Customer Reviews for

Legend (Marie Lu's Legend Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 945 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(666)

4 Star

(178)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

150 out of 159 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Book!

It took me a while to come up with this review, cause well I wasn't sure what to say. I love it so much that I am speechless. I don't think that words can do this book justice, but I will try to do my best with out spoiling it.

What grabbed me the most about this bo...
It took me a while to come up with this review, cause well I wasn't sure what to say. I love it so much that I am speechless. I don't think that words can do this book justice, but I will try to do my best with out spoiling it.

What grabbed me the most about this book is the thrilling adventure that the plot goes on. So much excitement that fills with reader that is leave you reading faster. I enjoyed reading along as the plot plunged faster into amazing ride of fighting and adventure.

The characters of this book were divine. Written so passionately, you feel the characters come alive in your heart as you feel their emotions. The betrayal, the hurt, the learning of truth that blinds their eyes. I admit that a certain parts of this book, my mouth hung open. Both characters, June and Day fight for what they believe and know. Many uncovered truths will shed light of what they really know.

The love interest is just the way I like it. Complicated yet simple. Many obstacles stand in their way. I adore that June and Day are a perfect match. They are flawless, yet flawed. Strong, yet weak. Love, yet they sacrifice. These two make me want to laugh yet cry. As the reader, I hung to their every thought and emotion. I love it.

If you want a well written, adventurous book, filled with non-stop exposed the evasive techniques of the government have you dodging every corner, every page turn. I loved that Ms. Lu created such a world that every reader can't contain themselves and we must share. Legend is an amazing book! It "Awed" me through and through. This book is a must read!

posted by BooksWithBite on November 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

54 out of 146 people found this review helpful.

Truly Disappointing

I am amazed this book received so much hype, and incredulous that it is being compared to The Hunger Games. I read the Hunger Games trilogy in two weeks, whereas it took me three weeks just to get halfway through Legend.

Let's start with some nit-picky points... Did...
I am amazed this book received so much hype, and incredulous that it is being compared to The Hunger Games. I read the Hunger Games trilogy in two weeks, whereas it took me three weeks just to get halfway through Legend.

Let's start with some nit-picky points... Did anyone edit this book before it went into print? On more than one occasion, when Lu refers to the "capitol," she spells it "capital." I'm also surprised no one thought to axe her extreme overuse of parentheses. They were unnecessary, and greatly interrupted the flow of the text.

Of course, the flow wasn't that great to begin with. I get that the characters are teenagers and therefore should "sound" as such, but Lu goes to great lengths to convince us that Day and June are smart. Beyond smart, really. And yet, they come across with the same level of intelligence as any average teen and at times, even the class delinquent. They are not memorable, witty, or even likable.

The plot was predictable and the circumstances under which Day and June met was cliche. Love at first sight? Really? Oh, and of course they are both beautiful... Yawn. Which brings to me another point of confusion... what exactly does Day look like? Lu describes him as having blonde hair and bright blue eyes, but when June looks at him, she sees a Caucasian/Asian mix. Ummm... I live in Southeast Asia, and I can tell you right now that I have yet to see anyone of Asian descent with blonde hair and blue eyes.

I love young adult books, whether it's adventure, dystopian, romance, or fantasy. But Legend is hands down one of the most tediously boring books I've read in years.

posted by 9000215 on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 949 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 48
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Book!

    It took me a while to come up with this review, cause well I wasn't sure what to say. I love it so much that I am speechless. I don't think that words can do this book justice, but I will try to do my best with out spoiling it.

    What grabbed me the most about this book is the thrilling adventure that the plot goes on. So much excitement that fills with reader that is leave you reading faster. I enjoyed reading along as the plot plunged faster into amazing ride of fighting and adventure.

    The characters of this book were divine. Written so passionately, you feel the characters come alive in your heart as you feel their emotions. The betrayal, the hurt, the learning of truth that blinds their eyes. I admit that a certain parts of this book, my mouth hung open. Both characters, June and Day fight for what they believe and know. Many uncovered truths will shed light of what they really know.

    The love interest is just the way I like it. Complicated yet simple. Many obstacles stand in their way. I adore that June and Day are a perfect match. They are flawless, yet flawed. Strong, yet weak. Love, yet they sacrifice. These two make me want to laugh yet cry. As the reader, I hung to their every thought and emotion. I love it.

    If you want a well written, adventurous book, filled with non-stop exposed the evasive techniques of the government have you dodging every corner, every page turn. I loved that Ms. Lu created such a world that every reader can't contain themselves and we must share. Legend is an amazing book! It "Awed" me through and through. This book is a must read!

    150 out of 159 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    One of my favorites!

    There is just the right amount of action and romance in this book to keep me hooked! It reminds me very much of the hunger games and has the same idea. Two teens are forced to hunt each other down but end up falling in love and they end up questioning all they have ever known. I would highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone!

    64 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Truly Disappointing

    I am amazed this book received so much hype, and incredulous that it is being compared to The Hunger Games. I read the Hunger Games trilogy in two weeks, whereas it took me three weeks just to get halfway through Legend.

    Let's start with some nit-picky points... Did anyone edit this book before it went into print? On more than one occasion, when Lu refers to the "capitol," she spells it "capital." I'm also surprised no one thought to axe her extreme overuse of parentheses. They were unnecessary, and greatly interrupted the flow of the text.

    Of course, the flow wasn't that great to begin with. I get that the characters are teenagers and therefore should "sound" as such, but Lu goes to great lengths to convince us that Day and June are smart. Beyond smart, really. And yet, they come across with the same level of intelligence as any average teen and at times, even the class delinquent. They are not memorable, witty, or even likable.

    The plot was predictable and the circumstances under which Day and June met was cliche. Love at first sight? Really? Oh, and of course they are both beautiful... Yawn. Which brings to me another point of confusion... what exactly does Day look like? Lu describes him as having blonde hair and bright blue eyes, but when June looks at him, she sees a Caucasian/Asian mix. Ummm... I live in Southeast Asia, and I can tell you right now that I have yet to see anyone of Asian descent with blonde hair and blue eyes.

    I love young adult books, whether it's adventure, dystopian, romance, or fantasy. But Legend is hands down one of the most tediously boring books I've read in years.

    54 out of 146 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Couldn't put it down.

    To everyone who loved the Hunger Games books this is at least as good if not better. The story and characters grabbed me from page 1. Why this is classified as a young adult (Hunger Games was also young adult) is beyond me as I believe all ages will enjoy it. Going to be a bestseller or I don't know my books!!!!

    46 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review: Legend

    I feel almost guilty giving this a three. It seems like everyone who has read it so far has really liked it. But I found it really predictable and slow at times. I do have to admit that what this story has going for it is the characters. Day and June are what kept me reading.

    Day is really the key to this story. I was instantly intrigued by the fact that Day disappeared on the day of his test and then went on to become the most wanted criminal in the Republic. I loved the fact that nobody knew who he really was or even what he looked like. His criminal activities reminded me of a futuristic Robin Hood. And as we get to know him better, I realized how smart this guy is. And not just book smart, but all around mentally equipped to deal with anything. I really began to wonder how he failed his test.

    I wasn't sure what to think of June at first. I disliked that she blindly followed the Republic. But then she's been raised to believe in it. I was really impressed with her tracking skills and her ability to access any situation. I was a little surprised at how long it took her to realize that the boy who saved her from the fight was really Day. And then I was even more shocked that she turned him at the drop of a hat. But even she wasn't expecting the events that unfolded that made her question all that she had been taught.

    It was the storyline that really got to me. While the truth behind everything wasn't known to me until June uncovers it, I had basic ideas behind everything that was going. Nothing surprised me. Since the story seemed to follow a formula, I sometimes didn't feel a need to turn the page as quickly as some other stories. I still think I will read the next one though. I wonder how deep the viciousness of this government goes. Plus, I really did like Day and June.

    26 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Blown away!

    Great read if youre looking for something to read after the Hunger Games trilogy. Amazingly written with characters you feel deeply connected to. I highly recommend this as a MUST READ!!!

    23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Wanted to love it... just didn't fall for it...

    I'm not totally sure how to word this review. I really, really wanted to love Legend. I really did. It got a lot of hype, I've seen great reviews on it, and it's selling really well.

    But, I just didn't... love it.

    I think my main problem was that there was almost too much detail and not enough at the same time. I felt like about a quarter of the detail there was in the book could have been left out, and then from there the book needed to be about twice as long as it was. I never felt like I fully understood the world of Legend, and I never really loved the characters that much. I hate to say it, but I think Legend is a book that I won't remember much about 6 months from now.

    Man, I feel terrible writing this review...

    I will say that I will read the next book. I do think it may be better, with more world building and more development behind the characters.
    3.5 out of 5 stars.

    18 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is incredible!

    I had been hearing so many great things about this book and I was really excited to read it. I won an audio book version from A Life Bound By Books. I have listened to audio books before, but this is my first time actually reviewing one. I absolutely loved the book. The characters are very well developed and the story progressed at a great pace. I loved hearing the book switch back and forth from Day's perspective to June's. They are both such strong, smart characters full passion for the things they believe in. The narrators for the audio book were fantastic. They really portrayed the characters well.

    I instantly liked Day. He is a very compassionate and caring person. He is not just a lowly criminal. I really loved getting to know his character and why he is a "criminal" on the streets. There is so much to the story of Day, and I was shocked at how things unfolded.

    June is a very likable character too. She is The Republic's prodigy. Perfect score on the test. She is also a bit of a trouble maker, which is fun. We first meet her when she is getting in trouble for scaling the side of a building off campus. She's very smart, strong, and brave. She is insightful, and not someone to mess with.

    I loved the interactions between Day and June, both when she didn't know who he really was, and especially after. There is so much more going on than you would think at first. There are a lot of surprises. This story is so well crafted and intriguing. It really blew me away! It is now solidly in my top favorites for dystopian novels. It's action packed, suspenseful, emotional, and just phenomenal.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Marie Lu is a fantastic writer. A well written, very satisfying read

    13 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    If you haven't read this, your life isn't complete

    This is such a gripping tale that will bring all your childhood fantasies to life.

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Mixed Thoughts After Reading This...

    I seriously don't know where to start. At first, I saw the cover and considered buying it. When I did, I already noticed so many things I disliked about this book.
    The characters are so unrealistic! (ex. June graduates high school at 15). I get that she's supposed to be a prodigy but really? Get real.
    Overall, the book is cliche! (ex. both characters are considerably attractive and fall for each other against all odds; love at first sight, etc.)
    The plot is very predictable and too fast paced. The author doesn't bother keeping the reader in suspense. You can pretty much figure out the whole story in your head before reading it. Where's the fun in that?
    And is it just me or is there just too much use of parentheses? Totally unnecessary.
    All in all, this is not the best book in the world. If you must read it, definitely borrow from a library or something. Not worth your money or time for that matter.

    8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Dystopian, More Please!

    Poverty, war, plague, fighting, family, romance, friendship. Legend is a dystopian novel that has it all. This is not a pretty book disguised as a dystopian read, this has got some definite grittiness to it, just the way it should be. The story switches back and forth from the views of June and Day ¿ who should be complete opposites due to the way they were raised, but are more alike than anyone realizes. The government might have an idea, but we aren¿t sure who is behind it all.

    This book has a lot of action which makes it very easy to read in a short amount of time. It just keeps going and going and going and no character is safe, you never know who is going to turn up good, bad, or dead. Yes, many people will compare it to the Hunger Games for the dystopian society, but Legend stands on its own and I think the more reluctant readers will gravitate towards this series for its non-stop and fast paced action. The romance is there too, it¿s not overly heavy, which is perfect for the book as it is a fight to survive type of read. While politics are a major part of the book it isn¿t complicated to follow what¿s going on and it isn¿t thrown in your face, it¿s just providing reasoning for why the world is the way it is.

    Some of the major problems that arise are seen to completion by the end of this book, but others are left open so that we have something to look forward to. It¿s a big storyline piece that will continue on and I certainly can¿t wait to grab the second book and find out the whys, who¿s, and what¿s of it all.

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Borrow, don't buy!

    The author of this book is new at writing and it is apparent in this book. Normally I love dystopian novels, but this was unoriginal and dissapointing. The two main characters fall in love at first sight (cliche), and the plot is so transparent that i could guess the charecters's next moves.

    6 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    5 STARS

    Legend by Marie Lu is AWESOME!! I really liked the flow that Marie Lu vividly illustrated through her well written story. I was surprised on how deeply engaged I was because I had my doubts with the simplicity of its cover, but within that cover there is nothing simple about it.

    Rich in action, intrigue, and suspense, a dystopian novel that will keep you awake through all hours of the night. Legend beckons you and I can't help but to ask for more!

    Daniel "Day" Altan Wing took his trials when he was only 10 years old. Every kid in the Republic takes their trials at 10. It decides whether they will be placed in the higher rankings of society or be one among the back breaking laborers living in the slums. And Day was among those who failed. With poor results he was taken into the labor camps along with the other children who didn't receive high scores. The twist is, there isn't such a thing as the labor camps. And all those who went, never came back or seen again.
    June is the prodigy of the Republic. She is the only one who scored a perfect 1500 on her trials. A bright future is ahead for her; and at such a young age (15 years) she's already a well decorated officer. Everything runs smoothly for June until Day comes along and kills her older brother, Metias. Left with no parents and now her brother, she begins her agenda of bringing down the Republic's elusive criminal, Day, and she's going to make sure he's going to get what he deserves.

    Legend by Marie Lu alternates from Day's voice to June's, but you will never mistake who your reading. Along with each character having their own designated color text, Day's being gold text and June's being black, each of the two is a distinct character with two complete different voices. I am amazed on how fluid I read Legend. It doesn't skip a beat; when June stops her tale Day picks it right back up where she left off. Another favorite I will add to my collection. I am on the edge of my seat eager for Legend's sequel!!
    I RECOMMEND!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Amazing book!a must read

    I love the plot and the characters:) (Day rocks!!!) This book is a must read!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Day is awesome, June is annoying

    It's been a year but I finally got around to reading Legend. The novel is a fasted paced Dystopian packed with action but I struggled with some of the storylines. The characters were a mixed bag for me as well.

    Let's start with the good things. Legend jumps right out of the gate with great world building, complex characters and an intense plot. The story moves along quickly but not so fast that you can't keep up. The alternating narratives of June and Day were handled brilliantly.

    June may be one of the two main characters but I just didn't connect to her at all. I had a hard time accepting many of the choices she makes throughout the novel. Plus her personality seemed very inconsistent. One minute she'd be the mature military operative with all the answers and the next she's a naive 15 year old who's socially awkward. Day is by far the more interesting character, at least to me. He's a flawed rebel who's brave and defiant. Living on the streets has made him grow up quick but he hasn't lost sight of the things that matter. Unlike June, Day's young age actually seems to match how he behaves and reacts to things.

    While I enjoyed the chemistry between June and Day, I would have liked to see their attraction play out more slowly. I guess I just didn't buy how quickly it all happened.

    I wasn't happy with some of the plot twists in the book. I feel like they were done for shock value instead of happening naturally, which I hope makes sense. Though I didn't love Legend I did think it was an enjoyable read and I am curious to see where its going to go next.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Uggghhh

    Undeveloped characters. Lame story with no details of how any of this simplistic nonsense came about. Way over the top dystopia, which made it really unbelievable. I'm sorry i wasted my time.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Honestly this book has a really creative idea, but it just didn'

    Honestly this book has a really creative idea, but it just didn't work for me. The plot was a little predictable, and I didn't feel much emotion with the characters. Furthermore, June and Day both sound exactly alike when they talk, so I had trouble switching between them. If it had more plot twists and such, I'm sure I've would have enjoyed it, but it was just too predictable for me.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    :):):):):):)')')' :):):):):):):):)

    I only read the twentyone page sample so far but i am already in love with this book! (Its only one star because i didnt get the full book yet)

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Qwerty

    When i bought this book, i really didnt have very high expectations. I really tried to like this book, but it was very hard to enjoy. It is bascially a copy of the hunger games from two different points of view. I wouldnt advise anypne buying this book, its not worth it.

    3 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 949 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 48