Customer Reviews for

Les Miserables

Average Rating 4
( 288 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(186)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Would It Be Possible To Love A Book More?

This book is truly a masterpiece. The reader is absolutely drawn in by the characters. I adore books that make me cry because I know that then, I am definately involved. For this book, I bawled! I have to warn you that I have read a couple of different abridged vers...
This book is truly a masterpiece. The reader is absolutely drawn in by the characters. I adore books that make me cry because I know that then, I am definately involved. For this book, I bawled! I have to warn you that I have read a couple of different abridged versions and some of them cut out really crucial parts. Play it safe, pick up the unabridged version! You'll love it!

posted by Anonymous on December 28, 1999

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Buy at your own risk!

I love this book, but I was not at all satisfied with the Nook version. It worked fine at first, but then it would freeze up on me. I would constantly get error messages saying the Activity Reader has stopped working, and then I would have to force close it. Then to top...
I love this book, but I was not at all satisfied with the Nook version. It worked fine at first, but then it would freeze up on me. I would constantly get error messages saying the Activity Reader has stopped working, and then I would have to force close it. Then to top it all off, the last part of the book is missing! Not worth wasting your $ ... even if it's only a dollar.

posted by 7129817 on March 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Great book but edition

    Les Miserables is among the greatest book ever written. However, this ebook edition has too many faults to be forgiven. There are several pages that are presented in French with no translation. The last 20 or so pages of the book are missing. The ebook itself bogs down about midway through. Pages become VERY slow to turn. Barnes and Noble should stop selling this edition. The book deserves a five star rating but there are too many problems with this ebook edition.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Well... Where to start? I really did enjoy this story, despite

    Well... Where to start? I really did enjoy this story, despite the fact that I had to read the UNABRIDGED version for a school assignment. I believe that if I could have read it for pleasure (and not have a deadline) I would have enjoyed it much more. Overall, I liked most of the characters. There were a few who kind of creeped me out, like Cossette and Marius' story, but I digress. I really got attached to some of the secondary characters that ended up dieing in the end (which was frustrating). I also felt that Hugo spent much too much time on certain things (like chapters on battles and convents and sewers) while skimming over more important things (like character development). Overall, I would say it was worth the read. However, if you have a choice, I would definitely go with the abridged version unless you have hours upon hours of spare time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Check it out.

    Huge, wide-ranging story, including a lot of French history of the era. Much of it is obscure to me with "insider" references, but the classic aspects of this great work are apparent. The translation is dated, but quite readable, particularly with the dictionary feature of the Nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Fine

    This story was quite fine. I absolutely do not recomend this for anybody under the age of 15 this book is confusing but easy to read. I'm not the kind of person to write long reviews on this type of book i apologize



    Dr. Thadeus

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Les Mis!

    Vicor Hugo's Les Miserbles is an amazing story so intricately told that one would have to read it many times to fully comprehend the entire work. Only a plot so great could be turned into the captivating musical that it is today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    This is be on the quality of the file, as opposed to the book, s

    This is be on the quality of the file, as opposed to the book, since you can read a book review anywhere. this file is fairly good. It is clean of garbage characters and has hyperlink footnotes, many of which give translations of French text which is included from time to time for story purposes. The problem with this file is that there are several places where the font changes to Times New Roman for short passages to set the passage aside from the main body of the narrative. These areas are not affected by font size or type adjustments, and sometimes the text extends beyond the screen for several characters. In order to read the extra text, you must create a highlight from the right edge of the screen to the left edge of the following line. Then you can read the missing characters in the "Highlights and Notes" section of the table of contents. This must be done for each line, since the Table listing only shows about 45 characters per listing. This can be a pain if the passage you are trying to read is several lines long. Also, in a few places, footnote hyperlinks are in the inaccessible text areas, so you have to manually go to the footnote area of the book to read them. Which brings me to the other fault: the call-up contents list includes only book and chapter starts, not the author bio, footnotes, etc. The Table of Contents at the beginning of the book does include these, but their links go to the wrong places. They are only a few pages off, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Pretty good.:)

    It was really good!!!! This book has over4,500 pages! Yay! It was a great challenge!!!! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    This book is a good read. I felt the author really captured the

    This book is a good read. I felt the author really captured the feeling of revolutionary France. He put in a perfect combination of romance, war and tragedy. He portrayed the many historical events of revolutionary France. This makes a good story also a learning experience. I did not like some things though. For example, I did not like how he talked extensively about things that were not very important. The sewers of Paris are one such example. He talked about for about twenty pages, and all that happens there is Jean Valjean takes Marius back home. The book was also very confusing at some points, like I kind of got lost at the Battle of Waterloo. It was confusing. However, the rest of the book was very nice. I liked how after many years Jean brings back the name, Fantine on his deathbed. I also thought how important it was to mention Voltaire in the story. Voltaire was the driving force behind the revolution. In addition, the use of many main characters allows many different inputs to the situation. This allows the author to give multiple opinions on a single situation. This allows the readers to decide which character will come out on top. Each character had his own opinion and the author knows it. Instead of using the same voice for each character, like some amateur authors, this author uses a different voice for each character. This makes conflicts comprehensible and understandable. In addition, much of this history is from firsthand experience. This author was alive when these things happened. This gives an assurance that the history in this book is one hundred percent authentic and accurate. I like how some characters are generous. This sends a positive message to the readers. In addition, some characters are heroes. Not superheroes, but everyday heroes. Heroes like someone who gives to the poor and someone who gives their own comfort for the comfort of someone else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    Currently reading this book now-love it!!!

    Currently reading this book now-love it!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Astonishing

    A timeless story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Les Miserables

    This book was good overall but ther are some parts in the story that are boring and can be skipped

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Classic for a reason........luved it!

    This book is a classic for a reason the first book of Fantine was boring but as you get into it it is so much better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Amazing Story - I loved it!!

    Les Miserables is an entrancing novel, whose message still rings true today. Victor Hugo¿s creation of rich characters in a believable setting make the reader believe in the story and the message it holds.
    The story of Jean Valjean¿s transformation and reformation from a criminal to a selfless man captures readers¿ hearts and keeps the reader wanting to follow his journey. Victor Hugo made Jean Valjean into a character that everyone can relate to as he slowly but surely becomes a man who ends up risking his life to save the one his adopted daughter, the only person he has ever loved, has fallen in love with, even if it means returning to jail to complete his task. Valjean¿s makes his ultimate sacrifice when he reveals his true history his daughter¿s fiance, knowing he will be shunned but needing to relieve himself of the burden he carried around all that time. Valjean epitomizes sacrifice and redemption, which is part of the reason why people fall so in love with the book.
    Fantine¿s sacrifice and dedication to providing for her daughter pulls at the heart strings of readers worldwide. Every mother knows what it¿s like to give up something in order to support your child, and Fantine takes it to the extreme. After losing her job in a factory, Fantine sells her hair, teeth, and body all for the sake of supporting her young daughter. It is impossible to miss her complete devotion to her daughter and her unwavering determination to do whatever she has to to support her. In creating Fantine, Hugo created one of the most recognizable and heartwarming characters in literature.
    By writing Les Miserables, Victor Hugo has shown the world what sacrifice and redemption truly mean and how love can cause change within a person. I couldn't put it down and it's message resonated with me unlike any other book. I highly recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2004

    4.9999 stars, not 4

    Les Miserables was awesome. I read this book when I was 13 because I had read the abridged version & found it very confusing because it left out soo much. I found that the unabridged version gave me all my answers. I loved it....all except for the long 50page history parts-skipped all those. This novel portrays what life was like during the French Revolution. Hugo does a wonderful job of doing that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2001

    Awesome!

    The Book was outstanding. It was a little hard to understand though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2000

    Long but worth the effort.

    It was a close call whether to rate this 4 stars or 5. It is a classic, that's for sure, and it's the kind of book that sticks with you. If you do good by your heart, you can make the world a better place, that is one of the many messages that this book has to offer. But the author lengthens the book enormously by a number of long diversions. Some are fascinating, like the discussion of the Battle of Waterloo, and the role of religion in France. Others are interesting perhaps only to history buffs, like dialects of the language used by convicts and street people, or descriptions of the insurrection in 1832. The main story is terrifc though. It is also an inspiration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3