Customer Reviews for

Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth's Last Days (Left Behind Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 942 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(657)

4 Star

(136)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

These Are the Endtimes

Absolutely surprised me with how good it was! I balked at reading it at first and put it off for a good year or so before I finally picked it up and I was blown away. It is haunting, creepy, funny, spot-on scripture, romantic, and thrilling. The authors have expertly wr...
Absolutely surprised me with how good it was! I balked at reading it at first and put it off for a good year or so before I finally picked it up and I was blown away. It is haunting, creepy, funny, spot-on scripture, romantic, and thrilling. The authors have expertly wrapped fiction around scripture, without losing any of the credibility and viability of Biblical doctrine, rather enforcing it. For those with a spiritual interest in the Rapture and Endtimes prophesies, this book is a must!

posted by Strides on June 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

48 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

Too 2-Dimensional and Too Fundamental

I've seen all my friends reading this series, so I figure, hey, why not? Having no clue what it was about, I was in for a shock. Yeah, Revelations coming true is an interesting tale, but geez, the characters are unrealistic and I think the most difficult word was Rapt...
I've seen all my friends reading this series, so I figure, hey, why not? Having no clue what it was about, I was in for a shock. Yeah, Revelations coming true is an interesting tale, but geez, the characters are unrealistic and I think the most difficult word was Rapture. What annoyed me most about these books was that good people were 'left behind.' The ones that were taken were all the type that spent all day in church screaming and shouting about how they were saved. I live in the Bible Belt so I get enough of this preaching everyday. Now I'm a Christian but my church is very non-fundamental. By the definition of the ones who were taken that was given in this book, not a one of us would have gone. Meanwhile, good people in this book who tried their best to help people and genuinely cared for others, but just weren't hooked up with the 'right' chuch, weren't seen as believers. If I were not a Christian, I would be horribly turned off from this religion as an elitist and snobby group. Well, this book is propaganda and it didn't work. If you want a really good Christian story, try the Bible. I've always found that to be pretty inspirational.

posted by Anonymous on December 23, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Great book, you won't want to put it down till the very end!!!

    Left Behind was a fantastic book that made me realize you're not guaranteed tomorrow and that you never know what might happen. In the story an apocoliptic event occcurs and everyone has their own opion about what happened. There are two main characters, Rayford Steele and Cameron "Buck" Williams. I liked how the author told both the main characters' stories in third person and they didnt't know each other. I also thought that making them meet at the very end of the story was a great way to tie everything that had happened together. I would recomend this book and I can't wait to read the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    What would you do if you missed going to heaven?

    The premier book in the best-selling Left Behind series offers readers the opportunity to explore the option of what earth would look like and how people might respond if they missed the Rapture, (the taking of all believers to heaven). In the book, the main character, Rayford Steele, has lost his wife to the Rapture, and thus begins the free-for-all quest of searching for other family members. Other characters emerge and attempt to begin a relationship with the God who had already called His people home, all the while fighting to survive a world lost in utter chaos. This book is an interesting perspective on the possibilities of life after what Christians call the Rapture. This was a book I reviewed for Tyndale House Publishers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Left Behind

    "Left Behind" is the first is the series of books by Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkins, chronicling the events that take place in the world after the Rapture of believers on Earth. The books follow several main characters as they fight for their lives and for their faith as the world makes its way to its last days. In "Left Behind" the Rapture occurs, leaving devastation in its wake. Rayford Steele, a pilot who is flying a place during the occurrence, knows that the Rapture of God's people has taken place. He and his daughter, Chloe, along with their pastor and a newspaper reporter, together navigate their world that has been forever altered in an instant. This series of novels is a fictionalized account of the end times. While I grew impatient with a few of the characters at times, this was a really good book. I kept getting caught up in the danger of what was happening to these people, knowing that this really could happen in the future. While this book is geared towards Christians, there is enough action and depth to it that might appeal to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    The future is closer than I'd imagined

    For centuries, people happily ensconced in the world system have scoffed at Christian beliefs. They give no credence to talk of life after death, miracles, the reality of Christ's indwelling spirit, and the power of prayer. Yet no one has ever experienced a life on earth with no Christian presence to stem the tide of unrighteousness set in motion by Adam and Eve.

    In the Left Behind Series, Tim LaHaye and Jerry Jenkins add their imaginations to Bible prophecy to create a tale of what those future days might be like. From the moment I opened this first book in the series, I knew I was embarking on an adventure that would change me.

    The story begins with a man on a plane. Even though he's a commercial pilot with a panoramic view of the world from 30, 000 feet, he sees no further than his own dissatisfaction and desires. What's that saying . . . ? "A man wrapped up in himself makes a very small package." That's Rayford Steele.

    Also on the plane is award-winning journalist Cameron "Buck" Williams. Buck is fresh from a trip to Israel, where he witnessed the miraculous defeat of the Russian forces who attempted to destroy that country. After which, his Christian friends encouraged him even more strongly to believe in Christ. But Buck is not quite ready for that.

    Who's not on the plane? Dozens of passengers who suddenly vanish into thin air, leaving behind their clothes, socks, shoes, and companions.

    Pretty intriguing, right? And that's just the first nineteen pages.

    What follows is an action-packed thriller that follows the political developments on earth as well as the spiritual journeys of Rayford and Buck. Book one covers the Rapture of Christians and the start of the seven-year Tribulation, as well as introduces several key players-Rayford's daughter Chloe, Hattie Durham, Dr. Chaim Rosenzweig, Nicolae Carpathia-and ends with a fascinating cliff hanger inside the UN.

    I first read Left Behind fifteen years ago, when this book was the hot new read in Christian circles. I marveled at the way the authors portrayed a future I considered distant.

    Recently, I was drawn to re-read the series because of events and changes occurring in the world around me-things I never thought I'd see in my lifetime.

    That distant future may be closer than I'd imagined.

    If you'd like to gain a biblical understanding of end times prophecy and be entertained while you're learning, I encourage you to check out this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    An Entertaining Read

    I really enjoyed reading this series -it was full of action and the characters really grip you. I would recommend it to certain people, especially Christian friends. My only problem with the series is that someone could easily take it as scripture, which it is definitely not. A lot of people I know have decided this is exactly what the end times will be like, which is a dangerous assumption. Still, its a great series that is definitely worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great end-times novel!

    I listened to the dramatization of this novel on CD with my whole family. We loved it! It gave us a lot to discuss - whether we agreed with the authors' depiction of the event, how the people who were left behind felt, etc. I was drawn into the characters' lives and couldn't wait for the next book. It's definitely worth reading whether you agree with the rapture views or not!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    read revalation to know whats real

    these books are great. but i warn you not every thing is acording to scripture. like in the books all of the belivers get the seal of God. the Bible states that only the 144,000 witnesses will get te seal. so just rember to read revelation to know the truth. dont get me wrong the books are still great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Check it out!!

    If you are a devote Christian or not, this book brings and interesting spin to possible present day situations. Once I got into the meat of the book I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    The book and series is great

    I have enjoyed this series very much however I have only read thru book 5 on my nook because B&N doesn't have book #6 Assassin. They used to have it and when I tried to download it I was given an error code and was never able to purchase or download book #6. They have taken this book down now. You can't even get it. Why read a series and not be able to read a book in the middle of the series of books.
    I hope they fix it soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    great

    My mom has read this series a couple of times and said she really enjoyed it. I decided to read it for a project in English. Overall this is a great first book. It begins with Rayford on a plane and suddenly over half of his passengers disappear. Hattie, the beautiful flight attendant, controls the people until they land back in Chicago. Buck Williams, a senior reporter for Global Weekly, happened to be on the plane. When they land Rayford and Hattie both rush to their homes where Rayford finds that his son and wife had disappeared. Rayford knows it is the Rapture. He and his daughter Chloe begin to strengthen their relationship with God and watch the tape the priest had left behind with Bruce, a left behind priest. Meanwhile, Buck goes his seperate way and finds himself witnessing a murder by Carpathia, now the U.N. leader. Buck realizes that he is the antichrist and travels back to Chicago to form a group with Chloe, Rayford, and Bruce to fight against God's enemies. The group is known as the Tribulation Force. This is where the adventurous novel ends. I want to know what happens next so I might go and read the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Left Behind

    The book talks about four different kids that get left behind because they aren't followers of Christ.
    The four kids that don't believe in Christianity or want to be a Christian face an uncertain future with planes falling out of the sky, cars crashing, and houses burning.
    The part of the book I like is when a kid (Judd Thompson Jr.) gets on a plane to London because he is running away from home and something terrible happens.
    You should read this book because it is exciting and interesting to read. If you are religious you will most likely want to read this book or if you like reading about people disappearing and stuff like that then you will also want to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Captivating

    I thought the book was captivating and couldn't put it down. I always wanted to know what came next. I wish I knew more about the book of revelations in the bible so that I could know how accurate the book is. It seemed accurate from what I heard and brought about good conversation and personal reflecting. I have not read the second book yet and it is a ways down on my list. I am curious to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT NOT AMAZING BUT GREAT

    I CATEGORIZE BOOKS IN FIVE CATEGORIES POOR-MODERATE-GREAT-AMAZING THIS WAS A GREAT BOOK AND I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYBODY (ESPECIALLY NON CHRISTIANS) BUT IT DIDNT LIVE UP TO ALL THE HYPE HOWEVER I WILL READ MORE IN THE SERIES AND FOR WHAT I HAVE HEARD THEY JUST KEEP GETTING BETTER I HAVE READ SOME AMAZING BOOKS IN THE PAST ANIMAL FARM IS BEYOND AMAZING BY THE WAY BUT THIS BOOK JUST FELT LIKE IT WAS JUST SETTING UP THE SERIES AND IT REALLY DIDNT HAVE ANY THRILL TO IT BUT IT WAS VERY INTERESTING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I WOULD EAT

    I'm christian this is soemthign that makes me think. The rapture happening, wow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love the left behind series by jenkins and lahaye. they are great authors and probaly my favorite. i recomend this book to anyone. It gives a good,interesting,detailed, description of what the end times would look like for those who are left behind.in most stores these books are expensive as i found barnes and noble had the cheapest prices for all the books i love.i recomend all the books by jerry b. jenkins and tim lahaye. as all their books are great both dramatic,and descriptive they are. All their books are great, but i personally think the best one is #6,assassins.i also read the kid's version first and they were really good too.All i have to say over all is great books!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    OK

    This book was OK. First of all, it's a Christian series about the end of time, but it's not entirely accurate. I do understand that it's only an author's NOVEL of what it could possibly be like, but I trust in the actual Bile if I really want to know what's going to happen. I just read it as a story, and it does keep my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Intense from cover to cover...

    If you like suspense, action, and mystery this is the book for you. Left Behind graps your attention with a firm grip from the beginning of the book and never lets go. It is the kind of book that should have a warning sign of addiction to it because you will not want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    Believe

    Now this book will have you seriously thinking. After I read it I was just amazed on how much effect a book could have on a person. This book will make you see wha true and what's not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2007

    Pretty decent fiction...

    Okay, so I'll give this series credit for being a pretty decent work of fiction. That's right, FICTION. A lot of people seem to think that this is a factual account of something that is inevitably going to occur sometime in the near future. Let's face it, Left Behind has about as much factual evidence behind it as the Lord of the Rings. There is no more reason to believe in an inevitable Rapture than there is to believe in an inevitable battle to the death between Harry Potter and Lord Voldemort (as prophecized in Harry Potter and the Order of the Pheonix). This is fiction, people. It's not bad for fiction, but it's still fiction nonetheless. Let's not pretend that 'I believe it' means the same thing as 'this is absolute truth.' It doesn't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    The End of the World

    Some people enjoy reading books that do not really make sense, and do not abide to any real beliefs. They may like reading books about space aliens that have just taken over the face of the earth. Sure, those books are action packed, and something you might find very interesting to read. Of course the reader will never think those kind of books can actually become part of reality. If you enjoy reading those crazy science fiction stories, but do not like the fact that all they are is a bunch of lies and things that are made up. Then you will really enjoy reading Left Behind by Jerry B. Jenkins and Tim LaHaye. The book Left Behind is a science fiction book that is based on religion. It is a really good book if you really want to learn about Christianity and be entertained at the same time. The story has a really good theme that goes well with the plot. It tries to say that people do not appreciate what they have until it is gone. The tribulation force is a group of people that have to go through loss of their loved ones. In the bible it says there is going to be a rapture, where everyone who has faith in god will go to heaven and be saved. The rest will stay on earth and have to go through a torturous seven years. After those seven years, that is if they make it, the glorious appearing of God will save them. The tribulation force is one of the several groups of people that believe in what happened and now have their true faith in God. They consist of a newspaper reporter named Cameron Williams, a pilot named Rayford Steele and his daughter Chloe Steele. They are lead by a Christian pastor named Bruce Barnes, who was also left behind. They help each other through difficult obstacles they need to go through in order to survive. One of their main obstacles in the story is trying to spread the word of god. Nobody wants to believe that God caused all the disappearances. They also need to fight off the Anti-Christ on the way. It is up to the tribulation force to help each other through the tough times and try to help others along the way. It is a really good story, and the author does a really good job using words to fulfill the images and pictures the story brings to the readers mind. You can literally feel like you are in the characters shoes sometimes. There are instances in the story where there is a lot of commotion going on and the author¿s words help the reader stay into the story. The story will keep you on the edge of your seat. If you really want to read a story with lots of action and science fiction behind it, but actually has background that is reasonable you should read Left Behind. You will really enjoy this story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5