Customer Reviews for

The Lens and the Looker (Verona Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 167 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Ignore The Rating

Unfortunately, due to the idiocy of many people who do not undetstand that reviews are meant to actually review and not for comments or questions, this book has recieved a low rating. I assure you this should not be the case. This is a very interesting novel and I urge ...
Unfortunately, due to the idiocy of many people who do not undetstand that reviews are meant to actually review and not for comments or questions, this book has recieved a low rating. I assure you this should not be the case. This is a very interesting novel and I urge you to give it a try. If you would like more information on the actual story line please read the description or keep scrolling to find helpful reviews. I personaly enjoyed it and quite sure you will too.

posted by Noreen95 on July 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

5 out of 10 hearts

The Lens and the Looker by Lory S. Kaufman
Series: Verona Trilogy (#1)
Release Date: March 16th, 2011
Publisher: The Fiction Studio
Page Count: 336
Source: Received from author via Pump Up Your Book for review

Though this book isn't particularly lousy, my bigge...
The Lens and the Looker by Lory S. Kaufman
Series: Verona Trilogy (#1)
Release Date: March 16th, 2011
Publisher: The Fiction Studio
Page Count: 336
Source: Received from author via Pump Up Your Book for review

Though this book isn't particularly lousy, my biggest problem is how half-assed it is. Is it a sci-fi? A young adult fiction? A romance? A historical novel? A middle-grade book? A contemporized classic? Well, it's a little bit of all of the above, which makes it sound really, really cool. That's what I thought at first. But seems to be, when you mix everything up together, you don't result in a beautiful wonderful charming story. No. What you get, is a big, tricky mess.

Kaufman had such a rolling idea with this story. The dystopian young adult thriller -- with time travel! What's not to like?

Here's what's not to like: the addition of a cumbersome romance, which I'm sure most young adults don't care for; that could ruin a few things. An awkward, difficult-to-follow writing style (the kind that names the main character Hansum since he IS handsome... HAHAHAH!!); that might do it. An embarrassingly childish tone to the narrator; that will do it. I kept telling myself this is young adult. Nitty gritty, hits-so-close-to-home young adult. But an immature cast of characters and the author's way of narrating as if he were talking to a ten-year-old, completely disrupts the expected tone.

And then there are the contradictions. The Lens and the Looker is based loosely off of Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet. Even if you haven't read the Victorian play, you know the story is basically of two people who fall in forbidden love, and end up killing themselves for it by the end. Sort of crappy? Well, that's why it's called a tragic romance. For a younger audience's novel to contain the heaviness of tragedy and love, pleases me some. I like how this book is sort of a modern version of the classic play. However, paired with the adolescent voice of the story, it just doesn't work. Either this is a children's story, or it's an adult story. Adding elements from both won't equate the book into the median and make it magically become "young adult".

Like I said, Kaufman's ideas really could have gotten somewhere. The concept of History Camps is fascinating, but he really should have stopped there. The Lens and the Looker needs to make up its mind about what type of book it is. Overall, it's a so-so read (if you can get past the author's lack of creative flow), but it certainly isn't something I am able to recommend to kids, teenagers, or adults, mostly because I don't know who it's aimed for in the first place.

Radical Rating: 5 hearts- Satisfying for a first read, but I'm not going back.

posted by TheStephanieLoves on June 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Good book

    It's a cute book... little romance, a little sci-fi, all kinds of stuff. If you have ever read Romeo and Juliet, you will appreciate the book even more as it references that play a lot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Fast read but...

    I kept waiting for it to get better-then it ended. Huh.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Awsome love the history parts

    Awsome love the" gienie" ;)

    2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2014

    "The Lens and the Looker" by Lory S. Kaufman is about

    "The Lens and the Looker" by Lory S. Kaufman is about 3 adolescent "hard cases" from the year 2347 who get sent to a History Camp in hopes of being reformed. The History Camps are replications of how humans in the past lived, worked, and survived their day to day lives. After believing to have outwitted the History Camp en-actors the 3 youth meet a man from the future who will take them on a journey that would change their lives in more ways than they could imagine. "The Lens and the Looker" not only is filled with tragedy, deception, adventure, sense of family, love and much more but also is so descriptive that you feel like you can actually see what the author is describing. I would recommend this book and am looking forward to reading the next two in the Trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Love all three books.

    I don't normally read this genre, but absolutely loved all three books. I could not put them down. The futuristic setting, the characters and the details in the story were all very enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    The Lens and the Looker is a very interesting, creatively writte

    The Lens and the Looker is a very interesting, creatively written and detail-oriented story.
    The author delivers a wonderful, well thought-out original storyline about three trouble-making youths in the 24th century who are sent to History Camp for rehabilitation. These youths, who are known as hard cases, are ultimately sent to 14th century Italy, where they learn to live without the luxuries they always took for granted.

    In the beginning of the book, I struggled to understand the behavior of the three protagonists since there was very little background to glean from. Yet, as the story evolved, I grew to appreciate and love what each character offered. I have to say, my favorite character is Shamira because she is quiet, observes the world around her, and transforms it onto paper as a portrait.

    I was mesmerized with the author’s description of Verona in 1347. I felt as though I were transported back in time. This book was so carefully crafted that it was easy to engulf oneself into the characters. When the family ate rations, I felt their hunger. When the family ate plenty, I felt their joy. I really thought this was a wonderful book. I had a hard time putting the book down once I got invested in the storyline.

    *I received this book free from the Fiction Studio as a part of the Pump Up Your Book tour, for my honest review.*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Lens anb looker#1

    If you like the hunger games you will probably like this book. less painfull and blody. better for younger kids i'd say about 10 or 11. Look into the past and learn how to use the knowlage today. Awesome book for those who decide to read it. Hope this helps your decision.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Original historical novel

    The mixed themes of scifi/fantasy with historical fiction work well in this fast-paced teen novel. You have to suspend disbelief of course, but the novel holds together well and leaves you ready to leap into the second novel of the trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Thank You B and N Free Fridays for a great story!

    This is not the sort of book I would typically purchase since it appeared to be yet another YA Fantasy/Romance. Thankfully however, I DL'd it as one of Barnes and Noble's better Free Friday's offerings, and started to read it just to see what it was about, then I found it to be such a quick, smooth, entertaining read, that I did not want to put it down. Extremely refreshing and creative take on education in the future and time travel, wrapped in a lushly descriptive and interesting narrative. This is a great read for adults or mature teens interested in SciFi/Fantasy with descriptive, intelligent historical content. That said, those overly offended by a few well placed swear words used to accentuate a story, or anyone looking for the more common mindless action novels, or for stories with tons of sappy unrealistic romance dripping from and obscuring the storyline, may want to look elsewhere. However, I found this book to be so awesome that I can hardly wait to read the next in this series! So, thanks again to B and N's Free Fridays for introducing me to this author and a refreshing new series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    not worth the time - wish I would have quit sooner

    The description had so much potential but the book failed to deliver - what a shame and a waste of time. read about 2/3 of the book and that was too much

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    This book is full of imagery and exceptional history application

    This book is full of imagery and exceptional history applications! Great twists and written so well! Keeps you hanging on and hard to put down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    A time travel experience in history

    excellent read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    I got this as a Free Friday selection. It was still too much.

    I got this as a Free Friday selection. It was still too much. Someone should have paid me to read this book. It still would have been terrible, but at least I'd have some money to show for my time. Terrible.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    Very interesting premiss. I just wish the author had started whe

    Very interesting premiss. I just wish the author had started where the action began. I almost stopped reading before it started to get interesting. There was too much explanation in the scenes of the camp they went to. I would have gotten a book about making glasses if I wanted to know that much. I was still getting involved in their world and then the author takes them out of it and into another one. And, I guess the author did not give me any reasons to really care about these kids because I just don't care about a second new world and them.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    DAMN THIS BOOK TO HELL!!!

    This book was awful. Completely boring. It had nothing interesting in it. There was barely a love afair, it wasn't as informitive as the descreption leads you to think, and the characters had weak personalities. I didn't connect with any of the characters and if it had been an option I would give it zero stars.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Good idea but....

    This book sucked. It took over 2 chapters to describe how lennses are made! But it gave u less then a chapter to explain the real world! I found this book boring and slow. If u r looking for a fast paced book then dont get this.i was unable to finish this book because i literaly fell asleep.the only reason i gave this book 2stars i because it was a interesting idea

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Terry

    Interesting read, enjoyed the book, good for everyone

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Lens and the Looker is totally a pleasant surprise!┬┐Not at a

    The Lens and the Looker is totally a pleasant surprise!…Not at all as I expected! This is a well-written
     fantasy for YA. It is written in three different book segments within this one book – “Hard-Time History
    Camp”; “Hard-Time Reality”; “Stranded”. It is a dystopian and historical tale in one. It begins in the 30th
    century then includes time travel. I really thought it was going to be another Dystopian/Sci-Fi.

    17 year old Hansum, Shamira, – approximately 15 year old-, and 13 year old Lincoln were very difficult
    children who were always pulling very disruptive pranks so were sent to “Hard-Time History Camp” to
     be taught a lesson. Notwithstanding,, that lesson was not well-learned which presented a new problem
     that was soon to go awry. The tree youth go through many experiences they never comprehended
    possible. However, they were not left to their own concoctions but inconspicuously acquired “Pan”.

    The action and adventures are continuous. There is a few words of slight profanity and crudeness but
    mostly is “cleanly” written. There is even a  touch of romance. It is recommended for middle school age
    children and all YA.

    I am eager to read the next sequel ‘The Loved & the Lost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    The Lens and the Looker follows a group of unruly teens as they

    The Lens and the Looker follows a group of unruly teens as they deal with an unexpected adventure. The story is set in the far future, when most of humanity has basically destroyed itself, and now the remaining population is trying to learn from past mistakes. This group of teens are placed in a history camp, in order to sort of live the life of their ancestors in order to learn to be more responsible and better people. I really liked the amount of detail in this book, the author can make even the tiniest detail of, say, creating glasses on ancient tools quite interesting. It seems like a great amount of knowledge went into making the world that this story is set in. And the author uses that world, and the strange set of circumstances the kids find themselves in, to make an interesting story about teens coming into their own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book and had to force myself to stop readi

    I really enjoyed this book and had to force myself to stop reading for other things. The story is interesting and moves at a great pace. The main characters are lovable and irritating in a way that only teenagers can be. The dialogue did seem somewhat unnatural for teenagers; though some latitude can be granted for their adaptation to the time period. There were also a few overlooked proofreading errors in the Kindle version. Overall, I think this is a wonderful, fun story, and I'm looking forward to continuing the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9