Customer Reviews for

Let the Right One in

Average Rating 4.5
( 322 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

A Vampire Story with a Twist

I absolutely loved this book! The plot is gut-wrenching, funny, scary, and tragic. It is an unexpected tale of vampires, love, and revenge. I have spent hours discussing it with friends who have read it as well.

posted by Bella_Quileute on November 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Investment of time with no return

I started off liking this story of the underdog who is bullied in school. Twists, turns, too many characters who I grew not to like or care about made me anxious for the book to end. I was determined to finish this since I had put so much time into it, but didn't find...
I started off liking this story of the underdog who is bullied in school. Twists, turns, too many characters who I grew not to like or care about made me anxious for the book to end. I was determined to finish this since I had put so much time into it, but didn't find it very satisfying in the final pages. Odd, disturbing, and uncomfortable reading.

posted by ba5080 on February 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Vampire novel WORTH reading!

    Don't let the current vampire fad sour you on this gem! While this quirky Swedish novel won't answer all the questions it raises, it will make you ponder life with a capital L. The concepts of victim and prey, friendship and co-dependence are all re-framed in startling ways. The bleakness of the Swedish winter helps to underscore the emotional setting as well. An award winning movie has been made from this novel- it is more stripped down, which makes the narrative better suited to the film platform. Both are well worth your time. Be aware that this is not a novel or film for preteens.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    unique addition to vampire literature

    "Let The Right One In" is not only a good book, it is different than much of the vampire fiction being published right now. It is not for everyone - not so much for the violence (par for the course in these sorts of books) as much as the peek into damaged psyches. It's to Lindqvist's credit that he presents even the most revolting human beings as full-fledged characters and not just drooling, one-note lunatics. The vampire, Eli, is also that rarity in horror fiction - a sympathetic vampire who is by no means "good." Eli will attack and kill innocent human beings, yet still remains sad because of her loneliness; in this way, she reminded me of Miriam Blaylock in "The Hunger." Definitely recommended for fans of the weirder side of vampire fiction, and a book to add to your permanent collection.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    hauntingly strange

    Talking with my daughter one day she told me she saw this incredible movie and mentioned the name. The title must have settled someplace in my brain, because I picked up this book by accident. What a strange and wonderful read. Unlike any of the other vampire books out there now. The story leads you to understand why Oscar finally Let the Right one in, even though in my mind it came down to his only choice. A readable but thought provoking novel. Do we always let the Right one in? I don't know.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic vampire story.

    In this age of half-baked vampire romance with every-girl and her cohort swooning over vampire this and Edward that and hot topic those, this book is a beautiful return to the essence of vampirism. There is blood, there is young love, there is violence.

    Oskar is an outcast. He is antagonized by a group of bullies on a daily basis. He is truly a 12 year old kid, stuck at the crossroads of childhood joy and teenage angst, which is a trying time for anyone. It is a power struggle, and Oskar is losing. He lives in terror of what is going to happen next, and can't stand the powerlessness he is feeling. When Eli enters the picture Oskar finds a compatriot, someone else who is at that same crossroads, but has been for a much longer time.

    This story is great, and I recommend it as a must read for anyone interested in vampires. It not only has a vampire that is a thinking, feeling creature that both realizes and regrets their animal nature, it also has a classic European mythical vampire that is mindless and zombie-like.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Good read.

    I saw the movie before I read the book and, although I had good idea of what happens next, the book was still a fascinating read. I then went back and watched the movie again but it now paled in comparison.
    I would recommend to those who enjoy the connection betwen the horrors we inflict upon each other and the horrors created in literature over the centuries. Not so different from each other.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2010

    Chilling and unique

    This is not your typical vampire read. The writing style was unique in the sense it was written by a Swedish author. I'm not positive but I believe the book was translated into English. However, I greatly enjoyed this book. I enjoyed seeing through the boys eyes and getting into his head. He's certainly not your dream child. Getting a look into Eli's point of view was interesting, and showing us the transition from a personal view of Virginia was captivating. This book might not be enjoyed and appreciated by all and I truly hope it gets the attention it deserves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Variation of a vampire story

    Overall, I enjoyed this book. I like the fact that we only understood the vampire history by what the character would expose through thought and memory and that was not too much. There was just enough history to understand the main character. The story stayed with the plot. I would recommend this book to an avid vampire reader but not the general. It was good, but not a page-turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    not what you expect.

    I bought this book expecting a typical vampire book. Shocked, it wasnt like them others. You dont get the typical romantic thriller with a vampire. But instead, you get into the heads of the chararacters and see it not from a fanasy but from something that could be happening right next door. Im glad that the book was introduced to me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very good book. Would recommend to others

    This book was really good. Oskar was a very interesting kid, especially with dealing with the bullies. I didn't like that the author didn't give alot of backstory on Eli and Hakan. But overall it was a really good book that kept my attention.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Nancy

    This was a great book. Any book about monstrous children, or monster chased children, usually turns out to be a good read. This book has both. The film version of this book is pretty close, but of course, the book is better. I highly recommend this book.00

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Ever watch a movie that you liked, but didn┬┐t feel completely sa

    Ever watch a movie that you liked, but didn’t feel completely satisfied with? Well when that movie is based upon a book, you have the option of reading the book. Which is precisely why I read this. What can I say there are aspects to the story just barely hinted at in the Swedish film that comes to life, rather vividly, on the printed page. These details are placed in the movie so subtlety that you may miss them completely if you haven’t read the book. I ended up watching the film again, after reading the book, and it made so much more sense to me. These hidden details dealt specifically with what Eli is (beyond being a vampire) and the relationship between Eli and the old man Hakan. I won’t give it away, but they may surprise you, especially if you saw the American version of the film that reinvented these details which ended up making the story less unique.  There is also much back story on many of Eli’s victims. They aren’t treated as mere extras but major characters. Over all, it’s a rather-engaging story that draws you in and never let’s you go. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Interesting and entertaining

    This vampire story that involves children deals with some dark themes and may not be for everyone. I thought this book was well written and had some very interesting characters with good character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very good book. The movies were good too, but the book really go

    Very good book. The movies were good too, but the book really goes into further details and provides an even creepier tale!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    A good swedish read

    A much better vampire story than the twilight saga. Wish thse endimg hadnt been so vague. Hope the movie is as good as the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    StRaNgE...

    Strange...that about covers this book. It is SO strange. Reading the synopsis on the back cover was deceiving. The book is about SO much more than anything mentioned in the synopsis. I found that at a certain point, I couldn't put the book down. At first, the book is difficult to follow because so many stories go back and forth, but once you figure out how each story and person is connected to the others, it becomes easier to read, and harder to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not my typical book

    This was a book club selection. I have to say I REALLY enjoyed it. The characters were interesting. This was not your typical vampire reading. Odd at times, unexpected, but always a page turner. I could not wait to find out what happened with Eli and Oskars story. Would definitely recommend for someone who is ready to step out of their usual genre!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Vampire story from a different perspectiive

    Worth reading! I did get stuck on some disturbing events. Put the book down for days sometimes, but the author doesn't dwell on it so I was able to get passed it. Still had some questions unanswered but for the most part the end is satisfying. Interesting, very different, a vampire story from a different perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    Deliciously disturbing. A must read.

    I loved this book. It had the perfect mix of horror movie violence, and a look at the everyday human life amidst the chaos of a supernatural threat to a small community. I sympathized deeply with the characters and the author left nothing unsaid. He dwelved into the minds of so many personalities and lifestyles, from insane pedophiles, school children, stay-at-home moms, and the town drunks, as well as a horrifying life of a vampire. It does not have a lot of action and is a bit slow at times, which is okay as it focuses more on the emotional effects the murder and violence has on the local residents. There is no romance involved either, save the innocent love and friendship that Oskar and Eli have for eachother. Definitley nothing like Twilight and very R-rated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Well written and a breath of fresh air to the vampire genre

    A well crafted story from start to ending. The characters are well fleshed out early into the book and you dwell within their trauma and sadness. As well as their moments of happiness and serenity. The protagonist, may well be a victim, but a closer look reveals something more. The vampire character is beautiful written and the glimpses into the background of the character compel you forward as you want to learn more about how this beast was created. But you are also left to wonder can a creature like a vampire ever have true compassion. The only weakness of this book is the weird role that gender and identity play throughout the book. And the sexuality borders on the perverse, but it is in fact a useful tool (not utilized in the film) that makes us see that the person we think is being manipulated, deserves to be used. This is a vampire tale involving teens, but not sappy like Twilight. A great book for a cold winter night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Alternative Vampire Novel

    I had really enjoyed the movie and decided to read this book. It's a dark vampire story, but with a distinct European spin (Swedish author). Although the book was much more graphic and detailed, it was still the same essential plot points and I would rate both the novel and the movie with 4 1/2 stars out of five. Definitely something different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5