BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Legend (Drenai Series)

Average Rating 5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    The single best fantasy book I ever read

    Druss, the main character, is the Clint Eastwood of blade carrying warriors. Gemmell creates characters in a simple and clean way like no other. Gemmell darn near ruined me for any other fantasy author...his books are just that good. Druss IS a modern fantasy world super hero in the same vein as characters such as William Wallace in the movie Braveheart or Connor McCloud of the Clan McCloud. I dropped out of reading the Eye of the World and Game of Thrones series' due to long gaps in action and endless backtracking and flashbacks and overly complicated plotlines. This doesn't make the book a "dumbed down" story in the least. In many ways it makes the characters more elegant and relatable without the unnecessary soap opera like qualities that eventually soured me on Robert Jordan and George R.R. Martin.

    Druss is what Conan would have grown into if he had ever advanced beyond the emotional age of 21. Truth be told...I liked the Conan books and the character of Conan as a kid, but Gemmell is a better writer than Burroughs ever was.

    Another thing I like about this and other Gemmell books is that they are fast paced and Gemmell never uses twenty words to fully explore a plot point when he can do it just as well with ten words. Again, it doesn't mean book doesn't explore and question the human condition any less than most decent books...it just means Gemmell does it better, does it in a more entertaining fashion and without having to hit the reader in the face with it over and over. He makes his point and moves on, like...well, like Clint in Unforgiven or Gran Torino.

    I hate to keep going to that Clint-well but there is quite a degree of similarity between how the two men create characters.

    Read it. You won't regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Want a free ipad

    Kiss your hand three times post this on three books then look under your pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Purple link

    Shrugs. "Let me go break some more pots. I needed to restock arrows, bombs and rations." She walks back to result one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Best Book!

    The single best book I have read. David Gemmell never disappoints me. A truly inspirational read. Buy it now!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    This book was vey well written. David Gemmel keeps you turning t

    This book was vey well written. David Gemmel keeps you turning the pages till you're finished. My advice is too get this book immediately, and perhaps pick up a few other of Gemmel's novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    THE ABSOLUTE BEST!!!

    This book and Gemmel's Waylander series got me into fantasy over a decade ago and out of the hundreds of fantasy books ive read since then this is still the one I always come back to. Druss is the kind of Hero that everyone writer eantts to create.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    A fantastic classic fantasy novel

    When I think about what a fantasy book should be, I always come back to compare them to this book and David Gemmell.

    Legend is the story of how an old legend of a an old legend of a warrior, a wayward traveler, and a earl's daughter all come together to defy the largest army that the world has seen. Rek, an warrior sick of war and more than a little fightened of the idea of fighting, heads out seeking to avoid the coming war between the Drenai and the barbarian hordes of the Nadir. As he departs, he saves a lone woman fighting with a group of thieves. After saving her, he learn's she is the daughter of the earl where the horde of Nadir will descend in order to invade. He follows her to a group of White Priest Knights, where she pleas for their aid in the coming war. At the same time, the aging warrior Druss, of which most stories of the days are told about, is requested by the Earl to come and help defend the Dross. He makes his way, bringing with him some unconventional reinforcements and training harsher than any of the waiting soldiers have done. Problems, espionage and battle ensue, but does the Dross fall?

    This is a novel full of heroism, full bodied characters, and battles that dwarf Hollywood ideas. It is exactly what the word epic was intended for. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    You won't put it down!

    This is my favorite book that I have ever read. Gemmell is the best... Every book that I have read of his his wonderful, and there are only a couple left for me to read. I REALLY HATE that there will be no more David Gemmell books after that. I will re-read all of them... I am a huge Druss fan and this is the best, I literally read it cover to cover in one sitting... Gemmell got me started reading sci-fi/fantasy and I have read probably 50 books by a lot of authors, and Gemmell is unlike any other. Yes, I like Robert Jordan's "The Wheel of Time" series, very good reading. I am about to read the 12th book in that one. I also really like Raymond Feist and have read all his stuff, sarting with the Magician: Apprentice. I would have to say he is my second favorite author. But Gemmell is superior, if you don't read LEGEND you are truly missing the boat!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    Druss the Legend!

    I fell in love with David Gemmells writing style in his series on Troy. I loved it so much that I had to seek out his other works too! I normally don't read books in the Fantasy section but I'm glad I decided too! The Drenai Series has been exciting to read! I have read 7 out of the 11 in the series and have fallen in love with the characters Druss and Waylander. It's going to be a sad day for me when I finish the last book. I encourage everyone to read this series and all of his books. Exciting from cover to cover! If you like battles between good and evil, sorcery, humor, love and just overall great writing, you will love these books. His descriptive writing puts you right in the mix of the battles and has you cheering as your reading! This is the most excited I have been about a book in awhile!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2008

    Wow!

    I bought this book for 75 cents at a book sale and I just could NOT put it down. It is a magnificent, tragic tale that never passes up the chance for some action. Definitely read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    New to Fantasy

    I have only read a few fantasy books, as I often find them dry and predictable. David Gemmel's writing style is vivid and captivating. After having read Legend, I am planning on reading everything that he has ever written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2004

    Great start to a Great series

    I have read this book at least 10 times since I picked it up. Because of this book I have purchased and read every David Gemmel book that I could get my hands on. Gemmel is easily one of the best writers in the fantasy genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2004

    the best

    the greatest book i read gemmell is a genius

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2004

    The Greatest

    novel i have ever read. I just happen to pull the book off a shelf of in an used book store, and once i started reading it I couldn't put it down. This book is Amazing, BUY IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2002

    I Am Lost For Words

    On a scale of 1-10? I rate it a perfect 11. It was LITERALLY too good. I wanted it to go on longer than it did, so i picked up the next few novels. His characters are so realistic, each with little flaws in their personalities to make them believable, flaws that even the fabled Druss himself had. The one thing that irratated me was that it was put in the 'Druss the Legend' section, whereas I considered it to be more of Regnak's adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2002

    The first

    I picked up this book in a remainder bin back in the early 90s when I had never read a David Gemmell book. I have now read and enjoyed immensely every book he has had published since. David Gemmell is a truly great writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2001

    Badass

    This book Freakin' rules, people that don't read this are evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2001

    An Opus Magnus Of Fantasy

    Legend may be simple heroic fantasy but it is executed so naturally and adeptly that it is difficult to find another work of similar vein to compare it to. The story line doesn't pussy-foot around but gets you straight where you want to be. Gemmell doesn't pull any fantasy world tricks here, he invites you to live (and perhaps die) in a simple, brutal world of canon-defining fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2001

    Truely outstanding

    Although an avid reader of books this was the first gemmell book that i have read.From start to finish i could just not put this book down.It is a book that draws you in and when you've finished you just want to go back.The characters are great the story is great and the battle descriptions will leave you firmly in your seat, a must for all fantasy readers.I've read it 5 times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2001

    Amazing

    This is a book of epic proportions. The battles are unbelievable, the characters are excellent and if there is a better hero than Druss out there I'd like someone to show me him. Amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3