Customer Reviews for

Legend (Marie Lu's Legend Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 929 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(656)

4 Star

(174)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(33)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

149 out of 158 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Book!

It took me a while to come up with this review, cause well I wasn't sure what to say. I love it so much that I am speechless. I don't think that words can do this book justice, but I will try to do my best with out spoiling it.

What grabbed me the most about this bo...
It took me a while to come up with this review, cause well I wasn't sure what to say. I love it so much that I am speechless. I don't think that words can do this book justice, but I will try to do my best with out spoiling it.

What grabbed me the most about this book is the thrilling adventure that the plot goes on. So much excitement that fills with reader that is leave you reading faster. I enjoyed reading along as the plot plunged faster into amazing ride of fighting and adventure.

The characters of this book were divine. Written so passionately, you feel the characters come alive in your heart as you feel their emotions. The betrayal, the hurt, the learning of truth that blinds their eyes. I admit that a certain parts of this book, my mouth hung open. Both characters, June and Day fight for what they believe and know. Many uncovered truths will shed light of what they really know.

The love interest is just the way I like it. Complicated yet simple. Many obstacles stand in their way. I adore that June and Day are a perfect match. They are flawless, yet flawed. Strong, yet weak. Love, yet they sacrifice. These two make me want to laugh yet cry. As the reader, I hung to their every thought and emotion. I love it.

If you want a well written, adventurous book, filled with non-stop exposed the evasive techniques of the government have you dodging every corner, every page turn. I loved that Ms. Lu created such a world that every reader can't contain themselves and we must share. Legend is an amazing book! It "Awed" me through and through. This book is a must read!

posted by BooksWithBite on November 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

52 out of 142 people found this review helpful.

Truly Disappointing

I am amazed this book received so much hype, and incredulous that it is being compared to The Hunger Games. I read the Hunger Games trilogy in two weeks, whereas it took me three weeks just to get halfway through Legend.

Let's start with some nit-picky points... Did...
I am amazed this book received so much hype, and incredulous that it is being compared to The Hunger Games. I read the Hunger Games trilogy in two weeks, whereas it took me three weeks just to get halfway through Legend.

Let's start with some nit-picky points... Did anyone edit this book before it went into print? On more than one occasion, when Lu refers to the "capitol," she spells it "capital." I'm also surprised no one thought to axe her extreme overuse of parentheses. They were unnecessary, and greatly interrupted the flow of the text.

Of course, the flow wasn't that great to begin with. I get that the characters are teenagers and therefore should "sound" as such, but Lu goes to great lengths to convince us that Day and June are smart. Beyond smart, really. And yet, they come across with the same level of intelligence as any average teen and at times, even the class delinquent. They are not memorable, witty, or even likable.

The plot was predictable and the circumstances under which Day and June met was cliche. Love at first sight? Really? Oh, and of course they are both beautiful... Yawn. Which brings to me another point of confusion... what exactly does Day look like? Lu describes him as having blonde hair and bright blue eyes, but when June looks at him, she sees a Caucasian/Asian mix. Ummm... I live in Southeast Asia, and I can tell you right now that I have yet to see anyone of Asian descent with blonde hair and blue eyes.

I love young adult books, whether it's adventure, dystopian, romance, or fantasy. But Legend is hands down one of the most tediously boring books I've read in years.

posted by 9000215 on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Mixed Thoughts After Reading This...

    I seriously don't know where to start. At first, I saw the cover and considered buying it. When I did, I already noticed so many things I disliked about this book.
    The characters are so unrealistic! (ex. June graduates high school at 15). I get that she's supposed to be a prodigy but really? Get real.
    Overall, the book is cliche! (ex. both characters are considerably attractive and fall for each other against all odds; love at first sight, etc.)
    The plot is very predictable and too fast paced. The author doesn't bother keeping the reader in suspense. You can pretty much figure out the whole story in your head before reading it. Where's the fun in that?
    And is it just me or is there just too much use of parentheses? Totally unnecessary.
    All in all, this is not the best book in the world. If you must read it, definitely borrow from a library or something. Not worth your money or time for that matter.

    8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Uggghhh

    Undeveloped characters. Lame story with no details of how any of this simplistic nonsense came about. Way over the top dystopia, which made it really unbelievable. I'm sorry i wasted my time.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Honestly this book has a really creative idea, but it just didn'

    Honestly this book has a really creative idea, but it just didn't work for me. The plot was a little predictable, and I didn't feel much emotion with the characters. Furthermore, June and Day both sound exactly alike when they talk, so I had trouble switching between them. If it had more plot twists and such, I'm sure I've would have enjoyed it, but it was just too predictable for me.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    :):):):):):)')')' :):):):):):):):)

    I only read the twentyone page sample so far but i am already in love with this book! (Its only one star because i didnt get the full book yet)

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Qwerty

    When i bought this book, i really didnt have very high expectations. I really tried to like this book, but it was very hard to enjoy. It is bascially a copy of the hunger games from two different points of view. I wouldnt advise anypne buying this book, its not worth it.

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    My heart simply blew up after I read about june and day and bill

    My heart simply blew up after I read about june and day and billy (even though hes the enemy) I think you should not read this book because its painful to have your heart blown up

    3 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    john LEGEND

    This book was great. I thought there were a lot of unexpected twists to the plot
    #all of me;)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Dude thidbis crap

    Crappppy

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Anonoymous

    2 all reveiwers. If u want people 2 read a book don't ever use hunger games as a refrence, cuz now im not reading this at all. If hunger games was better than this.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    ?!? ****

    Hey i know you fell for the whole zero stare thing but i mean this was one of the best books i have ever read (and ive read a lot of books) so ya the ending was a little dissapointing but this isnt a fairy tail people and to all you hatas... you musve left ya glasses at the store, or just reread it caus i think you skipped a chapter or two(more like the whole book)
    Peace:p

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Sucks balls

    Sounds and is a copy of the Hunger Games i think the author read The Hunger Games and than made a book practically the same using the same ideas and concepts

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    I have to stop falling for books i see people going crazy for on tumblr

    Another over hyped book from Tumblr

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    This book is brutally boring. do not read

    This book is brutally boring. do not read

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    boring book

    boring book

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    I have not read this book

    It looks so boring and that is why I have not read this book because it looks so boring lol

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Please in future give genre combo age group and page count

    suggest a reader rating as for movies and tv if r rated and why would save time money and archieving also translate km and bm or initial combo to page number

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    i dislike the book

    The book was not good at alll it sucks

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    My bff got this..

    I wasnt really A Fan of hg but i read it anyway and this book sounds like an exact replica of the hunger games just from the point of a career tribute. Hmmmmmm i wonder where she got that idea from..... mabye a miss suzanne? Anyway to all hp lovers look up free books. I find a total copy of hp wtitten by some wacko and it was for free!!!! Lets go show our love foe hp with angry comments! :) i already left three...... (gotta love that hp rowling emma hermione.....) Anyway leave comments. Bye!!!!! :)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Zero stars

    I am JUST KIDDING. This book is awsome and reeks of adventure. Wojld recomend to fans of the hunger games

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Disappointing

    I was really excited to read this book. From reading all the reviews, I thought it was going to be really good. I could not get into it. It took too long to get to the point. I haven't even finished reading it yet because it is so boring. I would not recommend this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2