BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Let Me In

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Let Me In is an enjoyable novella with a hero who has more than

    Let Me In is an enjoyable novella with a hero who has more than sex appeal. Liam Brodie, former Marine and military contractor, has an ideal combination of qualities to satiate contemporary erotic romance fans.

    The Story
    Marine Lieutenant Talia Barnett arrives home for Thanksgiving, which should be a happy occasion, but Talia’s home has issues attached. Fortunately, she has become an unofficial member of her best friend’s family. The Brodie family is happy, stable, and everything she has ever wanted. Her attraction to Liam Brodie is an unwanted complication. She will not risk losing this family for a relationship that will surely break like all her others. In Talia’s experience, deployments and a mentally ill mother are too much for boyfriends to accept.

    Liam Brodie has been attracted to Talia since the first day he met her. He appreciates her inner strength and independence. She keeps her distance, but he catches her longing glances. Now, he’s going to push for more and hope she lets him into her life.

    My Thoughts
    Talia has a mother with suffering from major depression expressed in a severe case of hoarding , which is a first I’ve seen in a romance. Talia feels helpless, ashamed, angry, and enjoys the escape military life provides. I felt sympathy for her character as her secret spills out for Liam to see. Eventually, my sympathy waned as her character repeatedly hit the same roadblock.

    It was Liam Brodie who really shined in this short story. He’s capable of putting his need and wants aside to comfort Talia. He displays a chivalry that is not always common in BDSM alpha heroes. I really loved that! He tries to solve their relationship issues with meaningful dialogue rather than hot steamy sex.

    Let Me In is the first book I have read by Callie Croix and I will be reading her work again. There is a book that precedes this novella, but this book can stand alone. (The previous book’s hero and heroine from No Holds Barred is referred to once.) This story is tight and the hero engaging. The heroine was the weakest link, which may depend on the reader. The BDSM is light and may appeal to contemporary romance fans who appreciate explicit love scenes.

    Final Score: 3.5 out of 5 stars

    Release date: May 21, 2012

    ARC generously provided by Carina Press via Netgalley

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the military aspect!

    My Review:
    Talia has been friends with Liam's little sister for two years. As a result, she has come to know and be embraced by his family, including Liam. But Talia's home life leaves a lot to be desired, so she has always held herself away from this family's embrace. She doesn't want them to know the truth about her mother or why she never has anywhere to go for the holidays. For her, it's simply easier being deployed so she spends a lot of time overseas.

    Liam has wanted Talia for a long time. As a former marine, he works as an independent contractor and continues to deploy. He's tired of Talia keeping him at arms length and has decided when she comes home this time, things are going to change.

    I really liked the military aspect of this novella. Both Talia and Liam feel strongly about what they are doing overseas and I love that. Talia is a much more private person. She knows that she's in love with Liam but doesn't feel that she deserves him. Reading about her character and what she is dealing with, I just wanted to give her a hug and invite her home to stay with MY family. But Liam is a good match for her. He's a serious alpha guy (with some very mild Dom proclivities which we see glimpses of in the book) and he knows what Talia needs. He's not going to sit back and let her get away again.

    Liam's family is wonderful and I loved watching them embrace Talia. What Liam's mother does in the epilogue is just wonderful. Such a completely sweet moment! This is a fun and entertaining little sexy read and I enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Anonymous

    Hot sexy read!! Enjoy all of Callie Croix's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    When I requested this book, I was looking for a military romance

    When I requested this book, I was looking for a military romance. It is a short read, but well worth it. One of the things I liked about the book was that while it is a military romance, it's not in a military setting. Talia is on leave and visiting, so we get to see these two develop a relationship without a lot to interfere.

    Talia's secret with her mother was different. It was heart-wrenching, but Callie does a great job giving you just enough detail that you understand her mom's problem, but you're not overwhelmed. The struggle of trying to hide your secrets and be the person everyone things you are was very well written. I really liked Talia. She was an easy character to connect with.

    Liam is determined, hot, and caring. Pretty much everything you'd want in a man. His pursuit of Talia was relentless and I loved watching him chase her. When he goes after something he wants, there is no stopping Liam. Once he and Talia quit fighting at least the physical attraction it was on. His determination to break down all of her walls grew stronger. I was certainly rooting for Liam from beginning to end!

    If you are looking for a quick, hot read I'd recommend LET ME IN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I am reviewing a copy I received through NetGalley. Let Me In i

    I am reviewing a copy I received through NetGalley.

    Let Me In is a very short story about Marine Talia coming home from the Middle East for a three-week break. I enjoyed this story, and could have enjoyed it more.

    There was some slight inconsistency/confusion regarding how long Talia had been friends with Angie, and that took me out of the story a bit too much from the beginning. Talia's issues with her mom didn't warrant so much attention. I found it difficult to believe that a woman, a Marine, as squared away as Talia is in her professional life would be so profoundly insecure about her mother's illness and how other people would see it. The romance moved a bit too fast for me - fast is somewhat of a necessity with such a short story, but in this case, the move from crush to submissive sexual behavior to a possible HEA was just too much for me. And I definitely had to suspend my disbelief on how fast her mother went from 60 back down to 0.

    On the good side, Croix's descriptions of Talia's response to her mother's situation, and the interactions between them were stunningly well done. Angie and Talia's friendship and connection was easy to feel, though I never got how they met, since Talia's pretty much been out of the country the entire time they've known each other. I completely understood her attraction to Liam - he sounds all around like a really good guy. The sex was steamy enough, though there was very little of it. The characters, all of them, are interesting enough that I'd like to revisit them, get to know them better, hopefully in a longer story.

    It was a fast, fun read, and I'll look for more by Croix.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    I recently read Touch Me by Callie Croix and liked it so, I thou

    I recently read Touch Me by Callie Croix and liked it so, I thought I'd give this one a try as well. I enjoyed this one just as much, if not a little more than Touch Me. This book wasn't very long, so I'm going to jump right in with my thoughts.

    Talia was a little bit tough for me to connect with right away. She keeps herself distanced from the people in her life as a defense mechanism. Once her story begins to unfold, I had a better understanding of why she guarded herself and began liking her a bit more.

    Liam on the other hand...I liked him right away. I found out after finishing the book that Liam is also in No Holds Barred. There is a part in Let Me In that eludes to an encounter involving Liam and his friend Nathan. I'm pretty sure that I'm going to have to read that one too. Liam is pretty hot.

    As for the smexy, because of how short the book was, I was expecting the sex to start pretty early into the book. That wasn't how it turned out. The sexy scenes started around the 40% mark. However, it was well worth the wait. Their first tryst was pretty steamy, but it was the second that really got me steamed up. Let's just say that a bathtub is involved. Pretty freakin' hot! You can tell that Liam is much more advanced sexually and has a darker side. He definitely takes the lead in the bedroom and in this case, it also helped in breaking down some of the walls that Talia had up.

    I would recommend this book for a quick afternoon delight. Not only does is have some pretty sexy scenes, but I liked the overall story as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is a short read (about 100 pages). The synopsis really does

    This is a short read (about 100 pages). The synopsis really does not go into all the storylines of this book. Of course the book has the story of Talia and Liam together but it also is the story of a daughter who needs to care for her mentally ill/hoarding mother, her inability to become close to anyone because they might find out about her mother, her desire to be in a real family where she feels loved and cared for and her desire to know she is not alone in her world. Talia is a very complex character who can be a strong Marine and put her life on the line every day while deployed but a scared child when she comes home on leave. Liam has been in love with Talia for the two years he has known her and is willing to take on her burdens if she would only let him.
    While the book mentions over and over his dominant nature there really is not much shown in the book. There is very little that I would even consider that makes this book require the “erotica” title. Of course there is sex in the book but we are not talking S&M dominant just a man who takes control in the bedroom. I enjoyed this read and it would be a great book to have on your e-reader for when you need a short, interesting, and enjoyable read.

    REVIEWED BY: Kimberly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Great story

    Makes you want to smile cry and laugh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Fast erotic read!

    A hot, sexy read-well worth the time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1