Customer Reviews for

The Leopard (Harry Hole Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Love this book!

Jo Nesbo is a great writer. His Harry Hole series keeps you interested and guessing! Great read!

posted by mayzeesz on February 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing follow up to The Snowman

The Snowman was one of my favorite books of all time. Therefore, I waited anxiously for months to read the next book in the series, The Leopard. However, as an avid reader, I was very disappointed. The plot The Leopard goes off into many tangents leaving the reader ...
The Snowman was one of my favorite books of all time. Therefore, I waited anxiously for months to read the next book in the series, The Leopard. However, as an avid reader, I was very disappointed. The plot The Leopard goes off into many tangents leaving the reader wanting a more substantial, meaningful, tightly woven story line. Don't get me wrong, I still love the flawed yet lovable detective Harry; however, I found myself very frustrated by the author's failure to reward him for his sufferings or even have him learn from them. The book was way too long and just seemed t go n and on,

posted by KMcBride on January 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Love this book!

    Jo Nesbo is a great writer. His Harry Hole series keeps you interested and guessing! Great read!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Challenges

    The latest Harry Hole novel presents the reader with a formidable challenge: On the one hand, the temptation is to try to read this tautly written, tightly plotted murder mystery in a single sitting. On the other hand, its 611 pages is undoubtedly a very large hurdle. Whatever the method, it’s well worth the effort to read it no matter how long it takes.

    After the travails he suffered at the conclusion of “The Snowman,”, Harry was so down that he resigned from the police force and traveled to the Far East, where he loses himself in alcohol, opium and gambling. There, a female detective from Norway finds him, pays off his gambling debts, tells him his father is in the hospital dying and he, as the only officer with experience solving serial murders, is wanted back in Oslo to help in what appears to be another multiple homicide case. At first he is reluctant, but finally accedes to the request to return because of his dad.

    Still refusing to rejoin the crime squad, Harry finally gives in when a third victim, a member of parliament, is killed. There are no clues and no common links between the victims until Harry discovers all three spent a night in an isolated mountain cabin together, and it becomes apparent that the “guests” are being picked off one by one.

    From that point, the case slowly unfolds somewhat murkily to keep the reader in the dark as to the ultimate denouement. Sometimes, Harry’s insights are prophetic, others off base. But he always has his eye on the main purpose: to catch the bad guy. At the same time, he is fighting his personal demons, his separation from the great love of his life, his relationship with his dying father, the politics of the competition between elements of the department as to responsibility for murder investigations, and his disillusionment with his role as a cop. More than enough, one must say, for one man.

    Highly recommended.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    I only discovered Jo Nesbo a few months ago & have read 5 of

    I only discovered Jo Nesbo a few months ago & have read 5 of his books so far. The Snowman was great but I think The Leopard was better. Looking forward to his next. Love Harry Hole!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Best Harry Hole

    Each of the Harry Hole novels seems to get better than the previous one. I cannot wait for the Phantom to come out. I would also love to read the first two novels which have not yet been released in the US

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    I loved this book. It's the first Det Harry book I've picked, a

    I loved this book. It's the first Det Harry book I've picked, and now
    the rest are on my reading list. There was a lot going on throughout
    the story, most of which I didn't expect, and certainly kept me
    interested and entertained. It was easy to pick up one of the several
    in the series and become invested in Harry's life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Mr.Nesbo is extraordinary!

    Time and again book after book, nesbo never slows down on the unexpected turns and twists! I just wish that the first couple books and some of the missing in the series would be added. Awaiting the next book in angst.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Amazing read!

    I could not put this book down. It was so suspenseful with many twists and turns. I will definately be recommending this to friends and reading more by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Engaging and complex

    This brilliant author constucts a highly plotted series of killings that will keep you voratiously devouring each page. Detective Harry Hole is a flawed genius who you will win your heart...again. Do yourself a great literary favor and read the body of adult fiction written by this author to try to figure out what makes his unlikely hero tick.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    Excellent

    This was a great book, hard to put down.Well written, suspenseful, and jusr darn good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Lepords

    I've read the book and it is really good I like it so much andaals lepords I love them so much Also once I started reading the book I couldn't wait to finish the book it is so fasinating igf you hadn't read it yet then do it is my favorite book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Oceantide

    The watery blue-gray tom watched her curiously. "Hello, im oceantide of goldclan"

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Leopardpelt

    Hello. U don't have to leave. I want to meet both of u. She meowed.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Haley

    I would like to audition

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    .

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Another Great Book

    Det Harry Hole continues to be a brilliant, tortured soul. Great follow up to last years "The Snowman". His father is dying, a serial killer (or two?) are killing in ungodly ways and romance blossoms. Running around Norway, Hong Kong and Africa with Harry was fun. Love how Nesbo writes! Long book 569 pages, but well worth the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Fireleap

    A bright orange tom enters "may i join "

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Hi ancestors! Yay!

    You're leopards right? If you're not,then the time-traveling cardboard box i ordered was a rip-off.~Darkturret

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Kek

    Wraps a blankie round her

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Flint

    Good go.d! This stupid map i all wrong. " the elf walks in holding a map

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Someone walks in

    Hello?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3