Customer Reviews for

Les Miserables Complete and Unabridged: With Illustrations [Remastered for NOOK]

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

A must read!

Les Miserables is my new all-time favorite books. I love the richness of the story, the grandness and generosity of the sentiments, and the deep human insight. I find this old translation to be just lovely. I can open it to many a page and just read, like lovely poetry,...
Les Miserables is my new all-time favorite books. I love the richness of the story, the grandness and generosity of the sentiments, and the deep human insight. I find this old translation to be just lovely. I can open it to many a page and just read, like lovely poetry, for the beauty of the language. But it is most worthwhile for the depth of humanity that Hugo shows thru his precious character. Such Jean Valjean who stole my heart.

As I mentioned in my headline the book is a must read. It would be a crime to miss this wonderful - you are among the miserable of the earth in a very different sense if you don't take the time to read it.

Another wonderful element is the sense of history that you get from it. The Napoleonic wars still inspired passion. It's great to see the battle of Waterloo recounted from the French side. There a forty or fifty page chapter that is worth reading for the history alone - all triggered as an aside to explain why Valjean was convicted a second time despite his good works, because, in court, he referred in passing to Napoleon as "the Emperor." It brings history alive in a way that history books alone do not at times. And I usally look for those since I am a huge history buff. For anyone else who luvs to jog back into history pick up this book. It's definately worth the read.

Also this particular version has a working TOC allowing easy naviagation. It also has photos throughout the book. Its worth the 3 bucks.

posted by ClassicReaderBW on October 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful story but too long. Not entirely happy with the trans

Beautiful story but too long. Not entirely happy with the translation. This version best for students interested in picking it apart for discussion.

posted by 16692770 on November 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    A must read!

    Les Miserables is my new all-time favorite books. I love the richness of the story, the grandness and generosity of the sentiments, and the deep human insight. I find this old translation to be just lovely. I can open it to many a page and just read, like lovely poetry, for the beauty of the language. But it is most worthwhile for the depth of humanity that Hugo shows thru his precious character. Such Jean Valjean who stole my heart.

    As I mentioned in my headline the book is a must read. It would be a crime to miss this wonderful - you are among the miserable of the earth in a very different sense if you don't take the time to read it.

    Another wonderful element is the sense of history that you get from it. The Napoleonic wars still inspired passion. It's great to see the battle of Waterloo recounted from the French side. There a forty or fifty page chapter that is worth reading for the history alone - all triggered as an aside to explain why Valjean was convicted a second time despite his good works, because, in court, he referred in passing to Napoleon as "the Emperor." It brings history alive in a way that history books alone do not at times. And I usally look for those since I am a huge history buff. For anyone else who luvs to jog back into history pick up this book. It's definately worth the read.

    Also this particular version has a working TOC allowing easy naviagation. It also has photos throughout the book. Its worth the 3 bucks.

    25 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2012

    Totally Challenging!! I loved it!!

    I really enjoyed this book so much for the fact that it was challenging! I usually only read books that were "fun" or "enjoyable" for me, but this was the first real book that actually tested my mind! The wording in this book is totally different (probably because it was written by someone who is french), but it changes the way you think and understand what the story is about. I cannot even count how many new words I came across! It helped me practice my reading skills and enhanced my ability to think about and understand different types of writing.
    This book is not only for the challenge, it is also for the enjoyment. I honestly thought that I would not like it at all, but as I started to get into it, I was hooked. This author really goes into detail of all of the character's emotions, and various opinions about certain problems. It really makes you understand what the main characters are going through, and you almost feel that you are with them, feeling those same emotions. This book really shows the true meaning of love towards father and child. This author really opened my eyes to how the main character (Jean Valjean) will do anything to take care of her, and nothing more. It would be very easy for him to escape and go off by himself, but he truly respects the law, but also knows that she (Cosette) cannot live in the state she was first in, (being a slave). he therefore dedicates his life into taking care and raising her up until she can take care of herself, so then he can settle his deal with justice. I really admired this character, and loved all of the detailed feelings he had for this little girl, which truly touched my heart.
    I would defiantly recommend this book to people (around ages 15+) who want a challenging book, and are wanting to put their mind to the test. It is such an amazing book with challenging words and names that are hard to tell apart, but that was the fun of it for me! :)

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Beautiful story but too long. Not entirely happy with the trans

    Beautiful story but too long. Not entirely happy with the translation. This version best for students interested in picking it apart for discussion.

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Issues with formatting

    For a nook book was a little disappointed to see the formatting so off. I can't see over half of the table of contents. There are some other issues at the beginning as well.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It's Les Miserables. That's about all that needs to be said. A t

    It's Les Miserables. That's about all that needs to be said. A tremendous story that is worthy of all the renditions be it in the theater or on the stage. The unabridged isn't an easy read as Hugo had a tendency to go off on tangents and the reader is expected to undersand some of the french references from that time period. However, the story itself is incredibly powerful. Everyone should read it at some point in their life if they want to consider themselves well read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    So good

    Gfdhhvfg

    4 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    If you have ever read Victor Hugo you should know he can be very

    If you have ever read Victor Hugo you should know he can be very wordy. While this wordiness often has little if anything to do with the story, he does help you understand the character's logic in making decisions. Les Mis is full of that kind of wordiness. Even though it makes the story longer and the reading sometimes a little boring, it is still beautifully written. The book is in excess of 1200 pages but it gives you bragging rights as an avid reader. I have read War And Peace AND Les Mis. Many modern authors have gotten wordy. In Stephen King's Dark Tower series, I believe he got wordy but it didn't have the same relevance as Hugo's so, many with which I have spoken stopped reading the series.
    I found the book to be a wonderful story of love and inner personal conflict. This conflict does exist in each of us even though we sometimes hate to admit it. These charachters had this conflict and , like us, it affected the decisions they made. The story is rich in history and personal conflict. I found it a pleasure to read and recommend it for everyone.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    AAAAAARRRRRRGGGGGHHHHH!!!!!!!

    This book is a non-prescription cure for insomnia. I'm moving on after about150 pages. Amnesty International should go after anyone who makes a person read this in school.

    2 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Read fast!

    Im 11 and this is my apsolute favorite musical and i give the new movie 5 stars you should see that then read the book and compare the book and movie i did and it is pretty different!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Amazing!

    It goes slow at the beginning but just kep reading it gets better! It's actually really touching.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Good book

    Must read book! If u only made it past a few pages pick it up again. Its dry in the beginning but gets much better!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2014

    From Cossete!

    I loved doing the musical when I was in high school... I was Cosette. I love all of the versions of this book but this has to be by far my favorite. The formatting was, yes a bit off, but it was still enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Help

    Is this the unabridged brick?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    The Original, Unabridged Version

    B&N has a tendency to lump all reviews of the same title together, regardless of edition. This review applies to the Nook edition, unabridged, with illustrations.

    In some regards, Victor Hugo is an acquired taste. This was my second experience with a Hugo novel, the first being "Notre Dame de Paris." Newcomers to Hugo should know that it's OK to wonder, as you are working your way through his novels, "Where is he going with this?" With "Notre Dame," (AKA "The Hunchback..."), you only learn towards the very end why he took you along parallel paths through the history of the church and the basic story, and then it all makes perfect sense, and you couldn't imagine the story being told any other way.

    With "Les Miserables," Hugo does it again. You may be tempted to wonder why he goes into such minutiae about people's history and emotions and, without broaching spoiler alerts, as you get to pivotal moments in the book's final chapters, it becomes perfectly understandable (or it did to me, anyway), why he chose that approach.

    I cannot imagine reading any other version than the unabridged, although I have promised myself to do so sometime in the future. Hugo inspires a genuine, personal bond with the characters he wants you to, and fear, revulsion, and pity with their antagonists as well. No, you have not had the same experience with seeing a Broadway musical, or the movie versions. This is the real deal, and you will be a much better version for having read it cover-to-cover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    ALWAYS A GREAT READ! NO MATTERVHOW MANY TIMES YOU HAVE READ IT IN THE PAST!!!!

    Les Miserables has been among my favorites since I read it in middle school back in 1994. As soom as I finished, which didnt take long since I couldn't put it down, I looked into finding copies of the old black & white french version if the movie, copies of it presented in London & everything elsebI could get my hands on. Nothing is as good as coming back and rereading this heart-felt novel. Every time I read it still feels like the first time. I get so drawn in I become part of the novel. This is a must read for anyone who enjoys reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2