Customer Reviews for

Legacy of the Highlands

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Don't let this books title or cover fool you. This is a romantic

Don't let this books title or cover fool you. This is a romantic suspense/mystery all tied into one.

There is a bit of a slow start, and a very sad start. About 1/4th of the way in it gets rolling and you are thrust into the mystery of why a man was suddenly murdered a...
Don't let this books title or cover fool you. This is a romantic suspense/mystery all tied into one.

There is a bit of a slow start, and a very sad start. About 1/4th of the way in it gets rolling and you are thrust into the mystery of why a man was suddenly murdered and how a 700 year vow and a father's choices led to it.

Poor, poor Alex, I will admit I was heartbroken for her. Losing her husband literally destroys her ability to function. It is such a sad thing to read about. Schultz does an amazing job of detailing her emotions.

I love that we get a taste of Will and his personality in the beginning and through flashbacks.

Diego is such a sweet male lead. He does everything in his power to comfort Alex and help her without trying to let his needs or feelings he's had for her since the beginning cloud his judgement. When their relationship does begin it really feels like a smooth transition and not something that they jumped into.

There is a bit of an abrupt ending, but overall join the ride from grief, to mystery and suspense complete with twists, and eventually love and acceptance.

posted by MyReadAddiction on April 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ugh

Im on page 74 and im already annoyed with her attitude i dont think i can make it to pg 600. Ill have to come back to it later.

posted by 12085143 on October 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    This story has it all - love lost, heartache, despair, romance

    This story has it all -

    love lost, heartache, despair, romance, intrigue, suspense and mystery. This is a hard book to put down and I can guarantee that within the first two pages you will find your kindle riveted to your hands. The plot is intelligent, creative and imaginative. The writing style of this author is very natural and the story flows easily and comfortably. I found myself intensely drawn into the tale and felt quite bereft when this book was finished. I would very much like to read more from Ms Schultz and would recommend this story to anyone who enjoys a book in which they can get lost.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Excellent read

    Excellent read. Purchased but wasn't sure when I wanted to read it. Read the little novella and decided to read the book, Wow, I could not put it down, it is really well written. Definitely a keeper to read several times over. Love the main characters.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Lover it

    Great story and well written. The title and book cover don't really go with the story though. Can't wait for another book by this author to come out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Great read

    Great storyline

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Wonderful book!

    This book really does have it all, romance, mystery, unspeakable heartache-a great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2013

    Loved this book! As has been mentioned, it has heartache, suspe

    Loved this book! As has been mentioned, it has heartache, suspense, mystery, and 'forbidden' love. Characters are believable and you can't help but root for them to find happiness. Some very interesting twists! I couldn't put it down -- very well written! I recommend it highly!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Great read

    This book was really good,it had all the right ingredients of a book u cant put down! I hope the auther had a sequal in mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very enjoyable book

    My review: Legacy of the Highlands by Harriet Schultz was a book which I could not put away! When I started reading it, I did not know what to expect, but when the author contacted me, the blurb caught my eye and honestly, I am glad that I read it. It was well written, it was thrilling read with intriguing plot and very lovable characters. Regarding the plot: Meet Alexandra who is a married woman and sending her husband to buy ice cream – and few hours later open the door to police. After she finds out that her husband has been brutally killed she does not see any meaning of staying in Boston and accepts an invitation to flee to Miami, to visit her husband’s best friend Diego. Diego does not believe in unsolved mysteries and decides to find out what happened to his best friend. While Alex is visiting Diego, Diego is starting to investigate what happened and both Alex and Diego cannot deny the attraction what is growing between them. The plot is fabulous! It was not obvious who was behind the murder and why Will was killed at all. The plot takes you to Scotland highlands and there are so many secrets which are revealed during the story, that it keeps surprising you. I read Legacy of the Highlands in one sitting, because it was such a good read! The author keeps surprising you constantly and that makes Legacy of the Highlands a very good romantic suspense. Regarding the characters: I loved Alex! I think she was adorable. She is brave and strong woman to taking the trip back to Scotland to find out what happened to her husband. She is vulnerable and in pain after her loss, but she is willing to give a chance to Diego who simply sweeps her feet away. She has some doubts, but she is so connected to life that she moves on to the next chapter in her life. I liked that she is letting go of the past. When I said, that I loved Alex, then Diego was a man which is probably any woman’s fictional dream – handsome, wealthy, with good heart, faithful, persistent, romantic and last, but not least intelligent. He has loved Alex from the very first time he met her, but since Alex was not his, he kept his distance, until Alex is alone again. I think that Will’s family was fascinating. What a mess of a family! The intrigues what are coming out through the characters of Will’s father and mother – it’s incredibly well written! They have an essential role to carry throughout the story and I think the author did an excellent job with them. Generally: I would highly recommend Legacy of the Highlands by Harriet Schultz. The story is good, suspense and romance mixed in a story which carries you away and after you have turned the last page you will ache for more! I am looking very much forward to read next books written by Harriet Schultz – keep an eye on her releases!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Bearstar

    "Sure!" I purr, my eyes shining. -Bearstar-

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Mudsong

    "Cool. I well..i was wondering if you would like to be my mate?" She meows quietly.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    HURRICANECLAN IS NEXT RESULT!!!

    Move along peepz nothing to see here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1