Customer Reviews for

Legacy

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

Let me start out by saying I was interested in this book before I found out it was written, at the time, by a fourteen year old. After I acquired it I discovered this fact and was even more intrigued and eager to read it. I was not disappointed.

To have been fourte...
Let me start out by saying I was interested in this book before I found out it was written, at the time, by a fourteen year old. After I acquired it I discovered this fact and was even more intrigued and eager to read it. I was not disappointed.

To have been fourteen when she penned this story, Cayla Kluver's writing shows a remarkable depth, strength, and polish to it. I was kind of amazed really. Not so much by the fact that a fourteen year old could conceive of and then write a good tale. I know people have good imaginations and creativity at any age. What amazed me more was the breadth of research she must have done to paint such a vivid and accurate picture of the time period... because although the book does take place in an imaginary kingdom, the customs, dress, environment, and culture is obviously of the middle ages. And she was phenomenal at setting the stage, conveying that culture, and making it all seem so real.

I loved the characters... just about all of them. Although Princess Alera does not like Steldor, strongly dislikes him in fact, I kind of liked him. Even though he is arrogant. But that very thing, which completely annoys him, kind of made me like him because I think there are more depths to him that the reader hasn't discovered yet and probably will discover in the following books. (Yes, this is a trilogy.) Narian I liked, of course, because he is shrouded in mystery. But I think we have a good love triangle about to start here. I LOVE love triangles! At least if they're done well. So I'm looking forward to seeing where Cayla Kluver takes this one.

I enjoyed the action, the setup, the flashes of romance, and the richness of the setting and time period. This was a great story and I look forward to seeing more from Cayla in future!

posted by ReadergirlReviews on August 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

NOOK VERSION IN SPANISH

I purchased this book on the nook with the assumption that it was in english. The electronic version of this book is actually in Spanish, although I was able to call barnes and noble and get a refund.

posted by 5758036 on July 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

    Let me start out by saying I was interested in this book before I found out it was written, at the time, by a fourteen year old. After I acquired it I discovered this fact and was even more intrigued and eager to read it. I was not disappointed.

    To have been fourteen when she penned this story, Cayla Kluver's writing shows a remarkable depth, strength, and polish to it. I was kind of amazed really. Not so much by the fact that a fourteen year old could conceive of and then write a good tale. I know people have good imaginations and creativity at any age. What amazed me more was the breadth of research she must have done to paint such a vivid and accurate picture of the time period... because although the book does take place in an imaginary kingdom, the customs, dress, environment, and culture is obviously of the middle ages. And she was phenomenal at setting the stage, conveying that culture, and making it all seem so real.

    I loved the characters... just about all of them. Although Princess Alera does not like Steldor, strongly dislikes him in fact, I kind of liked him. Even though he is arrogant. But that very thing, which completely annoys him, kind of made me like him because I think there are more depths to him that the reader hasn't discovered yet and probably will discover in the following books. (Yes, this is a trilogy.) Narian I liked, of course, because he is shrouded in mystery. But I think we have a good love triangle about to start here. I LOVE love triangles! At least if they're done well. So I'm looking forward to seeing where Cayla Kluver takes this one.

    I enjoyed the action, the setup, the flashes of romance, and the richness of the setting and time period. This was a great story and I look forward to seeing more from Cayla in future!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2011

    NOOK VERSION IN SPANISH

    I purchased this book on the nook with the assumption that it was in english. The electronic version of this book is actually in Spanish, although I was able to call barnes and noble and get a refund.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Flaclaw

    The books called legacy of secreats sorry. Mine are diffrent than yours

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Darkwolf to sunmoon

    Umm not to be rude but u dont know anything about herbs and healing and u cant just call yr self the med cat the leader has to call it u cant do it its againist the warrior code if anybody should be med cat it should be rosepaw she know more

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    WARRIORS DEN

    Warriors den

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Brokenpaw

    Wat today?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Taalonclaw

    "What herbs have you memorised?" I asked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Amazing!

    I've been searching 4 the perfect book after reading the hunger games & dinner w/ a vampire. This is it! Can't wait 2 start reading the 2nd.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    Slow beginning but I grew to love this book!

    Slow beginning but I grew to love this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Unlike most of the people who wrote the reviews I disagree with

    Unlike most of the people who wrote the reviews I disagree with them about the amount of details in the book. I don't think she did too much and it was nice to get the details and to be able to picture the book more clearly. For someone so young it was amazing the story she had written. I was caught up within the first chapter and had a hard time putting it down. I would certainly recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy and romance.

    SPOILER ALERT!!!

    As much as I loved this book I was disappointed that she married Steldor! Narian should have come in and saved the day, im hoping they will finally manage to be together before the series ends

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Failed to Impress Review brought to you by r Annabell Legacy

    Failed to Impress

    Review brought to you by r Annabell

    Legacy follows Princess Alera as she goes about her daily life. Her father is determined for her to marry by the age of eighteen so he can step down and Alera can rule along side her husband. The problem is the only male in the kingdom who seems suitable for Alera, by her father’s standards, is the unbearable and egotistical Steldor. Meanwhile, there is still a great deal of tension between Alera’s kingdom, Hytancia, and the nearby kingdom of Cokryi. The last act Cokryi took against Hytancia was to steal a bunch of babies and leave their dead bodies at the front gates, except one baby was unaccounted for. Cokryi had stopped the battle against Hytancia abruptly and none have ever stepped foot in Alera’s kingdom since. But the tension and distrust between both kingdoms grow as Narian, the mysterious boy who had been captured by Alera’s guards, is discovered to be the unaccounted for baby and now Alera finds herself developing feelings for him. A love that may be the downfall to her kingdom.

    I had been pretty excited to read this novel. The book sounded as if it would offer a wonderful plot and rich characters but after a few chapters I found myself completely bored with the story. I started skimming through pages then skipping ahead because I honestly could not get into it.

    The main character, Alera, spends soooo much time talking about frivolous and superficial stuff. Constantly describing what she was wearing, what her sister, Miranna, was wearing, how wealthy she was, how her hair was done etc. She also spends a great deal whining. Her sister, Miranna, is just as annoying. She is younger and I do know how bothersome younger siblings can be but Alera and her sister were just too boring to care about. I can understand that Alera and her sister were raised very sheltered and there are many restrictions on women in the kingdom but I just didn’t see anything really interesting about either girls.

    Steldor was probably one of the well written characters. He is extremely arrogant, driven, and a total play boy. He never tries to pretend what he isn’t. He is also very clever and cunning. Steldor was one of the characters that really shined in the novel even though he was most of the time, a total jerk. But I respect him for the fact that he never tried to convince anyone was anything else than what he is. London, Alera’s bodyguard, is also one of the only good characters in the book. He is agile, sexy, and mysterious. He also has a good sense of humor. He isn’t afraid to be honest with Alera, even if it means hurting her feelings.

    The characters really were never well developed. Alera never changes nor does her sister. They also make INCREDIBLY stupid decisions. I had no respect for Alera. The plot was drawn out slowly but, in truth, was pretty much nonexistent. The novel consists of a constant mass of descriptions for every little thing and Alera whining she would have no choice but to marry Steldor. I never understood what Narian saw in her. Steldor, I figured, just wanted to marry her because he wants to be king but what either man sees in her eludes me. There was never any real chemistry between Alera and Narian or Alera and Steldor. Steldor never seemed to be attracted to her. (Cont)

    The FULL review at more at openbooksociety dot com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cayla Kluver’s writing is beautiful. Fluid. Descriptive. E

    Cayla Kluver’s writing is beautiful. Fluid. Descriptive. Eloquent. Yet there is a certain lack — or shall I say, excess? — to it. Cayla puts so much effort into description — describing dresses, which I understand to a point, considering that this story takes place in the eyes of a princess — but this description is completely overwhelming. And sometimes unnecessary. Honestly, who cares about the cut of a dress?

    There were other things that bothered me in this book, and all these things can be described in one word: clichéd. The love interests were clichéd, a large part of the plot was clichéd . . . I’m very prejudiced against clichés. I always want to read books that are unique. Different. Not the same old, same old “girl moves to new town and meets boy at new school and falls in love with boy” etc. Reading the same story over and over makes me cry and tear out my hair in frustration.

    So the characters. I adored Alera, though I believe that she might be just a little bit clichéd (yet I never tire of headstrong women discovering who they should be). Her loyalty to her bodyguards London and Destari; her love for her father (the King), her mother (the Queen), and her sister Miranna; and her duty as Crown Princess of Hytanica . . . all of that made me love her and her resolve and everything she represents to women.

    And Steldor . . . Steldor is that arrogant and pompous jerk that wants to marry Alera. And he would be crowned King if he did. Normally this would be the part where I rant on and on and on about why I hate him and etc., but an odd thing is . . . my sister likes him. So I had wondered why, and after I finished the book, she told me. “I think I like Steldor so much because he isn’t the obvious choice. And I think he actually does love Alera.” I might agree with her on both counts.

    Narian is the sort of bad boy that comes into a girl’s life . . . yet he is undeniably sweet to Alera. Though I had no trouble in believing in their romance (though I wish their romance would have been more gradual and not as fast), I do have a problem with Narian — getting over the fact that he’s quite handsome and is also quite sweet and is also quite a bad boy. He’s clichéd. Yes, all those things that I listed about him? Those are all clichéd.

    The plot of this book was, in large part, original. Though there were a few bumps here and there that I didn’t like (spoilers: why was the High Priestess captured? What was she doing there in the first place? Why did Narian leave the city so suddenly? AND WHY IN THE WORLD IS ALERA MARRIED TO STELDOR?), I generally enjoyed the surprises at every turn. But one thing I definitely did not enjoy in the book was that cliffhanger ending! Never have I ever read a book with as big a cliffie ending as Legacy. So be warned.

    And lastly, I wasn’t the biggest fan of this synopsis. I know synopses tend to be dramatic (and often give away spoilers, though that is not so much in this case), but the tone of the synopsis is completely different from the tone of this book. So people who are looking for blood and guts, you definitely will not find that in this enchanting love story.

    Legacy is an alluring love story that captured my heart mainly because it’s more than a love story. Legacy is a story about duty and sacrifice . . . and a choice a seventeen-year-old girl must make.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Seventeen-year-old Alera will soon be queen of Hytanica. The ki

    Seventeen-year-old Alera will soon be queen of Hytanica. The kingdom is in desperate need of a strong souvereign and so the young princess has to face her fate of marrying the suitor whom her father feels most capable of inheriting his legacy. And while her father is still trying to decide who to name new king of Hytanica, Alera clandestinely falls in love with another man, a Corkyrian, a traitor.
    LEGACY is a debut novel with a slow start, overflowing with many redundant and way too many decorative phrases and scenes, and could have well been cut by some pages. Instead of all the irrelevant extra info I could've used more details about Hytanica's history and Alera and Narian's romance, more scenes concentrating on their emotional development and the very fatal war their relationship might be causing.
    What always filled me with excitement and girly anticipation, left me cold in LEGACY. The search for an heir to the throne, a husband for Alera, daughter of the actual king. I know that it's a different time and that the story is set in a country with its very own complicated history, but no actual right to a say and ignorance of Alera's feelings made me so angry. The development of her character didn't live up to my expectations either, but other characters like palace guard London fast found a place in my heart.


    3,5/5 ***/* LEGACY - A potent YA debut, improvable in writing pace and editing that convinces with its strong world-building and Hytanica's history.

    To be honest, it took me quite some time to finish LEGACY. With nearly five hundred pages it's not on the short side of YA books. It was the pacing, the excessive mass of details and additions here and there that hindered me to read LEGACY as fast as I would've liked. Now I'm hoping for a more consistent sequel to the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very well-written and entertaining! I LOVE this story, I can't

    Very well-written and entertaining! I LOVE this story, I can't believe the writer is only 20 years old!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A book worth the reading :D

    Princess Alera of Hytanica and her younger sister, Miranna, had a rather peaceful and easy life. Their parents had to endure the cruelty of a war against the Cokyrians and suffered the lost of the rightful heir to the throne which caused Alera's father to become King.
    The Cokyrians never won but they stole the smiles of 49 Hytanican houses for they took with them one newborn from each. After a while the corpses of the infants were found at the city gates... Except that there was a boy who was never found and, after the days continue to pass, it became obvious that the child could only be dead.

    Time passed and peaceful times fell upon Hytanica. But there was a new matter at hand: Alera, soon to be Queen, had to marry a young man to be her King. Why was this so important? Hytanica was a patriarchal place and no woman could rule for it was the job of a man.
    And the suitor her Father had chose was not the one she thought would make her happy.

    Steldor was the son of Cannan, the man who ruled the soldiers. And Steldor was nothing bur pompous and arrogant. Always flirting, always mocking, he knew he was good looking and took advantage of it. The only prey that never fell for his looks was Alera and that only made Steldor more eager to get her.

    But the peaceful times were shaken when a Cokyrian woman was arrested inside the Palace by Alera's bodyguard, London (who was also some sort of father for her and best friend). And after the Cokyrian woman escaped a boy, one year younger than Alera, was also arrested.

    And this boy was the one who charmed Alera, the one who made her heart beat faster... But he was Cokyrian. Somehow, she was trapped between her desires and her loyalty.

    Personal opinion:
    I liked the world Cayla created for this book for it was very described and built. But at the same time I found myself skipping paragraphes and maybe a few pages full of details about the festivities, rooms or moods. And I usually read every description but I fear that I was to eager to know what was going to happen next to bother with so much detail about decorations.
    Saying that I know a lot of people who enjoy this fully and well developed descriptions and it would help them to picture Hytanica in its full glory.

    The fact that the story is telled by Alera is at the same time good and not so good. I enjoyed being inside her head, the questions she always had, her desire to understand and to participate made me like her a lot. But at the same time, since she is a girl in a world ruled by men she is almost always, left aside and oblivious of plots and dangers. I felt so frustrated when she was only pacing back and forth in her room!

    The patriarchal society of Hytanica is a thing that I can say I hate but understand so no problems with that. This is one of the things that Alera struggles too and it helped me to create a bond with her.

    As for the love triangle all I can say is that I didn't like Steldor too much but I don't hate him either. It's difficult to have an opinion about him since sometimes he can be nice but most of the time he is arrogant and petulant.
    And Narian, who is the one I like, is the only character I never fully met. I mean, yes, he is in the book but her appears a few times (it's a good thing almost all of them are worthy) and never really develops a relationship per se with Alera.

    Will I continue with the series and read Allegiance? Yes, I'm going to. Why? Because this story has a lot of potential and I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I have to admit that I did pick this book because of the cover.

    We all say "Don't judge a book by it's cover" but sometimes I kind of do. Since I loved the cover I decided to poke around a little about the book. One thing I found that was really neat was that Cayla Kluver wrote this book around the age of 14! She is now 18 and is being published by Harlequin Teen. From learning that bit of fact I had to have this book.

    Legacy was the first book I picked up for this summer and it was perfect! At the moment I'm all about fantasy and the whole princess with an arrange marriage thing. Alera is a head strong princess who wants to be treated as equal as men. In the beginning, I didn't like Alera because instead of coming off as bold she came off too strong and was bossy and controlling. But as pages past Alera began to grow into the queen she would soon become. Steldor is the gentleman that is the most favored to be Alera's husband, but Alera does not favor him. Honestly, I don't favor him either because I'm a bit confused by his personalities. He's cocky and arrogant but at the same time he has these small moments where I'd look at him differently. With the stressed out life Alera is living she finds an escape being with Narian. I'm not sure what to think of Narian since he rarely shows his true self. What I do know about Narian is that he's at moments kind hearted and respectful. He's also my favorite character of the book.

    I just loved the story overall and how Cayla slips in more obstacles through out without making it seem too much. From the struggle of an arrange marriage to the desperation of a new king to support their kingdom. They all fit perfectly and I wasn't left with as many dull moments. Although I loved the story I felt as though there was a bit too much detail that wasn't needed which stretched the book out to almost 500 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You'll want Book 2 on hand after the ending!

    Princess Alera is too young to recall a time when her kingdom had not been at peace, but when a Cokyrian breaches the castle grounds with questionable motives, she gets a quick history lesson about the horrific war 16 years ago that ended with the death of newborns. No sooner was the Cokyrian captured, however, did the enemy manage to escape! Alera wants to find more about it, but her father feels that she should focus her pretty, little head on deciding which suitor to marry and leave all the war concerns to him. Too bad all the suitors are either boring or full of themselves - and the only boy that Alera finds remotely interesting is the Narian who had been kidnapped by the Cokyrians during the war and recently escaped from their clutches.

    I have mixed feelings on Legacy - on the one hand, the story has much potential and piqued my curiosity for the world that Carla Kluver created; on the other hand, I did not particularly care for the characters themselves. Told from Princess Alera's perspective, I did not connect with her and she came across as a little immature to expect herself able to run a kingdom, despite her father's misgivings. If she had demonstrated more efforts to prove her worth as a ruler instead of simply resisting her father's approved suitor, I would have seen more reason to her reluctance. I wish that we had more of Narian - the enemy who challenges Alera to fight against the norm of thinking women as the weaker sex. The ending is quite abrupt - I thought it was a rather awkward point of the story to end on - just when Alera's heart begins to break! I hope the characters kick it up a notch or two in time for the sequel because, if not, I don't know if the story will be enough for me to continue on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Shows promise--but doesn't live up to it...yet

    Knowing that this book was written by a fourteen-year-old, it is impressive. That fact is pretty much what kept me reading it after a while, to be honest. I really just wanted to see where Kluver was going with it. Standing on its own as just a book, though? I probably wouldn't have finished it.

    For one thing, there is way too much description throughout. Constant mention of hair and eye color is distracting. Great detail is given about clothing, when that clothing's appearance really isn't at all relevant to the story or plot. A lot of time is also spent describing things like where people will be sitting at a dinner, when that information could easily be relayed while the dinner is in progress. Too much showing, not enough telling. Adjectives and adverbs, instead of being sprinkled through the writing to add depth and intrest, are thrown about with wild abandon.

    Another aspect that bothered me was the politics involved. At the end of the novel, the kingdom is hovering on the brink of war with an enemy that they fought for about a hundred years last time and have only had an uneasy peace with for the past sixteen years or so. Yet with this looming on the horizon, the king is pushing his younger daughter to marry so he can relinquish the throne to her husband? Does this really seem like something a responsible head of state would do? The fact that the son of the captain of the guard would be considered the best choice for a king also seemed highly suspect, his individual personality aside. (According to the "rules" of this society, only men can rule. Therefore, princesses like Alera, the main character, can be queen, but their husbands will rule the kingdom.) Surely there would be noble boys of a higher rank deemed more suitable than a mere soldier's son. Although other suitors are mentioned, we really don't see any of them in the novel, at least not in the exhaustive detail that we see Steldor.

    The main personal conflict in this book is a love triangle of sorts between Alera, Steldor, and Narian (a nobleman's son), but it just doesn't quite seem to work. Steldor is consistently portrayed as a complete lout who amazingly is adored by everyone but Alera and her loyal bodyguard London. (How can an entire kingdom be so hung up on the superficial and completely ignore his words and actions?) Alera abhors him, detests him, and would like to see him run over by a buggy--but hey, he smells good, which distracts her hatred so much that she forgets to try and stop him from doing things like stealing kisses. We see each and every encounter with Steldor in exhaustive detail. Narian, on the other hand, isn't even in the picture for a lot of the book. When he is around, we only see a very few interactions between him and Alera in any detail, and most of those are before they really even have much of a relationship. Once they really start to care for one another, all we hear is that they spend hours together, talking and kissing. We actually witness very little of it, though, so it seems more like we're taking Alera's word on the fact that they have a great love.

    Much is left unanswered in the end, as a trilogy is promised. I'll try book two in the hopes that Kluver will grow into her potential. If her writing style hasn't tightened up, though, I won't be in line for book three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    YA Bound

    I could not stop reading Legacy. It's pretty long, 500 pages, but I read it in under two days. I just couldn't put it down. I used to read High Fantasy in HS. I LOVED it. I still like it, but after reading so much growing up, it truly has to have an amazing plot and characters to do it for me. Legacy had everything.
    Kluver's writing style is beautiful and lyrical. She captures Alera's world with amazing description and clarity. Alera herself was easy for me to relate to. Though she made some poor choices and had trust issues, I could understand her logic, and how difficult it was for her to come to her decisions. In a time and world where women's opinions are not valued, she showed incredible strength and courage, and by the end of the story, she showed so much character growth. Not by being self-sacrificing, but by learning to trust and putting faith in those she loves, therefore doing what she knew was best for them.
    If you love romance, this is a must read. I was completely swept up in the tug of war between Steldor and Narian for Alera's heart. Steldor is super cocky, like, so cocky he's annoying, but I fell for him. He's gorgeous and he knows it. And he doesn't hold anything back when it comes to Alera. Narian, though he was younger and not as handsome or built as Steldor, was not lacking in the HOT department. His skills, quiet confidence, and unyielding pursuit of Alera made me fall for him. I'm torn between them. I can see how each guy offers something to Alera, but I'm going to wait for the next book to see how I feel. I know something amazing is coming and I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Kluver's writing was not only beautiful, but moving.

    Legacy was on my short list of books that I wanted to read when I visited the library recently. Of course, that list usually goes out the window when you're in the mecca of books. Legacy was not one of those books.

    Looking at the cover alone you are drawn into the story. The original cover of Legacy looks like it belongs in the royal archives. It's genius really. It set a tone for me. Also, having the hardcover in my hand while reading this great story, just added to the whole effect. It made me love this book more.

    Legacy is about Princess Alera of Hytanica, destined to marry the future king. She is surrounded by her family, the royal court, and her personal bodyguards who dutifully protect her from harms way. After many years of peace with the Cokyri kingdom, everything seems well in the princess' world. Even though the ghastly war is over, tensions between the two kingdoms still exists. One night, a foreign visitor turns up and changes everything. What could one Cokyrian do that disrupts the peace? What does this all mean?

    Kluver introduces Alera in this fantastic tale. She is headstrong, curious, and not interested in any of her current suitors. Her upbringing has instilled in her duty, honor, and loyalty. Before she turns eighteen, she needs to choose a proper suitor to marry, one who is blessed by her father. Throughout the book, she questions the Hytanican culture and traditions that she was raised with. In Hytanica, men hold dominant rule over the women. For Alera, as queen, she can not be involved in the rulings of the kingdom. It is simply not her place. She finds herself with the help of some surprising characters. She finds self-worth as a person first, and as a woman next.

    Other characters play fantastic supporting roles, like London and Narian.

    London is a personal bodyguard whom I felt was an older brother to Alera. He seemed to have guided her when she seemed lost. She inexplicably trusts him, even if that trust is questioned from time to time. He has been very loyal to the Kingdom of Hytanica, and has proven it time and time again.

    Narian is a Hytanican child who was kidnapped during the Cokyrian war. He was raised as a Cokyrian with their beliefs, their culture, and their outlook on life. Upon discovering his heritage, he journeys back to meet his family and experience the culture in the kingdom. He is a helpful aid in Alera's life, allowing for the friendship to grow.
    Kluver's writing was not only beautiful, but moving. Her descriptive details really painted a picture in my mind. She worded everything that the words just came to life, allowing my imagination to organically create these vivid visualizations. It was like a movie played in my mind. And what's more impressive is that Kluver wrote this at such a young age! Is that talent or what?
    Legacy has several meanings to me when I think about it in respect to this story. Legacy of a princess expected to marry the next King. Legacy fulfilled of duty and honor. Legacy of the culture of the two kingdoms. And finally, legacy of a girl becoming a woman.

    This book is the start of a series, so of course there were cliffhangers! There are some questions that will most likely be answered in the upcoming books, but I personally see the potential for the characters to be developed even more than they already are.

    Pick it up today, because you will definitely love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3