Customer Reviews for

Les Miserables (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 342 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(182)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(45)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

A True Classic

I've read both the unabridged version and this abridged version. This version summarizes parts of the book where Hugo gets a bit long winded and spends several pages just to make one point that could easily be made by one paragraph. I prefer this version.

Hugo...
I've read both the unabridged version and this abridged version. This version summarizes parts of the book where Hugo gets a bit long winded and spends several pages just to make one point that could easily be made by one paragraph. I prefer this version.

Hugo's Jean Valjean will have you sharing his feelings as society both praises and condemns him. Society praises his accomplishments yet can condemn him for past mistakes and for which overrule anything he did or could have done to better himself and those around him. While reading this novel I often wonder how close to the truth this treatment was. I suspect, very close.

posted by JohnP51 on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

50 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

READ THE UNABRIDGED VERSION!

The unabridged version is what you should read. That's what the author Victor Hugo wanted us to read. He did not write 1463 pages for people to butcher it up to an abridged version. And with the abridged version you don't fully get the affect of the book. I know people ...
The unabridged version is what you should read. That's what the author Victor Hugo wanted us to read. He did not write 1463 pages for people to butcher it up to an abridged version. And with the abridged version you don't fully get the affect of the book. I know people don't have a very good attention span these days but it's so worth it to read the unabridged version. The abridged version takes alot of important parts out. If you are in a hurry and need a quick read for school or something like that get the spark notes or cliff notes. Please show the author respect by reading the unbutchered version. I'm dissappointed in BN for publishing the abridged version. Les Miserables is one of the most greatest books on the world. Don't let the size of the book discourage you. When you look at it like this some of us read 1000 some pages a month when we add up all the books we've read.

posted by KateBrianIsAwesome on July 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Revisa

    Qwerty

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    good

    good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    Review of Les Miserables by Robin Varghese

    Even though I have finished reading this book I still find it really difficult to understand and that this book doesn't sound like a book that someone my age should read. If you were going to read you would have to have some knowledge about the French revolution and other historical figures. The reason is because the author sometimes refers to other historical authors like himself. Sometimes the battles that are explained in this book aren't understandable because they are talking about characters you wouldn't know unless you had a previous knowledge of them. If you have the knowledge it makes the book easier and more understandable. The thing that I like about this book is that they go into depth about the history in a different person's view making it more interesting. The way the author writes is also phenomenon, he makes characters that don't seem to be that important until later in the book you realize how important they are in the end. This author also did a great job on how to understand the life of a citizen in France during the French Revolution. I understood that there were several battles involving people wanting a better government just because of the way they were treated poorly. The main character is a victim of this. Even though he changed personally the government still thought him as a danger. If he took one life he would have saved a billion to replace him and yet feel guilty. This man was willing to take the place of another. This tells me that the author Victor Hugo wanted to teach the reader something. The story made sense to me, the thing that sounded confusing to me was the history and battles given in between that confused me. The thing was that I couldn't understand how it was related to the story. I also realized that some of the author's relatives were part this as well. I wouldn't understand much of this book until I have a better knowledge of our history. Overall I think that Les Misérables is a great choice for readers who want a better view of the French Revolution. This should be read by several people because I think there is a lesson to be learned here and I think I might have found it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2002

    An okay Book

    This book is very tick and very long. It's took me a very long time to read it and understand it.This book is about Jena Valjean, who help unfortunate people in anyway he can. It's tell about how our society was liek from the past and now. I think its an okay book because i dont like to read. This book is related to our world society and our history.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Jean Valjean is a poor, cold-hearted convict who escaped from ja

    Jean Valjean is a poor, cold-hearted convict who escaped from jail (where he was unjustly put) and is struggling to gain a position in French society. He searches for shelter and meets a Bishop who will change his whole outlook on life. Jean is forced to create false identitites because the wealty people of society shun ex-convicts. The many identities Jean Valjean takes on are necessary for him to achieve his good deeds towards friends and strangers. He gets rich off of a simple idea and takes on the identity of Monsieur Madeline, who gives money to people who are in the same situation that he was once in: poverty. Javert, a justice-loving police agent, tries to uncover Monsieur Madeline's true identity as Jean Valjean, but Jean leaves the town before Javert can get to the bottom of the story. In Jean's attempts to help the poor, he comes across a single mother, Fantine, who has a small daughter, Cosette. Fantine had to give Cosette up to a random family, the Thenardiers, when she was looking for another job, and is now about to die. She asks Jean To find Cosette and take her away to where she will be safe. He finds Cosette and discovers that the Thenardiers are evil people who are also very poor. Jean takes her away and ends up loving the the little girl as his own daughter. He raises her and experiences love for another human for the first time since he was a young boy. Throughout the book, he finds many different kinds of love and completes good deeds at the same time. Cosette grows up to be a very pretty young woman, and she falls in love with a young man named Marius. Marius has his own interesting past, and ends up loving Cosette in return. Jean Valjean experiences the pain of "losing" Cosette to another man, but agrees to their mariage. Javert returns a few times, as well as the evil Thenardiers, to try and uncover his identity. Although Jean Valjean is considered a horrible man to society because of his past, he is a truly honorable hero at the end of the book. He shows that one can rise above their past

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Help?

    I am eager to read this, but I'm wondering if I should:
    A) buy this version in book form, or
    B) buy the unabridged version on my Nook.
    Not too sure...help?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3