Customer Reviews for

Lessons from a Dead Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A fantastic must read!

Laine possessed a bitter hatred for leah, wishing that Leah would die and leave her alone. She didn't understand her, or why she chose her to be her best friend all those years ago. She didn't understand the things that Leah did to her in the doll closet, or why Leah wo...
Laine possessed a bitter hatred for leah, wishing that Leah would die and leave her alone. She didn't understand her, or why she chose her to be her best friend all those years ago. She didn't understand the things that Leah did to her in the doll closet, or why Leah would torment her with that knowledge and the shame that Laine felt. As they grew older, she didn't understand the problems that Leah faced, or the impact that they had on her behavior. As their English teacher told them once, you only hate what you don't understand.
Now that Leah Greene has died, Laine forces herself to try to understand Leah, and the things that Leah taught her about friendship and secrets. Friends are forever, Leah told her. Permanent just like the ink that Leah used to stake her claim on Laine's hand back when they were young. Laine must now face the impact of what "forever" really means, and how it has affected her own aspects of the world.
Jo Knowles has penned a stunning book that takes an introspective look at the scars of childhood abuse at the hands of a child's peers. Laine's experiences will have a profound impact on anyone who has ever wondered about the dynamics of child sociology, and how the damaging effects of abuse resonate from the original victims. For the mature young adult.
If you liked such stories as Thirteen Reasons Why, Love Returns Through The Portal of Time, Someone Like you, Story of a girl and others like these great reads, I highly recommend 'Lessons From a Dead Girl as another must read for your library.

posted by BANCHEE_READS on November 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lessons

Lessons From A Dead Girl was good cause it told the story that is never told. How the victim can become the predator and what it does to the victim. It's sad. Even though somewhere througout the book I myself hated Leah just like Laine but in the end I felt very sad ...
Lessons From A Dead Girl was good cause it told the story that is never told. How the victim can become the predator and what it does to the victim. It's sad. Even though somewhere througout the book I myself hated Leah just like Laine but in the end I felt very sad for the loss of Leah even though she was the predator she also was the victim & was crying out for help in a self destructive way!

posted by bobbles918 on February 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    A fantastic must read!

    Laine possessed a bitter hatred for leah, wishing that Leah would die and leave her alone. She didn't understand her, or why she chose her to be her best friend all those years ago. She didn't understand the things that Leah did to her in the doll closet, or why Leah would torment her with that knowledge and the shame that Laine felt. As they grew older, she didn't understand the problems that Leah faced, or the impact that they had on her behavior. As their English teacher told them once, you only hate what you don't understand.<BR/>Now that Leah Greene has died, Laine forces herself to try to understand Leah, and the things that Leah taught her about friendship and secrets. Friends are forever, Leah told her. Permanent just like the ink that Leah used to stake her claim on Laine's hand back when they were young. Laine must now face the impact of what "forever" really means, and how it has affected her own aspects of the world.<BR/>Jo Knowles has penned a stunning book that takes an introspective look at the scars of childhood abuse at the hands of a child's peers. Laine's experiences will have a profound impact on anyone who has ever wondered about the dynamics of child sociology, and how the damaging effects of abuse resonate from the original victims. For the mature young adult.<BR/>If you liked such stories as Thirteen Reasons Why, Love Returns Through The Portal of Time, Someone Like you, Story of a girl and others like these great reads, I highly recommend 'Lessons From a Dead Girl as another must read for your library.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read!!!

    I read this in like 4 hours, a result of refusing to get up or go to bed. Anyways yes this may be a short read, but it was wonderful. A well paced story told by the main character Laine. In a way she reminds me of myself when I was younger. In other words, a push-over whom would do anything for their so called friends. If you like stories which are seemingly innocent with a dark twist then this is the book for you.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Lessons

    Lessons From A Dead Girl was good cause it told the story that is never told. How the victim can become the predator and what it does to the victim. It's sad. Even though somewhere througout the book I myself hated Leah just like Laine but in the end I felt very sad for the loss of Leah even though she was the predator she also was the victim & was crying out for help in a self destructive way!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Decent

    Could be better. But it is realistic.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Is it good?

    And how many pages are there?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Great!

    Lessons from a dead girl is a really great book. Read it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Such a great book! One of my absolute favorites! Read it!

    Such a great book! One of my absolute favorites! Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Amazing

    Great book..... not sure if its worth the money but excellent teen read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    Loved it!

    I really enjoyed reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    very good!!

    Small, Simple read. I could not put it down, to have a friend you trusted all you life just turn on you and make you look like the crazy one. everything you trusted her with, everything you two did growing up.. she told you it was ok.... we are just playing....its our little secret

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    A really great read :)

    This book is deffinantly recomended for high school and up. It has some sexual abuse, teen drinking, and suicide. I could not put the book down. It is one of the better books i've read. It is kind of like Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher, just instead of each chapter being a person it is a lesson that Lainey (the main character) has learned from her best friend Leah (who is dead). If you liked Thirteen Reasons Why, then you will probally like this book. And I personally think it is better than Thirteen Reasons Why. I have read this book three times already, it is just that good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Learned Lessons From a Dead Girl

    This slim book was so compelling that I read it in on sitting. With every turn of the page, the antagonist Leah Greene, is consistently harassing, to the point of abusing, her "so called" friend forever, Laine McCarthy.

    It was so easy for me to see signs of "battered woman syndrome" in Laine, wanting to be a part of Leah's "in group," up to the point of allowing herself to be abused. Leah and Laine are like night and day, and they barely seem to meet in the middle.

    The title of the book gives you a clue as to the ending of the book, but still you are not ready for the ending and you keep hoping things will turn out better. The control vs. submissive games or "practice" played out by these little girls, gives the brain food for thought on how these patterns may haunt other young children and teens. This story is definitely not one of those "feel good" teen books, but it makes you look at a different side of bullying and abuse. It is not until the end of the book that we understand the reason Leah has tormented Laine.

    This is the first book I have read by Knowles and I look forward to more of her work in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    Summer Read

    Interesting enough too read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A New Favorite

    This book was very interesting, it reminds you of the people that slipped away in your life but yet have that importance that they seem to always find their way back. This book is one of my new favorites I couldnt out in down and when I did The events keep replaying in my mind an I had to find out what was going to happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    GOOD BOOK UH SHOULD READ IT =]

    I READ THIS BOOK I LOVE IT I RECOMAND THAT BOOK AT FIRST I JUST READ IT CUZ MY TEASCHER TOLD ME 2H BUT THEN I STARTED 2H READ THIS BOOK IT GOT INTRESTING SO I FINISHED IT TO TELL UH THE TRUE IS LIKE THE 1ST BOOK I READ BY MY SELF ALL ON MY OWN JUST FOR FUN ALSO BCUZ IT WAZ AN ASIGNMENT I STARTED READING THIS BOOK IN JULY 11,2009- JULY21,2009 I ENJOY THIS BOOK AND RECAMENT TO UUH TO READ THIS BOOK

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ehhhhhh

    this book was alright. it was good in the aspect that it shed light on a very difficult subject to discuss i just thought that the characters weren't believable. especially towards the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Allison Fraclose for TeensReadToo.com

    Laine hated her, and wished many times that Leah would die and leave her alone. She didn't understand Leah, or why Leah chose her to be her best friend all those years ago. She didn't understand the things that Leah did to her in the doll closet, or why Leah would torment her with that knowledge and the shame that Laine felt. As they grew older, she didn't understand the problems that Leah faced, or the impact that they had on her behavior. As their English teacher told them once, you only hate what you don't understand. <BR/><BR/>Now that Leah Greene has died, Laine forces herself to try to understand Leah, and the things that Leah taught her about friendship and secrets. Friends are forever, Leah told her. Permanent just like the ink that Leah used to stake her claim on Laine's hand back when they were young. Laine must now face the impact of what "forever" really means, and how it has affected her own aspects of the world. <BR/><BR/>Jo Knowles has penned a stunning book that takes an introspective look at the scars of childhood abuse at the hands of a child's peers. Laine's experiences will have a profound impact on anyone who has ever wondered about the dynamics of child sociology, and how the damaging effects of abuse resonate from the original victims. For the mature young adult.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2008

    Deep book.

    Even though the situations in this book may seem far from what you've experienced, I think everyone can relate to Lessons from a Dead Girl. It deals with Laine who had a very controlling friend, Leah, who she was afraid to stand up to. I really loved this book. I couldn't put it down. It's suspenseful and I felt a real connection with the characters. I think everyone should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    I finished this book a month ago, and I still remember it -- from the first words 'Leah Greene is dead', to those scenes that made me want to stop reading but also urged me to keep going. I remember how things turned out, the secrets people hid from each other. This book is unforgettable. I wanted to cry for Leah and Laine, and at the same time, I wanted to pull their hair out. Mistakes are made and friendships are tested. You can't miss this gripping novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2