BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Leota's Garden

Average Rating 4
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Wow, God is Good!

What a FABULOUS book! Rivers is a powerful author, enabling her readers to be taken away with the words. I could not turn the pages fast enough!!! She uses a simple story to show the power of God in His full glory! Great lessons to be learned from her book. You wil...
What a FABULOUS book! Rivers is a powerful author, enabling her readers to be taken away with the words. I could not turn the pages fast enough!!! She uses a simple story to show the power of God in His full glory! Great lessons to be learned from her book. You will laugh and cry all at the same time! I can't wait to read others!!!!

posted by Anonymous on November 27, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Leota's Garden

A pretty good book. I didn't realize it was written by a religious author so it had a lot of praying and speaking to god in it. Despite that the story line was just ok.

posted by Krisg66 on April 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2000

    Wow, God is Good!

    What a FABULOUS book! Rivers is a powerful author, enabling her readers to be taken away with the words. I could not turn the pages fast enough!!! She uses a simple story to show the power of God in His full glory! Great lessons to be learned from her book. You will laugh and cry all at the same time! I can't wait to read others!!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2000

    ANOTHER FRANCINE RIVERS MIRACLE

    This is my fourth Francine Rivers book to read and each time she goes to the very depth of one's soul and sprituality. Her books reflect today's issues with God's thoughts. I've dispaired when her books ended and this one was no different. I truly have thanked God for Francine. I look forward to the next one.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2000

    Rivers plants a memorable garden

    Francine does it again in this exciting book about relationships with family, friends, and God. Like her other stories, it almost makes you want to go through adversity yourself in order to be a stronger person and closer to our Heavenly Father.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    A complex delight

    Leotas Garden was a complex story of family dynamics and Gods provision in the darkest of times. The charicters were realistic and Leota was quirky and charming. I found myself longing to read this book just to experience the setting. After reading this I long to plant a garden.
    I was impressed how Rivers weaved difficult topics into the life of the story to give flesh to these subjects, and challenge our thinking. This story made me miss my own grandma.
    I would definately reccomend this book to a friend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Wonderful - insightful to God's love & how He is truly in ou

    Wonderful - insightful to God's love & how He is truly in our lives!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Great book

    Love Francine Rivers. This book was not what I had expected but it was great. A little surprising close to the end, I was unhappy about what happen to Leota. All in all I would reccommend!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Awesome story

    Faithfulness, forgiveness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    love this book!!!

    my all time favorite. to be like leota wow! the story has a twist i never saw coming and it saddened me but the ending joyous. i loved it. you won't be sorry you read this unless you are looking for violence, sex, or cursing. it just isn't there. thought provoking. excellent read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    F. Rivers at Her Best

    Makes one take a second look at the generation gap.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    Great read

    Everyone of these characters has flaws. Bitterness, pride, ego, hate, etc... We live in an imperfect world full of misunderstandings and full of sin and full of hurt. I could go on but one thing that is different among the characters is their standing with Jesus. Jesus brings hope and healing. We all need Him. He is the key to savation, forgiveness and love.

    Leota spent her life praying for heaing. She handled raising her kids the best way she thought she should but it only made her kids run from her and resenting her. Through Leota's granddaughter, the family begins to come together again. It is a painful transition for all parties. Bitterness and anger are diseases that spread like cancer. God works through the granddaughter, Annie to bring healing and hope to this broken family.

    God also brings Corbin, a young college student, into the mix. Corbin is not a believer but he is able to witness the flaws of Christians and non-Christians alike. At the same time he is able to witness how living a life of Christ changes how you handle situations, people, hurts and so on.

    This book does not wrap up in a nice little package. Though some things are resolved, many things are left unresolved. This leaves the reader wanting more. I do hope Ms. Rivers will write more on some of the other characters one day. I would love to see their journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Fantastic

    Great book. Recommend it to everyone who has disfunction in a family and how God can do miracles to bring it back together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Wow!

    Francine Rivers is such a great writer! The greatness and glory of the Lord shines through the pages of this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Captivating story

    Wonderful! Very uplifting and inspirational.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Great book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    This is a wonderful book. It's a must read!

    I couldn't put this book down. I didn't know how this book was going to turn out there were some surprises in it. I didn't want the book to end. All good thing happen in gods time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Sweet Sweet Story!

    I loved this ebook! A great heart-felt story along with a life lesson of family appreciation and God's miraculous grace and mercy. <3 it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2011

    Great story

    Rivers is one of my favorite Christian fiction authors. I recommend any book written by her. This is an excellent example of how a person's perspective can taint relationships and lead to repeated behavior due to misunderstandings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Beautiful Story!

    Beautifully written, touching, and thought-provoking book. My first time reading one of Francine's novels, but it definitely won't be the last. (Side note: Have your box of tissues close by when reading this one!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!!

    Couldn't put this book down! Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Oh my Goodness -- a MUST read!

    I was looking for a book that wove a little gardening, my new found passion, into the plot. Since this was a free ebook, I wasn't expecting much but figured, what's to lose ... right? Well, let me tell you, I could not put it down. All I can say is just read it, you won't be sorry, and have your box of tissues ready, you'll need them. One of the best books I've read in a long time. I'll be reading more by this author and happily paying for them!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5