Customer Reviews for

Legends of Origin 1: Sanctuary for the Devil

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Well-written and a fast-paced read Vanessa Finaughty, my friend

Well-written and a fast-paced read

Vanessa Finaughty, my friend, you surprised me with this, but in such a good way! You mentioned the bare bones of the story: Earth Magic, including ley lines, and the search for the Garden of Eden. The religious aspect was a surprise ...
Well-written and a fast-paced read

Vanessa Finaughty, my friend, you surprised me with this, but in such a good way! You mentioned the bare bones of the story: Earth Magic, including ley lines, and the search for the Garden of Eden. The religious aspect was a surprise for me, but the book wasn't overly religious, which I really liked.

Besides the religious aspect, what else was a surprise for me? That the Garden of Eden was on another planet from ours; your creation of ryokins - excellent!; dragons that are in the service of those who serve the Devil and breathe death - so original; and that some of the aliens that help Liam are able to heal with various ointments and herbal teas. These are all things I can't remember coming across before, or they've been done in such a way that they're different from anyone else's I've read.

Yes, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, and wouldn't mind reading the next one! I'd also recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind a book that blends the genres - in this case, science fiction and fantasy.

As I say, generally the book was well-written, although there were a few mistakes here and there. On the other hand, even books published by big-name publishers have mistakes in them.

posted by amanda_geard on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Horrible

I do appreciate the author giving this book away for free. Great concept and themes. Poor execution. She spent a chapter detailing a battle but glossed over other battles. It made no sense. Some of the dialoge and character decisions were nonsensical. Save your money an...
I do appreciate the author giving this book away for free. Great concept and themes. Poor execution. She spent a chapter detailing a battle but glossed over other battles. It made no sense. Some of the dialoge and character decisions were nonsensical. Save your money and your time.

posted by Anonymous on August 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    Well-written and a fast-paced read Vanessa Finaughty, my friend

    Well-written and a fast-paced read

    Vanessa Finaughty, my friend, you surprised me with this, but in such a good way! You mentioned the bare bones of the story: Earth Magic, including ley lines, and the search for the Garden of Eden. The religious aspect was a surprise for me, but the book wasn't overly religious, which I really liked.

    Besides the religious aspect, what else was a surprise for me? That the Garden of Eden was on another planet from ours; your creation of ryokins - excellent!; dragons that are in the service of those who serve the Devil and breathe death - so original; and that some of the aliens that help Liam are able to heal with various ointments and herbal teas. These are all things I can't remember coming across before, or they've been done in such a way that they're different from anyone else's I've read.

    Yes, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, and wouldn't mind reading the next one! I'd also recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind a book that blends the genres - in this case, science fiction and fantasy.

    As I say, generally the book was well-written, although there were a few mistakes here and there. On the other hand, even books published by big-name publishers have mistakes in them.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    Thrilling read and I highly recommend it!

    An exciting story filled with action and suspense. Brilliantly written as Vanessa is known for. I liked when Lenora said, "Darkness always tries to snuff the light in good people by throwing dark things at them." I think many of us feel that we have had enough darkness thrown at us, but, I guess, one cannot survive without the other, and defeating the darkness, makes us appreciate the light that much more. Lenora also said, "One cannot always discern ultimate right from wrong, but one must always make the choices that feel right." This I truly believe myself. This story if filled with action, emotion, wonderful characters and creatures. I love this story and would recommend it to anyone. Looking forward to book two!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Horrible

    I do appreciate the author giving this book away for free. Great concept and themes. Poor execution. She spent a chapter detailing a battle but glossed over other battles. It made no sense. Some of the dialoge and character decisions were nonsensical. Save your money and your time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Amanda54703

    One of my personal favorite reads for the summer! It makes me want a ryokin. Characters were believable & thebstory was fast paced-couldn't put it down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    amazing!

    this is an amazing book, there isnt a thing i would complain about. i loved it!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    A page turner.

    Once I read Sanctuary, I knew I had found another author I will continue to follow. The writing is crisp, clean, and simply a work of art. The characters become real in a very short time, and your connection to them continues to grow as you read. I highly recommend this book to anyone, and have!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2012

    Outstanding story!

    One of the best stories I've read in a very long while. Recommend you give it a read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    A must read for any avid fantasy fanatic!

    An utterly delightful read! The characters are delightfully flawed;, their observations of the world they live in are often laced with a unique dry wit that is characteristic of Vanessa¿s unique writing style. I found it well written and absolutely loved the characters, who are all so terribly real and so very human, with all the faults, failings and flaws that one could expect to find in the average Joe who just happens to find himself in extraordinary circumstances.

    The story flowed very easily, making it a fun, easy to read novel. Fast paced, interesting and often touching on themes that every reader can easily identify with and may often have secretly wondered about, I can highly recommend a trip to Tridor Monastery to visit with Liam and Arthean as they take their first steps to discover the legendary Garden of Origin.

    Whether flying with the intriguing ryokin, traversing the catacombs that exist beneath the peaceful monastery, or facing the deadly dragons whothat fight on the dark side, you¿ll be on the edge of your seat until the last page.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Excellent story

    This story has gripped me since the first chapter, which is rare for me. The emotional aspects, the battles, the inner struggles, everything was on point. I also like how the animals in the story were regarded as more than just animals, like Zac and the ryokin. Can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Great book

    Wonderful book! Cannot wait for the next one. Love the mythical creatures and great story lline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2011

    Highly recommend

    This story fascinated me very much. There was a lot to think about and a lot of detail, the plot was interesting and the characters were all very realistic. This story is filled with legends, new and interesting beings, betrayal, magic and a unique case of possession - not for the faint hearted, but worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Legends of Origin: Sanctuary for the Devil by Vanessa Finaughty

    Legends of Origin: Sanctuary for the Devil by Vanessa Finaughty - 5/5 stars




    How did I find this book: I was looking for science-fiction (my favourite genre) but I didn’t want the usual space-opera/military science-fiction this time. I was looking for something a little different. It turned out what I wanted was a science-fiction adventure. It ended up being that this book wasn’t very science-fiction, but what attracted me was the speculative nature of the book: the origin of the human race.




    How did it start? Upon picking up this book I was immediately transported into a vast surreal world. I loved every moment of it. The snow falling down on the main character painted a very picturesque scene. I hoped the rest of the book would be this illustrated and would have background settings as unique and original. 




    0% - 80% Putting this book down never crossed my mind. The main characters were described very well. We learnt much about them: Liam, the defiant and insecure, but brave and determined person on a new planet, tasked with finding the Garden of Origin, where all humans were thought to have originated from. Chased by evil forces, he stumbles towards a monastery, where he meets Arthean. Arthean is incorruptible and protective, but also downright nosy and curious. The clash between these characters, and the ensuing adventure brought into being by external forces, is a joy to read. 




    The visual environments were well described. The character interaction pushed the story forward mainly, but it was done very tidily. There were no gaping holes or unusual happenstances in this story. The author has strong control over her characters and their limitations. Definitely the most consistent story I have read so far. Up to 30% through the story I was totally engaged. Around 50% it becomes interesting; there is more at stake than the reader at first is led to believe. At 80% I was awaiting the truth; what is the Garden of Origin?




    Overall The most consistent and high quality book I have ever read by an indie author. I have read great books by indie authors where I have considered reading their second to a series. But this author made me wonder what other types of books she writes. The conclusion had slightly less impact than I had hoped. I felt some of the major events were explained away at the end rather than explained. The second book will likely answer most of the lingering questions. I’m not a huge fan of religious books; I picked this one up for its speculative nature; but this was a very engaging and enjoyable read. I recommend for fantasy adventure lovers everywhere. The unique angle is the origins of humanity, and the powerful bonds between the characters. This book is sublime. I would definitely consider looking into her other works.   

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1