Customer Reviews for

The Legend of Colton H. Bryant

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    The best book I've read in years

    This carefully researched and big hearted book deserves to become a classic about the costs, both human and environmental, of our country's voracious appetite for energy which sweeping over the overthrust belt of northern Colorado and southern Wyoming like a tidal wave. The tragedy of Cullen Bryant is a continuation of the centuries old tragedies of coal miners in energy rich Appalachia. But, what keeps this from being just another sad story about a young man who ran out of options for supporting his family, is Alexandra Fuller's luminous and evocative prose. She has distilled the essence of Cullen's life onto these pages and in the end I felt like I had lost a friend from my wild earlier life. I come from northern Colorado and I would have loved to run with Cullen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    In reading this story after meeting Alexander at a conference, it was a must. It touched my heart and the lump in my throat did not go away with end of the book. Reading this brings your emotions to the surface to remain for a long time. The author loved Colton H. Bryant even thought she never met him. It is apparent in her outstanding telling of his story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Colton

    I am a bryant and this is an amazing book they were even thinking about a movie so thoese who didnt like it u dont no what good is and living in wyoming isent hard but its just a harder task than living in a citys and expessialy in evenston wy its not just a place to us here its just one big grop of friend anyone who likes short and like a biography of fun and challanging chapters this is the book for u in memmories always uncle colton love u forever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Interesting and Different

    While I enjoyed this book, I would be hesitant to recommend it to others. It's a odd little work of non-fiction - with "narrative liberties" - comprised of short chapters (usually 2-3 pages). It actually felt more like a series of super short stories that are put together to give you a snapshot of the life of Colton H. Bryant - a modern day cowboy, working the rigs in Wyoming. I enjoyed learning about this little corner of our country and I thought her descriptions were very well written. I could see it land, feel the wind, feel the cold. I've never been to Wyoming so I don't know how accurate it was, but her descriptions took me somewhere in my head that was beautiful, windy, and cold. I also came to truly feel for Bryant's family and friends - a hard working group of people living in a tough, tough place. You can't help but respect these people. It's was also interesting to read about the simple reality of where our energy comes from. I feel like I read about energy a lot in the paper, but this book makes you think about the people that are bringing that energy to you, and the land it is coming out of. The way Fuller describes the sounds of the rigs drilling into the earth - it was painful. I liked this book and found it interesting, but not a page turner. I was glad that I read it, but also glad that it was only about 200 pages.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Short biography

    I was alerted to this book after watching a roundtable discussion on CSPAN regarding oil drilling in the west. Fuller was on the discussion panel. I wasn't quite sure what to expect of this story...maybe a little bit more of Bryant's time working on the rigs. The story I got was one of Colton H. Bryant's life from childhood until his death at the age of 26. Fuller opens the window to the hard lives for families of those who work on oil rigs and those who live out in the hinterlands of Wyoming. As someone who was raised in the West and has experienced three different western cultures, the Wyoming west is much different compared to the ones I've experienced and maybe that's why I felt much of the "color" of the story felt forced and exaggerated. But again, I've never lived in Wyoming so I can't be sure. Still, I couldn't help a tears from spilling when I read about Colton's final hours.

    Would I recommend this to others? I think only a select view would find value in it so I would be very choosy to who I would suggest this one to.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Story About The True West

    A true book about a boy growing up in the beautiful state of Wyoming and his love for the outdoors. The author, Alexandra Fuller, captures the feelings and emotions of this family completely. A very moving story and a book you will want to read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Colton H. Bryant

    Without a doubt, this is one of the best books I have ever read. I picked up Colton H. Bryant after reading both of Alexandra Fuller's other books, both of which I also strongly recommend. As someone who is continuously exposed to the natural gas industry in Wyoming and other places in the Rocky Mountains, this book really hit home. All of the characters connected to people I know, and it really depicts an accurate picture of both the ranchers and roughnecks of Wyoming as I know them. One of the most powerful aspects of the book is its portrayal of the thought-process and culture of natural gas workers, a sort of no-fear, macho personality that counters the dangerous nature and tough circumstances of that field. I was constantly amazed by the events of Colton's childhood, which had it been a fiction book I would have blown off as contrived. From stopping Union Pacific coal trains at midnight in a blizzard to chasing his horse around grasslands for a year, this book creates an interesting and exciting insight into the setting as well as the characters. Written in a similar manner as her other books, the structure of short stories and anecdotes really help the story's development and prevent the artificial or unnatural flow I often find in other non-fiction works. I strongly recommend this novel for people who are involved in natural gas extraction or ranching, or are just interested in a modern Western.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1