Customer Reviews for

Let Your Life Speak: Listening for the Voice of Vocation

Average Rating 3.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2007

    powerful

    One of the most powerful books I have ever read. Highly recommended for anyone interested in vocation and living a full life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2003

    Excellent

    Small but powerful

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2003

    The *best* book of its kind

    As a religious educator who often works with adults, I find that the biggest spiritual and personal crises these days often revolve around jobs and careers. People are asking: If I have a great job, why am I so burned out? -- and, What kind of work would be best for me? These are precisely the question Palmer addresses in his book. In my experience, all kinds of people have found this book helpful, from retired people to construction workers to business executives and professionals (I've read it twice myself). It's short, to-the-point, and easy to read. But most importantly, Palmer offers some real help to anyone who's trying to figure the whole job and career issue. I think every high school graduate should get a copy of this book. Yes, it's that good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2003

    A question of vocation

    Floundering, I was. Seeking Holy Orders in the Episcopal Church and going through the necessary interviews and screenings associated with a long and hard process, this book pops up when I searched Barnes and Noble for titles containing "Vocation". The book had so many important insights for me, personally. I settled down with the courage of my convictions that this was the right path. By the way, I made it through the process and I'm now an Episcopal priest.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    Disappointed

    A few interesting to mildly compelling points, but overall more of an autobiography than a help.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Palmer's book has become a classic for good reason. Though some

    Palmer's book has become a classic for good reason. Though some feel it is too autobiographical, the lessons he draws from his own journey and his skill in drawing meaning he elicits from his life yields one profound quote after another, and there lies the book's translatability for an engaged reader. It is quite easy to relate Palmer's insights generally, as he has a knack for finding what is universal in life situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Highly Overrated

    What a disappointment. I forced myself to read this book to its conclusion and I found it to be a man's struggle with his depression and bad choices in life. My expectations of the book, from reading other reviews and the book jacket, was that it would guide me along the road of finding my own personal vocation through reading another person's journey. At the book's conclusion I felt that it was such a waste of my time. I feel the book is being misrepresented as a vocation guide. It is more of an autobiography and not a well written one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1