Customer Reviews for

A Lesson in Secrets (Maisie Dobbs Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The historical backdrop is super while the competing whodunit makes for an entertaining Depression Era thriller

In 1932, Maisie Dobbs is feeling the ennui of a long summer with nothing critical to do as she no longer needs to worry about making money since her mentor Dr. Maurice Blanche died and left her with his vast estate. She knows part of her boredom is grief from Maurice's...
In 1932, Maisie Dobbs is feeling the ennui of a long summer with nothing critical to do as she no longer needs to worry about making money since her mentor Dr. Maurice Blanche died and left her with his vast estate. She knows part of her boredom is grief from Maurice's death. That abruptly ends when the British Secret Service appears for a special investigation into a pacifist who they believe he is betraying the country.

Greville Liddicote wrote a children's book extolling the virtues of pacifism that the British government censored during WWI. Now he has opened a college in Cambridge whose mission is Pax Europe. Maisie goes undercover obtaining a position as a philosophy instructor so that she can watch the staff, faculty and students for seditious activity. However, the political war within the college already ugly turns deadly when someone kills Liddicote. While Detective Chief Superintendent Robert MacFarlane and Detective Chief Inspector Richard Stratton struggle with their inquiry into the homicide, Maisie looks at extremist groups like the new Nazis party for the killer.

The historical backdrop is super while the competing whodunit makes for an entertaining Depression Era thriller. Maisie's new wealth reduces her personal problems in terms of earning a living vs. doing a gratis case, but her change in personal circumstances leads to new issues like what to do now with her free time. Readers will enjoy Maisie's latest investigation as she attends school in Cambridge in which she learns A Lesson in Secrets can be fatal.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on March 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Boring

I've read several of the Maisie Dobbs Series, and enjoyed them very much. I was so excited when I purchased #8; however, I was BORED throughout, but stuck it out until the end. "A Lesson in Secrets," seemed to "drag" in it's entirety. Would not recommend as a book cl...
I've read several of the Maisie Dobbs Series, and enjoyed them very much. I was so excited when I purchased #8; however, I was BORED throughout, but stuck it out until the end. "A Lesson in Secrets," seemed to "drag" in it's entirety. Would not recommend as a book club review! Very disappointed!!!

posted by 675628 on May 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The historical backdrop is super while the competing whodunit makes for an entertaining Depression Era thriller

    In 1932, Maisie Dobbs is feeling the ennui of a long summer with nothing critical to do as she no longer needs to worry about making money since her mentor Dr. Maurice Blanche died and left her with his vast estate. She knows part of her boredom is grief from Maurice's death. That abruptly ends when the British Secret Service appears for a special investigation into a pacifist who they believe he is betraying the country.

    Greville Liddicote wrote a children's book extolling the virtues of pacifism that the British government censored during WWI. Now he has opened a college in Cambridge whose mission is Pax Europe. Maisie goes undercover obtaining a position as a philosophy instructor so that she can watch the staff, faculty and students for seditious activity. However, the political war within the college already ugly turns deadly when someone kills Liddicote. While Detective Chief Superintendent Robert MacFarlane and Detective Chief Inspector Richard Stratton struggle with their inquiry into the homicide, Maisie looks at extremist groups like the new Nazis party for the killer.

    The historical backdrop is super while the competing whodunit makes for an entertaining Depression Era thriller. Maisie's new wealth reduces her personal problems in terms of earning a living vs. doing a gratis case, but her change in personal circumstances leads to new issues like what to do now with her free time. Readers will enjoy Maisie's latest investigation as she attends school in Cambridge in which she learns A Lesson in Secrets can be fatal.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful and entertaining read!

    In 1932 London, Maisie is asked to help out the British Secret Service. She's sent to be an assistant professor at a college near Cambridge. Something is going on at the school and the Secret Service wants insider information. Before long there's a dead body and Maisie finds herself involved in finding the murderer. I love the gentle writing style and the background setting. These features make for an especially entertaining read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another Outstanding Book from Winspear

    Jacqueline Winspear has written another wonderful mystery. Over the course of her 8 books, Maisie Dobbs had developed into a fascinating character. In this latest story, A Lesson in Secrets, Maisie accepts a teaching post at a small pacifist college in Cambridge at the request of the British Secret Service. When the founder of the college is murdered, Maisie looks into the secrets of his past. As usual, Winspear's description of the era and the locations are wonderful. I always get a feeling that I know what it would have been like to live in this era. Billy Beale continues as Maisie's assistant with a storyline concerning his family woven into the book. Winspear's books have sparked my interest in this period and I have read several books covering the same post-World War I era. Winspear compares favorably with Dorothy Sayers and has created a character who combines the detective skills of Lord Peter and the feminism and independence of Harriet Vane.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Maidie Dobbs is Addictive

    I have only recently found Jacqueline Winspear's wonderful Maisie Dobbs series, and I have now devoured all of them. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    One more great book in a great series!

    Once again, Maisie Dobbs grows in talent and self-knowledge as she solves mysteries in her unique way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    I LOVE all of the Maisie Dobbs novels!

    Please see my review for # 9 - "Elegy for Eddie"! It's the first review I wrote, and basically covers the whole series! Very enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Beware the Halls of Academe

    This latest entry in Winspear's wonderful Maisie Dobbs series is set in Cambridge at a lesser, fictional college, but Cambridge nonetheless. For this reviewer, who spent some of her halcyon days at the other Oxbridge university, A Lesson in Secrets is the best yet. Those of us who have spent our lives in its halls, know that the academy is simply Byzantium without the money. Maisie does at Cambridge what Wimsey and Vane do at Oxford -- tells its secrets and reveals its hidden doors. Another first with honors for Maisie and Ms. Winspear!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Maise Dobbs, another hit!

    Maise Dobbs series are entertaining and educational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2