Customer Reviews for

Left for Dead: A Young Man's Search for Justice for the USS Indianapolis

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great great great book

I liked it

posted by 11443468 on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

not my favorite

Left For Dead book review


I chose a book called Left For Dead by the author Pete Nelson. It includes
unique personality and style. However, it is a terrible read in my opinion.
The main characters don't really ...
Left For Dead book review


I chose a book called Left For Dead by the author Pete Nelson. It includes
unique personality and style. However, it is a terrible read in my opinion.
The main characters don't really appear until the latest part in the book. Senator bob smith, rep Scarborough, Kimo Mcvay, Capt. Mcvay, the survivors (McCoy, twimble, kuryla, mcguiggan, miner), admiral Donald Pilling (the antagonist) and Hunter Scott make up the list of important figures. The first few chapters are composed of monotonic facts and primarily useless information. They describe the outline of the war and the current situation of the "U.S.S. Indianapolis" as it travels from one place to another in the Pacific Ocean. The only part that I mildly enjoyed came about in chapter 6 when the sinking of the ship is described. The days following are told from survivors' stories, and are slightly interesting, but made
boring after a while.
The fun ends at chapter 9 as Pete Nelson looks into why the Indianapolis wasn't properly prepared and why Captain Charles B. Mcvay (ship commander) was blamed and court marshaled. Here is when the main conflict is truly introduced. The captain of the U.S.S. Indianapolis was wrongfully accused of neglecting his duties and causing the vessel to be torpedoed and sunk. The conflict is resolved by the navy clearing the name of captain Mcvay.

All of the survivors play large roles in testimonies and personal accounts for the court marshal of captain Mcvay. Essentially, they are motivated, inspired, and determined. Sen. Bob Smith acted as the main force behind the effort to redeem the captain. Words to describe him would be vigorous, intelligent, insightful, and compelling. Captain Mcvay himself is the one who inspired the crusade to clear him after his suicide in 1968. Hunter Scott is an ambitious 11-year old who brought the subject of the court marshal back into light. Throughout the story, he changes from a curious little boy to a teenager. Kimo Mcvay is the son of cap. Charles Mcvay and supports Hunter Scott on his way to Washington D.C. He is energetic yet serious. Representative Scarborough is a long time Mcvay supporter who aided Hunter Scott in his crusade. Finally, admiral Don Pilling, vice director of the U.S. navy is the man who opposes all of the protagonists that I have mentioned. He is described as calculating and adamant.

Compared to the book Hatchet, everything in Left For Dead is very different. The style is factual and the characters are plainly described. The plot in Left For Dead is the classic story-rising actions-climax-resolution, whereas Hatchet builds and builds until the resolution in the end.

My opinion on this book should have been very recognizable in the paragraphs above. Reading it was a pain and a chore, and I dislike it very much. I didn't actually enjoy anything except the recreation of the sinking, for everything else was unappealing, unexciting, and useless. What makes this book unique is its abundance of information. A good majority of the sentences have at least one fact or date in them. My advice to the author - don't leave out the story when writing. Without any entertainment, the reader could literally fall asleep while reading your book. I know this from experience. I would definitely not recommend this book to anyone else. In fact, I would advise against it.

posted by doingthisforschool on February 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    not my favorite

    Left For Dead book review


    I chose a book called Left For Dead by the author Pete Nelson. It includes
    unique personality and style. However, it is a terrible read in my opinion.
    The main characters don't really appear until the latest part in the book. Senator bob smith, rep Scarborough, Kimo Mcvay, Capt. Mcvay, the survivors (McCoy, twimble, kuryla, mcguiggan, miner), admiral Donald Pilling (the antagonist) and Hunter Scott make up the list of important figures. The first few chapters are composed of monotonic facts and primarily useless information. They describe the outline of the war and the current situation of the "U.S.S. Indianapolis" as it travels from one place to another in the Pacific Ocean. The only part that I mildly enjoyed came about in chapter 6 when the sinking of the ship is described. The days following are told from survivors' stories, and are slightly interesting, but made
    boring after a while.
    The fun ends at chapter 9 as Pete Nelson looks into why the Indianapolis wasn't properly prepared and why Captain Charles B. Mcvay (ship commander) was blamed and court marshaled. Here is when the main conflict is truly introduced. The captain of the U.S.S. Indianapolis was wrongfully accused of neglecting his duties and causing the vessel to be torpedoed and sunk. The conflict is resolved by the navy clearing the name of captain Mcvay.

    All of the survivors play large roles in testimonies and personal accounts for the court marshal of captain Mcvay. Essentially, they are motivated, inspired, and determined. Sen. Bob Smith acted as the main force behind the effort to redeem the captain. Words to describe him would be vigorous, intelligent, insightful, and compelling. Captain Mcvay himself is the one who inspired the crusade to clear him after his suicide in 1968. Hunter Scott is an ambitious 11-year old who brought the subject of the court marshal back into light. Throughout the story, he changes from a curious little boy to a teenager. Kimo Mcvay is the son of cap. Charles Mcvay and supports Hunter Scott on his way to Washington D.C. He is energetic yet serious. Representative Scarborough is a long time Mcvay supporter who aided Hunter Scott in his crusade. Finally, admiral Don Pilling, vice director of the U.S. navy is the man who opposes all of the protagonists that I have mentioned. He is described as calculating and adamant.

    Compared to the book Hatchet, everything in Left For Dead is very different. The style is factual and the characters are plainly described. The plot in Left For Dead is the classic story-rising actions-climax-resolution, whereas Hatchet builds and builds until the resolution in the end.

    My opinion on this book should have been very recognizable in the paragraphs above. Reading it was a pain and a chore, and I dislike it very much. I didn't actually enjoy anything except the recreation of the sinking, for everything else was unappealing, unexciting, and useless. What makes this book unique is its abundance of information. A good majority of the sentences have at least one fact or date in them. My advice to the author - don't leave out the story when writing. Without any entertainment, the reader could literally fall asleep while reading your book. I know this from experience. I would definitely not recommend this book to anyone else. In fact, I would advise against it.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Great great great book

    I liked it

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    good boook

    The non - fiction novel Left for Dead by Pete Nelson with, a preference by Hunter Scott was a thrilling story set in the Pacific Ocean and Pensacola, Florida in 1945 and 2006. The story begins when an 11 year old boy named Hunter Scott saw a popular movie called JAWS. In one of the scenes when captain Quint and the other two guys are telling stories about each other, one man asked about the tattoo and Quint told the story all about the U.S.S. Indianapolis. Hunter was fascinated by it he decided he would use that subject for his history fair report. Hunter won for his school and got disqualified for having footnotes. In his research he discovered the captain; Captain McVay was accused guilty for the ship sinking. Hunter decided to interview the survivors and gets many stories all the same in different ways. Hunter put there stories into one giant story from the survivors point of view. In his story the ship is torpedoed and sunk by a Japanese sub. All the people who did not get severely injured by the torpedoes are forced to abandon ship. After several days a plane spots a few hundred men in the water, he got closer and called in more ships to help along with that he landed in the water and while skimming the surface he scooped up a few men from the water. Long after the last hundred men were rescued they went to court martial and Captain McVay was accused guilty for not making sure the "sos" was sent. From lots of hate mail from people who lost loved ones he committed suicide and shot himself. Later Hunter goes to try to clear the captain's name and finally he did it THE END.

    There are a few reasons I think were good about this book. One positive was while telling the story the author went into great detail. Another positive is when telling the story the author took the survivors stories and told the story a few times but from different peoples point of view. Lastly is that the book tells you a terrific story but also teaches about war and includes interesting facts about the ocean. There were also a few negatives about the story. One negative is that if you miss a few words (what I did) you get completely lost and have to reread. Another negative is the beginning is hard to follow because it switches back and fourth from1945 to 2006. Lastly a negative is the story acted like a broken record player and repeated some boring parts a lot. Those area few positives and negatives about the novel I read Left for Dead.

    The writing style of the author is very interesting. One writing style the author had was it was hard to follow. For example the story would switch back and fourth from1954 to 2006. Another writing style the author had was it is third person point of view. For example Hunter and the survivors narrated. Finally a last writing style the author had the author is very descriptive. For example "the thick black oil surrounded us."

    I would and would not recommend this book to people, here's the reasons why. I would recommend this book because it is very interesting and detailed. Another reason I would recommend it because it's about WW2 (World War Two). I would not recommend it to someone because at some points it is a slow read. Those are the reasons I would recommend and not recommend this book. There are a few novels that are similar to this novel. Two of them I have read myself. The two I have read are The sinking of the Bismark, and Iron Thunder. Another similar novel is The Bombing of

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    Great book!

    In Left for Dead, author Pete Nelson shows the reader in great detail everything Captain McVay and the men of the USS Indianapolis went through, from their missions in the Pacific Ocean, to the sinking and survival in the ocean for five days, to the court martial and later clearing of the captain¿s name. The stories about the men¿s experiences in the water were all vivid and captivating. It inspired me that a kid my own age can change history in a way grown men had been trying to do for fifty years in just five years. This book is graphic for young readers but is perfect for young adults that are interested in World War II history.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2007

    Very, Very Good!

    This, in my personal opinion, was one of the best books I've ever read! It really gave me a great insight as to what happened in the final hours of the Indianapolis's voyage and the occurances afterwards. If you area WWII fanatic like me, I suggest that you read this book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2006

    i liked it

    on the inndionapolis ship in 1945 during the world war 2 it was a good book to read, one of my favorite time periods there was attacking of Pearl Harbor,hunter scott, atomic bombs being delivered,life on the boat, attacking viliages, surviving in the ocean and many more it was a awesome book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2005

    Amazing!

    Left for Dead is an excellent story about the sinking of the USS Indianapolis. I was very surprised when I read about how fast the ship sunk. After the ship sunk; only about 350 men made it alive (although most were badly injured) off the ship. The author did an excellent job in describing the hell the surviving sailors had to go through while waiting for the Navy to send for help. It took the Navy 5 days until they accidentally found the sailors. A pilot was checking his antennae and glanced down to look at it out of his window when he spotted the survivors in the water. Many people blamed the captain for the sinking. The survivors, on the other hand, think otherwise.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Amazingly Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I could not put it down!!!!!!!!"""

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Awesom

    Coolest book ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Artemis

    Waits

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Peter Griffin hates YOU:p

    Is this a good book?
    Is this a good book?
    Is this a good book?
    Is this a good book?
    Is this a good book?
    . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . ?
    Mum.mum.mummy. MUUMM!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Great book

    This book is an awsome book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Eh

    I was forced to read it for a school assignment. If i wasnt forced to do a bunch of work along with it, i might have liked it more. Otherwise, i find the book to be dull but informative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Awsime

    I gust fineshed it is amazing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Very interesting and informative book. Really makes you appreciate our men and women in uniform especially during WWII.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    Left dead

    It is so good i am reading it every day how good it is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    A TRUE Story that MUST be Read!!!!

    This is TRUTH not Fiction! Which makes it even more horrible this occured. The Captain asked for help over and over BEFORE the incident, knowing it could happen. Then his good name was ruined. Many men died terrible deaths..... If not for the courage and determination of a young boy years later would this wrong not have been corrected for history's sake for the Captain. It is a book that is hard to put down once you get involved in the story.... and one you WON'T forget!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2005

    Great Book!

    The novel Left For Dead by Pete Nelson is a very good book. It is a story not only of survival and the fight for justice, but also a story of courage in the face of adversity. When the Indianapolis when down on July 30, 1945, nearly nine-hundred men were stranded in the middle of the Pacific Ocean for five days, mainly due to errors by the Navy. When the men were finally found and rescued, just over 300 were left, and then the Navy made another critical mistake, serving an injustice to the captain of the ship by court-martialing him. It took over fifty years and the work of many men, including a young man named Hunter Scott who led the charge, to finally fix this wrongdoing on the part of the Navy. It is a great book, and it should be read by everyone, especially if you want to know the whole story of the USS Indianapolis and what happened in those shark-infested waters. Pete Nelson did a wonderful job telling the story of these brave men and their fight for survival.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    Wonderful book

    This book gives light to a situation which could have been avoided, but also on the following trial. I have a new view of the navy. Their treatment of Captain McVay was very wrong. I believe that every American from middle school on should read this book. It gives insperation for people to stand up for what is right, even in the face of the military.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2004

    A review

    It was an okay book, but I'll tell you about it... It's about a ship called 'USS Indianapolis,' just after midnight on July 30, 1945, it was torpedoed by a Japanese submarine. The ship sank in fourteen minutes. More than a thousand men were thrown into shark-infested waters. Those who survived the fiery sinking-some injured, many without life jackets-struggle to stay afloat as they waited for rescue. But the United States Navy did not know they were missing.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3