Customer Reviews for

The Legacy

Average Rating 4
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book!

First of all, the setting for a historical romance, in Wittenberg, Germany, is very different. I like different. TJ's voice is very strong and her characters leap off the page, both main characters and secondary characters. I fell in love with everyone, and even enjoyed...
First of all, the setting for a historical romance, in Wittenberg, Germany, is very different. I like different. TJ's voice is very strong and her characters leap off the page, both main characters and secondary characters. I fell in love with everyone, and even enjoyed hissing at the villian. It's not a 'typical' romance, there are a lot of clever turns of descriptive phrases that put you right there with the book and the characters. Even with the drama in the book, there is a lot of humor, and the sexual tension between Wolf and Sabina was a joy to watch unfold.

posted by Anonymous on April 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Romance, too detailed.

I didn't finish it, just me. I was excited to read it and what I read was good and had me interested, I just don't want to read about the sex. I thought I would thow that out there in case you don't either.

posted by 11656939 on April 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    I loved this book!

    First of all, the setting for a historical romance, in Wittenberg, Germany, is very different. I like different. TJ's voice is very strong and her characters leap off the page, both main characters and secondary characters. I fell in love with everyone, and even enjoyed hissing at the villian. It's not a 'typical' romance, there are a lot of clever turns of descriptive phrases that put you right there with the book and the characters. Even with the drama in the book, there is a lot of humor, and the sexual tension between Wolf and Sabina was a joy to watch unfold.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    THE LEGACY

    THE LEGACY - T. J. Bennett Medallion Press, Inc. ISBN: 978-1933836362 April 2008 Historical Romance Wittenberg, Electoral Saxony 'Germany' - 1525 The dungeon is dark and cold. She¿s hungry. She hasn¿t eaten for five, or is it six days? Chained to the stone walls, imprisoned like an animal, the Baronesse Sabina von Ziegler is held captive by her stepfather. No one knows she¿s there, deep in the dank, damp recesses of his castle, and the Baron has promised she will stay his captive until she either starves to death or agrees to marry a man he has chosen for her. Sabina is strong. She has to be after nine years of imprisonment in a convent where the Baron left her following an impetuous marriage to a rake. But Sabina finally escaped and came for what is rightfully hers -- an inheritance of gold left her by her mother. The Baron has no intention of giving Sabina the gold. He would rather see her dead, especially after she cost him the life of his only son and heir. Finally, Sabina makes the bargain the Baron has forced her into, she will marry Wolfgang Behaim. But first, she wants her inheritance. Baron von Ziegler is no fool, and he agrees. But he lies. His signature on their contract means nothing. Sabina will never get one speck of her gold. The last thing Wolf Behaim wants is a wife, but he agrees to marry the Baron¿s stepdaughter, sight unseen, to save his family from ruin. He's made a devil's bargain, and Baron von Ziegler will never let Wolf forget that he's beholden to him. Likewise, Sabina is forced into a marriage she does not want, and she vows this union will never be consummated. And as soon as she regains her strength, she¿ll collect her gold and be gone from this man¿s sight and his household. However, from the moment Wolf and Sabina meet, every contact ignites a smoldering passion they feel in each other¿s presence. Even though both of them deny the spark of interest they feel, it's only their strength of will that prevents their obsession from becoming full blown. THE LEGACY Sabina von Ziegler is entitled to might never be hers to call her own, not if her stepfather the Baron has his way. Forced into this marriage against her will, she has unwittingly signed her inheritance over to her new husband, Wolf Behaim, who has his own reasons for allowing the evil Baron von Ziegler to blackmail him into marrying Sabina. Secrets are kept on both sides in this thrilling and emotional tapestry of love and betrayal. The Behaim family servants, Franz and Bea Wolf's brothers, Peter and Gunter and Wolf's daughter, Giselle, make up the majority of immediate secondary characters that are fully drawn and vibrant. Set in the volatile era of the Protestant Reformation, Martin Luther's rebellion against Catholic doctrine, the beginnings of mechanized printing presses, and the end of the feudal system, new author T. J. Bennett's debut novel is an extraordinary look into a fervent time in history, where romance is rare and true love is still powerful. Diana Risso, Romance Reviews Today

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Good Romance, too detailed.

    I didn't finish it, just me. I was excited to read it and what I read was good and had me interested, I just don't want to read about the sex. I thought I would thow that out there in case you don't either.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2008

    Within a few pages I was hooked

    Reviewer: Terri of Night Owl Romance - The Legacy is set in Wittenberg, Germany. The year is 1525 and the Protestant Reformation has started. With it comes power struggles and revolts. The church influences daily life and beliefs. Women have little power or wealth. Baronesse Sabina von Ziegler has left the convent that she called home for the past 9 years. She¿s read the beliefs of Dr Martin Luther and agrees with enough of them to know that she can no longer serve the Catholic Church. Knowing that she has a legacy from her mother, she returns to her adopted father¿s home to request it. Sabina was originally sent to the convent under a bad circumstances. Wolfgang Philip Matthew Behaim better known as Wolf is a master printer. He has presses in Nurnburg but has come to Wittenberg to take over his father¿s press. His father has recently died in debt and Wolf is trying to get the press operating in the black. Wolf as been married before and has a small daughter. Baron von Ziegler is Sabina¿s adopted father. He hates Sabina and would love to have her gone. He blames her for the death of his only son. Currently, he is on his 4th wife trying to have a son. His first wife died naturally. Sabina¿s mother and the next one died under mysterious circumstances but nothing can be proved. He also is very greedy and has big ideals. As he is the treasurer of Wittenberg, he borrowed some money to finance a ship. The ship hasn¿t returned and is presumed lost and now the city is doing an audit of the books! The Baron is looking for ways to get the money back to the city treasury before anyone notices that it is gone. Wolf has secrets that he doesn¿t want known and he needs to pay off his father¿s debts. Unfortunately, the Baron holds most of Wolf¿s father¿s debt and Sabina¿s inheritance will cover them. The Baron¿s plan is for Wolf to marry Sabina and then give her inheritance to him. Wolf isn¿t wanting to get married. He still loves his wife who died in childbirth. He also doesn¿t want a wife who has given vows to the church! Sabina doesn¿t want to get married. She is suppose to get her inheritance once she turns 25, which is in a few weeks. She just wants to start her haven for women and children. Marriage as far as she can see is not for her. The Baron threatens Wolf with calling in his father¿s debt and telling his secrets. He locks Sabina in a cell, starving and beating her until she is almost dead before she agrees. This is not the best way to start a marriage, even one which both are hoping to dissolve. I wasn¿t sure I was going to like this book. It isn¿t in a time or place that I usually read about. Being open minded though, I started the book and within a few pages I was hooked. The characters are well developed. You feel for Sabina as she sees her dreams being taken from her and her acceptance of her marriage. Poor Wolf doesn¿t want Sabina and would love to send her back to a convent but can¿t. His frustration of having a wife he doesn¿t know what to do with comes through. When Sabina storms out of the house after a fight with Wolf, you know that unless he goes after her, she won¿t be back. The question he has to answer though is does he want her back? The historical background is excellent. When you talk about the Protestant Reformation, the only person most people think about is Dr Martin Luther. The fact that there were others that were working on changing the church isn¿t even thought about. The idea that there was actual fighting over religious beliefs in Germany isn¿t even mentioned. Ms Bennett¿s understanding of the shifting religious beliefs and their ramifications was expressed so well that it was a major part of the story but didn¿t take away from Sabina and Wolf¿s story. I felt I was part of the story and couldn¿t wait to see what happened next. I wanted to know what Wolf¿s secret was. I wanted to know how Sabina was going to live with Wolf not loving her. I wanted to know¿ lots. Wolf¿s brother

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    History and Romance combine

    When Baronesse Sabina von Ziegler escapes from the convent in which her stepfather, Baron von Ziegler, had her imprisoned after a youthful indiscretion, all she wants is to collect the legacy left her by her mother. She has plans for that money. Unfortunately, so does the Baron. Sabina finds herself imprisoned once more, this time in von Zeigler¿s dungeon, starved and beaten until she agrees to marry a commoner of his choosing. Wolf Behaim, a hard-working and successful printer, a still-grieving widower with a small daughter, and the grandson of peasants, is no more eager to marry than Sabina is, but Baron von Ziegler has made him an offer he can¿t refuse, not without revealing a secret that will destroy his family. Hardly a solid foundation for marriage, even in 1525, but Sabina and Wolf¿s predicament leads them to discoveries about each other, about themselves, and about the secrets that haunt their pasts, discoveries that will either change their lives or break their hearts. Sabina and Wolf are strong, engaging, well-drawn characters who will pull you into their story, set against the early days of the Reformation in Germany. If you enjoy historical romance in which the history matters, you will certainly love The Legacy. The Legacy is TJ Bennett¿s excellent debut novel. I¿m already looking forward to her next book from Medallion, The Promise, the story of Wolf¿s soldier-brother, Günter.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Enjoyed

    Enjioyed reading about the Reformation in Germany

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    love it

    filled with hot juicy scenes with a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Too much graphic sex for me. While theBible doctrine in this bo

    Too much graphic sex for me. While theBible doctrine in this book is
    accurate, the fixation on sex was distateful to me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Recommend

    Once I started reading this book, I thought maybe I was going to be reading about Gutenberg. All in All it was a good romance. I liked it and felt it was an O.K. book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    A Must Read! Can't wait to read the next in the series!

    This was a fast read. You can't help but get caught up in the emotions of the characters. The type of book you cant put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Very Enjoyable

    Easy read and good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Disappointment

    I was disappointed in this book. The premise seemed interesting but the story never moved along with so much spent in the sexual line between the two main characters that the story never materialized. Gave up on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    I loved this book!

    I never read this kind of book. Well, I can't say that anymore. I could not put this book down. I can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    a true romance

    i started this book and almost put it aside because of the slow pace but the more i read the better it got. such strong family love and devotion. i just knew that i would want to read the next installment once i read about gunter. i knew he would be the next behaim story although the other two brothers are just as interesting. highly recommend if you like a good romance with strong characters and some humor and some randy brothers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Good book

    Enjoyable romance book. Fast read, yet not a novella length. Enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Buy it read it love it

    Entertaining heart warming lol moments too loved.it so much bought the second book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Romantic and historically correct

    Sabina has been tortured and almost left for dead. Her adoptive father makes a devils bargain with Wolf. Sabina is released only to be made Wolf's bride. Wolf's previous wife died in childbirth and he has no room in his heart for Sabina. To make matters worse the baron is blackmailing Wolf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Fantastic

    Love Wolf and Sabina's story. So full of emotion it was hard
    to put the book down. Cant wait to read about all brothers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Nice

    Enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2