a really good Christian story, try the Bible. I've always found that to be pretty inspirational.

posted by Anonymous on December 23, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 945 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 48
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2000

    Am I Alone ?

    The premise is most interesting, but it is not developed. The characters are weak, the continuity wobbles and the biblical references are sketchy. The authors assume a huge leap of faith, and then, simply repeat the message. I wonder if this message could not be conveyed more effectively in a pampflet or perhaps serialized in a tabloid.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2000

    It wasn't that great

    Why do so many people love this book? I can see how maybe a really religious person can like it. The characters seemed very distant.I guess some people enjoy it when they are able to except the fact that Jesus came to earth and made everyone disappear. I am not that closed minded but the book made it seem so unrealistic. I am still young but I am not as gullible as to believe one word of this story.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2000

    You're Joking

    This is one of the worst books I have ever read. The characters are not developed, and the pathetic plot is scripted as if its only purpose is to support an agenda or make a statement. The actions of the characters are incredulous. For example millions of people disapear off of the earth and one character's comment is 'this is too weird'. In the words of my daughter 'duhhh' I'ts too bad that they don't allow a '0' star rating. I was looking forward to reading this series but I'm afraid it was all I could do to finish the first book.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2000

    Okay for fiction

    Bought Left Behind from newspaper review. Also Tribulation Force, Nicolae & Apollyon. Kept reading as wanted to give authors benefit of doubt. Ray, Barnes Cloe & Buck too unbelievable in cramming bible studies, writing reams of paper on it, building under ground safe house and weekly Trib. Force meetings of 4 only. The rest of the flock of this New Hope church is left to build their own safe house, do not meet with the Trib Force, and are only told what's going on at Sunday Church service. Like these people never read the bible before. One, two or more of this group of 4 are flying all over the world and always manage to have the trans- portion and fuel when the world is collapsing around them. There is no mention of other Christian Groups doing anything such as Methodist, Baptist, Anglican's etc. , except the bare mention of a Catholic Archbishop who is portrayed by authors as a bumbling gold digging buffoon. Tsk Tsk. Then there is the portrayal of Rabbi Dr. Tsion, a respected scholar who has dedicated his life to the old and new testament, probably studying since an early age, and all of a sudden at age 46 he finds something (?), and accepts Jesus as the Messiah. That was even more unbelievable than the Trib Force. I was hoping for some- thing more but it's not there.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2000

    Must Read, Must Believe

    If this book doesn't Move you towards Christ-I Don't know what will. To be left behind, is to miss out on the greatest coming event Christians inticipate. This book brings to light, what the world (from a Christian standpoint) will encounter, miss out on, and be forced to live with- without God's numbered.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 1999

    Absolutely Captivating

    I found Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days, very captivating. I was so indulged in reading LB that I didn't want to stop to eat because it captured my attention so strongly. I just saw so many people reading it and decided to get it for myself. I was even more eager to read the next book: Tribulation Force. Reading LB has motivated me into reading my Bible and praying more now. I've obtained a boldness to speak to others about Jesus and to inform them of the limited time we have left to get ready. I most highly recommend everyone to read Left Behind to get a greater insight on what life will be like if anyone of us are left behind. It is truely an attention getting book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Wow

    Amazing. It is crazy that this will happen someday.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This is the 4th time I am reading the "Left Behind" series. I always find new information I missed the first time around. LaHaye & Jenkins have a way of describing events so you can visualize them while reading. This series comes as close to explaining the book of Revelation as I could find. When I read the series the first time I couldn't buy the books fast enough. The story flies through the entire series. It is still the same way. If you are trying to understand the Rapture & the Tribulation, this series is for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Amazing

    The movie is so much like the book but the 777 on the cover does not make any sense

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Tim Lahaye and Jarry B. Enking Left Behind Star Rating 4/5




    Tim Lahaye and Jarry B. Enking

    Left Behind

    Star Rating 4/5

    This book was very good. I just couldn't stop reading it. It is the first of a very good series. I have read the other two and they are just as good.

    There is chaos after hundreds of people disapear just leaving clothes and belongings. Buck and a few of his friends try to save the world from the evil Nicolae. it was a little hard because hard to get through at some parts,but other parts I read really fast. It has some adventure and a little chaos. I like how the auther words the story. I am very glad to have taken the time to read it.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    WOW!!!!!!

    This book is great! It is a must read if you are fascinated with the rapture and revelations. I put it off for a while but wwwhen I picked it up I was glued! It can be slow at first so I do warn about that. Also the further you read into this book (not the entire series) it does talk a lot about being saved and stuff like that. But once your mid-ways through or so you WILL be satisfied. There is also a lot of talk about the characters feeling fake at the beggining which is half way true. They are fake-like at the beggining but they did that on purpose because they jump right into the rapture less then ten minutes in; therefore not giving much time for background on your charaters. But I promise they will get into that in huge detail later on. I mean it is a twelve book series. But yes I recommend you read the ENTIRE book before you quite this series and say it is bad. It takes some time to get fully into it but when you do, I promise, you will be trying to fit in just sentences at a time. Have fun Believers!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Great book!!!

    This is a great book that makes you think about your actions, and how you treat people. I did not want to put it down from start to end, and I can't wait to read the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    I love it

    Of all the books that i have ever read this book has to be the greatest one ever. My mom saw that i was getting bored with the books that i was reading and that i was maturing so i was ready to read this sereas. I was 11 when i started reading these books and i had been reading mandie and nancy drew books and as soon as i read the first chapter i could tell that these would be very exciting. I can usuially read books this size in about 3 weeks but i read it in about 15 days. The things in this book resemble the way things xould happen durring and after the rapture but i have to keep telling myself that this is only a way it could happen and not the way things will happen exactly. Like it says that all kids dissappear in the repture but they may not. Or it says that everyone dissappears leaving their clothes behind in a neat pile. I am just saying that this book comes alive an you feel like you are in the middle of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    Can't Put Down!!

    Highly Recommended!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Hi

    If you dont like it you dont have to read it. For the sake of the people who love it,if you see two reviews that pretty much match yours,snd every other is good, PLEASE DO NOT POST A REVIEW THAT MATCHES ANOTHER. But if by chance you happen to hate it, here are the steps you must take:







    1- read a little further
    If you still dont like it

    2- close the book.



    3- do something else, give the book away or dont touch it again

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    THIS IS A MUST READ!!!

    I was recommended this by a friend and I am so thankful she recommended them to me. God states that people who read the book of Revelations will be blessed and that he wants you to read it so that you will not be fooled by people, dictators and events that will occur. This book will quote scriptures in the Bible and take you through each of the Judgements. The book of Revelations is hard to understand and I have been reading revelations along with the Left Behind Books and LOVE THEM!! These books are good also because they are fiction and what I like about fiction is that it takes you out of your normal world and into another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2001

    There are better things to read

    After all the hype that everyone is exclaming over this book I decided to give it a shot. The concept is absurd. In basic logic in order to come to a logical conclusion you need to begin with a premise which is a universal truth. The idea that half the population just disappears is against the basic laws of nature. Anything that follows is just distractions because the conclusion cannot BE. I really don't get why this series is so popular but from my point of view it is propaganda. I did finish the first novel but do not intend go further into this series.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2000

    A Clever Disguise

    This book isn't bad for a religious tract masquerading as a novel. I'm not saying that this is a bad thing..if I were trying to push MY beliefs, I would choose a format that was as entertaining as possible. After all, one catches more flies with novels than with sermons. But this IS a sermon, no mistake, and the digs at Pro Choice, women and Jews are non too subtle. Still it IS refreshing to read a book where the Fundamentalist Christians are the Good guys, rather than the lunatic fringe they seem to be in most other books and films, and it DOES cause one to THINK, which is always a good thing.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2000

    Fantastic!!!

    The Kids' Series is Wonderful!!!! I love them! I haven't read the adult series, but everyone should read the Kids series.I can't describe the intensity of the books. They are GREAT!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 1999

    left behind

    A RollerCoaster Series of books! Once you read #1 'Left Behind'..you will have to read them all! Cannot put them down! Recommend to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 945 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 48