BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Let It Snow: Three Holiday Romances

Average Rating 4.5
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

2 out 3 stories are excellent

I don't usually go for holiday books but this one is a lot of fun and doesn't feel one-note. It manages to convey the holiday theme without being sappy.

I could tell by the first few pages the first story was written by Maureen Johnson; being a follower of her on tw...
I don't usually go for holiday books but this one is a lot of fun and doesn't feel one-note. It manages to convey the holiday theme without being sappy.

I could tell by the first few pages the first story was written by Maureen Johnson; being a follower of her on twitter, the writng had her spastic, observational humor all over it (if you're on twitter and don't follower her, you should: @maureenjohnson). The story starts with a girl named Jubilee, who goes by a variety of nicknames to sidestep her awful namesake which derives from a building in a collectible miniature Christmas village her parents are obsessed with. Her plans to spend Christmas Eve at her boyfriend's family's smorgasbord are thwarted when 1.) her parents are jailed after a scuffle at the Flobie Christmas village convention, where a riot broke out over a limited edition piece 2.) her parents are sending her by train to Florida to be with her grandparents 3.) the train gets snowbanked in a town two hours south and she's stranded, boyfriendless and alone.

What follows is a quirky although not entirely unbelievable tale about a Waffle House, a heartbroken teen boy named Stuart who finds her, and his mother's insistence on taking care of a wayward girl alone on Christmas Eve. Jubilee isn't too happy her boyfriend isn't responding to her calls and texts, and she's not sure what to think of this new guy and his creepily obsessive, although genuinely kind, mother. It's filled with a hundred details that make the story enjoyable - specifically how her parent's have attained widespread notoriety as part of "The Flobie Five," who got arrested over the collectible village.

The next story is John Green's, and it again features a Waffle House and a snowstorm. And hey, these guys know Stuart from the first story. It's connected! I love stuff like this. Out of boredom, three friends venture into the storm to the Waffle House where they've heard a team of cheerleaders are stranded. This is the same Waffle House Jubilee eagerly vacated with Stuart to get away from the cheerleaders from her train after it got stuck. It's a typical John Green set-up: awkward gu, whip-smart and somehow unattainable girl, hilarious sidekick involved in a caper. It's solid, and ties together aspects of the first story.

Lauren Myracle's piece is about Addie, a girl who broke up with Jeb who was on Jubilee's train. I thought it was kind of interesting in the first story how Jeb is featured at first but then he completely drops off. The heartbreak and wallowing feels a little cliche, and I have to admit, I didn't enjoy this one as much as the first two. Characters from the other stories show up at the end to the Starbucks where Addie works, and connect the story further. It's satisfying to see how everyone knows each other

posted by stephsco on March 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Bast

K * tosses snowballs*

posted by Anonymous on December 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    2 out 3 stories are excellent

    I don't usually go for holiday books but this one is a lot of fun and doesn't feel one-note. It manages to convey the holiday theme without being sappy.

    I could tell by the first few pages the first story was written by Maureen Johnson; being a follower of her on twitter, the writng had her spastic, observational humor all over it (if you're on twitter and don't follower her, you should: @maureenjohnson). The story starts with a girl named Jubilee, who goes by a variety of nicknames to sidestep her awful namesake which derives from a building in a collectible miniature Christmas village her parents are obsessed with. Her plans to spend Christmas Eve at her boyfriend's family's smorgasbord are thwarted when 1.) her parents are jailed after a scuffle at the Flobie Christmas village convention, where a riot broke out over a limited edition piece 2.) her parents are sending her by train to Florida to be with her grandparents 3.) the train gets snowbanked in a town two hours south and she's stranded, boyfriendless and alone.

    What follows is a quirky although not entirely unbelievable tale about a Waffle House, a heartbroken teen boy named Stuart who finds her, and his mother's insistence on taking care of a wayward girl alone on Christmas Eve. Jubilee isn't too happy her boyfriend isn't responding to her calls and texts, and she's not sure what to think of this new guy and his creepily obsessive, although genuinely kind, mother. It's filled with a hundred details that make the story enjoyable - specifically how her parent's have attained widespread notoriety as part of "The Flobie Five," who got arrested over the collectible village.

    The next story is John Green's, and it again features a Waffle House and a snowstorm. And hey, these guys know Stuart from the first story. It's connected! I love stuff like this. Out of boredom, three friends venture into the storm to the Waffle House where they've heard a team of cheerleaders are stranded. This is the same Waffle House Jubilee eagerly vacated with Stuart to get away from the cheerleaders from her train after it got stuck. It's a typical John Green set-up: awkward gu, whip-smart and somehow unattainable girl, hilarious sidekick involved in a caper. It's solid, and ties together aspects of the first story.

    Lauren Myracle's piece is about Addie, a girl who broke up with Jeb who was on Jubilee's train. I thought it was kind of interesting in the first story how Jeb is featured at first but then he completely drops off. The heartbreak and wallowing feels a little cliche, and I have to admit, I didn't enjoy this one as much as the first two. Characters from the other stories show up at the end to the Starbucks where Addie works, and connect the story further. It's satisfying to see how everyone knows each other

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for TeensReadToo.com

    I'm a sucker for romance any time of the year, but something about the holiday season makes me want to curl up in a nice blanket, drink hot chocolate, and read love stories. LET IT SNOW is the perfect holiday read. <BR/><BR/>Maureen Johnson starts things off with THE JUBILEE EXPRESS, in which Jubliee (no, not a stripper, but named for a piece in her mother's collection of the Flobie Santa Village) finds herself stranded on a train in Gracetown in a huge snowstorm. A trip to the Waffle House introduces her to Stuart and friendship, or maybe something more, starts to form. <BR/><BR/>In A CHEERTASTIC CHRISTMAS MIRACLE, author John Green hilariously describes the mission of three friends to get to the Waffle House where a group of cheerleaders are stranded and wanting to play Twister. <BR/><BR/>And Lauren Myracle's THE PATRON SAINT OF PIGS shows that lost love can be found again with the help of Starbucks, angels, and even a pig. <BR/><BR/>Each story stands well on its own, but it was nice to have a common thread throughout. I loved how the authors found ways to connect all three stories. Characters you meet in the beginning show up later on, and places like Starbucks and the Waffle House are important to all three tales. The only thing I didn't like was that they were all short stories - I could have kept reading about each of the characters! <BR/><BR/>LET IT SNOW is a great, warm, fuzzy read for the holidays, so grab some hot chocolate and curl up because you won't want to stop reading until you're finished and happily sighing.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    Fluff and fun

    I thought that the three short stories in this book were wonderful and worked well together. It is interesting to see the mix of different styles come together, especially since all the stories are intertwined pergectly. My personal favorite was John Green's, but all of them are wonderful. A magical holiday read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Highly Recommend - movie rights to this book were purchased for a reason.

    As a huge John Green fan I'll jump at the chance to pick up anything with his name on it, despite my general aversion to anything which labels itself as any sort of "romance." So, when I began reading Maureen Johnson's portion of the book "The Jubilee Express" and finding myself smile because it was funny and charming, I was pleasantly surprised. The stories which make up this book stray away from the beaten path of romantic writing in a way that is both unexpected and delightful. Each (with the exception of Lauren Myracle's portion which I could not bring myself to finish)brought its characters to life so effectively I found myself growing attached to them, an impressive feat in the span of about 100 pages.

    The complexity of the characters, the suspense of the plots, and the general exuberance of the book made it a joy to read. Even without the third story, I still plan to purchase this book for myself so I can read it every holiday season (of course, I may have to adjust my definition of the holiday season so it may include the Fourth of July, Halloween, Easter, and Arbor Day).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    I can't wait!!!

    It sounds so good, I absolutely must have it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book for the Holiday Season!

    I thought this book was great! The stories are fun to read and the characters are quirky and likeable. I think with the way things are right now, this is a terrific holiday book to get you into the spirit of love and celebration. The stories are written well and weave perfectly into one another. I found myself excited to see where the characters would end up. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves the holidays and love stories.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    Three stories that show the joy of Snow

    This book is very surprising. It is amazing how the authors connected all the stories together. Characters from one story worm their way through into another. A great way to get in the holiday mood early and ready for your own adventure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    I wouldn't say it is appropriate for 12 year olds when it talks

    I wouldn't say it is appropriate for 12 year olds when it talks about strippers. I mean, like what? Why would 12 ear olds want to read about strippers. Should be 13+ atleast.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Exceeded my Expectations!

    I didn't expect each story to interlink as much as they did. It was nice to see the styles of different authors be used together but still showing each authors true writing. I loved each story and how each one took on the blizzard differently. I loved how in the last story at the end it brought together all the characters from each of the stories and showed how they were all interlinked. Overall it was a fun and enjoyable read especially during Christmas and this crazy winter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    This book made me cry of happiness. I am usually not a fan of ro

    This book made me cry of happiness. I am usually not a fan of romances, unless they are John Green romances, but this book is the perfect book for the holidays. And if you are feeling skeptical because it is also written by foreign authors, get over it because this is one of my favorite book I have ever read, and I've read many books. I would highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Let it snow

    lOVE one of the best

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Review

    Not only as a big John Green and Maureen Johnson fan, I would recommend this book to any one. Absolutely every one. This book is made of Puffy awesome cuteness obviously worth reading. Though I wasn't a fan of Lauren Myracle (or had ever heard of her), I liked her story as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Very Kool

    Its a nice read for the holidays and in some way all the stories are connect so its really kool and its set in my home state of VA which is really kool!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2014

    I gave Let it Snow a 15/16. I gave this book this rating because

    I gave Let it Snow a 15/16. I gave this book this rating because the character seem like real people, and are relatable. In Let it Snow the spelling/grammar Is perfect , witch makes the book a whole lot easier to read. The dialogue in the book is terrific, for example on every page there is dialogue. The Ending of all of the stories is the best part because they never end the stories where I have a question about what happens at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    Let it Snow- A must-read!!!

    I absoutly loved these stories! They really make you think and if you think hard enough, you will find the strong connection. I found some names reapearing as i read and i had to use my handy dandy find tool to search for words or names i forgot about. Lastly, i reccomend this book to grades 6-9.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    FIVE HUNDRED STARS

    Im a sucker for a love story
    But three brilliant love stories in one normal sized book is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read

    A set of romantic stories to cuddle up next to the fire and read. Let It Snow changes the stereotypical female narrator and adds a male influence. These three stories could not be better intertwined. Perfect for a chilly day to sit inside and read. It's a holiday must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    one of my favorite holiday reads!!!

    one of my favorite holiday reads!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    Honest Review

    This was a good book, i enjoyed most of it. There were 3 different stories about different characters in the same town. The characters knew each other vaugely but they didn't interact a all really between them. I was expecting them all to come together at the end, but they didn't. The stories were all well written though, and all the man characters were likeable, but I have to say the first one was the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2014

    Es bueno libro? Me gusta libros para John Green

    Muy me gusta TFIOS un perfecto! No me gusta AAOK. John Green es un bueno escribir y uno mi favorito escribirs, porque TFIOS. ES FANTASTICO BUENO LIBRO? Escribir y hablar en commento habkar mi si o no. Gracias ~Pedra :) No leer la libro.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6