Customer Reviews for

Legend (Marie Lu's Legend Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 983 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(695)

4 Star

(183)

3 Star

(57)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

157 out of 166 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Book!

It took me a while to come up with this review, cause well I wasn't sure what to say. I love it so much that I am speechless. I don't think that words can do this book justice, but I will try to do my best with out spoiling it.

What grabbed me the most about this bo...
It took me a while to come up with this review, cause well I wasn't sure what to say. I love it so much that I am speechless. I don't think that words can do this book justice, but I will try to do my best with out spoiling it.

What grabbed me the most about this book is the thrilling adventure that the plot goes on. So much excitement that fills with reader that is leave you reading faster. I enjoyed reading along as the plot plunged faster into amazing ride of fighting and adventure.

The characters of this book were divine. Written so passionately, you feel the characters come alive in your heart as you feel their emotions. The betrayal, the hurt, the learning of truth that blinds their eyes. I admit that a certain parts of this book, my mouth hung open. Both characters, June and Day fight for what they believe and know. Many uncovered truths will shed light of what they really know.

The love interest is just the way I like it. Complicated yet simple. Many obstacles stand in their way. I adore that June and Day are a perfect match. They are flawless, yet flawed. Strong, yet weak. Love, yet they sacrifice. These two make me want to laugh yet cry. As the reader, I hung to their every thought and emotion. I love it.

If you want a well written, adventurous book, filled with non-stop exposed the evasive techniques of the government have you dodging every corner, every page turn. I loved that Ms. Lu created such a world that every reader can't contain themselves and we must share. Legend is an amazing book! It "Awed" me through and through. This book is a must read!

posted by BooksWithBite on November 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

56 out of 150 people found this review helpful.

Truly Disappointing

I am amazed this book received so much hype, and incredulous that it is being compared to The Hunger Games. I read the Hunger Games trilogy in two weeks, whereas it took me three weeks just to get halfway through Legend.

Let's start with some nit-picky points... Did...
I am amazed this book received so much hype, and incredulous that it is being compared to The Hunger Games. I read the Hunger Games trilogy in two weeks, whereas it took me three weeks just to get halfway through Legend.

Let's start with some nit-picky points... Did anyone edit this book before it went into print? On more than one occasion, when Lu refers to the "capitol," she spells it "capital." I'm also surprised no one thought to axe her extreme overuse of parentheses. They were unnecessary, and greatly interrupted the flow of the text.

Of course, the flow wasn't that great to begin with. I get that the characters are teenagers and therefore should "sound" as such, but Lu goes to great lengths to convince us that Day and June are smart. Beyond smart, really. And yet, they come across with the same level of intelligence as any average teen and at times, even the class delinquent. They are not memorable, witty, or even likable.

The plot was predictable and the circumstances under which Day and June met was cliche. Love at first sight? Really? Oh, and of course they are both beautiful... Yawn. Which brings to me another point of confusion... what exactly does Day look like? Lu describes him as having blonde hair and bright blue eyes, but when June looks at him, she sees a Caucasian/Asian mix. Ummm... I live in Southeast Asia, and I can tell you right now that I have yet to see anyone of Asian descent with blonde hair and blue eyes.

I love young adult books, whether it's adventure, dystopian, romance, or fantasy. But Legend is hands down one of the most tediously boring books I've read in years.

posted by 9000215 on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Dystopian, More Please!

    Poverty, war, plague, fighting, family, romance, friendship. Legend is a dystopian novel that has it all. This is not a pretty book disguised as a dystopian read, this has got some definite grittiness to it, just the way it should be. The story switches back and forth from the views of June and Day ¿ who should be complete opposites due to the way they were raised, but are more alike than anyone realizes. The government might have an idea, but we aren¿t sure who is behind it all.

    This book has a lot of action which makes it very easy to read in a short amount of time. It just keeps going and going and going and no character is safe, you never know who is going to turn up good, bad, or dead. Yes, many people will compare it to the Hunger Games for the dystopian society, but Legend stands on its own and I think the more reluctant readers will gravitate towards this series for its non-stop and fast paced action. The romance is there too, it¿s not overly heavy, which is perfect for the book as it is a fight to survive type of read. While politics are a major part of the book it isn¿t complicated to follow what¿s going on and it isn¿t thrown in your face, it¿s just providing reasoning for why the world is the way it is.

    Some of the major problems that arise are seen to completion by the end of this book, but others are left open so that we have something to look forward to. It¿s a big storyline piece that will continue on and I certainly can¿t wait to grab the second book and find out the whys, who¿s, and what¿s of it all.

    Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Good Fast Read..

    Hmmm... this book... at first i was kind of bored with it, but once more action started occuring and june and day finally met i kinda got into it... it was a good book but not as good as i hoped it would be. Thats why i gave it a 4 stars instead of five.. i was expecting it to be soo great because of all the positive reviews... other than that it was a good fast read : )

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Good

    My friend is reading this book she says its amazing she loves reading she read halg of the book in one class which is 45 min it sounds like an amazing book!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Its an ok book

    So, everyone says "its so good! Read it!" I agree, take the time to read it. You may just enjoy it as some others. But as good as the hunger games? The hunger games was a GREAT book. This one was good. I would liked to see a litt le more charcter develipment but thats ok. June's actions were predictable. I mean "Great place is really bad!" Really? *Spoiler* Mateas died. The idiot brain dead soldier killed him because he found something out. This book was good but very pridictable. Still, it had and intersting concept with the rich and poor sides of view. Thats why i give it 4 stars not 3.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    The last time I¿ve read a dystopian book that had a thrilling an

    The last time I’ve read a dystopian book that had a thrilling and suspenseful plot was The Hunger Games. Now, it is Legend. This book is just amazing. It switches perspectives from our two main characters – Day (Daniel) and June. This book was action packed from start to finish. It’s hard to not get hooked on to Legend. While reading Marie Lu’s novel, I could totally feel the world as if I was there, and she just created the most kickass characters EVER. Day, 15 years old, is the most wanted criminal. June is the world’s prodigy who scored a 1500/1500 on her examination (like the SAT though it has 3 parts: a physical test, an interview, and written test).

    There is a love triangle in this book, but it didn’t really bother me. The third party was the one who bothered me. Thomas. Oh my goodness I just wanted to throw that guy off the cliff. Seriously. Day and June’s romance wasn’t rushed and it didn’t take over the plot of the book. I love how there was a few twist here and there, especially towards the end. The ending was just awesome, but sad at the same time. The characters are really likable and Day is so hilarious. You’ll laugh a couple of times because of his sarcasm and remarks.

    I really recommend this to everyone, especially if you’re looking for a fast paced, exciting dystopian read. This book involves guns, bombs, knives, spies, and running on roof tops. What the heck right? So kickassy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Real good one.

    This should be on the list of books you gotta read.
    I liked it, especially how it is sort of a look into the future, kind of simuliar to the Hunger Games in that way. You have a rebellion going on, the society covering up secrets, and tons of other things that I shan't mention. Not a must read, but a should read.

    -Krys

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    Legend like many of the other books I read was found while looki

    Legend like many of the other books I read was found while looking over critical reviews and what books were "hot" at the time.

    Legend did what it was suppose to and you can't hate a book that does that. It was exciting, it had a lot of action and of course it had the hint of romance that goes with all these YA books.
    Basically the story is about a boy (Day) who lives on the streets and is a wanted criminal in the Republic, which is roughly the western half of the United States. The Republic started after a plague opened the opportunity for those leaders to split from the United States. The Republic is in a constant battle with the Colonies, or the other side of the United States. The Republic wants Day in a bad way for committing all these crimes against them. An up and coming star of the Republic is young 15-year-old June. June is a prodigy with a bit of a rebellious side.

    After June's brother is killed during a hospital break in, Day is the prime suspect. June is assigned to hunt Day down, and when they eventually meet, things change dramatically for the both of them.

    The plot and story line is not innovating in anyway, but the characters and the authors voice for her characters make the book really enjoyable. A problem that occurs sometimes when there are dual narrations in any novel is the voices are not distinguishable enough. That is not the case in Legend. The voices really confirm the personalities of the characters effectively.

    I really gave Legend around 3.5 stars but since I'm nice I rounded up to 4! The reason it only earned a 3.5 for me was basically because how similar the ideas of the novel were to other books I've previously read. I never get sick of these type of novels but it's nice to have something new every once in awhile. Also those looking for a quality romance novel, this isn't going to really get you going. While there is the "idea" something more could be going on, the main characters only act on it once, and at the time...it really didn't mean to much.

    Either way, Legend is worth a look. If anything else it would make a great movie...which is probably in the works already.

    Plus ya gotta love the names June and Day!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The book you should be reading after you finish The Hunger Games

    June and Day are part of the same nation: The Republic of America. They're in the same city: Los Angeles, California. Their lives could not be more different.

    Born into an elite family, June lives in a wealthy sector with her brother Metias and every luxury the Republic has to offer. A prodigy who passed her Trial with more than flying colors, June is training to join the Republic military and take her rightful position among the country's leaders in their continuing war against the Patriots.

    Day is not elite, or wealthy, and he's definitely not a prodigy. Born in the Lake Sector slums, Day's family thinks he's dead. It's safer that way. Better he have no connections to anyone when he is the most wanted criminal in the Republic.

    No one knows what Day looks like or where to find him. His odds of avoiding capture and continuing to be a thorn in the Republic's side are quite good. Until Day takes a desperate risk for his family--one that leads to Day becoming the prime suspect in the murder of a Republic soldier.

    Not just any soldier, though. With her brother dead, June is highly motivated to catch his killer both to prove herself to her military superiors and to earn Metias some much-deserved justice. She is willing to do anything to achieve her goal.

    From different worlds, pitted against each other, June and Day are obvious enemies. When sinister secrets about the Republic come to light, Day and June are also their own best allies in their search for the truth in Legend (2011) by Marie Lu.

    Legend is Lu's first novel.

    There are a lot of books that have been called "the next Hunger Games" or otherwise compared to Suzanne Collins' bestselling, amazing trilogy. A lot of them are quite good. Legend was one of those books. It has also been receiving steady hype since this summer. As with many books that get a lot of buzz, I expected to enjoy Legend.

    I did not expect to be completely engrossed and impressed. But I was.

    Legend is the first book that I've thought was completely on par with The Hunger Games without any reservations.

    Written in chapters that alternate between Day and June's narrations* the story is filled with action and tension. Lu masterfully creates two unique characters with their own narrative voices that add depth to an already exciting story. In an over-saturated genre, Legend keeps readers guessing to the very end not just about what will happen to June and Day but about some of the key tenets of the world she has created.

    Legend is the first book in a series that promises adventure and suspense as well as a variety of diverse, layered characters. Lu, and her debut novel, are sure to find a place in the hearts of many readers looking for a worthy follow-up to The Hunger Games.

    *The book is packaged with DAY or JUNE written across the top of each chapter. Day's chapters are printed in a bold, gold colored sans serif font while June's are the more traditional black serif. Some people were unimpressed by the packaging, my mom couldn't even tell some text was gold. I quite liked the touch and thought it was very clever and well done.

    Possible Pairings: Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi, White Cat by Holly Black, Graceling by Kristin Cashore, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi, Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

    *This book was acquired for review from the publisher at BEA 2011

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Majibookshelf

    Imagine yourself hopping on a motorcycle, getting all excited since it is your first test drive on that baby, and then the speed, the wind, and the adrenaline rush. That was exactly how I felt throughout Legend by Marie Lu. I was giddy with excitement when I got my hands on the book and couldn't wait to start reading it. We have two protagonists here, Day and June. Day, a wanted 'criminal' by the republic, and June the republic's prodigy. June and Day are such unique names, definitely reminding me of Four (you all know who I'm referring to). I love how dystopian novels have the weirdest, awesomest names for their characters!.
    After June's brother, Metias is killed, June swears to hunt down the killer, Day. Personally I found June irritating. She was smart, detailed, and solves anything in front of her, however she was blind when it came to the truth, about Day and the Republic itself. I hated how all she did was follow orders like a robot when she was known to be a troublemaker to begin with. I also hated how she was in denial, never questioning what was in front of her. I felt sorry for her because of Metias, but later on, I grew to resent and hate her. Three quarters into the book, I would clench my fist and just yell at her to SNAP OUT OF IT. I just feel like it took her too long for that to happen, and she is the first ever female protagonist in a dystopian that I do not like.
    Day, he was caring, loved his family and did everything for them. There were plagues that emerge every single year, mostly towards the poor sectors, and unfortunately Eden, Day's younger brother contracted it. Even though Day was in hiding, and has been ever since his 'death' five years ago after he failed his Trial test, he still did all he could to save his family. Day was basically the Robin Hood of that world. He would steal from the rich and give to the poor and would destruct and put in flames anything precious to the republics that he can get his hands on.
    I loved the fast pacing of the story, the two POVs and the slow unveiling of the corruption that the Republic has been creating and hiding behind closed doors. This book definitely reminded me of why I love Dystopians so much.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Live To Read

    Another breath-taking dystopian novel. This book is perfect for a dark, rainy day or a long train or plane ride. June is at the top of the feeding chain, Day is towards the bottom; however, both are brilliant. Day has been surviving off the streets and helping his family secretly while June goes to a top-tier college and learns to becomes a better warrior.



    Their lives collide when June believes Day to be her brother, Metias's, killer. But what if things are not always as they seem? June digs deeper into the truth and discovers that the perfect world she lives in may not be so perfect after all.



    I loved the characters. The author incorporates the perfect qualities to make them come alive and likable to the reader. The reader will appreciate June's intelligence and Day's quick thinking. The secondary characters, too, play a part. They each have their own special quality that makes them stand out. The events are fast-paced, some violent while other more serene; the vast majority of the events are intense. This book is highly recommended to young adult/teens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    Good read!

    Adore the way this is written, saw what was coming a mile ahead, but still wanted to keep going. :) Already purchased the next one. ^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    This book Is worth every penny. Especially if you like books lik

    This book Is worth every penny. Especially if you like books like the hunger games and divergent. I loved this book , especially the main character day. I can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Good read

    I generally like this book. I'm not sure why but the parenthesis were distracting to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I've read the whole series... it took me a min to really get int

    I've read the whole series... it took me a min to really get into it but in the end, i did love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Good book.

    I like the book if you like hunger games and divergent you should read. I don't do lots of reading but read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    Riverina Romantics My Rating: 4 out of 5 * I only recently got

    Riverina Romantics
    My Rating: 4 out of 5 *

    I only recently got into the dystopian style novels, so I don’t know much honestly, but I was intrigued by the situation of this story. All the different dynamics between all the different relationships and how they developed and changed kept the story moving. I because interested in every character and their lives. I was pulling hard for Day, and as the story went on, June as well. I loved their relationship and how it developed into something life-changing. Every element together made a very intriguing story.

    I don’t know what it was about Day, but I loved him. He was the perfect ‘bad guy’. He was a realist, knowing how the world worked and what came of the decisions you made. He knew risks. He was very intelligent. But he also had a weakness for helping others. He followed his heart, even if he knew in his head it was wrong. He was strong, doing what he had to even at a cost to himself. But despite having a harder exterior, he was a caring and gentle person. He took care of those he considered close to him. But that also left him vulnerable. Despite that, he never gave up once he set his mind to something and he always tried to do right. He was captivating for reasons I can’t put my finger on. But I know I connected to him right away.

    I’ve seen people saying June was a bit spoiled. Based on her life, I think she’s supposed to come off that way. She’s lived her entire life being praised for what she is. She’s led a great life with her brother and becoming a star agent for the government. She gets chauffeured around places. But that’s just the surface of her. As the story progresses, I found that she was deeper than she appeared to be. Maybe not initially, but as she experienced different things and discovered others, she became this very strong and intelligent woman who really started to understand the world and think for herself. She figured out who she really was and what really mattered to her. I believe, in the end, she became who she really was inside and that made her not only more dangerous, but much stronger.

    I really liked this story, especially the alternating points of view because it felt like I really got to know both of the main characters—how they thought and why they acted the way they did. Their struggles were more realistic and made their actions mean more. Also seeing the others characters through different eyes helped to understand who they were, even though we weren’t inside their head. It gave us different views on the same world, and it was enjoyable. Personally, I thought this was a very good book and I know I plan to continue it soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Great

    I loved the story. However i am not a big fan of the ending, seems a bit boring but at the same time you want to read the next book to see if day does(i won't spoil it for you guys.lets just say its important if day does this thing. If you read the book then yoj know what im talking about.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2014

    Good book to read after Veronica Roth's Divergent series tears y

    Good book to read after Veronica Roth's Divergent series tears you up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10