Customer Reviews for

Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days (Left Behind Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 953 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(664)

4 Star

(137)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

These Are the Endtimes

Absolutely surprised me with how good it was! I balked at reading it at first and put it off for a good year or so before I finally picked it up and I was blown away. It is haunting, creepy, funny, spot-on scripture, romantic, and thrilling. The authors have expertly wr...
Absolutely surprised me with how good it was! I balked at reading it at first and put it off for a good year or so before I finally picked it up and I was blown away. It is haunting, creepy, funny, spot-on scripture, romantic, and thrilling. The authors have expertly wrapped fiction around scripture, without losing any of the credibility and viability of Biblical doctrine, rather enforcing it. For those with a spiritual interest in the Rapture and Endtimes prophesies, this book is a must!

posted by Strides on June 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

48 out of 107 people found this review helpful.

Too 2-Dimensional and Too Fundamental

I've seen all my friends reading this series, so I figure, hey, why not? Having no clue what it was about, I was in for a shock. Yeah, Revelations coming true is an interesting tale, but geez, the characters are unrealistic and I think the most difficult word was Rapt...
I've seen all my friends reading this series, so I figure, hey, why not? Having no clue what it was about, I was in for a shock. Yeah, Revelations coming true is an interesting tale, but geez, the characters are unrealistic and I think the most difficult word was Rapture. What annoyed me most about these books was that good people were 'left behind.' The ones that were taken were all the type that spent all day in church screaming and shouting about how they were saved. I live in the Bible Belt so I get enough of this preaching everyday. Now I'm a Christian but my church is very non-fundamental. By the definition of the ones who were taken that was given in this book, not a one of us would have gone. Meanwhile, good people in this book who tried their best to help people and genuinely cared for others, but just weren't hooked up with the 'right' chuch, weren't seen as believers. If I were not a Christian, I would be horribly turned off from this religion as an elitist and snobby group. Well, this book is propaganda and it didn't work. If you want a really good Christian story, try the Bible. I've always found that to be pretty inspirational.

posted by Anonymous on December 23, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 956 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 48
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2000

    Too 2-Dimensional and Too Fundamental

    I've seen all my friends reading this series, so I figure, hey, why not? Having no clue what it was about, I was in for a shock. Yeah, Revelations coming true is an interesting tale, but geez, the characters are unrealistic and I think the most difficult word was Rapture. What annoyed me most about these books was that good people were 'left behind.' The ones that were taken were all the type that spent all day in church screaming and shouting about how they were saved. I live in the Bible Belt so I get enough of this preaching everyday. Now I'm a Christian but my church is very non-fundamental. By the definition of the ones who were taken that was given in this book, not a one of us would have gone. Meanwhile, good people in this book who tried their best to help people and genuinely cared for others, but just weren't hooked up with the 'right' chuch, weren't seen as believers. If I were not a Christian, I would be horribly turned off from this religion as an elitist and snobby group. Well, this book is propaganda and it didn't work. If you want a really good Christian story, try the Bible. I've always found that to be pretty inspirational.

    48 out of 107 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    These Are the Endtimes

    Absolutely surprised me with how good it was! I balked at reading it at first and put it off for a good year or so before I finally picked it up and I was blown away. It is haunting, creepy, funny, spot-on scripture, romantic, and thrilling. The authors have expertly wrapped fiction around scripture, without losing any of the credibility and viability of Biblical doctrine, rather enforcing it. For those with a spiritual interest in the Rapture and Endtimes prophesies, this book is a must!

    25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2001

    Old-World bible fear tactics

    I've tried two or three times to read the book my m-in-law gave me for Christmas 'Left Behind' about the rapture where a fifth of the world's population just disappears and their cars crash if they were driving etc. They know who disappeared because their clothes are left behind. It starts out with an airplane pilot who is contemplating an affair with a stewardess because his wife has turned into a bible zealot and he can't relate to her. Already I'm turned off by both characters. Then the thought that people being raptured out of moving vehicles has caused others to die just sounds so un-God-like. It is just fear tactics, so old-world-bible stuff that I can't read more than a few pages at a time before getting annoyed. This is one book I feel like trashing so no one else reads it.

    20 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Excellent and enjoyable read.

    I enjoyed the author's style in which he deals with the eventual truth and turns it into fiction. Ironically, this fiction will eventually be truth. This is a well written series. The characters appear to come to life as if they are very real.

    18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 1999

    great opener to an even better series

    When I got this book as a present, I had my real doubts. I'm not a person that even likes church, and if I had my choice I wouldn't go, so you could easily see my preconceived ideas of this book, but when I read it and I just couldn't put it down. I was so wrapped up in the plot and the storylines, that at parts I felt like I was one of the characters in the book. Left behind was one of the best books I've read, and now I'm on 'Apollyon.' I can't wait to read, 'Asassans', the conclusion to the end of the earth.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2000

    Check out BeauSeigneur's Christ Clone Trilogy instead!

    I'm a sucker for Apocalypse themed stories. I'm also a Christian and find it rather annoying that the only good stuff seems to be written by secular authors who completely ignore prophecy for the most part. Thus, I found the Left Behind series a guilty pleasure in that at least the prophecy is somewhat solid. The problem is that the writing isn't very good. The material isn't realistic for a number of reasons including: 1) Prophecies taken way too literally sometimes (I'm not for loose interpretation of scripture, but sometimes Revelations isn't literal), 2) Unknowledgeable details about technology, 3) A G-rated world where non-believers and believers are EASILY separated. Real people use profanity (believers and non-believers). In the real world, violence and death are abundant, especially in the world of Revelations. In the real world, believers and non-believers are not so easily distinguished. Another problem with the books is that at times they are too preachy to reach a secular audience and therefore will probably turn off most intelligent secular readers instead of making them receptive to the Gospel. I would think that a major aim for Christian themed fiction would be to subtly bring the non-believer into a position of interest in the gospel and Jesus. Shoving the message of Christianity into the reader's face every few pages is propaganda and not good story telling. Propaganda of any sort is usually rather offensive to an intelligent reader. Usually, it will more likely turn a non-believer away from Christianity than towards it. Finally, this series presents the reader with a cookie-cutter two-dimensional Antichrist that is far from interesting and who is obviously evil from the start. A realistic Antichrist will seem like a truly good and Christ-like figure and will be so convincing that 'he might even fool the elect'. Those interested in prophecy and a well-written, well-researched series based on the prophecies of Revelations should instead read James BeauSeigneur's Christ Clone Trilogy which is vastly superior. Recommend this one to your secular friends - not the comparatively atrocious 'Left Behind' series.

    14 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    You will get hooked

    Ive already read the series and couldnt put it down. I read like the first six in a few weeks,and could hardly wait for the others. I will say if youre not a Rapture beliving christian then you might not like the series. Keep in mind it is fictional,but Jenkins and Le Haye did such a great job of potraying Buck,Rayford,Chloe...ect that for a minute you might belive they exsist. My favoriet is Buck and Dr, Rosensweig. I love how they give a little background on each character a little into reading the story. Which they do even more in the book the Rising. It is a little slow at first,and they really push the how to get saved bit alot! It comes up almost with each developing character,but after you get passed all that you get into the heart of the story,and kinda get a feel for what the group is up against. All in all a great series,but i would not reccomend readingnit before bed,unless your already an insomniac like me. Because once you start its like potato chips,you cant read just one or two chapters. Youll habe read the whole thing before you even relize it:)
    P.s. if you were as dissapointed in the movies as I was check out the Dramatic Audio versions. Very close to the books almost spot on. It has great acting,sound effects,and they will make the book come to life in your imagination. Its fun because you get this idea of what the characters actually feel and even your own image of what they might look like.

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    No one u know

    This book is amazing. As I was reading the comments it seemed like it was either a great book or a horrible book. Nothing in the middle. I feel that this book has a huge impact in what may happen to us. No one knows when but its never to late to prepare yourselves. I feel that everyone should be able to read this.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    Absolutely great adventure! I felt like I was there!!

    I'm not big on reading just for entertainment purposes, but I decided to read this book because it was purportedly based on the book of Revelation. I never really understood that book of the Bible, it only scared me. After reading this book (and the 11 that follow in the series), I understand what Revelation is all about, and it no longer scares me.
    The authors of this book are exceptionally creative. The feeling of being right there with the characters, in the middle of everything, was an adventure like no other!! This is a powerful read!
    To this day, I find my mind drifting back to the characters and wondering what they are doing now! LOL!
    I strongly recommend reading this book, as it's entertaining and informative as well. Be sure to read the books that follow in that series. Together, they tell the whole story of Revelation and what really is going to happen in the end times, according to God's word.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Must Read

    Everyone should this book The entire series is great

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 1999

    I loved it.

    I really loved this book. It was the best book I have read in a long time and I can't wait to read the others and the kids series.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2000

    Guilty Pleasure

    I have read the first five books in this series, and I will probably finish it. This is not a credit to the writing ability of the authors, but solely to the idea. Much of these books are filler. Be it a soapbox on abortion or 25 year old Uber-Journalist virgins, these books TRY so hard to be the Christian ideal at times that the dialogue ends up as little more than propaganda. That being said, the premiss is intriguing enough and the plot moves quickly enough that I genuinely look forward to picking up the next book. I do not, however look forward to reading Rayford's stance on drinking, adultery or sloth.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Now my most favorite book series of all time!

    This book talks about the Rapture in the Bible chapter Revelation. In fact, the whole series is about Revelation! I am not finished with it yet, but I hope I will get to read the rest of this great series of books when I do get finished reading this amazingly written book. I waiting to eventually watch the movies made on book 1, 2, and 3.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Couldn't put it down, ordered the next book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 1999

    'Must Reading' for everyone!

    'Left Behind', written by Tim La Haye and Jerry Jenkins, begins a series that everyone should read. Each page, each chapter, and each of the six books that have already been published, leave the reader in suspense and wanting to continue the breathtaking events of those who will be left behind following the Rapture of Believers. Those who are left behind will enter the scenerio of what is predicted to be the worst ever catastophes and events that the world has ever known. This period of seven years duration is called the Tribulation. La Haye and Jenkins draw their information from the prophetic book of the Bible, called The Revelation. It is easy to follow the sequence of the events in the fiction novel, as you read this final book of the Bible. By putting interesting characters into the novel, it brings the reality of the possibilies that will come, into a very comprehensible perspective. These books appeal to those who are both avid readers, and also to the many who ordinarily do not consider themselves 'readers'. It is read by all intellects and all ages, young and old. It is obvious that Tim La Haye and Jerry Jenkins are warning people of 'things to come', and do not want anyone to be left behind!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Engaging

    Fun to read.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    ?...

    This book is ok you must read it

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    To fairly decent

    Its about the rapture which is religious. So no duh!

    Ps awesome book a must read!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    highly recommend

    This is the first in a great series of books. Should be read by everyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    Awesome Book.....

    From the frist page, you are hooked. Hard to put down.
    Awesome reading.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 956 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 48