Customer Reviews for

Let It Snow: Three Holiday Romances

Average Rating 4.5
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

2 out 3 stories are excellent

I don't usually go for holiday books but this one is a lot of fun and doesn't feel one-note. It manages to convey the holiday theme without being sappy.

I could tell by the first few pages the first story was written by Maureen Johnson; being a follower of her on tw...
I don't usually go for holiday books but this one is a lot of fun and doesn't feel one-note. It manages to convey the holiday theme without being sappy.

I could tell by the first few pages the first story was written by Maureen Johnson; being a follower of her on twitter, the writng had her spastic, observational humor all over it (if you're on twitter and don't follower her, you should: @maureenjohnson). The story starts with a girl named Jubilee, who goes by a variety of nicknames to sidestep her awful namesake which derives from a building in a collectible miniature Christmas village her parents are obsessed with. Her plans to spend Christmas Eve at her boyfriend's family's smorgasbord are thwarted when 1.) her parents are jailed after a scuffle at the Flobie Christmas village convention, where a riot broke out over a limited edition piece 2.) her parents are sending her by train to Florida to be with her grandparents 3.) the train gets snowbanked in a town two hours south and she's stranded, boyfriendless and alone.

What follows is a quirky although not entirely unbelievable tale about a Waffle House, a heartbroken teen boy named Stuart who finds her, and his mother's insistence on taking care of a wayward girl alone on Christmas Eve. Jubilee isn't too happy her boyfriend isn't responding to her calls and texts, and she's not sure what to think of this new guy and his creepily obsessive, although genuinely kind, mother. It's filled with a hundred details that make the story enjoyable - specifically how her parent's have attained widespread notoriety as part of "The Flobie Five," who got arrested over the collectible village.

The next story is John Green's, and it again features a Waffle House and a snowstorm. And hey, these guys know Stuart from the first story. It's connected! I love stuff like this. Out of boredom, three friends venture into the storm to the Waffle House where they've heard a team of cheerleaders are stranded. This is the same Waffle House Jubilee eagerly vacated with Stuart to get away from the cheerleaders from her train after it got stuck. It's a typical John Green set-up: awkward gu, whip-smart and somehow unattainable girl, hilarious sidekick involved in a caper. It's solid, and ties together aspects of the first story.

Lauren Myracle's piece is about Addie, a girl who broke up with Jeb who was on Jubilee's train. I thought it was kind of interesting in the first story how Jeb is featured at first but then he completely drops off. The heartbreak and wallowing feels a little cliche, and I have to admit, I didn't enjoy this one as much as the first two. Characters from the other stories show up at the end to the Starbucks where Addie works, and connect the story further. It's satisfying to see how everyone knows each other

posted by stephsco on March 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Bast

K * tosses snowballs*

posted by Anonymous on December 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    2 out 3 stories are excellent

    I don't usually go for holiday books but this one is a lot of fun and doesn't feel one-note. It manages to convey the holiday theme without being sappy.

    I could tell by the first few pages the first story was written by Maureen Johnson; being a follower of her on twitter, the writng had her spastic, observational humor all over it (if you're on twitter and don't follower her, you should: @maureenjohnson). The story starts with a girl named Jubilee, who goes by a variety of nicknames to sidestep her awful namesake which derives from a building in a collectible miniature Christmas village her parents are obsessed with. Her plans to spend Christmas Eve at her boyfriend's family's smorgasbord are thwarted when 1.) her parents are jailed after a scuffle at the Flobie Christmas village convention, where a riot broke out over a limited edition piece 2.) her parents are sending her by train to Florida to be with her grandparents 3.) the train gets snowbanked in a town two hours south and she's stranded, boyfriendless and alone.

    What follows is a quirky although not entirely unbelievable tale about a Waffle House, a heartbroken teen boy named Stuart who finds her, and his mother's insistence on taking care of a wayward girl alone on Christmas Eve. Jubilee isn't too happy her boyfriend isn't responding to her calls and texts, and she's not sure what to think of this new guy and his creepily obsessive, although genuinely kind, mother. It's filled with a hundred details that make the story enjoyable - specifically how her parent's have attained widespread notoriety as part of "The Flobie Five," who got arrested over the collectible village.

    The next story is John Green's, and it again features a Waffle House and a snowstorm. And hey, these guys know Stuart from the first story. It's connected! I love stuff like this. Out of boredom, three friends venture into the storm to the Waffle House where they've heard a team of cheerleaders are stranded. This is the same Waffle House Jubilee eagerly vacated with Stuart to get away from the cheerleaders from her train after it got stuck. It's a typical John Green set-up: awkward gu, whip-smart and somehow unattainable girl, hilarious sidekick involved in a caper. It's solid, and ties together aspects of the first story.

    Lauren Myracle's piece is about Addie, a girl who broke up with Jeb who was on Jubilee's train. I thought it was kind of interesting in the first story how Jeb is featured at first but then he completely drops off. The heartbreak and wallowing feels a little cliche, and I have to admit, I didn't enjoy this one as much as the first two. Characters from the other stories show up at the end to the Starbucks where Addie works, and connect the story further. It's satisfying to see how everyone knows each other

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Highly Recommend - movie rights to this book were purchased for a reason.

    As a huge John Green fan I'll jump at the chance to pick up anything with his name on it, despite my general aversion to anything which labels itself as any sort of "romance." So, when I began reading Maureen Johnson's portion of the book "The Jubilee Express" and finding myself smile because it was funny and charming, I was pleasantly surprised. The stories which make up this book stray away from the beaten path of romantic writing in a way that is both unexpected and delightful. Each (with the exception of Lauren Myracle's portion which I could not bring myself to finish)brought its characters to life so effectively I found myself growing attached to them, an impressive feat in the span of about 100 pages.

    The complexity of the characters, the suspense of the plots, and the general exuberance of the book made it a joy to read. Even without the third story, I still plan to purchase this book for myself so I can read it every holiday season (of course, I may have to adjust my definition of the holiday season so it may include the Fourth of July, Halloween, Easter, and Arbor Day).

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Very Kool

    Its a nice read for the holidays and in some way all the stories are connect so its really kool and its set in my home state of VA which is really kool!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2015

    Not all writing is created equally.

    This is an enjoyable text. You may not get that impression as you read my review, but I honestly did like it... Just some parts more than others. I think the authors did a wonderful job of intertwining their three pieces, then combining them all in the end of the third pieces as a finale.

    I purchased this text because I am a John Green fan. When I began reading the first piece I was disappointed... though it was well written it was not what I have come to expect while readinga John Green text. There is a logical reason for this; John Green wrote the second piece only. I put the book down several times before finishing the first piece, the only reason I kept reading is because I was anxious to read John Green's piece. As I now reflect upon reading this text, that very anticipation may have negatively distorted my reading of the first piece. I just wanted to get through it and on to the second, John Green's writing.

    I plan to reread this text, without the John Green anticipation. I am hoping this will enhance the first piece for me. The third piece was also negatively distorted due to my biased preference for John Green. It was good and I enjoyed it, but I just kept comparing it to the second piece. Overall a wonderful text, obviously if I plan to reread it, right?,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    Honest Review

    This was a good book, i enjoyed most of it. There were 3 different stories about different characters in the same town. The characters knew each other vaugely but they didn't interact a all really between them. I was expecting them all to come together at the end, but they didn't. The stories were all well written though, and all the man characters were likeable, but I have to say the first one was the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    The Fanride Overview

    This book gets you into the holiday spirit and shows you that love is anywhere. Let it Snow is halarious with the three stories it gives you that anyone can expirience during the snowy season. It gives you great detail which makes it even more realistic and another cool thing is that all the stories connect to each other so you have to read all of the stories to know whats going on. This wintery romance will make you read every last page in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    So adorable.

    I found this at a garage sale and I had not expected much from it, but it was such a cute and happy read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Let it snow

    Great book

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    I'm absolutely obsessed with anything romance or holiday themed,

    I'm absolutely obsessed with anything romance or holiday themed, so this was literally the perfect book! While I utterly adored the first two stories, I found the third one not so great, and actually couldn't even get all the way through it. However, this book is definitely worth buying just for the first two, and some may even like the third story as well (the one by Lauren Myracle). I just didn't enjoy the third one because the main girl was having a selfish pity party through the whole thing and it was hard to read because the main character is so unlikeable. But PLEASE buy this book; you'll be happy you did. Romance, the holidays, and fun short stories: it's a triple threat and makes everyone happy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    warm, christmas, love

    Three authors band together from holiday fun, love and craziness in Let it Snow. Maureen Johnson starts off the fun with her short story The Jubliee Express. Jubilee, who happens to hate her first name is ready to party down at her boyfriend's Christmas Eve party. It is full of dressing up, looking your best, and loving the ones you love. Unfortunately, things never go as planned. The city cops showed up at her down informing that her parents have been arrested in a Flobie Santa Village riot. (Think those cute little houses that light up and are themed for Christmas). Within an hour, she is shipped on to a train, heading to Florida to spend her Christmas with her Grandparents. Yet, nothing goes as planned. The train gets snowed in at Gracetown, and all she has is a Waffle House to rest and eat in. Enter Stuart, the resident town hottie who would rather mope then meet girls. After casual conversation, they take things from there and head to Stuart's house. Christmas isn't anything like it seems with Jubilee is stuck in a house, with people she doesn't know, and nothing seems to get her way.

    John Green knocks it out of the park with Cheertastic Christmas Miracle. All about the race to the Waffle House. The Duke and Tobin have been friends since they can remember. The Duke, who is actually a girl, is never seen as one to Tobin. She is just the James Bond loving person who gets him for him. When they get a call that a large group of bubbling, cheerful cheerleaders are sitting in the Waffle House, and they have to be the first ones there. WITH twister. Their simple track through the snow gets a whole lot harder when they are not the only ones racing there. Throughout the madness, cold snow, and craziness, something starts between the Duke and Tobin, and it's something strong.

    Bringing up the rear, Lauren Myracle finishes with The Patron Saint of Pigs. Addie, the self obsessed teen is mourning the loss her true love Jeb. One simple mistake with a classmate leaves her alone, and single. Her friends don't see her side, and thinks she needs to get over herself. To better her image, and not lose her friends forever, Addie helps them out with retrieving one tiny teacup pig. Can she actually put down her own self for once? Yup, not looking good. The pig ends up being sold to someone else, and Addie must race to find the pig before her friend showed. Along the way, Addie realizes what's important in life, and who really matters.

    Each story of these three authors are linked together, which you don't see in most short story books. You feel more connected and cherish each story more. Let it Snow is one of those books you read for fun, and enjoy every minute it. You don't have to be shivering in the winter to enjoy it. It's a good young adult book for any season.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2