Customer Reviews for

Les Miserables: Complete and Unabridged

Average Rating 4
( 288 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(186)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Would It Be Possible To Love A Book More?

This book is truly a masterpiece. The reader is absolutely drawn in by the characters. I adore books that make me cry because I know that then, I am definately involved. For this book, I bawled! I have to warn you that I have read a couple of different abridged vers...
This book is truly a masterpiece. The reader is absolutely drawn in by the characters. I adore books that make me cry because I know that then, I am definately involved. For this book, I bawled! I have to warn you that I have read a couple of different abridged versions and some of them cut out really crucial parts. Play it safe, pick up the unabridged version! You'll love it!

posted by Anonymous on December 28, 1999

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Buy at your own risk!

I love this book, but I was not at all satisfied with the Nook version. It worked fine at first, but then it would freeze up on me. I would constantly get error messages saying the Activity Reader has stopped working, and then I would have to force close it. Then to top...
I love this book, but I was not at all satisfied with the Nook version. It worked fine at first, but then it would freeze up on me. I would constantly get error messages saying the Activity Reader has stopped working, and then I would have to force close it. Then to top it all off, the last part of the book is missing! Not worth wasting your $ ... even if it's only a dollar.

posted by 7129817 on March 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Try a different version!!!

    The very ending of the book is missing. It starts freezing towards the end. Loved the story and so upset I couldn't finish it.

    16 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    Don't buy this for the NOOK! It's the translation by Fahnestock

    Don't buy this for the NOOK! It's the translation by Fahnestock (as
    advertised). It's the Hapgood translation.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    Do Not Buy THIS Version

    I have spent nearly two hours with customer service because my nook freezes up whenever I try to something unusual like highlight a portion, look up a word, or turn the page. Also got the Activity Reader Error. Final engineering report: we will refund your money. I will purchase another version, but still unabridged as the story is wonderful.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Great Translation - But Abridged

    The misleading title "complete with all 5 volumes" had me thinking this was an unabridged version. It is NOT. Though I enjoy the translation, I wanted to read the WHOLE book.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    Crucial parts are unreadable. Don't buy this

    The novel has several poems, songs,and other passages that are essential to the story. In this edition, these passages are truncated on the right side of the page. No matter how small you shrink the font, you can't see the whole line, and the lines don't wrap. Don't buy this edition if you care about the story.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    Good Story, but cannot open Sample

    Although I am somewhat familiar with this story through theater, I wanted to see how much more the book went in detail, etc., but the sample will not open. BUY WITH CAUTION.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    This version, translated by Lee Fahnestock and Norman MacAfee, i

    This version, translated by Lee Fahnestock and Norman MacAfee, is my favorite, and is NOT available on Nook. I bought the one that was shown with the paperback version, thinking it was the same, and it is NOT. I am so angry right now! Talk about misleading & false advertising, Barnes & Noble! Please don't ever do this to your customers again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    DOESN'T OPEN

    Do not buy this, it doesn't open.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    To below

    Like 900

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Question

    How many pages is it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    To abbridged (sorry I'm dumb as a rock with technology...)

    Okay it keeps posting my review on more than one book. So anyway ignore my last post but DONT ignore my first "To abbridged" post. You know, I should just stick with my regular books...I don't do well with these e books, especially the reviews part...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Get it and barf

    Horrible. One word. Just HORRIBLLE. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Do not be fooled as I was. I have this book in paperback as adve

    Do not be fooled as I was. I have this book in paperback as advertised. But I bought the advertised Nook version from this web page and it was bait and switch. It is NOT the Fahnestock translation as it says on this web page, it is the Hapgood translation and it is NOT unabridged. It is abridged, condensed from the paperbacks 1463 pages to 1251 Nook pages. The book is great, but it is not what I was led to believe I was getting from this web page when I ordered it and paid for it. I am still trying to find that holy grail ebook of the Fahnestock translation, unabridged like the paperback I have. To say I am disappointed with this programming bait and switch snafu is an understatement of epic proportions. Angry does not even begin to describe the betrayal of my purchase.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Bad

    Not like the play

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    How long

    How long is this book?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    Great Book, Horrible File

    Probably the most frustrating experience I have had thus far in my foray in to eBooks. The file itself stalls out and eventually crashes. Find a different version as the story is definitely worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    This version is buggy : DO NOT BUY THIS BOOK

    I am having the same problems the other readers are at about page 500 it starts to "lock up" when you turn a page, usually if you wait it will work but I find myself pausing between pages. Tried it on my nook classic, iPad, and android phone all with the same results.

    7/24 UPDATE : Contacted customer service about this book telling them about the problem and asking for a refund, which they refused because they don't give refunds for Nook purchases. (While I could care less about the .99 I paid for this book it makes me really think twice before I spend $9.99+ on my next ebook)

    I downloaded a copy from Project Gutenberg and haven't had any problems, it loads quickly the pages turn quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    Can't seem to open sample

    Wanted to check out sample before I bought it but it won't open.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    doesn't open

    Cannot even get the sample to open. Won't buy if I cannot try first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    Sample doesn't work

    I downloaded the sample and it will not open. Given the last problem I had with the Sherlock Holmes book, I'm expecting the full version of this to not work either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2