Customer Reviews for

Legacy of Rescue: A Daughter's Tribute

Average Rating 5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    Some themes that have come up in book presentations and serving

    Some themes that have come up in book presentations and serving as catalysts for engaging discussions1. All of us can make a difference in everyday life by caring, speaking up, showing respect, kindness, and compassion for others
    2. The past is always present; we are all shaped by what happened to us growing up as well as what shaped our parents’ lives and therefore our own; knowing your family roots can enable you to have a sense of connection, continuity, identity
    3. We must consciously teach through modeling respect for differences, cultivate empathy and altruism in our children at home and in our schools
    4. It’s important to honor those who have risked their lives to save others; to show and inspire others to find their own courage to do the right thing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    This is a treasure of a book. I found it deeply personal, yet un

    This is a treasure of a book. I found it deeply personal, yet universal and above all human. I recommend this for anyone interested in the human spirit and the power of human decency. For me, it reads like a conversation with the people described in the book. I think it would be great for a book club or seminar discussion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    "After Marta Fuchs had given a reading, and spoken to a roo

    "After Marta Fuchs had given a reading, and spoken to a room full of my friends, about her book, many asked me to arrange for another meeting. Legacy of Rescue is a powerful book, written so that the courage of one man, who gave his life so that the innocent would survive in very dark times, not be forgotten. Marta is a dynamic speaker who has made her father's story and that of his rescuer, her own story and that of her
    children. It is a story that should be heard by both young and old, Jew and Christian alike." ~ I

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    Ms. Fuchs artfully combines her compelling personal history with

    Ms. Fuchs artfully combines her compelling personal history with a gift for story telling. This is a touching book that offers something to all readers, no matter their background or knowledge of history. At the heart of it lies a story of poignant bravery which we are all the better for knowing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    This is truly a remarkable story that will change the way you th

    This is truly a remarkable story that will change the way you think about life. Ms. Fuchs tells a beautiful story with such love and compassion that you get to know her loving family. No matter what your background is this is a story that will touch your heart and make you feel grateful for the life you have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    Review of Legacy of Rescue: A Daughter┬┐s Tribute by Marta Fuchs

    Review of Legacy of Rescue: A Daughter’s Tribute by Marta Fuchs




    I don’t imagine any reader, even the most jaded and world-weary, is going to be able to read this “memoir of sorts” without prodigious tears. I certainly couldn’t. Even if your weeping is internal rather than obvious, you’ll still be tearing up over the loss of lives, and also over the joy and hope and faith demonstrated here. Author Marta Fuchs, who has already, in combination with her brother Henry, published a memoir of their Hungarian Jewish family, here explores—primarily in the words of narrative recollection—the traumatic events of World War II in Eastern Europe, and of the subsequent Soviet occupation of Hungary in 1956. The author’s Jewish family suffered greatly, simply because of their religion and ethnicity, and many suffered even worse, including torture and death. Yet there were those such as the Commanding Officer of her father’s forced labor unit, a Hungarian Gentile (non-Jew), who guided and protected the men under his command; yet himself was taken prisoner by the Russian Army, conscripted into a forced labour camp in Siberia, and died from disease, never to return to his wife and son. Woven throughout the narratives are threads of compassion and terror, joy and torment, hope and fervor and faith. This is an unforgettable—and very true—story. Read it and weep—and you will.




    I reviewed a complimentary e-book copy via NetGalley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Judges commentary from the 20th Annual Writer┬┐s Digest Self-Pub


    Judges commentary from the 20th Annual Writer’s Digest Self-Published Book Awards --

    This is a tragic book with a hopeful and peaceful ending. Near the end of the book, Marta's daughter writes, "As soon as my shoes touched the cobblestones of Tokaj I couldn't help but feel a strong connection to my heritage." She adds that eating Hungarian food and drinking the Hungarian water make her feel close to the family. And that is what this book is about: relationships and heritage.
    The whole family is thankful for Zoltán Kubinyi, who saved Miksa's life so that the family has continued. Throughout the last fifty years, a few stories have emerged about those who rescued or saved Jews that survived to tell the tales. This book is special, with its family connections and Hungarian atmosphere. Even in America, for children born here like Sophie, the story continues, and is a delight to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Legacy of Rescue is a powerful story of survival and the surpris

    Legacy of Rescue is a powerful story of survival and the surprising ways that strangers can become like family members. The humanity and innate goodness of the key players in this gripping personal tale will live with you long after you finish the book. Marta's choice to maintain loyalty to her father's voice adds a beautiful personal element; we feel we are hearing her dear father recount his own experiences. This is a swift and compelling read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    History makes the biggest impression on me when I experience it

    History makes the biggest impression on me when I experience it through the perspective of particular individuals. Legacy of Rescue is a book that does just that. Although I read it months ago, I retain a strong and emotional memory of the account. This story of a Hungarian family surviving Nazi occupation is vividly told by the author, Marta Fuchs, the daughter of survivor parents. She narrates her family story and uses accounts from several members, including her own telling of their flight from Communist ruled Hungary when she was 5 years old.

    Though there are many Holocaust survivor histories, this book is centered not only on the author’s family, but on one righteous Hungarian soldier who disobeyed orders and, by his actions, saved 100 Jewish men under his command…but not his own life. Marta Fuchs leads us through her family’s process of finding this man’s family, acknowledging his bravery with recognition at Yad Vashem, honoring him in their home town of Tokaj, and gathering over a meal with generations of descendents from both families.

    I strongly recommend this personal and absorbing book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1