Customer Reviews for

Legend (Marie Lu's Legend Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 991 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(702)

4 Star

(184)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

157 out of 166 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Book!

It took me a while to come up with this review, cause well I wasn't sure what to say. I love it so much that I am speechless. I don't think that words can do this book justice, but I will try to do my best with out spoiling it.

What grabbed me the most about this bo...
It took me a while to come up with this review, cause well I wasn't sure what to say. I love it so much that I am speechless. I don't think that words can do this book justice, but I will try to do my best with out spoiling it.

What grabbed me the most about this book is the thrilling adventure that the plot goes on. So much excitement that fills with reader that is leave you reading faster. I enjoyed reading along as the plot plunged faster into amazing ride of fighting and adventure.

The characters of this book were divine. Written so passionately, you feel the characters come alive in your heart as you feel their emotions. The betrayal, the hurt, the learning of truth that blinds their eyes. I admit that a certain parts of this book, my mouth hung open. Both characters, June and Day fight for what they believe and know. Many uncovered truths will shed light of what they really know.

The love interest is just the way I like it. Complicated yet simple. Many obstacles stand in their way. I adore that June and Day are a perfect match. They are flawless, yet flawed. Strong, yet weak. Love, yet they sacrifice. These two make me want to laugh yet cry. As the reader, I hung to their every thought and emotion. I love it.

If you want a well written, adventurous book, filled with non-stop exposed the evasive techniques of the government have you dodging every corner, every page turn. I loved that Ms. Lu created such a world that every reader can't contain themselves and we must share. Legend is an amazing book! It "Awed" me through and through. This book is a must read!

posted by BooksWithBite on November 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

56 out of 150 people found this review helpful.

Truly Disappointing

I am amazed this book received so much hype, and incredulous that it is being compared to The Hunger Games. I read the Hunger Games trilogy in two weeks, whereas it took me three weeks just to get halfway through Legend.

Let's start with some nit-picky points... Did...
I am amazed this book received so much hype, and incredulous that it is being compared to The Hunger Games. I read the Hunger Games trilogy in two weeks, whereas it took me three weeks just to get halfway through Legend.

Let's start with some nit-picky points... Did anyone edit this book before it went into print? On more than one occasion, when Lu refers to the "capitol," she spells it "capital." I'm also surprised no one thought to axe her extreme overuse of parentheses. They were unnecessary, and greatly interrupted the flow of the text.

Of course, the flow wasn't that great to begin with. I get that the characters are teenagers and therefore should "sound" as such, but Lu goes to great lengths to convince us that Day and June are smart. Beyond smart, really. And yet, they come across with the same level of intelligence as any average teen and at times, even the class delinquent. They are not memorable, witty, or even likable.

The plot was predictable and the circumstances under which Day and June met was cliche. Love at first sight? Really? Oh, and of course they are both beautiful... Yawn. Which brings to me another point of confusion... what exactly does Day look like? Lu describes him as having blonde hair and bright blue eyes, but when June looks at him, she sees a Caucasian/Asian mix. Ummm... I live in Southeast Asia, and I can tell you right now that I have yet to see anyone of Asian descent with blonde hair and blue eyes.

I love young adult books, whether it's adventure, dystopian, romance, or fantasy. But Legend is hands down one of the most tediously boring books I've read in years.

posted by 9000215 on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review: Legend

    I feel almost guilty giving this a three. It seems like everyone who has read it so far has really liked it. But I found it really predictable and slow at times. I do have to admit that what this story has going for it is the characters. Day and June are what kept me reading.

    Day is really the key to this story. I was instantly intrigued by the fact that Day disappeared on the day of his test and then went on to become the most wanted criminal in the Republic. I loved the fact that nobody knew who he really was or even what he looked like. His criminal activities reminded me of a futuristic Robin Hood. And as we get to know him better, I realized how smart this guy is. And not just book smart, but all around mentally equipped to deal with anything. I really began to wonder how he failed his test.

    I wasn't sure what to think of June at first. I disliked that she blindly followed the Republic. But then she's been raised to believe in it. I was really impressed with her tracking skills and her ability to access any situation. I was a little surprised at how long it took her to realize that the boy who saved her from the fight was really Day. And then I was even more shocked that she turned him at the drop of a hat. But even she wasn't expecting the events that unfolded that made her question all that she had been taught.

    It was the storyline that really got to me. While the truth behind everything wasn't known to me until June uncovers it, I had basic ideas behind everything that was going. Nothing surprised me. Since the story seemed to follow a formula, I sometimes didn't feel a need to turn the page as quickly as some other stories. I still think I will read the next one though. I wonder how deep the viciousness of this government goes. Plus, I really did like Day and June.

    26 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Wanted to love it... just didn't fall for it...

    I'm not totally sure how to word this review. I really, really wanted to love Legend. I really did. It got a lot of hype, I've seen great reviews on it, and it's selling really well.

    But, I just didn't... love it.

    I think my main problem was that there was almost too much detail and not enough at the same time. I felt like about a quarter of the detail there was in the book could have been left out, and then from there the book needed to be about twice as long as it was. I never felt like I fully understood the world of Legend, and I never really loved the characters that much. I hate to say it, but I think Legend is a book that I won't remember much about 6 months from now.

    Man, I feel terrible writing this review...

    I will say that I will read the next book. I do think it may be better, with more world building and more development behind the characters.
    3.5 out of 5 stars.

    19 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Day is awesome, June is annoying

    It's been a year but I finally got around to reading Legend. The novel is a fasted paced Dystopian packed with action but I struggled with some of the storylines. The characters were a mixed bag for me as well.

    Let's start with the good things. Legend jumps right out of the gate with great world building, complex characters and an intense plot. The story moves along quickly but not so fast that you can't keep up. The alternating narratives of June and Day were handled brilliantly.

    June may be one of the two main characters but I just didn't connect to her at all. I had a hard time accepting many of the choices she makes throughout the novel. Plus her personality seemed very inconsistent. One minute she'd be the mature military operative with all the answers and the next she's a naive 15 year old who's socially awkward. Day is by far the more interesting character, at least to me. He's a flawed rebel who's brave and defiant. Living on the streets has made him grow up quick but he hasn't lost sight of the things that matter. Unlike June, Day's young age actually seems to match how he behaves and reacts to things.

    While I enjoyed the chemistry between June and Day, I would have liked to see their attraction play out more slowly. I guess I just didn't buy how quickly it all happened.

    I wasn't happy with some of the plot twists in the book. I feel like they were done for shock value instead of happening naturally, which I hope makes sense. Though I didn't love Legend I did think it was an enjoyable read and I am curious to see where its going to go next.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Okay

    Look, if u r wanting to read something that is like the hunger games , this is not the book. I got this book and thought it would be like the hunger games(which are awesome) because of the reveiws i read. Disappointed? Yes and no. Yes, because it is not like the hunger games, which i expected. The only similarity would be the setting(futuristic, high water levels, and corrupt government). No, because it was still a good book in itself.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Eh...

    Its ok. My friend told me to read this book so i bought it, and so fsr im not impressed. The writing style is amature and the plot is classic dystopian. Ive read better before

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Good Read!

    Has many exciting points...and a few lulls. Not sure I liked how it ended...just means I have to read book two. :)

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Good fast read

    Legend was ok, but not great. I found myself wishing there had been a little more to the story. The end was also very lacking in closure and seemed to be not well thought out. Overall good if you are looking for a quick read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    Recommended for young teens

    After reading the Hunger Games trilogy, I was looking for some other titles in the dystopian society genre. I found this book in the "recommended reads" section as I was searching and overall, the book is well written but I guess I was looking to read something a little "older," though now I see that the book is written for young readers and not young adults. It was a fast read and well written stylistically. Good book for children and young teens.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I wasn't crazy about this book. The story of it was good, but I

    I wasn't crazy about this book. The story of it was good, but I didn't really care much for Day/June's love story being tied into it. It honestly seemed a little forced. I really enjoy the other part of the story-line though. I like the setting and I think there is a good writing style. I would still recommend it although it's not my favorite. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Idont know

    Should get it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    TiffanyCHMS Loved the excitement, romance, and suspense! Lu is

    TiffanyCHMS

    Loved the excitement, romance, and suspense! Lu is a great writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Thrown together

    This book has a good storyline, but it is so thrown together and jumbled up. I will not be reading the other two books of this trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    I like it

    Its pretty good i guss

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    Legend was something I¿ve been looking forward to reading for qu

    Legend was something I’ve been looking forward to reading for quite some time now, thanks to all the positive reviews I’ve seen for it on numerous blogs. I’ve even been looking forward to reading Prodigy, the second book in this series, because I’ve seen so many positive reviews for that too. After finishing Legend in less than two days, I have a lot of mixed feelings about it.

    One of the major things I didn’t like about Legend was the world-building. It was done beautifully, but it’s nothing new or original. It follows the same recipe for settings as in any other dystopian novel: think Matched, Divergent, and Under the Never Sky. Same setting, same scenarios, in fact I’ll go as far as to say same plot devices. Girl from wealthy background meets boy from poor, struggling family, hates each other at first, eventually can’t fight their inevitable attraction to each other, gradually falls in love. See? Nothing new. You only need to read the three aforementioned books to quickly tire of this type of dystopia. To add to this the plot was extremely predictable. No, really. A ten-year-old could predict what would happen next. It was that transparent. The ending felt a little rushed and I’m guessing all the loose ends (and there were loads of them) that weren’t tied up will be – I’m hoping – explained in the second book, Prodigy.

    Despite all this, it was still a good and enjoyable read. For a change I liked BOTH characters and although their personalities, traits and talents were incredibly similar, I rooted for both of them. I loved how the author put Day through the wringer. I honestly thought he might not survive all he had to endure. The story is told from both Day and June’s point of view so the reader gets insight into their thoughts, feelings and histories. For me, these two characters and a few secondary characters were what kept me reading all the way to the end. The romance was subtle and not the main focus, but I had difficulty believing Day and June could fall in love in such a short space of time after she hated him so intensely. Also, Lu’s writing is engaging, but is flawed with annoying and unnecessary overuse of parenthesis to explain certain points…which reminds me, Day’s constant use of the word “cousin” was also very annoying.

    Overall, I didn’t enjoy Legend as much as was hoping I would, but it has lots of potential and judging by all the hints given as to the real reason behind the plague (yes, *sigh* yet another plague caused the end of civilization as we know it), the second book sounds promising, but I’m not sure I’ll be reading it soon. I recommend Legend for fans of the aforementioned books: Matched, Divergent and Under the Never Sky. If this is to be your first dystopian read, it would be money well worth spending.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Ok..

    I am currently reading this book it is a little boring, but my friends say it gets beeter its just how it starts off. We will see. Good luck reading Lengend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Meanly awesomr Meanly awesome chick13

    Is it recommended? Or good? Someone hit me back even just to chat. :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Hmmm

    .........idk..........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Not sure how to feel...

    I didnt connect with June, Day, Metias, or any other character really. The dynamic is a bit overdone, and I didnt FEEL the emotions, conflicting or otherwise. I was just kind of told by the author that they existed. Plus, their grief for lost family members seems to tie up a little too nicely, especially where Junes guilt is concerned. For me, the conclusion was a little too easy for the characters to reach, even with character deaths becaus those characters were neer really characterized, and i cant feel their loss. I know June and Day are supposed to be prodigies, but their sudden epiphanies felt a little too convenient. Neither really seemed to grow at all, the only thing that seed to happen is that Jun realizes that the Republic wasnt so great, which we already knew from Days account of things. I really do love the idea, but the lack of believable and relatable characters holds the story back.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Anonymous

    At the beginning, I really liked legend. I couldn't seem to put it down. The problem is the ending is really bad. It'rushed and poorly executed. There's so much build up to it and everything is in such good shape and everything has been building up to the end and then the end is just shoved in your face. If you can deal with that I highly recomend this book, but if you hate it when you're reading a really good book and then the ending just drops the level way down, don't.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    It was ok but i dont get the ending

    It was thrilling. Romantic. A fun read. But really, really, really, suckish ending. What hapend to everybody?! We know what happens to june and day. But what about everyone else? It was awful. Make another book! Not even a freakin epilouge! What hapend to edan, thomas, comander jameson, and metias?! Yea people who read the book im not going to spoil what happens but you know what i mean when i say what happend to metias. But okayyy june and day are adorable. But seiriously where did everyone go? Just cuz ya got a bf does not mean its over. Far from it marie lu. Far from it. I am so glad i bought tgis from library not on my nook. Ugh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3