BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Left to Die (Montana 'To Die' Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 303 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(66)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Not her best, but worth the read.

I am not a die hard Lisa Jackson fan, but do read her books on occasion. When I started the first chapter, I knew that in order to really get into the "mood," that it required an uninterrupted hour. Once I got into the book, it caught my attention. Unfortunately, having...
I am not a die hard Lisa Jackson fan, but do read her books on occasion. When I started the first chapter, I knew that in order to really get into the "mood," that it required an uninterrupted hour. Once I got into the book, it caught my attention. Unfortunately, having to kill all those women to provide enough letters for the note almost lost my attention. But I hung in there and was rewarded with a nice twist. I do agree with other reviewers that had I known there is a second book, I would have waited until I had bought the second book before reading them together. Not bad, not great.

posted by 148617 on October 24, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Explicit sexual content. Vulgar language throughout.

Disappointed that Ms. Jackson saw fit to litter her story with vulgarities. Quite a shame, as this could have been an exciting read. I deleted all three in the series (with no refund, by the way) after just a chapter of the first. Wish B & N had some kind of warning ...
Disappointed that Ms. Jackson saw fit to litter her story with vulgarities. Quite a shame, as this could have been an exciting read. I deleted all three in the series (with no refund, by the way) after just a chapter of the first. Wish B & N had some kind of warning for sexually explicit or vulgar language.

posted by 5672745 on August 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Disappointed - Buyer beware

    I enjoyed this book and was really engrossed until the supposed ending. I didn't know that nothing would be revealed and the killer would remain unknown. You should put a warning that a second book must be purchased in order to finish the story. I bought the second book as I invested my time in this book and was not aware it would be a cliffhanger ending. I have been left with a bitter taste and feel cheated by the author. If this next book ends the same way, I will be upset and will never buy her books again. It would have been 5 stars, but the lack of ending changed it to 3 stars.

    What a ploy to sell books -- what a way to make a living. I feel like I deserve a refund and an apology!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    To Review #59

    Well just read the up above reviewer and the rude :::::: recked the book for all once again just like every other book she has access to in the nook, You just will not stop will u, i only wish i could say to u what i really feel about

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    good part of the series

    Very good

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    Ticked off.

    I am NOT a happy camper! A book is supposed to have a beginning, a middle and an END. This books does not have an end - you are forced to buy the NEXT one (which may or may not have an end either!) before knowing the outcome. Yes, Lisa ended the subplot, but the main protagonist whas never identified and that is totally unfair to the reader, in my opinion. If it takes two books to tell the story - then please let us know up front. I won't bother to buy the sequel because I won't support these marketing shenanigans.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Enjoyed it, want to read the others.

    This was an enjoyable read, one I stayed up to finish. I wish I had checked out the next one so I could see what was happening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    What is this a made for tv miniseries

    What a long drawn out semi interresting crime story. Then the phony ending to get you to buy more books. Keep them . I prefer books with a beginning middle and end not a miniseries

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Great book!!

    First time reading a Lisa Jackson book and I enjoyed it so much I purchased Series #2 & #3 as soon as finished. She keeps you wondering what is going to happen next and puts you right into the story as it is happening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    A lead in to her next book: good read, lacks closure

    Good read: lacks closure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Pretty Good Read

    For the most part Jackson does a great job of introducing a set of believable characters (although the male hero is a bit of a cliche). Her action sequences are well done. She does a good job of concealing the first plot twist and you won't see the final revelations and action coming. However, leaving one of the main characters a captive as a cliffhanger to sell the next book is a technique better left to TV. If I am starting a multi-volume story, I want, to know up front. (I hope this is not going to be a trilogy!) I have no problem carrying characters (even uncaught villains) forward to a future book, just don't leave us hanging. That said, I enjoyed it enough to buy the sequel and do recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Hmmm

    I thought the story line was unusual and with following novels it continues. I did not find this an engrossing read and I did not order the sequel because of the style of writing and repetitive choice of words. I may read the sequel sometime after I have been away from it for a while. I understand the sequel is about a female Sheriff character that I did not connect with in this book. Not that I could write a novel - but I am a reader, not a novelist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    OK read if you don't have anything better

    not bookclub material

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    Good book, but...

    I have read many books, a number of them from Lisa Jackson. Normally, when I am done reading a book, I don't sit there staring at the book, saying, "What the h*ll!" But I did with this one! I bought the book when it first came out, so waiting a year for the next one to come out is ridiculous. Seriously, I can hardly remember what day my son has an ortho appointment, and that's only 4 to 6 weeks apart! Now I'm supposed to remember that the continuation of this book is 12 months away? Yeah right. Then try and remember any of the story, uh huh, that's gonna happen. If this is how Lisa Jackson is going to write from now on, I will no longer buy her books. I may buy the next book in this series (if I remember), but if it ends like Left To Die, then I'm done with this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2008

    Left to Die by Lisa Jackson

    Liked the book, hated that you did not end it and now have to wait a year to find out the ending. Not a good way to make fans of your books.<BR/>You should have let us know there would be a second novel.<BR/><BR/>Robert Crais is a great author of these types of novels and he has an ending for each one.<BR/><BR/>Not a fan<BR/>Diannemass

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    What a rip off!

    I had a few problems with this book: *Why would Jillian take off without telling anyone? *Why was she going to see her ex-husband about her dead husband? *Why were so many people called by their last names? Pescoli (Regan), Alvarez (Selena), Macgregor (Zane). The 1st two were cops but when Jillian talked to Zane she called him MacGregor. This made it hard to relate to the characters. I also felt the back story for each could have been more fleshed out but now I know why. But I still would have given this a four. Except for the biggee. The end or lack thereof. I cannot believe that I have to wait a year to find out how this ends and even then there is no guarantee that there won¿t be another book to follow that. If I¿d known this I still would have bought this book but waited to read it until I got the 2nd. Now I¿m not sure I want to get it, I¿ll have to ¿meet¿ these characters and the storyline all over again.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3