Customer Reviews for

Legion of the Damned (Legion of the Damned Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Couldn't put down.

    First book in a while that I couldn't put down. Good flow with characters that had substance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Good read

    I am a science fiction fan, have been for 55 years. Always on the lookout for entertaining, yet believable writing. Dietz does a fine, entertaining job in this respect. I also appreciate a continuing series, and look forward to the rest of his offerings.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I have to be honest here...

    I'm not a huge fan of science fiction. I'm more of a fantasy lover. Yes, there is a difference in my opinion between the two subjects. This book was therefore grudgingly accepted from my boyfriend when he was looking for something for me to read instead of spending more of my tight budget. At first it took some time for me to figure out what was going on because, as I mentioned, this isn't my typical genre of choice; however, by the third chapter I was hooked.<BR/><BR/>I thought that Mr. Dietz did a good job of balancing the reliable plot that the reader expects with the plot twists that truly shocked me at times. I found myself rooting for some characters and wishing I could attack a few others¿isn't that part of what makes a writer a good writer?<BR/><BR/>I also appreciated that the future Mr. Dietz created was easy to envision¿detailed enough to understand, but not so detailed that you get bogged down in it. There's also the fact that in my opinion it was realistic enough to be believed and far-fetched enough to lay any personal concerns to rest. Is it possible that this would be similar to the true future? Yes, anything is possible. Is it probable? Not in my opinion, but it is a wonderful fiction.<BR/><BR/>To say the least, when I found that I was approximately thirty pages from the end of this book I looked through my boyfriend's books, found the next volume and squirreled it away to begin reading the moment I finished the first.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    Great!

    A great start to a great series. Wonderful plot, characters and human/machine concept. You wont be dissapointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2001

    Heros, welcome.

    'Legion of the Damned' is one of those few books I have come across that when I was done reading it I felt a welling up of pride in my own species. The Hudathan invasion is the kind of thing that could happen to any civilization once it get's too comfortable thinking it is at the top. . . someone with a bigger stick comes along and knocks you out of your chair. What really got to me about this story was the way Deitz showed people. The characters could be your best friends, or neighbors, and I felt a kind of association with nearly all of them which is really important to a good story. Also, as a science fiction and action buff, I enjoyed this book's use of imaginative technology and high blood preasure action. I've reccomended this book to all of my friends and they all agree with me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2000

    Military Sci-Fi

    This is one of the best military sci-fi stories ever written, with engaging characters and interesting weapons. A story that is a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Medical

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    Good

    If you like sci fi then get it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Okay read, but not the best sci fi out there

    The writing is fair, but the plot is predictable, and tedious, irritating at times as it becomes too obvious what is going to happen and then drags it out for pages until it does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Legion of the Damned (Legion of the Damned Series #1)

    This is one of the best science fiction books that I have read. William Dietz has a great way of tell a story in the future without bogging you down with a lot of techno babble. From the beginning of the book you will see that the characters are what fuel this story, but don't worry there is plenty of action in this book and his take on cyborg troops is ingenious. The Hudathan¿s are great characters and the way they are written might remind you of someone you already know. I would love to keep writing about this book but I do not want to spoil it in any way for you. Just give the first one a try and you will want to read the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2