Customer Reviews for

The Legacy of Luna: The Story of a Tree, a Woman, and the Struggle to Save the Redwoods

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    This book reeled me in, and stopped me dead in my tracks, I just had to read it!

    Once I heard about this story I was immediately interested in reading this book. I'm not one to pick up a book and read it very often, but after reading this book, I understood why Julia Butterfly sat in that tree for 2 years. On the other hand, this book left me speechless. Although I don't personally believe in doing what Julia did, I believe that she demonstrated passion and commitment far beyond what many people would've done today.
    If more people would live their lives and back up their beliefs as she did, this world may have a better place today. This is not only an amazing novel to read, but one that can change the way you live your life. This book could change your whole outlook one life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Inspiring

    Great read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Luna is a symbol of hope

    The Legacy of Luna is a book everyone living on this planet should take the time to read. It's important for all of us to learn about the destructive nature of corporations and the negative impact they have on the environment and the living beings dwelling in it. Julia Butterfly Hill was the voice for Luna when Luna had none. She was not only a protector of just this ancient and sacred redwood, but also of the surrounding forest and its wildlife. She shouldn't have had to stay up in a tree for as long as she did to raise awareness about the injustices that have gone on for far too long. But because of her faith, spirit, and love for this beautiful Earth, she was able to stay strong and persevere and have a positive influence. This book had me hooked and I literally could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2001

    Captivating, well written

    A lot could be said. After you read the book, you would understand why. On the other hand, after reading it, you're speechless. Although I don't agree completely with her beliefs, Julia Butterfly demonstrated passion and committment far beyond many in today's world. If more would live their lives with the action to back up their beliefs as she did and does, we would be better off. This is not only an amazing story to be read, but one that can change the way and reason you are living. Of course, the Bible can do that as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2000

    Helping Defend Mother Nature Against the Enemies

    This is about a young woman who takes it upon herself to help defend a part of Mother Nature that nobody really wanted to defend. She goes into depth about living in the tree for 2 years. And she isn't living in a tree house in the backyard 10 feet off the ground either. She lives 180 feet up in the air. Don't think I could do that. She endures winters and summers, springs and falls. She also talks about the mistreatment that she suffers from the loggers. She brings in new light as to what our great country needs to see. She even goes into her day-to-day routine, climbing, eating, bathing and bathroom time. How many people would live in a tree, 180 feet up in the air for 2 years? Not many. It takes a very special person to do that, and Butterfly is that. This a very sincere, emotional and straight from the heart book. I recommend to anybody, whether you like to read or not and whether you care for the environment or not. Read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2000

    Hope for the Future

    The book was great. I could barely put it down and was finding myself recommending to other people before I was finished. It's an easy read and very inspirational. This book gives me hope that maybe someday the world will start to take care the environment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2000

    One of the most Inspiring Books Ever

    I followed the story of Julia Hill since I first heard she was in the tree, and when I found out about this book, I had to have it. It was one of the most inspiring books I have ever read. Whoever said that one person couldn't make a difference was wrong. I couldn't put it down, I read it in 3 days. Julia writes wonderfully, with passion, grace, and beauty...you feel like you are right there with her. This book will inspire anyone who reads it...guaranteed! You will look at the world differently, and you will look at trees differently for the rest of your life. I recommend it for everyone out there, it's one of the best books ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2000

    YOU WON'T PUT IT DOWN

    JULIA IS SUCH AN OUTSTANDING PERSON TO LOOK UP TO. I NEVER HAD THE CHANCE TO PUT THE BOOK DOWN. HOW SHE FELL INTO THE SITUATION AND REALLY FOUGHT FOR A CAUSE WHEN MOST WOULD AND DID GIVE, UP IS TRULY INSPIRING. A BOOK FOR ALL TO READ, ESPECIALLY STUDENTS LEARNING NOT ONLY ABOUT THE ENVIROMENT BUT HEROISM ALSO.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2000

    Heartfelt Journey Needs No Literary Flourish

    If one thrives on the prosaic beauty, intricate plot structure and character development which permeate the works of Tom Wolfe or John Irving, Julia Butterfly Hill's memoir will unabashedly and humbly cleanse these addictions with a more gripping, simple fashion of storytelling. Her style is straightforward, and her story involves extraordinary characters (including the tree, which through her writing becomes not human, but as irreplaceable as a loved one) and the conflicts they endure. Her inner conflicts are revealed as well, offering to the reader not only the sense of being in the tree with her, but in her self with her. Sprinkled with poetry and photographs, the book makes a powerful case for the interconnectedness of all life, for the strength and beauty of womanhood, and of our modern tendency to unconsciously ignore human existence as integral to something much greater than ourselves, physically and spiritually. A preacher's daughter, Hill turns bible-thumping on its head by finding her own spiritual destiny at the top of a tree; and her inner journey, manifested in a media-stopping event which she never asked for nor could have predicted, takes the reader to places within where inexplicable yearnings have existed all along. In the end, some passages found in this book are graced with beauty unequaled by any writer who has not lived in a tree for two years. Thoreau would be proud, if not awed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2000

    Inspire A Young Reader Today

    Not only does Ms. Hill's book move the adult reader, but I would also recommend it as a gift for adolescent readers. Girls could especially benefit from learning about the powerful actions and words of a female role model. I am sending a copy to the young adults I know today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2000

    Fight Against all Odds to Save something Precious

    Julia Butterfly has done a wonderful job of telling her tale about her time in the loving boughs of Luna. Her fight to save the Redwood trees should be an inspiration to us all to do our part in saving our world. There is no try....Do or do not. But then do not complain if you do not do anything to affect change. Julia Butterfly shows how we can each make our own differences, great and small.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2000

    I want to buy this book-late release?

    Julia's story of struggle and survival is an inspiration to us all. She shows that one person can make a difference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1