Customer Reviews for

Let It Go: Forgive So You Can Be Forgiven

Average Rating 4
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Finally someone explains how it really is doable (forgiveness) and it is all up to YOU!!

I'm reading the book for the third time as bitterness and self-hatred takes time. I really am grateful to God first for answering my prayers as to how to move from the anger and bitterness I felt. And, to Bishop Jakes for having an opened heart to not only hear from G...
I'm reading the book for the third time as bitterness and self-hatred takes time. I really am grateful to God first for answering my prayers as to how to move from the anger and bitterness I felt. And, to Bishop Jakes for having an opened heart to not only hear from God, but to feel the need of the people. The book is written in a way that covers all forgiveness needs from the office to the marriage.

posted by 8577307 on March 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

I was highly mistaken by my first impression

I thought "finally! A book that will show me how to let it go!" I stopped at page 60 and told myself that life is too short to read a bad book. He goes on and on and in with metaphors, euphenisms (spelling?), and stories until he gets to a point. He should have stuck w...
I thought "finally! A book that will show me how to let it go!" I stopped at page 60 and told myself that life is too short to read a bad book. He goes on and on and in with metaphors, euphenisms (spelling?), and stories until he gets to a point. He should have stuck with a self-help pamphlet with just the "how-to" of letting it go, but that wouldn't be another hardcover book under his belt. Don't bother with this one as it's a waste of money!

posted by lynnelondon on March 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    I was highly mistaken by my first impression

    I thought "finally! A book that will show me how to let it go!" I stopped at page 60 and told myself that life is too short to read a bad book. He goes on and on and in with metaphors, euphenisms (spelling?), and stories until he gets to a point. He should have stuck with a self-help pamphlet with just the "how-to" of letting it go, but that wouldn't be another hardcover book under his belt. Don't bother with this one as it's a waste of money!

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Finally someone explains how it really is doable (forgiveness) and it is all up to YOU!!

    I'm reading the book for the third time as bitterness and self-hatred takes time. I really am grateful to God first for answering my prayers as to how to move from the anger and bitterness I felt. And, to Bishop Jakes for having an opened heart to not only hear from God, but to feel the need of the people. The book is written in a way that covers all forgiveness needs from the office to the marriage.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    Though I am a huge fan of TD Jakes, I was thoroughly disappoint

    Though I am a huge fan of TD Jakes, I was thoroughly disappointed with Let It Go. I wanted to tell the Reverend to "let it go" and just get to the point.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    It is clear that TD Jakes is a man of God and this love is exten

    It is clear that TD Jakes is a man of God and this love is extended in this book. Many people have tried to explain and show the reason for this seven foot high act called forgiveness. Yet, TD Jakes and only one other author, R.A. Clark, of the the book "When God Stopped Keeping Score," which is on sale here on BN too, were actually able to explain it. If I had a choice and I did, I chose both books. I strongly suggest that you do too.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Not a good Sample!!!!

    This is a sorry excuse for a free sample. Don't get any of the content. Only copywright, bio. You can't even get a feel for what the content is. Should at least have the 1st chapter or at least one page of the 1st chapter. Very poor!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Once I got through the maze of extraneous verbiage, it was a bit use ful.

    He could have said what he did with a lot fewer words and shorter illustrations. There were some nuggets of gold and the man does have the gift of gab. The metaphors were very colorful and stretched the point to the maximum degree. Overall I would say that I do recommend the book, but it was impossible to read it without much patience.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Life Changing Book

    T D Jakes has an uncanny way of allowing you to see the benefits of doing the right thing- because that what God requires of us. Then, he tells us how it will benefit us, both naturally and spiritually. I will definitely be using this book as the recommended reading for the next Life Group class that I will be teaching on forgiveness.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Very good read!!!

    5 stars:-)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    A must read

    Bishop Jakes explains in this book why "letting go" will free you. The book has impacted my thought process. I will re-read it again as a point of reference. Thanks Bishop for candidly addressing this issue and offering readers practical and biblical teaching as well.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    This was a great read

    Forgiving can open up a lot of doors. Since reading this I have done my share and find a less strain on my life and being. I saw myself in a lot of the descriptions and have been given a better outlook on what one can expect from doing and being good. I really like this book and it was the first I have ever read by this author. The title is what caught my attention because of things I have harbored for quite a while. Good book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    I love this book cause i'm a c.h.i.r.s.t.i.a.n

    Love tjis book

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    l love this book

    l love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    No no no.

    Dont read. Heretical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    Good But.....

    To many metaphors. Just get to the point!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    there really not much to explain it's just great

    there really not much to explain it's just great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2012

    Highly recommended--Check it out!

    Wow!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Great

    Absolutely great.....will get you thru many and plenty situations with this thing called Life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Let it go

    Inspirational book which touches alot of pionts. Enjoyed his views on different subjects.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4