Customer Reviews for

Leftovers

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of the best books I've read!!!

My friend told me about this book. I thought I wasn't going to like it because I didn't like to read, but, WOW!!! This book is so exciting, alluring, and just plain interesting! I would recommend this to people who love an intense, shocking, and some provocative moments...
My friend told me about this book. I thought I wasn't going to like it because I didn't like to read, but, WOW!!! This book is so exciting, alluring, and just plain interesting! I would recommend this to people who love an intense, shocking, and some provocative moments!

posted by TeenReader16 on July 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disturbing

Scary to think that this is how families (dis)function.

posted by Franne on March 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    One of the best books I've read!!!

    My friend told me about this book. I thought I wasn't going to like it because I didn't like to read, but, WOW!!! This book is so exciting, alluring, and just plain interesting! I would recommend this to people who love an intense, shocking, and some provocative moments!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by JodiG. for TeensReadToo.com

    Have you ever felt alienated from the rest of the world? Have you spoken and known that nobody was listening? Have you ever screamed ¿No¿ and been ignored at every turn? Ardith and Blair have experienced all that and more. And now they have committed a despicable act of vengeance in an effort to make everything ¿right¿ again.<BR/><BR/>Blair and Ardith are best friends. They are fifteen, in the ninth grade, and have miserable, though very different, home lives. <BR/><BR/>Ardith lives in a party house. Her parents are nightly hosts to a group of drunken teenage boys. Without limits, the boys control the house and any female that dares to enter it. Not even Ardith is safe from their advances. Blair comes from an affluent family. Her parents are successful in their careers, have a new home, and are poised to rise through the <BR/>local social and political ranks. Now her mother is making decisions to shape the family image; decisions that are wrenching Blair away from the those she loves most. In addition to their family problems, Blair and Ardith are now becoming victims of the school rumor mill and some very cruel classmates. How much can they be expected to tolerate? <BR/><BR/>LEFTOVERS is a dramatic and disturbing story of two girls who have been pushed to great lengths. It is written in alternating points of view, as each girl describes the events that led them to a final, desperate act. LEFTOVERS is a captivating book that will keep you turning the pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    A great read =))

    Leftovers by Laura Wiess is a story of two teenage girls, Ardith and Blair, who are social outcasts and only have each other to lean on. The author alternates between the characters telling the story, and them talking into a recording device which you'll find more about once you read the book. The author did a good job of making this book a diary of the main character, Blair. I didn't like how the book was in second person for the other main character, Ardith, because this narration was confusing at times and I wasn't used to that type of writing style. The narration helped me understand points of view and details of the plot to keep the story straight.
    I liked that the characters were relatable, despite their family reputation. Leftovers dealt with the low points of high school such as rumors, trying to fit in, and family troubles. These girls dealt with the rumors positively and made them go away with a brilliant idea. This book shows that if one has ambition and dedication no matter the situation one can make a better life for themselves. This book was unrealistic because teenagers normally would not experience so much in a short time period. If this book was told within a two year period, then it would be realistic.
    It is ironic how Ardith's parents would give her a great deal of freedom that most teens would love, but she doesn't want freedom. She wants nights where she doesn't have to sleep with a hammer under her pillow because of her brother's hardcore partying. Blair's mom is a rising defense attorney who traded her family for her career. All in all, I believe that Leftovers is a good enjoyable book and I would recommend this book to all teenage girls."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    so AMAZING!!!

    This is seriously my favorite book. Laura Wiess wrote it in a really creative and different way from any other book I have read. The characters are amazing and so real. I need more books to read like this one!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Amazing Book!

    I found one of Laura Weiss books a couple months ago(Such a Pretty Girl) and loved it. When I started looking up some of her other books, I saw this one and thought it sounded interesting.This book is fantastic. Usually the books i've read feature the love between a boy and girl as the core of the story, but with this novel it was the love and loyalty between two best friends Ardith and Blair. I could not put this book down; the style of how it was written switching between both of their sides of the story which not only makes you feel like you were there but highlights the bond between these two girls who know each other so well that they naturally mould together when telling their story. The tale of two girls with completely different lifestyles that are going through the exact same life experiences is beautiful and shows that no matter how lost they get or how dark it becomes they have each other. Five star story and would definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    unbelivable

    This is one of my favorite books. It took me about two days to read it, I simply could not put it down. This is not your everyday school drama, it is beyond words. This is deep, sad, and revolutionary. The way the author presents Ardith and Blair is incredible. From the unique writing style to the detailed plot, you'll feel what they feel. I cried, laughed and found myself questioning the coldness and cruelty that teens face. I myself am a teen, and never again will I look at my peers the same way after reading this novel. Truly, an outstandig work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    Great Leftovers!

    First of all, I think this book is just not for young, adult readers but for all readers. As a former at-risk, high school educator, this book perfectly portrays what young women face in our schools today. Ninth graders do experience peer pressure to do sexually explicit things and<BR/>horrendous intolerance of anyone different does exist. Guys still get away with a lot and double standards do exist. I Loved this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I consumed it in one sitting. These two young women, one from so much and one from so little with so much in common; inadequate, absent parents, and too much time left alone. They raised themselves and showed loyalty to the one, good person who actually cared for them. Pass this book along, it has such a strong and true voice.<BR/>A very powerful book which is unsettling. Bravo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2008

    Liv's Book Reviews

    This book was promoted as a sequel to Such A Pretty Girl, but I don't think it is. They both deal with tough issues in today's world, but that's where the similarities end. The characters, setting, and even perspective are different, which is nice. I don't think I could've read another book related to Such A Pretty Girl. Just reading that once was enough for me. Leftovers brings its own goods to the table and even though it's an extremely different type of narrative, I think it's just as good as the first book. The thing I liked best about it was the way it was told. The chapters alternate between who's telling the story and as they're telling the story, they are actually speaking into a recording device for a person who's revealed at the end. And even through that, they each have a different method of talking. One narrates as if you're actually her, and the other tells it like a diary. Those things helped to distinguish points of view and details of the plot which was quite handy because there are many little details to keep straight. This book is much more of a thinking and analyzing book than Such A Pretty Girl which was a refreshing difference. I also liked how the girls were down to earth, funny, and completely relatable, despite their terrible home lives and the horrible things they went through during the course of the story. They themselves were undeniably changed and as the reader, you got to be there to see them go through it. And the ending is flooring. I loved it so much. My one itsy bitsy complaint about this book was that I think the ages of the girls were a little bit unaccurate. I think, no I hope, girls who are in their freshman year of highschool wouldn't be going through the things that Blair and Ardith went through. But really, I don't know. The one thing I do know is that this is a seriously amazing book and it is a definite must read for any teenage girl of today. But as with the first book, beware of some explicit content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2008

    Scary real

    When I read Such a Pretty Girl by Laura Wiess, I liked it alot, but it wasn't as great as I hoped it would have been. But I still was interested by the book Leftovers nonetheless. So I started reading it and was just hooked. It was terrible what the girls go through. And it made you cringe and hate today's society. And I loved it. It was real and true and made you think and made you want to help these girls. I thought the ending was perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2