Customer Reviews for

Legacy

Average Rating 4
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

Let me start out by saying I was interested in this book before I found out it was written, at the time, by a fourteen year old. After I acquired it I discovered this fact and was even more intrigued and eager to read it. I was not disappointed.

To have been fourte...
Let me start out by saying I was interested in this book before I found out it was written, at the time, by a fourteen year old. After I acquired it I discovered this fact and was even more intrigued and eager to read it. I was not disappointed.

To have been fourteen when she penned this story, Cayla Kluver's writing shows a remarkable depth, strength, and polish to it. I was kind of amazed really. Not so much by the fact that a fourteen year old could conceive of and then write a good tale. I know people have good imaginations and creativity at any age. What amazed me more was the breadth of research she must have done to paint such a vivid and accurate picture of the time period... because although the book does take place in an imaginary kingdom, the customs, dress, environment, and culture is obviously of the middle ages. And she was phenomenal at setting the stage, conveying that culture, and making it all seem so real.

I loved the characters... just about all of them. Although Princess Alera does not like Steldor, strongly dislikes him in fact, I kind of liked him. Even though he is arrogant. But that very thing, which completely annoys him, kind of made me like him because I think there are more depths to him that the reader hasn't discovered yet and probably will discover in the following books. (Yes, this is a trilogy.) Narian I liked, of course, because he is shrouded in mystery. But I think we have a good love triangle about to start here. I LOVE love triangles! At least if they're done well. So I'm looking forward to seeing where Cayla Kluver takes this one.

I enjoyed the action, the setup, the flashes of romance, and the richness of the setting and time period. This was a great story and I look forward to seeing more from Cayla in future!

posted by ReadergirlReviews on August 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

NOOK VERSION IN SPANISH

I purchased this book on the nook with the assumption that it was in english. The electronic version of this book is actually in Spanish, although I was able to call barnes and noble and get a refund.

posted by 5758036 on July 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

    Let me start out by saying I was interested in this book before I found out it was written, at the time, by a fourteen year old. After I acquired it I discovered this fact and was even more intrigued and eager to read it. I was not disappointed.

    To have been fourteen when she penned this story, Cayla Kluver's writing shows a remarkable depth, strength, and polish to it. I was kind of amazed really. Not so much by the fact that a fourteen year old could conceive of and then write a good tale. I know people have good imaginations and creativity at any age. What amazed me more was the breadth of research she must have done to paint such a vivid and accurate picture of the time period... because although the book does take place in an imaginary kingdom, the customs, dress, environment, and culture is obviously of the middle ages. And she was phenomenal at setting the stage, conveying that culture, and making it all seem so real.

    I loved the characters... just about all of them. Although Princess Alera does not like Steldor, strongly dislikes him in fact, I kind of liked him. Even though he is arrogant. But that very thing, which completely annoys him, kind of made me like him because I think there are more depths to him that the reader hasn't discovered yet and probably will discover in the following books. (Yes, this is a trilogy.) Narian I liked, of course, because he is shrouded in mystery. But I think we have a good love triangle about to start here. I LOVE love triangles! At least if they're done well. So I'm looking forward to seeing where Cayla Kluver takes this one.

    I enjoyed the action, the setup, the flashes of romance, and the richness of the setting and time period. This was a great story and I look forward to seeing more from Cayla in future!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    Slow beginning but I grew to love this book!

    Slow beginning but I grew to love this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cayla Kluver’s writing is beautiful. Fluid. Descriptive. E

    Cayla Kluver’s writing is beautiful. Fluid. Descriptive. Eloquent. Yet there is a certain lack — or shall I say, excess? — to it. Cayla puts so much effort into description — describing dresses, which I understand to a point, considering that this story takes place in the eyes of a princess — but this description is completely overwhelming. And sometimes unnecessary. Honestly, who cares about the cut of a dress?

    There were other things that bothered me in this book, and all these things can be described in one word: clichéd. The love interests were clichéd, a large part of the plot was clichéd . . . I’m very prejudiced against clichés. I always want to read books that are unique. Different. Not the same old, same old “girl moves to new town and meets boy at new school and falls in love with boy” etc. Reading the same story over and over makes me cry and tear out my hair in frustration.

    So the characters. I adored Alera, though I believe that she might be just a little bit clichéd (yet I never tire of headstrong women discovering who they should be). Her loyalty to her bodyguards London and Destari; her love for her father (the King), her mother (the Queen), and her sister Miranna; and her duty as Crown Princess of Hytanica . . . all of that made me love her and her resolve and everything she represents to women.

    And Steldor . . . Steldor is that arrogant and pompous jerk that wants to marry Alera. And he would be crowned King if he did. Normally this would be the part where I rant on and on and on about why I hate him and etc., but an odd thing is . . . my sister likes him. So I had wondered why, and after I finished the book, she told me. “I think I like Steldor so much because he isn’t the obvious choice. And I think he actually does love Alera.” I might agree with her on both counts.

    Narian is the sort of bad boy that comes into a girl’s life . . . yet he is undeniably sweet to Alera. Though I had no trouble in believing in their romance (though I wish their romance would have been more gradual and not as fast), I do have a problem with Narian — getting over the fact that he’s quite handsome and is also quite sweet and is also quite a bad boy. He’s clichéd. Yes, all those things that I listed about him? Those are all clichéd.

    The plot of this book was, in large part, original. Though there were a few bumps here and there that I didn’t like (spoilers: why was the High Priestess captured? What was she doing there in the first place? Why did Narian leave the city so suddenly? AND WHY IN THE WORLD IS ALERA MARRIED TO STELDOR?), I generally enjoyed the surprises at every turn. But one thing I definitely did not enjoy in the book was that cliffhanger ending! Never have I ever read a book with as big a cliffie ending as Legacy. So be warned.

    And lastly, I wasn’t the biggest fan of this synopsis. I know synopses tend to be dramatic (and often give away spoilers, though that is not so much in this case), but the tone of the synopsis is completely different from the tone of this book. So people who are looking for blood and guts, you definitely will not find that in this enchanting love story.

    Legacy is an alluring love story that captured my heart mainly because it’s more than a love story. Legacy is a story about duty and sacrifice . . . and a choice a seventeen-year-old girl must make.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Seventeen-year-old Alera will soon be queen of Hytanica. The ki

    Seventeen-year-old Alera will soon be queen of Hytanica. The kingdom is in desperate need of a strong souvereign and so the young princess has to face her fate of marrying the suitor whom her father feels most capable of inheriting his legacy. And while her father is still trying to decide who to name new king of Hytanica, Alera clandestinely falls in love with another man, a Corkyrian, a traitor.
    LEGACY is a debut novel with a slow start, overflowing with many redundant and way too many decorative phrases and scenes, and could have well been cut by some pages. Instead of all the irrelevant extra info I could've used more details about Hytanica's history and Alera and Narian's romance, more scenes concentrating on their emotional development and the very fatal war their relationship might be causing.
    What always filled me with excitement and girly anticipation, left me cold in LEGACY. The search for an heir to the throne, a husband for Alera, daughter of the actual king. I know that it's a different time and that the story is set in a country with its very own complicated history, but no actual right to a say and ignorance of Alera's feelings made me so angry. The development of her character didn't live up to my expectations either, but other characters like palace guard London fast found a place in my heart.


    3,5/5 ***/* LEGACY - A potent YA debut, improvable in writing pace and editing that convinces with its strong world-building and Hytanica's history.

    To be honest, it took me quite some time to finish LEGACY. With nearly five hundred pages it's not on the short side of YA books. It was the pacing, the excessive mass of details and additions here and there that hindered me to read LEGACY as fast as I would've liked. Now I'm hoping for a more consistent sequel to the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very well-written and entertaining! I LOVE this story, I can't

    Very well-written and entertaining! I LOVE this story, I can't believe the writer is only 20 years old!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Kluver's writing was not only beautiful, but moving.

    Legacy was on my short list of books that I wanted to read when I visited the library recently. Of course, that list usually goes out the window when you're in the mecca of books. Legacy was not one of those books.

    Looking at the cover alone you are drawn into the story. The original cover of Legacy looks like it belongs in the royal archives. It's genius really. It set a tone for me. Also, having the hardcover in my hand while reading this great story, just added to the whole effect. It made me love this book more.

    Legacy is about Princess Alera of Hytanica, destined to marry the future king. She is surrounded by her family, the royal court, and her personal bodyguards who dutifully protect her from harms way. After many years of peace with the Cokyri kingdom, everything seems well in the princess' world. Even though the ghastly war is over, tensions between the two kingdoms still exists. One night, a foreign visitor turns up and changes everything. What could one Cokyrian do that disrupts the peace? What does this all mean?

    Kluver introduces Alera in this fantastic tale. She is headstrong, curious, and not interested in any of her current suitors. Her upbringing has instilled in her duty, honor, and loyalty. Before she turns eighteen, she needs to choose a proper suitor to marry, one who is blessed by her father. Throughout the book, she questions the Hytanican culture and traditions that she was raised with. In Hytanica, men hold dominant rule over the women. For Alera, as queen, she can not be involved in the rulings of the kingdom. It is simply not her place. She finds herself with the help of some surprising characters. She finds self-worth as a person first, and as a woman next.

    Other characters play fantastic supporting roles, like London and Narian.

    London is a personal bodyguard whom I felt was an older brother to Alera. He seemed to have guided her when she seemed lost. She inexplicably trusts him, even if that trust is questioned from time to time. He has been very loyal to the Kingdom of Hytanica, and has proven it time and time again.

    Narian is a Hytanican child who was kidnapped during the Cokyrian war. He was raised as a Cokyrian with their beliefs, their culture, and their outlook on life. Upon discovering his heritage, he journeys back to meet his family and experience the culture in the kingdom. He is a helpful aid in Alera's life, allowing for the friendship to grow.
    Kluver's writing was not only beautiful, but moving. Her descriptive details really painted a picture in my mind. She worded everything that the words just came to life, allowing my imagination to organically create these vivid visualizations. It was like a movie played in my mind. And what's more impressive is that Kluver wrote this at such a young age! Is that talent or what?
    Legacy has several meanings to me when I think about it in respect to this story. Legacy of a princess expected to marry the next King. Legacy fulfilled of duty and honor. Legacy of the culture of the two kingdoms. And finally, legacy of a girl becoming a woman.

    This book is the start of a series, so of course there were cliffhangers! There are some questions that will most likely be answered in the upcoming books, but I personally see the potential for the characters to be developed even more than they already are.

    Pick it up today, because you will definitely love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Book Review: Legacy

    I was thoroughly impressed when I was done with this story so I started looking at a few reviews. I began to wonder if we read the same book. But since there are several versions available, I wonder if the book went through some major edits before published by Harlequin Teen. I just couldn't see some of the faults that readers pointed out.

    The story reads like an epic young adult fantasy/romance. While I knew going into the book that it was a trilogy, I was thinking that this first one would be a major part of the story. While it is, I felt like it was more like Fellowship of the Ring in The Lord of the Rings series. It's major contribution is painting the picture of what's to come and to give the back story. I obviously really liked it, but feel like the best is yet to come.

    I enjoyed learning about the Kingdom of Hytanica. It functions much like I imagine kingdoms did in the medieval time period. Women's primary role is to serve their husband. Princess Alera wants more than that. She's knowledgeable and has a knack for disregarding her "place" in society. She likes knowing the inner workings of ruling the kingdom. I think she would make a great queen, but she's not allowed to rule. She needs to marry and her husband becomes the new king. I actually really disliked her father in this aspect. He had it set in his mind who would be the next king and never stopped to think how it might affect his daughter.

    I think my favorite character was Narian. His past is quite interesting. I liked how he challenged Alera. I think if given half that chance, he would be the perfect counterpart to Alera and her place as Queen. I especially enjoyed how he was raised by the mortal enemy. Which of course has different views on military training and especially in their views of women. He struggles when he return to Hytanica, but knows he can not return to Cokyri. His relationship with Alera was wonderful.

    I enjoyed the intrigue in the story. It seems most of the characters are hiding something. London, Alera's personal bodyguard, has a deep connection to the Cokyri's that causes his to act completely out of character. Stelton, the man Alera's father wants her to marry, seems like a complete jerk for most of the story. But, I think there's more to it than that. And I'm not sure what to think of Stelton's father. There's a few events that are a little gruesome, but without all the gory details. Such are the problems with war. There's romance and love triangles (sort of). But, most of all there's the promise of what's to come. And while the story ended with a little bit of a cliffhanger, I can't wait to see what is in store for us next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A surprisingly interesting story

    At first I thought thas this book was going to be a fairly typical young adult fantasy romance where the young princess falls in love with the wrong gentleman and struggles against all expectations. On one side, I was right. On the other, there are aspects of this story that do not even come close to being ordinary.


    The first half was fairly predictable, princess doesn't want to marry an arrogant lord who is only after her throne and meets a mysterious, dangerous boy who may be an enemy of the kingdom. My sense of predictability was exacerbated by a scene where Alera goes to see Narian only to hear that he is out riding and it is suggested that she and her friends go for a walk by the river. I just had to roll my eyes because I knew that she was going to fall into that river and that Narian was going to pull her out. However, in the second half of the book it was impossible to predict anything and the ending was quite shocking. I am eagerly awaiting book 2 because I have no idea how it is going to work out.


    The characters were interesting and likable. (Well, mostly. I really want to Steldor through most of the story.) Alera was well-written. She is aware of her responsibilities and does not behave like a child to avoid them, no matter how much she may wish to. However, she also acts like a giddy teenager at times, pulling pranks with her sister and giggling over boys. This struck me as being realistic. She was raised with the importance of her duties and how they would affect others and is so aware of them that she rarely acts sefishly.


    Narian was very...interesting. On one hand, he is the handsome mysterious stranger with more weapons on his person than some people keep in their armory, but underneath his stony facade, he seems almost desperate. I am still not sure what side he will choose.


    Of the minor characters, I really like Miranna and Temerson. They are so sweet and innocent compared to everyone else. The bodyguards, London, Destari and Tedark were all interesting and likable in their own ways, though in Tedark's case it was just fun to make fun of him. London was very complicated and at times confusing. He seems to have many secrets and I am sure that there are several yet to be revealed.


    There are a few instances where the characters seem to contradict themselves and that irritated me. For example, the king killed his infant son as a sacrifice in the prologue, but that is never mentioned in the story and he does not seem like the sort of man who could do such a thing. Yes, he can be harsh, but nothing in his behavior hints that he murdered his son or even that he could. There were other, less noticeable instances, but that one bothered me the most.


    There was a subtle undercurrent of darkness in the story. There were the obvious infanticides and battles, but there were also references to torture and hints of abusive behavior. When Steldor, Alera's suitor, grabs her arm too tightly she is unsurprised and most people do not care because the men are in charge and it is the woman's place to obey. A husband can do anything to his wife and no one will object. Also, a father has complete control over his children until they are married and out of his household. While no beatings or abuse actually occur in the story, there are enough small hints to worry me.


    All-in-all, I enjoyed this book. Though my first impressions were not enthusiastic, the complicated world and puzzling characters drew me in. I

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Legacy

    First I will start by saying the cover is the reason I got the book. When I got it I was very impressed the covers & the pages it has to be the coolest looking book I have. When I started reading it I felt it was really slow & didnt know if I could keep reading but I did and I am so glad I did. About 200 pages in I became addicted and did not want to put it down! When I was at work I couldn't stop thinking about it or anywhere that I couldn't read. There was so much detail about the clothes and surroundings but the perfect amount enough to know what everything looks like without being too much. I wish there was more Narian in the book. But I'm hoping there is in the next-possibly even Allegience(I think it's called) being from Narian's point of view. I can't wait for the next book to see how Alera handles the situations she is put in & hopefully she along with the help of Narian can help the people of Hytanica see that women are equal to men! READ IT!!!! You'll be glad you did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    good not great

    I read legacy on a recommendation from a friend and was pretty pleased especially when i found out that the author was only fifteen. All and all it was a good book. The plot was interesting and impressively complex. The medival princess genre isn't my favorite but i could appreciate it. Characters were good. Writing wasn't the best. It felt very stiff. Despite that i liked it and it was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1