Customer Reviews for

Leslie

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I really love this book it was very interesting. It started out kind of slow but and then had me flipping page after page eager to know what was going to happen next.

    This book was about a female named Leslie raised in the projects of New Orleans where she also attended college. Leslie lived on campus to be away from the pressures she had to deal with at home. She had a younger sister in an unhealthy and unstable relationship with children who she had to be there for but at the same time she was angry with her, so Leslie pretty much kept her distance when possible. When back at campus Leslie stayed to herself and only communicated very little with her roommates who allowed her to live there for free due to her financial situation. Although Leslie seemed reserved and was a good student she was very strange and had an evil streak that had people dissapearing without her harming them physically.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    NoT tHaT gReAt

    okay, this book has the slowest begginng i have ever read. the first about 160 pages are extremely boring. also wen the story supposedly does pick up its still not good. the mistake the author makes is goingv in too much detail in some parts. like it was not nescessary. i usually like omar tyree's books but not this one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    Wow

    This book was amazing, I loved it. Usually I don't read Omar Tyree (I don't like books that are 'in'), but I picked this up by mistake and couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    Not the way CURRENT New Orleans is at all.

    Well the streets are kinda like the way he wrote about in the book. But to me it was like he was going off memory. Plus he portrayed African Americans in New Orleans so badly. Most of Mr.Tyree's book are wonderful to say the least. But this was a disappointment. I was suprised, the story line had me off, and well I did'nt like it at all. I was very long and so uninteresting. Ayanna was a straight up wannabe and wouldnt have lasted a DAY in the real street of New Orleans. Bridget should have just went back to where she came from. Yula needed a life, badly. But my favorite of them all was Leslie's sister. The way Tyree tryed [and failed] to portray her as was weak. And I knew from the start she wasnt. Overall: Good read, if your bored.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2007

    AMAZING

    this book was one of the best books i have ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    The B_O_M_B

    I have never really been a big fan of Omar Tyree but i decided to give him one more chance with this book. The girl Leslie is just straight crazy. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2006

    Better Than the Rest

    After reading several novels by Omar Tyree and various other authors, I really enjoyed Leslie. It wasn't your basic love story, or had any sexually explicit scenes. It brought the reality of racism and poverty to surface. And I am proud of Omar Tyree for bringing something new to the scene.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2005

    a southern girl

    i loved this book i guess me being from new orleans and knowing that it didn't happen. i loved how the story began and ended. i loved how he made her the quiet type then BAM out of no where she is voodoo priestist

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2006

    realist

    In the life that average people live, life goes from one problem to the next. I found Leslie realistic and very descriptive. Over all it is a good novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2005

    Let's see...

    Okay, this novel was boring at 1st but then as you began to read it, it was very suspenseful. I loved the setting and the fact that her background played a role in the story. However, when I felt I finally got to the good stuff, the story ended. Just like that. Unless, there is a part 2 to this story, I would say don't waste your time reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2005

    iight

    I am a big fan of Omar Tyree and Leslie had me going in Circles. It jumped from one problem to the next. I was so happy when the book ended becuse I just felt like if I didnt I was traped. This book was iight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2005

    Shocker

    This was my first Omar tyree novel and I was impressed. Talk about not knowiwng people, Leslie was crazy. If you like spunk then read this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    Didn't Make the Cut

    I am such a huge fan of Mr Tyree's work. But Leslie...there are no words for the discouraging disappointment I faced having read this book. I expected so much more from this book. The charater is so distant that the reader doesn't even get a chance to know her. Understandable she is mysterious but if anything a reader is suppose to know about the main character before all else. It seemed as if her roomates had more of an appealling story line. Not a big hit, borrow the book b4 buying, if anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2005

    THIS BOOK WAS REALLY GOOD!!

    I really liked this book a lot. I think Omar should come out with part 2. Leslie is soooo wild in this book. She don't care she just do what she gotta do!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2005

    Disappointing

    I have to agree. This book was very disappointing. Leslie is too distant, too focused on revenge for no real reason. Like most, she has been done wrong, but her rage isn't real. She is the main character and I still didn't learn enough about her. What happened to Omar this time?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2004

    Worst thing I have EVER read

    I am a TRUE lover of African American Fiction and on average purchase about 2-3 books per week. I realize that this book has been out for a while but I just bought it about 4 days ago. I HATED THIS BOOK. I mean personally I found it dull and lacking. Of course I am no author so who am I to judge Mr. Tyree's work but I just had to say that the back cover of the novel was misleading and actually more interesting than the entire 385 pages of Leslie. SHE DROVE ME CRAZY.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2004

    WEIRD

    TYREE IS GOOD WRITER BUT THIS BOOK WAS OUT THERE. THE CHARACTER WAS POOR AND THREW HER UNFORTUNATE LIFE ON ALL THAT DID NOT DESERVE TO BE. AT TIMES IT GOT REALLY BORING. I STARTED TO READ THIS BOOK FIVE TIMES BEFORE EVEN MUSTERING MYSELF TO READ IT COMPLETE. IT IS A INTERESTING FLOW IF YOU ARE INTO WITCHCRAFT.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2004

    The greatest piece he ever wrote

    at least to me it was, i have tried to read tyrees books before and put them down. In Leslie he has captured EVERYTHING! i would have not liked to read the ebonics though,the story is so real that you feel like you are in the story yourself and can imagine how they pronounce their words. or even how the father speaks his english, i mean we know his going to have an accent but it was a little annoying to have to read slower than usual to get what he was saying. overall it was a good plot and should be made into a movie. is there going to be a part 2?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2004

    The Book Was Pretty Good

    The book was pretty interesting. Some of the events seemed unbelievable. However, I loved the way Tyree captured the attitude of a young black female trying keep her life and that of her family intact while battling against the hopelessness surrounding them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2003

    OUTSTANDING!!!!!

    Omar Tyree is one of the greatest authors around.His books are off the hook and very mind blowing.Leslie is full of mystery and great understanding of the world around us.I would recommend this book to anyone who is into books about mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4