Customer Reviews for

Legacy

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

Let me start out by saying I was interested in this book before I found out it was written, at the time, by a fourteen year old. After I acquired it I discovered this fact and was even more intrigued and eager to read it. I was not disappointed.

To have been fourte...
Let me start out by saying I was interested in this book before I found out it was written, at the time, by a fourteen year old. After I acquired it I discovered this fact and was even more intrigued and eager to read it. I was not disappointed.

To have been fourteen when she penned this story, Cayla Kluver's writing shows a remarkable depth, strength, and polish to it. I was kind of amazed really. Not so much by the fact that a fourteen year old could conceive of and then write a good tale. I know people have good imaginations and creativity at any age. What amazed me more was the breadth of research she must have done to paint such a vivid and accurate picture of the time period... because although the book does take place in an imaginary kingdom, the customs, dress, environment, and culture is obviously of the middle ages. And she was phenomenal at setting the stage, conveying that culture, and making it all seem so real.

I loved the characters... just about all of them. Although Princess Alera does not like Steldor, strongly dislikes him in fact, I kind of liked him. Even though he is arrogant. But that very thing, which completely annoys him, kind of made me like him because I think there are more depths to him that the reader hasn't discovered yet and probably will discover in the following books. (Yes, this is a trilogy.) Narian I liked, of course, because he is shrouded in mystery. But I think we have a good love triangle about to start here. I LOVE love triangles! At least if they're done well. So I'm looking forward to seeing where Cayla Kluver takes this one.

I enjoyed the action, the setup, the flashes of romance, and the richness of the setting and time period. This was a great story and I look forward to seeing more from Cayla in future!

posted by ReadergirlReviews on August 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

NOOK VERSION IN SPANISH

I purchased this book on the nook with the assumption that it was in english. The electronic version of this book is actually in Spanish, although I was able to call barnes and noble and get a refund.

posted by 5758036 on July 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Flaclaw

    The books called legacy of secreats sorry. Mine are diffrent than yours

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Darkwolf to sunmoon

    Umm not to be rude but u dont know anything about herbs and healing and u cant just call yr self the med cat the leader has to call it u cant do it its againist the warrior code if anybody should be med cat it should be rosepaw she know more

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Brokenpaw

    Wat today?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Taalonclaw

    "What herbs have you memorised?" I asked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Amazing!

    I've been searching 4 the perfect book after reading the hunger games & dinner w/ a vampire. This is it! Can't wait 2 start reading the 2nd.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Unlike most of the people who wrote the reviews I disagree with

    Unlike most of the people who wrote the reviews I disagree with them about the amount of details in the book. I don't think she did too much and it was nice to get the details and to be able to picture the book more clearly. For someone so young it was amazing the story she had written. I was caught up within the first chapter and had a hard time putting it down. I would certainly recommend this book to anyone who likes fantasy and romance.

    SPOILER ALERT!!!

    As much as I loved this book I was disappointed that she married Steldor! Narian should have come in and saved the day, im hoping they will finally manage to be together before the series ends

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    YA Bound

    I could not stop reading Legacy. It's pretty long, 500 pages, but I read it in under two days. I just couldn't put it down. I used to read High Fantasy in HS. I LOVED it. I still like it, but after reading so much growing up, it truly has to have an amazing plot and characters to do it for me. Legacy had everything.
    Kluver's writing style is beautiful and lyrical. She captures Alera's world with amazing description and clarity. Alera herself was easy for me to relate to. Though she made some poor choices and had trust issues, I could understand her logic, and how difficult it was for her to come to her decisions. In a time and world where women's opinions are not valued, she showed incredible strength and courage, and by the end of the story, she showed so much character growth. Not by being self-sacrificing, but by learning to trust and putting faith in those she loves, therefore doing what she knew was best for them.
    If you love romance, this is a must read. I was completely swept up in the tug of war between Steldor and Narian for Alera's heart. Steldor is super cocky, like, so cocky he's annoying, but I fell for him. He's gorgeous and he knows it. And he doesn't hold anything back when it comes to Alera. Narian, though he was younger and not as handsome or built as Steldor, was not lacking in the HOT department. His skills, quiet confidence, and unyielding pursuit of Alera made me fall for him. I'm torn between them. I can see how each guy offers something to Alera, but I'm going to wait for the next book to see how I feel. I know something amazing is coming and I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book!

    SYNOPSIS: Princess Alera has a responsibility to her empire to marry a man worthy to be the king of Hytanica. The empire is at the brink of war, and her father tires of being king, therefore her decision must be made hastily. However, there is no man who matches the King's criteria that interests Alera in anyway, and the man that her father believes is the best suitor she can hardly tolerate. Hytanica begins to feel threatened by the Cokyrans, the empire's worst enemy, and a teenage boy thought to a native of Cokyran, is taken into custody. Alera, curious about their enemy, and even more so about the blue eyed teenager, begins to forge a dangerous relationship with him.

    REVIEW: Legacy quickly became one of my favorite books so far this year. My attention was captivated within the first few chapters. Alera was such a wonderful change from the helpless/reckless female leads I've been reading about lately. She is a perfect mix of a curious, headstrong teenager, and a young women stepping into her responsibilities. She is opinionated, and fights against a society that views women as lowly by doing whatever she can to make sure her voice is heard. She is also slightly prone to making unwise decisions and getting into trouble. I just love her.

    Legacy has a very "Fairy Tale" feel about it, in the way that it is written. It just screams "FUTURE DISNEY PRINCESS" material! The writing is descriptive and beautiful without being overwhelming and boring. I love the characters. Lord Steldor, Alera's most acceptable suitor, actually reminded me of <i>Beauty and the Beast's</i> Gaston, many times. I could just see him parading around in his dashing clothes and arrogant grin, causing the ladies to sigh. Narian, the captive, was definitely the strong silent type. He was confident and arrogant as well, but not to an annoying degree. I'm not going mention the messy dirty blonde hair and piercing blue eyes.(my own sigh inserted here.) I love how the king was a perfect mix of a person. He was neither a war hungry male, nor a flippant King. He took his role very seriously, and had just enough joy, smiles and compassion. He was also a very fair parent who, like all parents, eventually reaches the end of his thread. London, who's name tripped me up more than once - I kept thinking we were talking about the country and getting confused, was one of my favorite characters. He made the perfect role model and great secondary father figure for Alera!

    All in all, I cannot wait for the next book, Allegiance which will be released in March of 2012. The title of the third, Sacrifice, leaves me a bit nervous, however, it makes me wonder if author Cayla Kluver is going to pull a "Maggie Stiefvater" with her story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Delicious

    I've devoured this book 3 times now and just mailed it to my little sister. I fell in love with it in its hardcover release and thought the language was beautiful. The story was heartfelt and dealt with a lot of the issues that any young girl faces when raised in gilded cage and assumed to marry for status rather than love. It's sensual without being graphic and heart-wrenching without taking away all hope. I can't wait for the rest of the trilogy to come out, and I hope you feel the same after reading this. For the record, I don't like "chick lit" OR tales that take place in fantasy worlds, and YET... This book stole my heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    What really got me about this book is the great pacing of it. As you read it, everything is given to you little by little so you are not left behind or given too much. You were given just enough to keep you entertain in the book and never bored.

    The storyline for one is awesome! The reader is immediately put into a town that had a bad history. I really loved it when a book starts off with a great history not only to the characters but the story as well. I love how well the story just kept on going with so much information that you just devoured it. There was so much to read. All the information based on the city, the king, their kingdom was cool.

    Alera is a strong characters. She comes off as fresh yet she is her own self. She knows what is expected of her but want to follow her heart. I loved Alea attitude with things. At times she was so dramatic it made me laugh. She is very insightful about things and is selfless.

    The love interest was good but had me confused at times. I was so sure that when I started reading that there was something about London, but no, I was wrong. Which I like cause Ms. Kluver really kept me on my toes. Nothing was predictable in this book. Nothing. The love interest played well with the history of the kingdom and really escalated into an awesome forbidden love.

    Legacy is a great historical book with a great plot line. I enjoyed reading every single word in that book. It made me smile, laugh, and most of all, made me feel the story. Ms. Kluver writing was easy to read so you fell into the story quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful Romance, A Must Read!

    First, I'd like to praise author Cayla Kluver. She's only is sixteen years old. For such a young person, she's an amazing writer. Heck, for any age she's an amazing author. The world-building is outstanding in this novel. I was easily drawn into these two kingdoms with the Hytanicans and Cokyrians. The detail in which Cayla Kluver uses to describe the characters and world was awesome. It was like standing in the background watching a story play out in front of me as I read. All the characters in Legacy are clearly described and strong in their own personality. I liked Princess Alera. She's seventeen and strong-willed and independent young lady, which is not good in this world where women live in submission to men. Alera"s father, King Adrik, feels the time has come for Alera to wed. He picks the prefect guy for Alera, Steldor, who is a twenty-year-old, handsome military field commander. But Alera can't stand to even look at him. Then there is Narian, who is a gorgeous and sixteen. Blond hair and blue eyes. Alera begins to have feels for Narian, but he was kidnaped at birth and raised by their most hated enemy, the Cokyri, whose men are submissive to their women. There's definitely a love triangle going on between these three. I have to say I fell in love with Steldor and Narian. They're both bad boys, but in different ways. Steldor is conceded-thinks he's a gift to women, and Narian is rebellious, but respects women. The story line in Legacy is incredibly intriguing. It has it all: humor, drama, action, and heart-melting romance. The ending was totally fantastic, and leaves you on a cliffhanger. It will leave you holding your breath in anticipation for the second book in this series. Legacy is a must, must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazingg.

    I'll start out by saying if you're looking for action and adventure on every page, you're not going to get it with this book. Nevertheless, It's still an amazing, engaging story. I greatly sppreciate Cayla Kluver's incredible detail- there was a good amount of it without being so much you were screaming for dialogue. The romance, espcially...oh stupid Steldor!
    This book I would say is best for people who love fantasy, and danger, and romance, with a shroud of mystery and realism.
    Uh. May. Zingg.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    deep historical romance

    King Adrik of Hytanica informs his daughter Alera, who just turned seventeen; she will marry one of her suitors before her next birthday. Alera is concerned with her choices as only one meets the rules of the kingdom for marrying a princess. She wants no part of arrogant womanizer Steldor. Only the twenty years old rake's father, Captain of the King's Guards Lord Cannan, believes in the potential of his son. Steldor likes his hedonistic world but has problems with understanding Alera who rejects his charm.

    Meanwhile the century old war between Hytanica and the Kingdom of Cokyri has become heated again after a sixteen-year dormant period though neither side of the dispute quite remembers the details behind the legendary LEGACY. The two kingdoms disagree on the value of women in society with the Cokyrians placing females in positions of leadership and power while in Hytanica they are second class citizens. Atrocities by the Cokyri have arisen as they did sixteen years ago with the kidnapping and murders of infant sons of Hytanica nobles. However, Narian survived the ordeal, learned what his heritage is and Cokyrian tactics before he came home to Hytanica as either its war leader or its Quisling destroyer especially since he and the about to be married Alera are attracted to one another.

    LEGACY is a deep historical romance that in some ways will remind the audience of the late period of the Hundred Years War. The story line is driven by the cast especially those in Hytanica where the monarch is tired and believes new blood is needed, but distrusts his daughter to achieve this; ironically if she lived in the adversarial kingdom, she would be the heir and not just the wife and mother of the heirs. Sub-genre fans will enjoy this strong tale as the deep characterizations make for a super thriller filled with plenty of military and not so noblesse action.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Allison Fraclose for TeensReadToo.com

    Seventeen years ago, a bloody war waged by the Kingdom of Cokyri on the Hytanicans ended abruptly when the Cokyri stole away forty-nine newborn males...and only returned the bodies of forty-eight. Hytanica has managed to rebuild from the war, but the anger felt towards the warriors of the mountains--not to mention anxiety that the war could resume at any time--has never completely ceased. <BR/><BR/>Alera, crowned princess of Hytanica, now celebrates her seventeenth birthday, and must prepare to wed in exactly one year. In a land where men hold complete dominion over women, Alera may not take her father's place as ruler, but must seek a husband who will fulfill the role as king. Unfortunately, no suitor matches her father's strict qualifications aside from Lord Steldor, the egotistical son of the Captain of the Guard whose very breathing manages to annoy Alera. <BR/><BR/>All of this grows less important to Alera once the Cokyrians manage to infiltrate the palace, and word is whispered that there is a traitor among the Elite Guard. Even Alera's beloved bodyguard begins behaving strangely, and Alera finds herself having to make a difficult choice. Her budding interest in the political affairs of her kingdom come to head when another Cokyrian, a young man named Narian, is captured, and Alera finds herself probing him for information that she, as a woman, is not allowed to know. <BR/><BR/>As she grows closer with Narian, who was raised in a society where woman often hold power over men, Alera learns that she is capable of much she would never have imagined...even of finding love. But the intriguing circumstances surrounding Narian's life will throw everything into jeopardy, for Alera as well as for the entire kingdom of Hytanica. <BR/><BR/>This brilliant story by a young new author captured my heart, and I am eager to read the tale's conclusion in the following book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    Incredible, intriguing, romance

    Legacy was and is one of the most compelling and well-written stories I've ever read. Although it was written by a girl three years my junior, I was impressed and amazed by the complex plot, intriguing characters, and all-around fantastic writing that made this book impossible to put down from start to finish. I absolutely recommend this story to anyone of any age who enjoys romance, tension, and intrigue, for although the story is intended for young adults, the writing is such that anyone ages 12 to 112 would enjoy it. I eagerly look forward to the sequel, Allegiance. Write fast, Cayla, write fast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    Captivating and Marvelous

    Legacy had me hooked from the start. I felt as if I was Alera and that I knew each of the characters when I read this book. The plot is incredible, complex, and complete. And anytime the setting changed, I could close my eyes and I was there the despcriptions were so great and effective. It is hard to believe that a book so well written is a work from a first time author, but you could never tell the difference. I am at the edge of my seat waiting for a sequal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2008

    Advance Copy - Blew Me Away!

    This book has not yet been released, but I was fortunate enough to receive an advance reading copy. Legacy is an impeccably written novel with a gripping and at times heartwrenching plot, and characters who grab you and never let go. Don't miss this one. It's medieval-based fantasy, rolling mystery, romance, and humor all into one. Something for everybody, boys and girls, men and women, don't pass it up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2