Customer Reviews for

Let Love In

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This book took my breath away. I loved every word on every page!

This book took my breath away. I loved every word on every page! I am a person with a lot of walls around my heart, and I instantly fell in love with the book and the characters. Maddy was easy to love, and Reid, well... let's just say I think he might be my new book bo...
This book took my breath away. I loved every word on every page! I am a person with a lot of walls around my heart, and I instantly fell in love with the book and the characters. Maddy was easy to love, and Reid, well... let's just say I think he might be my new book boyfriend!

Maddy was an easy character to love. She is fun, sassy, snarky, sarcastic, caring, and understanding. She knows how she feels about Reid, and the type of person that he used to be, but she loves him anyway. Reid, is a great character too! He's a bad boy and a heartthrob. He seems to be damaged goods, but the moment he lays eyes on Maddy all bets are off. He becomes a new/better man. She changes him on a molecular level. Its like someone flips a switch and he instantly changes. The supporting characters LLI were great! Collins did a great job of showing us just how much like family our friends can be. They form a bond instantly. I loved learning about the supporting characters, and I hope to learn about them more in sequel.

I was looking at the authors website and I noticed that she had a couple picture of who she thought would play these characters if there were a movie made. She chose Blake Lively and Liam Hemsworth. Personally, that is not how I pictured the characters in my mind. I pictured these two stunning people. Elizabeth Harnois and Ian Somerholder. They are exactly how I pictured them in my head. I know Ian is my go to TV boyfriend, and maybe that's why he popped into my mind, but the contrast of the dark hair and blue eyes just works. Elizabeth just screamed Maddy to me! I think they look great together!

The story of Reid and Maddy touched on some pretty hard topics, primarily death and sexuality. I think Collins handled these topics with grace and intrigue. I commend her for writing these topics so well without taking away from the point of the story. It took me one day to read this book, and I can't recommend it to enough people.

posted by JDanow on May 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good book

Good book but with a to be continued ending...arghh!!!!

posted by CamandKait_Mom on April 28, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Great story

    Of letting down walls and falling in love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    The story of Maddy & Reid was a sweet one of young love. The

    The story of Maddy & Reid was a sweet one of young love. They were both damaged in similar ways drawing them together and allowing each of them to Let Love In. Sticky sweet is sometimes just what I need to escape reality.
    I have called my husband "my lobster" for years, so I LOVE, LOVE, LOVED that reference! Cute story, I look forward to reading more in to these two in Let Love Stay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I want to thank Melissa for providing me with an ARC copy of thi

    I want to thank Melissa for providing me with an ARC copy of this book to review for this blog tour <3

    Awww I fricking love Reid and Maddy.
    I'm so glad after all the crap and hurdles that this lovely couple went through over the last 2 books have come out stronger then ever. And how adorable is little Braden?? Broody much....

    This was a quite light novella type read and it only took me 45 mins to read :)
    We go through a year of Maddy, Reid & Braden, finally becoming a family and the everyday goings as young parents, juggling work, education and of course special "mummy/daddy" time ;)

    I loved the ending....another HEA!
    I love how Melissa has managed to capture the youth (although their more mature) in this group of friends.

    They've all certainly come along way :)
    You need to get this novella :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Reid, Reid, Reid┬┐so darkly furtive. I think he has enough dark

    Reid, Reid, Reid…so darkly furtive. I think he has enough dark mystery to throw more than a few girls off axis, and make you want to let him in, if you know what I mean. *wink, wink*

    Maddy has had a difficult and emotionally stunted life. Her family died when she was young, so she’s built quite a few walls around her heart in order to shield herself from loss. Until she meets Reid, the aforementioned furtive hero of our story. In Reid, Maddy finds a kindred spirit, with as many scars around his heart as her. They “get” one another, which is the cornerstone of their attraction and ultimately their love for one another. What’s interesting is that what pulls them together is what they have to fight from ripping them apart…oh, the dramatic irony of it all.

    As I’ve found with Melissa’s other books, her writing style really pulls you into the story. Her description of the character’s and their emotions resonates with the reader and keeps you reading to find out just what happens! I will recommend that you have the next book in the series queued up to start right after you finish this one, because it’s a cliffhanger. A “I will kick you in the junk if you don’t fix this” kind of cliffhanger at that. 4 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2013

    Two damaged souls come together and try to navigate their unique

    Two damaged souls come together and try to navigate their unique love story. This was a wonderful, funny, sad and engaging debut novel. Beautifully written and edited.  The twists and turns this novel takes had me all over the place- crying, laughing and yes swoooooning.  Can't wait for Let Love Stay, need some more Maddy and Reid

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2013

    Very good story line from Ms. Collins.. little nervous as it see

    Very good story line from Ms. Collins.. little nervous as it seemed to be another story about a young girl who's parents died.. but the story was definitely one of a kind!!




    Maddy is a vulnerable young lady, Parents died when she was 10 and she had to live with her aunt.  It seemed to be a tragedy after another as her aunt died when she was a senior in HS... its amazing how one can be so resilient.   Although a rough start and a bit wary of letting other's in her world..she and her best friend make a change to be more out there in college... and Reid enters.   Reid seems pretty ..um arrogant..in the beginning, but well how can you resist Maddy? lol  




    Theirs sad situations, love, friendships, and good memories in this book.. slight cliffy.. but you know things will be well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    **NOT FOR YOUNG ADULTS!! CURSING AND GRAPHIC SEX!!*************

    **NOT FOR YOUNG ADULTS!! CURSING AND GRAPHIC SEX!!***************

    I was asked by the author to read her book in exchange for an honest review. Now if you have been following me and my blog, you know that I’m not a huge fan of romance novels. I will read them; I don’t discriminate. I just prefer other genres over romance. Even though this book is a romance novel, I still liked it. I didn’t read anything new or groundbreaking in the book, but the story was well told and each character was so real and broken that it brought you in. We find out early on what has happened to Maddy, but have to wait until middle ways or so through the book to find out about what is causing Reid to have his issues. I’m not going to go into specifics because I think that each person needs to read the book as it unfolds. I feel that the reader might have a better connection with each character if they are to read about their history. I know I was able to make a personal connection with Maddy because I know her pain; I’ve felt it before. I don’t think I have ever come so close to crying while reading a book that I did with this one. Melissa Collins struck a nerve with me and it made all the difference with this book. The obstacles and pain that are written about in this book are real; they exist in every day life. That is what made this book a good read for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Good

    It was okay in the beginningbut redeemef itself in the end. I can not wait for part two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    TiWi

    Good Love Story.....so many emotions going on, but this is yet another sequel book...still worth reading!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1