Customer Reviews for

The Legend of Holly Claus

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    A wondreful Heart-warming book

    I love this Heart-warming book! As soon as I read the first time I could not put it down. Now every Christmas I read it, in fact I get so excited about reading I start reading it in October! I would recommend this book to anyone of any age.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Beautiful!

    There is but one word I can use to describe this 302 page book, MAGIC!
    Starting next year,as he is to young this year, my daughter is going to read this book to my beautiful boy grandling. 1 chapter a night starting on December 1st and finishing with the epilogue on what else? Christmas Eve.
    I love this book! Magical story with beautiful illustrations to match.
    So very glad I found it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Wonderful

    I read this book in the bathtub. So now you probably think I am gross and bathe in my own filth. But I took a shower before that so it was okay. If you still don't get it's called a Japanese version of a bath. Anyway, back to the book. This book was amazing it had imaginitive characters that you could relate to. This book is filled with magic and romance and I absolutely loved it.
    -ichigo tachikawa

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    Ten year old Christopher writes a letter to Santa Claus and asks

    Ten year old Christopher writes a letter to Santa Claus and asks what his wish would be. This was a selfless request - he didn't want to know what Santa would bring him. This selfless act allowed Mr and Mrs Claus to finally have a child - named Holly Claus. From here the story gets really interesting. There are good guys, bad guys and of course Santa and Christmas. My kids loved every single character. Before we read to much about them I would ask them what they thought the characteristics would be. This story was such a magical story and easy to get caught up in. I am so thankful to have been given the opportunity to be exposed to this story. It may just end up being a story the kids and I read each holiday season. Definitely a 5 out of 5 stars story.

    I received this book via Netgalley. All opinions, good or bad, are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    Best Book!

    This was the best Christmas book ever! So well writen and the illustrations are so pretty! I am a teenager, and found this book fine for my age. Not sure a 9-12 year old would read it as it is 500+ pages long. I loved this book-well worth the money!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    A Heart-warming Book

    I absolutely love this book! I couldn't put it down as soon as I started reading it. Brittney Ryan has touched many hearts and made anyone who read this book believe that they could do anything they dream of. Christmas time, a selfless and pure heroine, and such a deep moral intertwined together make this one of the most heart-warming books I have ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2006

    The most AmaZZZZing new classic of our time...

    Harry Potter move over...Holly Claus and her friends are sure to become one of the greatest new classics of our time. The story is magical, the characters are charming and fresh, Holly is a wonderful role model and you can't help but love her, she is sure to become a part of our holiday tradition just as her father (King Nicholas AKA Santa Claus)...My children and I are reading the book for the third time. We can't wait for the sequel. We play a game where we look for clues and try to guess what will happen in the next book. I belive in Holly Claus, and if you are not a jaded critic chances are you will love her and all her friends that live in the land of the Immortals in the city of forever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2014

    Such an amazing story! I remember reading it over and over again

    Such an amazing story! I remember reading it over and over again when I was in intermediate school, and although my little sisters couldn't read, they loved the fantastic pictures and bits of story I would tell them. Now grown, they have learned to love this book as much as I did, and ten years later, this story moves me still.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Never read

    I read it and it is the worst book ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My very favorite novel to read over the holidays. I"m not

    My very favorite novel to read over the holidays.

    I"m not sure what led me to read this book, but I am very glad I did. Maybe it was the pretty cover, or the setting of mid-1800s New York. My family has never done 'Santa Claus' in any way, shape or form, so it was an unusual choice for me. However, from the very first page, I fell in love.

    The Legend of Holly Claus is, in essence, a fairytale, and I'm a sucker for fairytales. The infant princess, Holly, is cursed by a terrible warlock and is then raised in a very sheltered, lonely way. She has a few unusual, loyal to the bitter end friends (I love Euphemia and Empy in particular). Holly grows up looking at the world from the outside, yearning to experience life outside of the magical palace that keeps her safe, but isolated. She is a sweet, fairly simple character, which would in other stories come across as boring, but in this one it was in keeping with the straightforward simplicity of the fairytale-style adventure, and with the curse that has frozen her heart in a state of perpetual innocence.

    After breaking out of Forever, her homeland, Holly lands on her feet in New York, finding a place to work at a toyshop, which is owned by a man named Mr. Carroll, a brooding, enigmatic figure who lurks behind curtains and never says a word that is not bad-tempered. Then the dashing Mr. Hartman sweeps her off her feet. The men in the story are much more complicated then Holly, adding a bit of darkness to keep the novel from being to sweet.

    Ms. Ryan's writing has a certain charm to it that I was unable to resist. While this book is usually to be found in the children's section of a library or bookstore, it has enough weight and intelligence to entertain any age of reader. I've already read and enjoyed it more than once. I'll be reading it again next year, a Christmas tradition in the making.

    I received an e-copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved the cover. I requested this because of the cover. I pick

    I loved the cover. I requested this because of the cover. I picked it up several time but could never concentrate on it long enough to finish.

    More…
    Author: Brittney Ryan, Laurel Long (Illustrations)
    Source: Open Road Media via Netgalley
    Grade: DNF

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Dec 23 2012 by annie

    Holly claus is a good book i hate Herrikan right now i still have that book i am going to return it on dec 10

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2006

    Very Enjoyable Holiday Read

    This cover immediately caught my eye, and though I chose the book for my 10 year old daughter, I was very glad I took the time to read it. The book is filled with very visual language which makes it come to life in the reader's eye. Holly made me glad it was Christmas, and look just a little differently at the importance of seeing the good in others. Awesome book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2006

    WOW

    This book is very good i like the hint of romance.This book captures your mind heck,I finished the book in a day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2005

    'Professional' reviewers too jaded

    Where to begin to tell all that is right with this book? I don't know what to think about the criticisms of the 'pro's' here--maybe they have gotten a little out of touch with what makes a great story. Brittney Ryan certainly knows!! Holly is a heroine that gives up nothing of her feminity and sweetness to express her strength. She is at times feisty and willful, but always respectful and reverent, honoring of her parents and noble of heart--qualities sadly lacking in too many modern characters. This book has had my 8 yo dtr and 13 yo son and I absolutely riveted from start to finish. There are layers and layers of truth and love and hope in this story and these are characters that will settle down and live in our hearts forever. Some fantasies have a way of becoming real in your heart and this is one of those. Brittney Ryan has redeemed Santa Claus for me and has shattered the commercialized crust off the old character. What a treasure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    Enchanting Tale That is a Christmas Favorite

    The Legend of Holly Claus puts a new twist on the story of Santa Claus. You experience a most descriptive, suspenceful, sensitive side to a Christmas legend and with beautiful ideas and fantasy, this novel is difficult to put down. I think that everyone should notice what a talented author that Britney Ryan is, so be sure read The Legend of Holly Claus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2004

    what a great book

    i love this book im reading it now its its great i think this book will become populaur as the harry potter series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    Fantastic!!

    This is the best book I have ever read! The story is simply delightful and I could not put it down. I'm a little mad at barnes and noble for saying it is for ages 9-12...I am 15 years old and I loved it just fine. I'm not quite sure if a nine year old would understand it nor if that child would be willing to read a 400+ or so page book. So don't let the age recommendation fool you...it is a great book for teens!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2004

    A enchanting Must-read

    This book brings back the magic of Christmas to the older readers and young alike. (I'm 23 and had to buy it!) The fantasy world created in the land of the Immortals and Santa's role in it is right up there with Narnia and the Sleeping Beauty-esque story line is completely engrossing. Detailed and paced just right to hold your attention from cover to cover, I reccomend this for anyone 8-80. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2005

    A Wonderful Book for All ages!

    This is a wonderful story for all ages that is sure to become a 'classic'. The story is well written, the characters come to life and touch your heart. The illustrations are truly amazing and add depth to the story. The story moves quickly and each page is a delight. I hope there will be a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2