Customer Reviews for

Less of Me: A Journey of Longing, Struggle and Discovery

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Suprisingly good

    I really liked the writer's style and the content was engaging. I was distracted by the typos and grammar.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Great read!

    This is the first time I have ever read two novels woven seamlessly into one. There is the primary story of Andy (the novelist) and the novel that he is creating. There are a few editorial issues, but nothing that keeps you from enjoying this wonderful book. Add to top it off, this is a free book!! And unlike some of the freebies that reel you in only to find you have to pay 15.99 to read any of the authors other books, the other books in this authors collection are free also!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Sara

    This was a wonderful book it was like reading two books in one but at the same time you knew which one you were reading. It made me stop and think about my own life.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Excellent

    I loved this story. It was exciting in all the right places and the characters were awesome.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Great, great book

    Thoroughly enjoyed it, but wish I knew how to contact the author. I would proofread his material for him for free.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Really good,,,,,

    Enjoyed the story,however, it took me a chapter or two to realize that it was like two books in one. Good character developement. Interesting story that moved right along.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Less of me

    I think the interlocking stories was a great idea. Like getting 2 books in one. The story of Andy was endearing and his alter ego Rance was just right in Appalachian Malady. The Christian message was not overdone. Just right!






    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    I really enjoyed the premise of this novel. Came to care about t

    I really enjoyed the premise of this novel. Came to care about the main character and his struggles. I did get sidetracked every so often because of the lack of editing, but overall a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Very nice read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Better Choices (A) great concept 2 stories in 1

    Seeing through the writer's eyes the process creating his book and reading as it unfolded. Meeting the charters in his life and those develop in his book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Charming

    Entertaining, authentic and well written with soul. Edward's use of good grammar and composition is appreciated for it enhances the ease and enjoyment of the reading experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2013

    Less of You, and More of Editing. Please.

    If you can't get an editor at this point, at least have a friend go over it before you say it's finished. The obvious spelling and punctuation errors are annoying to say the least, and even cause confusion. The plots were juggled back and forth, sometimes effectively, often not. It's confusing to have dialogue going on between two people, then a completely separate dialogue between two different people in a different place, with no lead in to indicate we might be in a different scene. Picky, maybe so. But the combination of so many errors kept me from enjoying this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Great book

    Now I understand what it means,when the author gets into the characters head and becomes the character.very well written.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    A story in a story

    I really enjoyed there being two stories one about Andy's life and the other about the character in his book he was writing. It was fun to read and sure there were some minor typos but its a free book there isn't an expensive editor looking over it with a fine tooth comb and again they were minor things. I found it very easy to get lost in the story and I truly enjoyed reading it. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Delight to read!

    It must have been effortless for Mr. Goble to create these very good stories and tell what/how it happened. Words just flowed together to make such an easy-to-read two-story book. I loved how it flipped back and forth as the author in his own story was writing another story to make a book. It was a page-turner within each story and I could hardly wait to get back to the other story. I felt I was watching the developed characters in full motion, color.

    Having obsessively read well over a thousand novels in the last several years, I can say this is one of the best written I have ever enjoyed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    L

    Really hate grammar and spelling nazis reviewers here. Anyway...the book itself wasnt very good. Just when you were getting interested in andys story, suddenly you were in another story. Then you were back in andys story, then the other story, but nothing meshed. Couldnt stay with it. Too fragmented.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    Good read !!!

    Good read about how we must decrease and God increase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Great read!

    I have to admit to skipping Andy's book that he was writing throughout his own story, but I absolutely loved his story and it was an eye-opener to read about someone really struggling with their weight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Anonymous

    EXCELLENT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Wonderful

    I loved it. A story within a story was an amazing idea. Everything was very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2