BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Les Miserables (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 351 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(183)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(49)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

A True Classic

I've read both the unabridged version and this abridged version. This version summarizes parts of the book where Hugo gets a bit long winded and spends several pages just to make one point that could easily be made by one paragraph. I prefer this version.

Hugo...
I've read both the unabridged version and this abridged version. This version summarizes parts of the book where Hugo gets a bit long winded and spends several pages just to make one point that could easily be made by one paragraph. I prefer this version.

Hugo's Jean Valjean will have you sharing his feelings as society both praises and condemns him. Society praises his accomplishments yet can condemn him for past mistakes and for which overrule anything he did or could have done to better himself and those around him. While reading this novel I often wonder how close to the truth this treatment was. I suspect, very close.

posted by JohnP51 on November 4, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

50 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

READ THE UNABRIDGED VERSION!

The unabridged version is what you should read. That's what the author Victor Hugo wanted us to read. He did not write 1463 pages for people to butcher it up to an abridged version. And with the abridged version you don't fully get the affect of the book. I know people ...
The unabridged version is what you should read. That's what the author Victor Hugo wanted us to read. He did not write 1463 pages for people to butcher it up to an abridged version. And with the abridged version you don't fully get the affect of the book. I know people don't have a very good attention span these days but it's so worth it to read the unabridged version. The abridged version takes alot of important parts out. If you are in a hurry and need a quick read for school or something like that get the spark notes or cliff notes. Please show the author respect by reading the unbutchered version. I'm dissappointed in BN for publishing the abridged version. Les Miserables is one of the most greatest books on the world. Don't let the size of the book discourage you. When you look at it like this some of us read 1000 some pages a month when we add up all the books we've read.

posted by KateBrianIsAwesome on July 22, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Free classics

    For what you pay, it's great

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Bob

    Bob the Awesome is so awesome you wont know what hit you!!!!!!!!! LOL •<:) PARTY HAT MAN!!! luv it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Great reading!

    Just what I wanted to read after I saw the play, needed to find out more so decided to read the book. Glad I purchased it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    It's a keeper!

    It's a suspenseful tale of what love, revenge, money, and power does to the best & worst of people. Hugo's tale is the story of a reformed thief who adopts and raises a woman's only child but is followed by an inspector looking for him. Jean Valjean is what makes the tale unique and different from Hugo's other novels. It is one of the Best!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2003

    Amazing Story

    Les Miserables by Victor Hugo is a magnificent novel, I had a wonderful time reading it. At times it was difficult to understand, and the whole book was challenging (but somrtimes we need a good challenge!) When you here Jean Valjean's story sometimes you think you must feel just as miserable as he does. A few examples are that in the begining of the book you learn that Jean spent almost 20 long years in prison for stealing a loaf of bread to feed his sister's seven starving children. You must think that Jean would be cold and mean...and brute to everyone he ment after this experiance, but he was not. In fact Jean became one of the most giving men I have ever met. And this says alot, for Jean didn't have much himself, and he was still a convict on the run. Another example when Jean takes in a child named Cossete. Jean learns to love this girl, and soon feels that he is in fact her true father. As Cossete grows older, it seems she changes from a plain little girl to a beutiful young woman over night. When she notices this she also starts to notice a kind looking young man that she see's (but dosen't speek to) often. When these two individuals meet sparks fly...but they are torn bye the fact that they may never see each other again. Would you like to know what happens to Cosette and this man? Well i'm not going to tell you, you'll just have to read this book to find out. And i do highly recomend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2001

    Outstanding

    This is an amazing story. Not only is it is story about French Society at the time of the revolution, but it's a story about the human spirit and it's will to live. I recommend this book to anyone, but it's better in the unabridged version!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2001

    suprises in every cornor!!!!!

    It was a great book to read and I really did enjoy it. It was a love story,a tragedy and an action story all rolled into one. It was an awsome book.It was long and some of the chapters during the war were boring but everything else was great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2000

    This book is just awesome!

    I am eleven years old, in 6 grade and already I have seen the musical, and I am currently reading the book. Everything in the novel is making perfect sense. It explaines in whole sections what one line in the play might cover. Such as 'Mine host Thenardiar, he was there so thay say at the feild of watterloo...' Has a whole section explaining that. Only fault is that if you only want the story, not where it is taking place, you have to skip over several chapters just to get where you want. Worth all 800 pennies that went into the price.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3